Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jan 6 2025, 12:10 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(laze84 @ Jan 5 2025, 10:41 PM)
Yes, the new fibre plan. Not necessarily using satellite. I just feel wasted because old satellite cable still there. I though i just simple connect for a backup in case wifi down. If call astro maybe they will charge some fees, if that so i just continue using wifi 😀

I just feel wasted because old satellite cable still there.
Previously when you were using PVR box, does it have 2 satellite cables (usually white colour cables)? Or you connect only 1 satellite cable?

If call astro maybe they will charge some fees, if that so i just continue using wifi 😀
You contact Astro customer service first. Besides contract restart, ask them whether will there be any additional fee? If no, just proceed with Satellite then.

Read this: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=110996760

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 6 2025, 12:10 AM
joshhd
post Jan 7 2025, 01:33 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(laze84 @ Jan 6 2025, 12:12 PM)
Yes, got 2 cables, i think 1 for recording. Basically there are same purpose right? can use any of them?

Since you already have 2 cables, then it's very likely you are using Universal LNB. Remember to select "Universal" for the LNB Type setting (not dCSS) if you ever Restore Factory Settings and then choose Satellite.

2 satellite cables were used for your PVR box is to allow recording of 2 channels simultaneously, or 1 for watching 1 for recording.
But since you're on Ulti or Ultra Box now, then it isn't relevant anymore because any recordings are made via cloud recording only, rather than record from satellite to an internal hard disk.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 7 2025, 01:34 PM
joshhd
post Jan 12 2025, 11:10 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jan 12 2025, 07:59 PM)
got question about HBO Max

i saw from Astro website, it shows the Max with bracket (coming soon)

so is it available for existing movie pack subscriber?

Yes, existing Movies pack customers are entitled to Max Standard plan. However, please read this for more info: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry110772447
joshhd
post Jan 15 2025, 09:49 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(krofal @ Jan 15 2025, 04:52 PM)
Currently paying RM163 before tax for Super Pack 3. Wondering if it's worth just upgrading to the new Astro One Epic?

Pretty much everything you need to know is here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry110957241
joshhd
post Jan 17 2025, 01:23 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 16 2025, 12:42 AM)
How long does the switching take from old pack to this new one pack?

If it doesn't involve installations/setups like box upgrade or Astro Fibre installation, then it should be immediate.
Before you want to switch to the new pack, have you upgraded to Ultra Box already?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 17 2025, 01:23 AM
joshhd
post Jan 17 2025, 01:24 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jan 16 2025, 02:19 AM)
Some users reportedly can link Astro ID to the new Max app.

Really? Where?
Anyone else here able to link Max account to Astro subscription?

QUOTE(mdziaf @ Jan 16 2025, 11:49 PM)
No longer possible to get multiroom with old plans. Email CS who said all ok but last-last say oh cannot gotta call their hotline. Call hotline they say oh wait gonna check, and comeback kena upgrade new package first only can get multiroom.

Can provide the screenshots of the emails?
joshhd
post Jan 21 2025, 09:23 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(mdziaf @ Jan 17 2025, 07:32 AM)

This was the last email before being told I needed to call.

That is for Multiroom Smart TV...
So you manage to get the Multiroom Smart TV for your legacy pack already?
joshhd
post Jan 21 2025, 09:26 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 19 2025, 09:27 PM)
Yup, already a ultra box user... it is just a system update on their side. No physical installation required. Submitted the request on Tuesday.
Confirm the update done on Saturday. So take about 4 days in my case. Not immediate though at least for my case.

What was your legacy pack again, and how much were you paying?
And now, which Astro One pack did you switched to, and how much does it cost in total?
joshhd
post Jan 21 2025, 09:53 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 18 2025, 07:57 PM)
Called CS for retention offer, contract almost due on 23/1/25.

Current pack: Wah Pack (RM80)
Offer 1: RM30 rebates for 24 months
Offer 2: RM35 rebates for 36 months

Downgraded to Starter Pack (RM61.32)
Offer 1: RM25 rebates for 24 months
Offer 2: RM30 rebates for 36 months

Both options free either Variety or Sports Pack for 1 year.

