11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

Jescon
post Jul 8 2020, 08:52 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(prismful @ Jul 7 2020, 09:47 PM)
Mine bought on Oct 2019. Got unresolved rattling sound inside steering and driver's door panel. The sound come out rarely and hard to issue a complaint.
Yeah, seems a lot of Iriz has this issue. There are steps to fix this DIY, but a bit difficult, since it involves removing the steering air bag.
Jescon
post Jul 15 2020, 04:58 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jul 15 2020, 03:29 PM)
Anyone’s steering start to have some free play now? I can notice it on high speeds. My car is 5.5 yrs old and mileage 75k only.
Most probably ball joint or steering bush worn.
Jescon
post Jul 23 2020, 08:47 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 22 2020, 05:22 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5000365

Anyone brave enough to buy and transplant?
Never really hear stories of modified Iriz with turbo.

Only know this guy: https://careta.my/article/nampak-mudah-tapi...on-turbo-beliau

and he says it's difficult
Jescon
post Jul 24 2020, 08:57 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 23 2020, 11:00 PM)
Anyone know of any guides for changing the bulbs on an Iriz 2019? Can't find any online after googling. I bought a pair of Techmax H7 Minis.and want to figure out how to change them with the current ones.

If I take to SC and ask them to do it, will they? The bulbs will be arriving nicely just as I need to take car for service in a couple of weeks.

Thanks for replies!
It should be very similar to this except for orientation:

Basically, unscrew the cap, and remove the bulb. Remember to "wiggle" it out.
Jescon
post Jul 24 2020, 05:35 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 24 2020, 10:44 AM)
Very cool, man. Thanks for the link.

Do you know if changing the bulbs to LED will void the warranty? It's something that's been on my mind. The new bulbs are 36W bulbs (rated 60W), while the outgoing ones will be 55W bulbs. I was told that they should work perfectly fine with the car's requirements.

Here's a link to them: https://www.amazon.com/TECHMAX-Headlight-Ex...n/dp/B07CBRXTT6

Thanks again.
Don't think so, since you're just changing the bulbs and not re-wiring anything.
Jescon
post Jul 24 2020, 05:40 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jul 24 2020, 04:37 PM)
sigh, i've checked shopee price around 60+-80, maybe i call cose try my luck c c can get it replace for free. tongue.gif
though i think chances quite slim, typical proton..
Proton will say void warranty because flew away... no evidence. LOL

For my friend's saga (2011), he just bought it from shopee, and put it himself. need double sided, I think
Jescon
post Jul 27 2020, 09:28 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 26 2020, 07:20 PM)
Hi all,

So I'm trying to learn as much as I can to slowly add mods to my car. I posted earlier about changing the lights bulbs to LED, and everyone was really helpful. Thanks for that.

Now I'm looking at future mods, making a wish list to be exact, to add incrementally more serious mods. Right now I'm looking at changing the wheels to 16" and new tyres at 205/45. After doing some research I have found some wheels I really like, and they seem cheap and cheerful: Enkei RPF1.

Now I'm how I will know they will fit. As far as I can tell looking at the specs, they should. They're 16x7" 4x114.3 mm. The offset is +43 for this model. But I don't know if that's too much. The standard one is +46 from what I gather. Anyone can help me here?

Plus, big debate in head over coilovers or just lowering springs. Lowering springs seem ridiculously cheap and effective for what I want to do with it, but there's a question of whether coilovers are better bang for your buck in the long term. If so for either, what would you recommend? I've found Eibach lowering springs online that seem to do the job but there's little information about it.

Many thanks guys for replies!
The main things about rims is whether:
1) the rim width can support the tyre width, I think Iriz is 6.5jj, which means it can support Min 185 ; Ideal 195 or 205 ; Max 215. Let's say u upgrade to 7jj, so Min 195 ; Ideal 205 or 215 ; Max 225,
2) the offset (ET), Iriz is ET46, please stick to this. Increasing will cause the tyre to protrude out of the car and it will impact performance at higher speeds + it looks hideous. ET43 should be fine - 3mm closer to the suspension should be okay, I guess.
Other than that, the tyre height should be okay, usually the shops reduce 10% height per diameter inch increase.

Here's a basic guide, but you need to measure the fender clearances, etc. (https://www.wheel-size.com/calc/?wheel1=185-55-15X6.5ET46&wheel2=205-45-16X7ET43&fcl=50mm&wcl=30mm&scl=50mm&sr=0mm) or you could just go to the shop and test it out.

For suspension, I think adjustable coilovers like GAB would be easier.
Jescon
post Jul 27 2020, 01:55 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 27 2020, 12:17 PM)

Awesome. This is what I was looking for exactly. The wheels I have in mind are the Enkei RPF1 and the ET43, which is perfect (https://enkei.com/shop/wheels/racing/rpf1/). And yeah, I agree with you that I do not not find those bulgy tyres and rim designs used by a lot of street modders alluring - but heck to each their own, right? The plan is to get 205/45R16 tyres to fit it, but I am going through some trouble right now trying to find ones that fit. So far the only ones that I've found are Michelin PS3's and some Continental ones. Would you have any other recommendations for that?

