LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

hawk1lo
post May 18 2020, 10:09 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(homerthewhopper @ May 15 2020, 08:55 AM)
Hi guys need some feedback on my issue

I tried installing reverse camera on my wife's iriz it works fine at first but after I put away and covered all the wires it no longer worked (not automatic on when reverse)

Tried reinstalling but does not seem to work anymore

Appreciate any comments on this

Also why does the car not have any sound when signaling and reversing?
Ur reverse cam how many wires? if have two terminals 12v+ and GND to on/trigger reverse cam, u can easily check the hardware/wire by directly apply a 12v+ and GND to the reverse cam signal wire to see if it works. If ok means hardware no problem and can ignore the cam part , but focus on the point/wires u used from car is ok, if have multimeter that's the best, measure between the point taken and GND if have 12V when put into reverse and 0v when not in reverse.

There should be sound when signal and reverse, and also should be both diffferent sounds. If dont have, maybe u fried your electronics?

This post has been edited by hawk1lo: May 18 2020, 10:11 AM
hawk1lo
post May 18 2020, 01:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(lol~ @ May 18 2020, 12:48 PM)
Cc6 is quite expensive. Btw they mean silverstone?? laugh.gif
Will check
How is duraplus btw? Care to review?
opps my bad, using good year assurance triplemax 2
hawk1lo
post Jun 2 2020, 03:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(shebbycs @ May 31 2020, 01:24 PM)
iam using d05 tyre

usually when come to service only pump tyre

rarely I pump regulary
QUOTE(wjang85 @ May 31 2020, 04:12 PM)
I check my tire pressure & pump weekly to extent the lifetime of my tires. And by doing this, I'll know if there's any unusual air leakage so that I can remedy it before I'm stuck in the middle of the journey with a flat tire. Is there any challenges that stopped u from checking ur tire pressure regularly? Or u've too much $ to burn for replacing the tires prematurely? Treat ur tires with love & care and it'll serve u well for the couple of years to come.
u guys can consider the TPMS so can monitor every time you drive, quite reliable and hassle free. Not that expensive also, so far for near 2 years it helped me twice to detect leak upon entering car, it goes beep beep beep (air pressure low) , coz usually not everyone check all 4 tyre every time enter car right

i usually pump when it shows less than 30 psi (i use 32 psi for all 4 tyres)
hawk1lo
post Jun 3 2020, 11:02 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 2 2020, 04:51 PM)
the TPMS using those put on tyre type? few of my friends install this but mostly got stolen after parking somewhere
yeah, as mentioned from one reply, can use internal also, longer lasting battery but need to bring to tyre shop to do, and when do tyre rotation the position might change

The TPMS u need a display device to monitor, not from the cap itself. So i think no point stealing also coz those sensors are not universal compatible, so even they steal it, maybe couldnt work on their reader unless same model.

there is some lock nut which u need special tool or spanner to open, so make it a bit harder for normal ppl who just want some replacement caps.

hawk1lo
post Jun 9 2020, 10:40 AM

33 posts

speaking about the stains from door handle.. anyone got any solution to it? where did it come from anyway

Any other ways other than just keep washing it every time? i feel like can stick some door guard rubbers so it reroute to the side
hawk1lo
post Jul 3 2020, 09:14 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Jul 2 2020, 06:05 PM)
U know what. Workshop ran an OBD scan & the problem is due to brake pedal switch. Replaced it. Will observe & hopefully the problem is resolved.
brake pedal got switch?
hawk1lo
post Jul 30 2020, 08:43 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(siewstl @ Jul 24 2020, 02:53 PM)
Hi,All the Sifu
My rear view mirror is very loose, SC said cannot do anything ,need  to change the whole unit. Any recommend to buy it from after market or DIY to fix it ?
Thank you
Mine loose because the slot holding the ball joint cracked. I tried using epoxy to seal the crack, it but epoxy cant hold good enough. I thought of using permanent glue but it was stupid coz u may never adjust the correct angle again, so end up just buy from shopee.

i didnt find any aftermarket piece so i just bought original ard rm67
hawk1lo
post Aug 3 2020, 09:33 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Jul 30 2020, 10:22 AM)
Sharing experience on changing to the spare tyre:

After successfully removing the nut covers, loosening the nuts, jacking up the car, removing the tyre (some large screw penetrated my rear-left tyre), and changing to the spare tyre - the ESC (failure), EPS and handbrake light will turn on causing the Iriz to feel like it has standard power steering.

