Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Apr 11 2024, 07:10 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 11 2024, 06:55 PM)
When we are having issues with the assthrow service.. to get a fast connection with them to address the issue, is almost striking a lottery!
Also, when they are scheduling the technicians to come over the house to fix the issue, need to wait for 1 week!

You are using Astro & Broadband / Astro Fibre, is it?
Still using now, or already no more?
joshhd
post Apr 11 2024, 07:21 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 11 2024, 07:14 PM)
Oh yeah. In the email it says Klik Sini and it goes to that article.

Since I am not home, I can't test if 398 (NHK) is actually truly accessible. But for the others, yes, I can now watch them

Are you still on Sports Pack + News & Documentaries addon? So I guess, you did not subscribe to Chinese Favourites, correct? hmm.gif

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 11 2024, 07:15 PM)
Just Assthrow.

Next time if you ever experience technical issues with your Astro service (especially if requires technical visit), and you want to get special treatment on that, just lodge a MCMC complaint straightaway la.
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 12:20 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 11 2024, 07:24 PM)
I don't want to abuse MCMC first as customers need to complaint to assthrow first.
If Assthrow is not upto the service level, then go to mcmc.
Normally, I always request to speak to managerial level and always get the priority.

Because from what I see, you are already upset with Astro overall services and unlikely to give them second chances, so I figure out that you'd prefer them to give you special treatment whenever you face issues with Astro service moving forward, hence I suggest go straight to MCMC. I wouldn't consider this MCMC method as an "abuse".

But if you're okay to speak to Astro's managerial level first, then it's good la.
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 12:59 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 11 2024, 07:44 PM)
Yes, I don't subsribe to Chinese Fav.

No wonder... So it appears that they are blasting emails out to those non-Chinese Favourites (and also non-Dynasty customers?) that Astro has included those Chinese channels onto their subscription for free.
Meanwhile those existing Dynasty/Chinese Favourites customers, better just keep quiet 🤫
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 12:31 AM)
I’m on Primary Pack, Ch 398 can watch.

Yeah. NHK World Premium (CH398) used to be part of Dynasty/Chinese Favourites.
Since they moved all channels in that pack/addon into Family/Primary Pack from 1 Apr 2024, hence that is why you can watch it now.
In fact is, every Astro customers can watch it now, without subscribing to anything.

But, that channel has no subtitles (even if there is, then it's a hardcoded Japanese subtitles during non-Japanese dialogues), and their English audio dub are only applicable to very few programmes only.
It's like, that channel is meant for Japanese expats in Malaysia, not really meant for us locals to watch it. Unless if you can understand Japanese, then it's different story.
For those who don't know, Japan's NHK is like equivalent to our Malaysia's RTM, so don't expect too much from that Japanese channel.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 12 2024, 01:01 AM
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 01:30 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 01:36 AM)
Plus, it’s only viewable using satellite dish. Plug ‘n Play, Multiroom Smart TV & Astro GO cannot.

Since I was migrating from NJOI using the same NJOI Box (HD Zapper), so can watch already.

You migrated from NJOI to Astro? That's good. The company will be very happy to hear that biggrin.gif
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 02:21 AM)
Saja menyelit.

When Unifi TV app opens, this pop-up shows up.

VOD Zone only. If you want Channel Zone also, then need to add money.
Compared to Astro's previously, it's both VOD and Channel Zone.

But yeah, better than nothing.

joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 02:19 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 12 2024, 02:11 PM)
If migrate from njoi to assthrow need contract for 2 years, should get a new assthrow box.
Then your zapper can remain as it is can continue to watch those free channels.

If you want to convert your assthrow to njoi, you need to pay $$$ to assthrow again.. that you can avoid.