Where can I get these GAB coilovers? In your experience have they served you well? Could you recommend a workshop that you trust/has been really good?

Cheers guys.
Michelin PS3 is a really good tyre. I know a lot people recommend them for the grip/performance.

As for the coilovers, I can't say much since I never used them personally; one of my friends is using GAB and he's happy with it, but for me it's a bit "hard". I'm stuck in jam >80% of the time anyway lol

I go to Pesona Mahir SC (Cheras area) for servicing, and beside them is this mod shop called "Speed Mod Motorsport" - try checking them out.

jVIPERs2 I think knows more brows.gif
Jescon
post Jul 30 2020, 09:22 AM

452 posts

Sharing experience on changing to the spare tyre:

After successfully removing the nut covers, loosening the nuts, jacking up the car, removing the tyre (some large screw penetrated my rear-left tyre), and changing to the spare tyre - the ESC (failure), EPS and handbrake light will turn on causing the Iriz to feel like it has standard power steering.

Next morning, went to the tyre shop to tampal (RM6), and put back the original tyre. EPS light goes off, but ECS and Handbrake light still continues - foreman said "just drive, will go off". Since I don't trust any mechanic foreman, I decided to call Proton SC and they said "no, you have it bring it over to us to reset - free within warranty period". Usually vehicle workshops will charge RM30 - RM50 just to plug in the device to your ECU for reset. So, I went back to Proton, did a reset, and everything was fine.

So, basically, if you ever change to the spare tyre, just remember that the lights are normal, and have to reset for the ECS to work again lol

Side note: my car's gear knob centre light is blinking like some kind of disco - Proton SC told me that the part number for that particular light has changed, meaning that they have identified that the previous light was faulty. I'll be changing mine when their stock arrives.
Jescon
post Aug 1 2020, 09:40 AM

452 posts

More sharing experience:

Took a trip on Thursday to Camerons, traffic jam like crazy, >3 hours from KL to Tapah; the Iriz displayed this:

Reached heritage hotel or something, but the next morning, car's gear knob got stuck (couldn't from P to R,etc.) - problem is I accidentally left the car's manual at home (I removed the box I normally keep my stuff in for extra boot space). So, since holiday, called SA to give me a number of any Proton tech, she gave one number but the person never picked up (or bothered to call back). So, I decided try a few things (e.g., pressing the release button on the gear knob console, etc.).

What worked was lock/unlocking the car a few times with the key's buttons. Suddenly the gear could move again. Weird, but after that no issues.
Jescon
post Aug 3 2020, 07:42 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(budakmaran @ Aug 3 2020, 06:10 PM)
Hi long time no lepak here 😂😂

For this case, still can ketuk2 and paint ? Any recommendation for shop around kl/selangor?

Somebody car just kiss my iriz ass this morning when at my hometown..spoil mood to
balik kl 😂

[attachmentid=10547885]
[attachmentid=10547886]
you can push it back out for the time being.

I know in sri serdang area got quite a few ketuk shops, quality not bad.

Anybody knows if "Proton Body & Paint" only does insurance claims?
Jescon
post Aug 4 2020, 08:46 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(budakmaran @ Aug 3 2020, 08:05 PM)
Yaa will try do tomorrow..
Actually what I means is about the small hole /  crack itself..kot2 anybody know some magic shop can cover that crack/hole..and check the braket..afraid broken..

Already asked some personnel from proton, about +-700 to replace the bumper
Yeah, if you go to authorized centre, they will suggest to replace the bumper. This happened to my boss' Subaru Forester - some Myvi hit the back of the car, and the bumper cracked open. ~RM4k for replacement + respray at Subaru.

Honestly, it's hard to recommend shops because it might be good when I went, but it might suddenly be bad when you go. Here's the one in Sri Serdang with good Google Reviews: "Empire M Auto Spray and Body Work"

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Aug 4 2020, 08:04 AM)
Anyone can go...just be careful as even the one behind CoSE at Subang didn’t fit all that was claimed into the car...
Even authorized workshop does this sad.gif

This post has been edited by Jescon: Aug 4 2020, 08:46 AM
Jescon
post Aug 4 2020, 11:56 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(budakmaran @ Aug 4 2020, 10:51 AM)
Great..thanks..

Update: confirmed with the shop..they can do it, however admit the finishing wont be so good since the area is a plastic..

Already checked at shoppe..got 2014 one..not sure can properly fit or not..mine 2016 premium..seller not yet reply..
The shop will only touch up that area or re-spray whole bumper?
Jescon
post Aug 5 2020, 09:10 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jiao2 Itchy @ Aug 4 2020, 08:11 PM)
My iriz 1.3 cvt gearbox kong.
Can move forward but cannot reverse.
Anyone else here got gearbox issue? or know of any gearbox issues? i rarely read/saw gearbox problems for iriz hmm..

