8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

fandom96
post Mar 23 2020, 01:06 AM

153 posts

Sad to hear that HITS Movies preview will be extended to June 2020. It was supposed ended on March 20. I thought that changed their mine, and straight making HITS Movies as permanent channel. 😩😩
fandom96
post Mar 23 2020, 03:17 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 23 2020, 01:54 AM)
Is that sarcasm? Why sad for a channel preview being extended?  biggrin.gif
Just watch as long as you can...
Sad because I thought they wanna make it permanent, you know with all the HITS Movies promoted in the new channel number ads. But just found out that they just gonna extend the preview, not making it permanent.
fandom96
post Mar 23 2020, 03:20 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Mar 23 2020, 02:24 AM)
HITS Movies is cheaper than other movies channel and the viewership is not bad too. That's why they keep it. But I like some titles that air on the channel. 👍😃
Me either, I like that its different than the current movie channels lineup. I don't mind if they decide to include the channel in Movies pack.

Plus, have you guys notice that Sony-owned movies like Spiderman and Venom now not premiers on HBO nor FOX Movies?
fandom96
post Mar 24 2020, 02:32 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Mar 24 2020, 12:42 PM)
Well, I have used the word "rumour" to refer to the source. I saw it on Astro Facebook page a few months ago (before Sony sells the channels to KC). Since Netflix distributes the first-run Sony movies in Malaysia and the subscription base is high, I don't think Sony will launch a linear channel in Asia. But that doesn't mean Sony won't launch SVOD channel in Asia (like BBC First).
Maybe Sony decide to promote its own contents on their own streaming services - Sony Crackle. That explains why they stop licensing their contents to HBO or FOX Movies.
fandom96
post Mar 24 2020, 02:39 PM

153 posts

Typical Astro. People pay for their movie channel (ref to Astro Citra HD in Mustika pack), for RM12+ monthly, plus additional fees if in HD, and they simply made the TV Premier of blockbuster movies on a free channel, Astro Ria. Then what Mustika pack subscribers get? Repeats shows 24/7, with low quality telemovies on Saturday. Same things happened during last Hari zraya, all the premiers fro new blockbuster movies were premiered on Astro Ria, then the pay channel Astro Citra will repeat in two weeks.

fandom96
post Mar 25 2020, 02:03 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Mar 24 2020, 05:45 PM)

Just need to remind you, Astro Ria is not a free channel like Prima or Oasis.
It is still considered as a premium channel.
Why?
Njoi did not get free access to it, and the cheapest Family Lite pack also did not have access to Astro Ria.
You need to subscribe to the most cheapest Family pack which costs almost RM40 or more monthly.
And even in the MCO, Astro did not even give access to this channel for Njoi and also Astro Go customers as shown below.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/03/24/5OjAgO.md.jpg

https://pictr.com/images/2020/03/24/5OjWMY.md.jpg

https://pictr.com/images/2020/03/24/5OjQBJ.md.jpg

Well I understand, sorry, what I really meant was that people pay extra from the basic fees to watch premium channels in Mustika. Astro Citra should be the first to premier local blockbuster movies. Astro Warna, only one new show in a month. Naura? Just repeat shows and some even carry from free chanel like Astro Oasis. So Astro Citra is the only we can count on. But yet, only serve one low quality telemovie premiers every Saturday. The rest just repeat shows.

Astro Ria is consider premium if we refer to NJOI, however, Ria sometimes carry shows from Prima, and Prima carry shows from Ria. What's so premium about that? I tell you what, NJOI customers shouldn't waste their money to purchase Ria, cause it will be on Prima eventually. Don't let me talk about Prima next, cause that recycle bin channel have nothing interesting to watch.
fandom96
post Apr 3 2020, 12:10 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(hazim96 @ Apr 3 2020, 12:27 AM)

Now a lot of Astro Ceria show is simulcast with Astro Ria. Is it because of low viewership on Astro Ceria?
Astro should reduce in-house channel. That's it. There are almost zero new show in a month. The programme are sometimes transferred to one another like from Ria to Prima after sometimes or vice versa. Simultaneous broadcast for almost all new shows and live shows. They should just keep it like the old days, where Ria, Prima and Oasis are the mainstream. Plus, Kirana for movies. No need expensive-long ads channels in Mustika pack.