CS absorbed RM10 downgrade fees.

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 19 2025, 10:31 PM)
Starter pack for 24 months, i just need Chinese channels, EPL is not needed. Free sports pack for one year and free downgrade are bonus. Not worth to tied for one year more for merely RM5 discount per month additionally. After 24 months i can negotiate again.
It seems they still prefer to maintain old packs instead of new packs. They even allowed downgrading of legacy packs.

Discounts for 24 months without contract? See your myastro app and email for order summary.

Wait, they allowed you to downgrade from Wah Pack to Starter Pack? So nice one? blink.gif
What did you say in the call? Did you ask them to downgrade pack, and then they straightaway give you 2 options, which is:

Remain at Wah Pack then enjoy RM30/35 rebate OR downgrade to Starter Pack then enjoy RM25/30 rebate OR how?

Did you ask them, will you be getting 24 months contract by downgrading to Starter Pack? Or there's no contract at all, it's just that the rebate lasts for 24 months?
QUOTE(mitodna @ Jan 19 2025, 09:55 PM)
nice deal

special thanks joshhd for post #20348

i just random call customer service today, say I want to downgrade without mention any pack name (supposedly Astro One: Sports Pack, by chopping
Kids +RM9.99, Variety +RM9.99, and/or News & Documentaries +RM14.99, Disney+ Hotstar Basic +RM16.94, Max Standard2 +RM31.39)

Super Pack 3 - got retention offer RM40 discount for 24 months, no contract
so the new price is RM123, and after 8% - RM132.84

I didn't negotiate the offer, the call to customer service is smooth ? just weirdly transfer from 1 call, including IVR, no holding took about 12 minutes

now, just has to wait whether Astro CS really did submit the retention

Super Pack 3 gets RM40 rebate for 24 months... Not bad eh sweat.gif

I didn't negotiate the offer, the call to customer service is smooth ? just weirdly transfer from 1 call, including IVR, no holding took about 12 minutes
Good lah... That proves that their retention offers already have a fixed criteria where the amount of rebate depends on the pack you're currently subscribed on.
The higher the tier of your pack, the higher the retention offer rebate.
Not like last time, ask you so many questions, beat around the bush. I like this practice better, cuz it's straight to the point and save everybody's time thumbsup.gif
QUOTE(DK007 @ Jan 21 2025, 07:16 AM)
I also got retention offer
Super Pack 2 (have all channels /all add-ons) + all apps except Netflix and IQYI VIP + ultra Box  = RM109.10 including 8%..
with 24 months contract is it good offer ?
reba
Agent mentioned my pack much better and cheaper than new astro one epic plan just don’t have Netflix and IQYI apps . Don’t know true or not ..

Oh yes. Once you deduct their retention offer, then definitely it is much worth it, compared to switching to Astro One packs.
Is there a 24 months contract, or it's just that the rebate lasts for 24 months? Did you clarify this with the agent?

Agent mentioned my pack much better and cheaper than new astro one epic plan just don’t have Netflix and IQYI apps . Don’t know true or not ..
All info you need to know is here, scroll to point 6): https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry110957241
joshhd
post Jan 21 2025, 09:57 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jan 19 2025, 05:59 PM)
Yeah, I manage to link my Astro subscription to the MAX app.

I got the info that you can now link your Max account with Astro subscription, effective 15 Jan 2025. sweat.gif
Didn't aware of that until now notworthy.gif
joshhd
post Jan 21 2025, 10:01 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 21 2025, 09:53 PM)
From platinum to Epic. My package include fiber, multiroom and netflix premium.. previously paying RM327.80. But when contracts lapse... the discount is removed and I need to pay addtional RM64...

So I think the new Epic package is about RM317.39, with the same package I had previously when on platinum

I see... But you do aware that by moving to Epic Pack, you will be losing access to Viu Premium (if that is your Asian Favourites selection), right?
If you don't need Viu Premium then it's fine.