Anyway, called towtruck and sent to COSE. They checked and confirmed its gearbox issue. Now in the process of claiming warranty and waiting for approval, etc..

4y10m old car, 142k mileage. Service always on time and followed the items 100%.

If im a normal owner, i would be so damn happy/glad that it kong now.. Else it would be 2 months or 8k km shy from warranty expiring..
Was thinking, imagine if it kong right after warranty expired. Damn GG..

But not relevant to me anyway because thankfully my warranty is for 7 years/250k km mileage..

Anyway, anyone knows if Proton will "repair" it or do i get a completely new GB? 
If can get new GB like the current updated Iriz with their TCU tuning quite syok jugak wor brows.gif
U followed the 60k CVT oil service?

I know some guys who do at 30k because they use the car a lot like u
Jescon
post Aug 9 2020, 04:28 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Aug 9 2020, 10:47 AM)
New car usually will have very high FC...Protons will get a better FC after 20k KMs service...

You can inform them of the sudden “loss” of fuel from half tank in 40kms...it could be a float issue...

Campro was developed to run RON97, thus the engine performs better when using RON97. Could not feel much difference if you use CVT..

In summary, can just share with them what you experienced during your first 1k service...but if it’s at a dealer, then most likely no outcome..unless you go try their test drive unit see if it’s behaving differently...
+1

vewership

High FC during first 1000km, moderate up to 3rd service. After the 3rd service, car seems to have better FC. Haven't officially calculated.

Used to get 380KM = 34L; 70% traffic (stop/go)
Jescon
post Aug 10 2020, 09:34 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Aug 10 2020, 08:52 AM)
Hmm... I read left, right, top & bottom but still can't find any statement from my post that mentioned Ron rating correlates with the effectiveness of carbon cleaning purposes. 🤔
RON rating does not correlate with effectiveness of carbon cleaning. As what ayamxxx stated, that depends on the additives that are added to the fuel. It so happens that RON97 have more/better additives added resulting in a better engine upkeep. However, with today's standard of RON95, such as from Caltex, even RON95 has quality additives added. If you want to do carbon cleaning, from time to time, just press the accelerator (ramp up the RPM) for effective carbon cleaning.

As for difference in RON95 and RON97 on engine performance for a Campro CPS engine - it's too slight to tell. Maybe need to test with different brands of fuel, e.g., Shell RON95 vs RON97, Petronas RON95 vs RON97. As for Caltex, slight difference when accelerating from stop.
Jescon
post Aug 10 2020, 01:36 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Aug 10 2020, 11:51 AM)
Hey guys,

Thanks for all the chat around this. In what I said earlier, even with the CVT, I could feel the difference in the power and most importantly the throttle response. Now I get that this might well be a placebo, but when I got the car (and this was confirmed by my mum who drove it too) the throttle was jerky and felt odd. I had made a deal with the SA that she would fill it up with Ron 97, and I think she didn't or did but it was BHP. When I emptied the tank I only got 340/350km off it but it was while the car felt sluggish and jerky.

Then I tried filling it up with 97 from Shell. Instantly the throttle felt better and the jerkiness stopped. This is what I think was being pointed out earlier that the octane level might have been the cause or it was just bad fuel. I have booked an appointment with a service centre to do the first 1k service and reading what's been mentioned here I will definitely be upping the oil to fully synthetic.

If you guys have theories as to why this was happening and what I can convey to the mechanics there that would be much appreciated!

Cheers
try RON 95 from Shell and report again.

could be a case of bad fuel - I've poured Petronas once, and the car's engine became "jerky" like it was knocking. I have honestly no idea why this happens.
Jescon
post Aug 10 2020, 05:40 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Jiao2 Itchy @ Aug 10 2020, 04:14 PM)
gb claim approved at last.
initially rejected by Proton management.. giving reason my service is "not consistent". Whatever the fuck that means..

I was like huh what the fark you talking about?? Even the SA was like "but i checked your service record, all follow up to date and looks good.." He also pelik why they rejected my claim.
Then he said he will submit an appeal for me.. Today got the news that its approved.

Anyway, he told me i have to pay myself for the CVT oil + CVT oil filter + gasket plug + labour... Around 400 bucks..  🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️
Ah, warranty claims... the worst hassle ever.

But glad they changed their mind... maybe ur SA said this guy active in LYN Forum, better jaga. lol
Jescon
post Aug 10 2020, 05:41 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(billychong930518 @ Aug 10 2020, 04:47 PM)
Guys, may I know how do you all claims for the CVT gearbox?
Claim warranty?
Jescon
post Aug 21 2020, 08:16 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Aug 21 2020, 08:02 PM)
My car jerkiness is getting worst, I'm not sure why. Still using Caltex fuel and fully synthetic EO.

It this a sign the car has aged(4 years)?
Try put Ron97, floor the accelerator, until 160km/h

If not, most probably needs a tune

I don't wanna say GB might have issues

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0435sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:17 AM