And I think ABO Movies Tayangan Hebat should be either terminated or merge with channel like Citra. And for God's sake, Citra should not have ads in the middle of the show. It's a premium channels.

I noticed BOO now have ads. I don't subscribe to BOO cause the channels is basically a recycle from ABO and Citra. But since the free preview, it is shocking to know that BOO now have ads.
fandom96
post May 11 2020, 11:25 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ May 11 2020, 12:50 PM)

Agree,

Astro Ria should focus on variety show and local drama.
Astro Prima should be terminated or made avaialble exclusive for Njoi, I don't need a recycle bin channel.
Astro Oasis should just include Naura programmes, replace Naura with other international channes.
Astro Warna should create more contents, add international contents, instead giving free money to those recycle participants of Maharaja Hambar Mega.
Astro Citra should play variety Malay and Asian films, not repeat every two to three months. Should continue with the Citra Originals slot for limited series. Premiers should be on every weekend.

Astro Bella was a great channel tho, show international telenovelas, but yet, they refuse to update the contents. Now its terminated, and Astro still refuse to update the contents for telenovelas. Just keep repeating the already broadcast shows from the old Bella to Prima then Ria then Prima back then Ria, untill kiamat.
fandom96
post May 22 2020, 03:10 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ May 22 2020, 12:02 PM)
Latest TV rating for FTA and pay TV

Astro, watch this. You never been as good as TV3 in ratings, neither in ads marketing. Stop trying so hard that you tend to forgot people actually pay for your service. The number of ads is ridicilious, yet no new programmes. Unfair quality for premium channels. Stupid Citra should've been merged with ABO Tayangan Hebat with no ads concept. Tayangan Hebat is outdated, not hebat anymore. Also noticed that ABO now playing old movies? Just unbelievable.
fandom96
post Jun 2 2020, 07:29 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 1 2020, 09:49 PM)
With Astro Vaanavil channel logo is now romanised / in English, even the "LIVE" indicator is also in English (previously it's in Tamil).
Astro's Tamil News slot, Astro Seithigal is still shot using SD broadcast cameras, similar like certain news programmes in Astro Awani.
But on a brighter side, at least they make it display as 16:9  biggrin.gif
I really hope Astro will upgraded their camera when Awani is available in HD. You can see the poor quality even when you watch Buletin Awani on HD channels like Ria or Hello. Even Buletin Utama have better camera quality tho the channel is in SD on Astro platform.
fandom96
post Jun 2 2020, 11:56 PM

153 posts

Did anyone notice some error just now? I was surfing the channels, suddenly Kix HD (Ch705) becomes Nickelodeon HD (Ch616), showing Spongebob Squarepants. I check the TV Guide for Nickelodeon at that time (around 9.50pm), it is Spongebob Squarepants, but the guide on Kix HD remains "Ultimate Brocation", but tits Spongebob Squarepants lol.

I didn't have my phone at that time to capture tho. But how can this happen?
fandom96
post Jun 3 2020, 03:30 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Fazrien97 @ Jun 3 2020, 12:14 PM)
From the old article
the market edge mytv
Oh wow, I guess channel like Hello, Egg and Naura are among Astro co-produced channels with other company rather than Astro full-ownership. I suspected that Naura is under Thinker Studios, a subsidiary company underAstro Entertainment. That's why they don't have Astro branding after all.
fandom96
post Jun 5 2020, 08:18 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 3 2020, 09:18 PM)
Yet Naura channel is included under Mustika pack, and some Malay viewers find that the channel is boring, and would rather watch Islamic programmes on Astro Oasis instead.  sweat.gif
Naura have 0 new shows, the same programme repeat itself since the day they launch. Even Oasis have some new contents. I hate Astro.
fandom96
post Jun 17 2020, 01:49 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 17 2020, 12:25 AM)
Woah... I didn't notice that  blink.gif
Thx for sharing this info with us...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Astro's Indian customers aren't gonna be happy about this, especially if he/she have rented the same Tamil movie just about a month ago...  sweat.gif
I wonder, does this often happen between Astro First and any of non-Astro in-house Indian channels? How about Hindi movies?
Nothng weird about is. One time, Astro was promoting Oscar-winning line-up movies on Astro Best available for rent, I noticed one of them was Rocketman. But in the same time, Rocketman was aired as HBO Saturday Night Premier. Imagine you subcribe the movie on Astro Best, without realize the movie was included in your Movie pack subscriptions. You just add another RM15 for the same movie.
fandom96
post Jun 18 2020, 07:06 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(sahman @ Jun 18 2020, 03:56 PM)
I got some info from other group that  Animax will cease  channel on Unifi Tv. Not sure if this is true and will happen on Astro also.
Comparing Astro and UnifiTV, I noticed Unifi is very active in terminating channels, even the channels were just launched for more than a year or two. I guess UnifiTV is not serious with TV broadcast business.