Since there is a reduction in total monthly fee, then the change would take effect on the next billing cycle, rather than immediate.
joshhd
post Jan 21 2025, 10:25 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 21 2025, 10:11 PM)
I just tell them contract ending soon and checking for new offer.

Initially they only offered option 1 remained wah pack with RM discount for 24 months or option 2 RM35 for 36 months.

I told them I don’t need EPL.

Then they offered to downgrade to Starter Pack with option 1 RM25 discount for 24 months or option 2 RM30 for 36 months for more savings. One off RM10 downgrade fees.

They offered free either variety pack or sport pack for one year.

Eventually opted for Starter Pack a with new 24 months contract for RM25 discount for 24 months. RM600 contract penalty prorated for 24 months. Ultimately they absorbed RM10 downgrade fees before ending my call.

Ohhh... I didn't know they allow pack downgrades within legacy pack... sweat.gif
But I do know that legacy pack customers cannot switch to 2021 pack.

Anyone else here manage to downgrade pack but still within legacy pack?
joshhd
post Jan 22 2025, 01:07 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jan 22 2025, 01:34 AM)
i am Value Pack 2

S1 Value Pack 2 RM80.00
S1 Additional Mini RM12.00 kids
Service tax @ 8% RM7.36
Total monthly charges RM99.36
i am older astro member since 2000 15 year ago

any chance to get offer
i checked astro app says no contract its finished contract

so if i call astro CS do i need say i want astro terminate or other need say to get trick retention offer ???

any tips please can you story
can you step
i call 03-95433838 then what press do i need and to get retention offer
daam you lucky you Downgraded to Starter Pack (RM61.32)
Offer 1: RM25 rebates for 24 months meaning = RM61.32 - RM25 = you paying RM36.32 ?????
i must saying tell contract ending then they checking for new offer right ?

i want more savings don't want waste

i call 03-95433838 then what press do i need and to get retention offer

thank you

Just tell them you want to downgrade your pack, then they'll propose retention offer to you already.
It's pretty straightforward.

Do note that this is considered a "retention offer" where they give you something, so that you'll continue subscribe to Astro.
You shouldn't treat this "savings" like their normal offerings, and take it for granted.
joshhd
post Jan 22 2025, 10:53 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2025, 01:31 PM)
Why no such thing when I downgraded my package? sad.gif
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2025, 07:43 PM)
Too late for me. My contract was over in October and called to downgrade on the day I was out of contract, monthly payment was reduced by RM 60 but they didn’t offer me anything. laugh.gif
Now I’m tied to another 24 months. I’m happy with the price reduction as I don’t need other channels except for Chinese, Sports and Netflix. Just that seeing you all get rebates and also can retain more channels makes me feel sad. laugh.gif

From Platinum Pack to Sports Pack Plus is a huge difference. I don't think they have a retention offer of as high as RM60 (or I might be wrong? hmm.gif ) hence that's why they just let you proceed downgrade to the pack instead.

You can try again 2 years later when your contract ends. sweat.gif
QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Jan 22 2025, 04:16 PM)
woah that's nice that they offer RM30 rebate for you. i should have waited for a little while and maybe i'll get the same rebate offer?

Since others are getting retention offer, you can give it a try. Just don't be greedy lol.gif
joshhd
post Jan 22 2025, 10:54 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jan 22 2025, 02:24 PM)
i need indian channel complete like this
[attachmentid=11509270]
kids

that only not other need it

so i must say downgrade will not loss channel ???