Next morning, went to the tyre shop to tampal (RM6), and put back the original tyre. EPS light goes off, but ECS and Handbrake light still continues - foreman said "just drive, will go off". Since I don't trust any mechanic foreman, I decided to call Proton SC and they said "no, you have it bring it over to us to reset - free within warranty period". Usually vehicle workshops will charge RM30 - RM50 just to plug in the device to your ECU for reset. So, I went back to Proton, did a reset, and everything was fine.

So, basically, if you ever change to the spare tyre, just remember that the lights are normal, and have to reset for the ECS to work again lol

Side note: my car's gear knob centre light is blinking like some kind of disco - Proton SC told me that the part number for that particular light has changed, meaning that they have identified that the previous light was faulty. I'll be changing mine when their stock arrives.
for 2017 MC version, change spare tyre, brake and ESC lights on, after change back, drive a few km the lights off. No need to bring to SC for reset.
hawk1lo
post May 21 2021, 01:49 PM

33 posts

Anyone experience sound of water inside car, like beneath the dash? like need to steer the car left and right then can hear the water shaking sound, possibly the aircond condensed water inside not able to discharge.

If full blast air cond will leak to the front passenger and driver car mat area. Think this all related
hawk1lo
post Oct 27 2023, 09:57 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 14 2023, 06:32 PM)
Just a quick question, what is the bulb size used for rear light where signal and reverse light?

Also same question the rear brake light too, the one on the middle.

Thinking to convert mine to LED
Not sure if you still need this info, mine currently converted to fully LED and results are pretty good smile.gif
Here are the model listing from shopee of the LED i bought

H11 55/60Watt LED for Headlamp
HB3 60 Watt LED for High beam
H8 LED for Fog Lamp
T10 W5W (amber LED for signal lights at side mirrors)
T10 W5W (white LED for plate number & position lamp)
1156 BAU15S PY21W 150degree for signal light (Amber bulb for front rear signals)
T15 W16W (Red bulb for third brake light)
T15 W16W ( White bulb for reverse light)

-A few sharing of my conversion, signal light if use too long (above 2 minutes) will have Error and hyperflash, even using the so called "error free/anti hyperflash" bulbs. Perhpaps some other brands can work.
-For Iriz newer than 2018 using reflector type lamps, LED headlamp might cause glare to others.
-If you are still using halogen bulb for fog lamp, change to super bright LED, day and night difference! but be aware may cause glare also.
-Used philips H11 headlamp and then LED starts failing within 2 years of using. Life time might not be as great as halogen ones.

hawk1lo
post Oct 27 2023, 02:48 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 27 2023, 12:40 PM)
Hey, thanks for replying.

Just to share my feedback on what happen to my car.
Thing are a little bit different between your car and mine which is the current version.

Newer iriz using H7 light as well and high light
Seems like they are also workshop that claim they "upgrade" the gearbox using parts from Mini Cooper version of the transmission.
Is it true? Since like one cant really open up the gearbox and check if there any parts are upgraded or just some lip service.
I see, i guess still no suitable bulb for the hyperflash issue. I remain using it because its so bright until ppl cannot complain cannot see my signal light haha.

I retrofitted fog lamp to my 2017 MC version coz that version also no longer offer foglamps, but the bumper still got allocation.

I see. Coz i see from shopee the Philips LED i bought it mention 12 months warranty so didnt bother to ask for it.
hawk1lo
post Nov 14 2023, 10:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(gkr @ Nov 13 2023, 11:15 AM)
Do you mind sharing pics of your retrofit foglamps and where did you get them done?
My iriz is the 2017 MC basic version, appearance wise its almost exactly like the 2014 version because the bumper is the same, just some chrome parts become black. just remove the covers and fit in the OEM fog lamps. I buy from shopee and installed it myself. laugh.gif Only the wiring harness a bit tricky because there is no readily available socket thus need to wire a bit.

Its exactly like this pic below. (grabbed online)

This post has been edited by hawk1lo: Nov 14 2023, 10:16 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0262sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:12 AM