Eh talking about serious, what happened to SiriusTV that was supposed to become another options for pay-TV service. Seriously injured or what? The website is still there tho. But the channel line up sucks. Really wanna know the subscribers' feedback. If there's any.
fandom96
post Jun 24 2020, 08:36 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(hazim96 @ Jun 24 2020, 04:55 PM)
Astro itself doesnt check the promo they have upload on FB. Astro Oasis HD is channel 106 and oasis is channel 126. But at the promo still using the old channel number. The promo should have been QC first right before post it to FB?

Even Astro staff got confuse. My parents always thought the same, channel 12+ are for HD. Clearly to their eyes its just the same. I had to block the SD channels because I just hate watching the blurry SD channels, plus I wamt my parents to get used to the ew channel number. Why can't Astro just made SD and HD channels on thesame number. They did it on Astro Vaanavil, even ABOM Tayangan Hebat only available in HD. Those who not subscribe HD service just let them watch the blurry one lah. No need to put 2 channels just because you want to show that you have so many channels. 😂
fandom96
post Jun 26 2020, 02:16 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Fazrien97 @ Jun 24 2020, 09:00 PM)
Off topic. Seems sirius tv have some new info
[attachmentid=10522589]
Damnnnn. They are really serious. 😂
fandom96
post Jun 26 2020, 02:19 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 25 2020, 10:51 AM)
You see the channels lineup, then you know ady lo  sweat.gif
https://www.siriusmalaysia.tv/tv-channels/

Besides CNA (Channel NewsAsia) and ABC Australia, the rest are channels that Astro and Unifi TV won't take.
You don't see them offer channels from well known TV networks like Fox Network Group, ViacomCBS International, Discovery Networks, A&E Networks, and none of any foreign Chinese or Indian language channels.
user posted image    user posted image
Source: https://www.siriusmalaysia.tv/wp-content/up...tailer-form.zip
*The PDF file is as of 2019. Channel offerings may still be subject to change.

Out of all channels, only a very few handful ones are "maybe quite okay to watch", like CNA, Trace Urban, Mezzo Live (if you're interested in classical music).
But generally, the mass audience (general public) will very very likely find that their channels lineup is boring.
Maybe only those niche viewers would be interested to watch. Well, it's just the beginning, so it's kinda too early to judge.

Also, it is confirmed that Sirius TV's set-top-box will not be the S2+T2 combo type (only DVB-S2 type), bcuz both MYTV and Sirius TV did not reach a mutual agreement about it. And, it is expected that not all FTA channels would be available on Sirius TV's DTH platform.
If they really wanna compete, they got to have better channel line up for phase 1. First impression is important. Try at least to get FOX networks line up, AT&T, than they have better offerings.
fandom96
post Jul 2 2020, 12:04 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(eduardo2020 @ Jul 1 2020, 11:58 PM)
For the first time
Astro VinmeenHD showing Serials from Mediacorp Vasantham

Singa Airlines Every Mon- Friday@8pm
Astro lately very interested with Singapore's contents. Both Astro Warna and Astro Citra now showing Singapore TV series. I'm not complaining, maybe this is good to have more variety in TV contents, its just that Singapore people ain't funny, so their comedy series on Warna is so HAMBAR tho 😂.
fandom96
post Jul 2 2020, 08:30 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 2 2020, 03:51 PM)
What on earth????????  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
Kesian orang Brunei...  sad.gif These channels gone from their platform..
Maybe the viewership for these channels there are very low, so they remove it to cut cost with the channel provider...

Coincidentally, ALL of these channels are available on Unifi TV platform.

Meanwhile in Brunei (Kristal Astro), Sky News channel is apparently also being ceased over there.
Sky News on Astro Malaysia platform still remains.
Astro ceased these branded international channels? Something fishy. Is Astro going to lose its share in Kristal-Astro or its just cost-saving plan? I wonder why. Or is it because of the banned from their gov?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:25 PM