Hold on...
You mentioned you subscribed to Value Pack 2 now, like this:
S1 Value Pack 2 RM80.00
S1 Additional Mini RM12.00 kids
Service tax @ 8% RM7.36
Total monthly charges RM99.36
Can you double confirm whether you're able to watch Sun TV channels CH211-217 now?
joshhd
post Jan 23 2025, 01:05 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(DK007 @ Jan 23 2025, 07:13 AM)
Yes , I just checked the link you share above and already accepted the offer .. thank you so much

I just compared with other plan , my plan packages quite similar like Astro Epic Plan/Platinum plan ..
have full channels except channel CH831, CH832 , CH833

Have all apps except Netflix and IQYI

Legacy pack can stream 4 devices

Total including tax 8% = RM109.10
With 24 months contract smile.gif

Yes.
If you want to watch CH831, 832, 833 on your existing Super Pack 2, you'll need to add Sports Extra which costs +RM19.99/month.
joshhd
post Jan 24 2025, 05:08 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jan 23 2025, 01:04 AM)
yes also can watch sun tv
list channel all can view list that i always watch that already include Value Pack 2
211 sun tv can view
212 sun music can view
213 chutti tv can view
214 adithya can view

221 jaya tv can view
222 raj tv can view
223 kalaignar tv can view
224 star vijay can view

[attachmentid=11509278]

that i don't want loss channel that my old package Value Pack 2
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jan 24 2025, 04:23 PM)
Soon, you’ll be able to access all Indian channels when you switch to newer packs (i.e. Astro One pack).

The cheapest pack Astro offers now is Astro One: Entertainment Pack. For RM49.99/mth with one-time 24-month contract; you get 100+ channels & Astro GO app access. Ulti Box is the default device; unless you wanna keep the current decoder also can.

All Indian channels will be on Base category soon.

Currently:

• Ch 201 — Astro Vaanavil
• Ch 202 — Astro Vinmeen
• Ch 203 — Astro Vellithirai
• Ch 221 — Star Vijay
• Ch 222 — Colors Tamil
• Ch 223 — Zee Tamil
• Ch 241 — Astro Thangathirai
• Ch 251 — Zee Cinema

Channel additions, TBC February 2025:

• Ch 211 — Sun TV
• Ch 212 — Sun Music
• Ch 214 — Adithya
• Ch 215 — Sun News
• Ch 216 — KTV
• Ch 217 — Sun Life

tng55According to the insider info shared, it suggests that likely all Astro customers (regardless of race) will automatically gain access to ALL complete Indian channels (CH201 until CH251) as soon as around next month (Feb 2025), with no additional monthly fee needed.

Once that really happens, and if you're not interested in Sun NXT app, then only you call customer service, tell them you want to downgrade pack.
Don't elaborate further to the agent first, see what they say.
If they propose to you that if you maintain Value Pack 2 then you'd get either RM30/35 rebate, then only you ask them whether can downgrade to Starter Pack (see whether they offer you the RM25/30 rebate after downgrading it).

I don't know whether this will work or not, but based on other forumer's stories about how they get retention offer, I think you can give it a try, then let us know the outcome.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 24 2025, 06:56 PM
joshhd
post Jan 24 2025, 06:47 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 24 2025, 02:34 PM)
Hi guys, the DCSS in my condo is having issue and MO mentioned it requires an upgrade. However, the upgrade amount is quite hefty considering not many users are using DCSS.

Like suddenly yesterday while watching, it went to 0 signal and I had to switch to Internet viewing (continuous viewing)but switching channels is a PITA. I have to press a few buttons to be able to switch channels.

Here are my questions:
1) Can I unplug the RG6 cable from the wall satellite port and will it auto change to full a P&P box? Or any settings required?
2) If it can be changed to P&P by just unplugging the cable, will I miss out any channels if on P&P?
3) Is there any delay compared to the actual live TV?
4) Is it also that annoying to switch channels on P&P? Or can straight press the channel no. like on satellite?
5) Can I still switch back to DCSS in the future?

If the answers are negative, I may need to find other solutions.

You're saying that yesterday while you're watching Astro, suddenly you see the "Switch to Continuous Viewing" message (on all channels, I assume?).
Can you confirm whether the connection of the satellite cable (especially the F connector), is it in good and proper condition? Is the entire F connector can be easily turned (loose) or easily pulled out?

And when you contact your building management office, they confirmed that there is an issue with their centralise dish system (DCSS)?
What exactly is the issue till the point it requires an "upgrade"?
And now they tell you to pay for it, to continue using Astro centralise dish. Is my understanding correct?

How much did they ask you to pay? All other residents also being asked to pay?
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jan 24 2025, 04:10 PM)
First of all, your Astro Ultra Box is under Satellite right?

Afaik, here are the answers:

1) You need to reset the Ultra Box first. When reboot, set the box as “IPTV Plug & Play (self-install)” on step 3 of the startup page.

2) Yes, Ch 398; due to the broadcasting rights by the channel provider itself.

3) 30 seconds to 1 minute delay. Since it’s using a streaming method, not directly from satellite dish.

4) Um no, same as satellite. Just it buffers a bit when switching channels. The picture will be blurry first then goes to the highest quality by 5 seconds minimum (1080p 50fps). 4K UHD channels (Ch 549 & 805) will stutter frequently, regardless of the internet speed you currently have.

5) Of course. Same answer like 1), but switch to “Satellite”.

Correct me if I’m wrong. But hope it helps.
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 24 2025, 05:25 PM)
Thanks for the reply!

Yes, I’m currently on satellite.

1) I will read on how to reset the ultrabox.
2) Noted on 398 but I don’t watch it then should be OK.
3) OK, something still bearable.
4) Switching channels is easier on P&P then. I thought something like continuous viewing. Sad about the UHD channel 805 though I don’t watch it often but still.
5) Can I perform it myself or need technician to do it?

Anything I need to take note or jot down before I reset?

Thanks!

Yes, you can perform Restore Factory Settings and change it to Plug & Play mode while waiting for your Satellite issue to be resolved.
Home>Settings (gear icon)>Restore>Restore Factory Settings>Default PIN 0000

Select "IPTV Plug & Play (self-install)" if you want the box to operate under Plug & Play mode.
or select "Satellite" if you want the box to operate under Satellite mode again in the future, then make sure the LNB Type is set to dCSS (as below)
Note: You'll see this screen if you select Satellite (refer image above), and dCSS is the default option.

Anything I need to take note or jot down before I reset?
Settings such as your preferred audio/subtitle language, saved WiFi network/passwords, will be affected.
Also, all of your streaming apps that were logged in on the Ultra Box, will be logged out.
joshhd
post Jan 24 2025, 06:51 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 24 2025, 06:42 PM)
This is to update I managed to reset my box to a P&P box now. biggrin.gif
Finally, I no longer struggle with satellite issue. So far channel 805 UHD ok for me.

Glad to hear that. smile.gif
In general, if you're facing satellite connection related issue like this, I'd also advise others to Restore Factory Settings and use Plug & Play mode as a temporary backup, so that you can still continue watching Astro through Internet streaming.

Otherwise, the reappearing message of "Switch to Continuous Viewing" would be a nuisance even though the weather outside is fine.

So far channel 805 UHD ok for me.
Continue observe it for a period of time, then you'll notice the intermittent buffering or picture quality fluctuations sooner or later biggrin.gif
Connect using LAN cable won't eliminate that problem.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 24 2025, 06:54 PM
joshhd
post Jan 24 2025, 07:10 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 24 2025, 07:03 PM)
joshhd, yes like suddenly just appeared the message to ask me to switch to continuous watching. However, I noticed the quality from satellite has been bad recently. Like it will go pixelated for a few seconds on and off. This is the issues other residents are also having but the current dCSS can’t do much anymore unless it gets upgraded but I’m not sure upgrade to what equipment.

It’s around RM 7k and yes might need those units which are using satellite to fork out themselves. sweat.gif Then, only I knew only 3-5 units are affected by this issue, I was one of them. sweat.gif The rest are on P&P. laugh.gif I should have switched to P&P months ago. sweat.gif

OK, I will spend some time on UHD 805 next time. tongue.gif

It’s around RM 7k
But condos usually requires residents to pay for monthly management fees, isn't?
Shouldn't they use the funds collected from there, rather than telling only the residents who raises this complaint to fork out the money by themselves to fix the DCSS issue?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 24 2025, 07:11 PM

224 Pages « < 209 210 211 212 213 > » Top

0.5345sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:29 AM