If i remember correctly, they do have dedicated offers to those "NJOI convert to Astro" customers, which will be different than what you get by signing up a new Astro subscription.

linkinstreet Can share with us on what was the deal that they offered you when you switch from NJOI to Astro?
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 03:13 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 12 2024, 02:19 PM)
If i remember correctly, they do have dedicated offers to those "NJOI convert to Astro" customers, which will be different than what you get by signing up a new Astro subscription.

linkinstreet Can share with us on what was the deal that they offered you when you switch from NJOI to Astro?
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 12 2024, 03:10 PM)
Hi Josh, I think you might be mixing me for someone else. I didn't convert from nJOI. 😅

Eh sorry sorry 🤣
doubleM2 Can share with us on what was the deal that they offered you when you switch from NJOI to Astro Primary Pack?
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 03:39 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 03:33 PM)
I was opt-in for a 0-month contract via a live agent from NJOI's WhatsApp.

Back in August 2023 got promo: Primary Pack for only RM40/mth* when migrating from NJOI.

*Rebate RM35 for 12 months though.

So basically is, now you're on Primary Pack 0 month contract at RM74.99 but you get RM35 rebate, hence you're paying RM39.99?

The rebate lasts for 12 months or 24 months?
Let's say it's 24 months. Then from the 25th month onwards, you'll be paying RM74.99 oh... sweat.gif
What do you plan to do from the 25th month onwards?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 12 2024, 03:41 PM
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 03:59 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 03:43 PM)
12 months actually when I checked my Astro bill.

Yeah, I know. One month before canceling my subscription, I'll try to call Astro, to see if they could retain my RM35 discount for a longer time tongue.gif

I doubt that you'll able to retain RM35 discount whatsoever.
Let's say you'll have to pay more for Primary Pack after the rebate period is over, what do you plan to do?
joshhd
post Apr 12 2024, 05:01 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 04:45 PM)
I’m following my backup plan since the moment I first switched NJOI to Astro back in August. I just switch back to NJOI and pay a bit more for sooka, and call it a day.

NJOI offerings are far more intriguing these days.

The process of converting Astro to NJOI are similar as terminating Astro service.

Need to clear all outstanding, can only be done by calling customer service to give them within 30 days notice, and then pay an expensive conversion fee (if I'm not mistaken is RM199).

Are you okay with that?
joshhd
post Apr 14 2024, 05:33 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 12 2024, 03:42 PM)
Njoi family pack now is RM28 for 30 days excluding SST.
I think Njoi family pack has more channels than assthrow itself.
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Apr 12 2024, 03:47 PM)
But no Astro GO access (or NJOI Now anymore). If got mobile streaming for sure I'm retaining my NJOI subscription.

For now NJOI customers kena pay extra for sooka mobile app, just to access content anywhere.

Comparison between Astro's Family/Primary Pack vs NJOI Family Pack
(As of April 2024)

*click/tap image to view in full resolution
joshhd
post Apr 14 2024, 05:35 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 14 2024, 03:39 PM)
How to refresh the assthrow signal now?
Can't find the page to refresh it from myastro app or website.

Go to the Account tab and scroll to "Subscription' section. Select "TV pack', select "Main room' or "Multiroom' and then click the "Refresh' button.

Source: https://support.astro.com.my/question/can-i...ard-in-my-astro
joshhd
post Apr 14 2024, 09:47 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 14 2024, 09:44 PM)
So no point to convert from Njoi to Assthrow pack now.
Paying more for lesser channels.

When you're on Astro, you get at least an Ulti Box, where you get to access features like cloud recording, Play from Start, Live Pause, On Demand, and Astro Go.
Meanwhile for NJOI, you get none of those features.

Some people find those features useful, while some just purely wants to watch linear TV channels and nothing else, so it really depends on what are your needs.
joshhd
post Apr 14 2024, 10:50 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 14 2024, 10:32 PM)
The benefits to convert from njoi to assthrow are lesser than cons, especially in the long term.
One of the cons is most streaming apps can be installed on android tv OS/Apple iOS, except for assthrow go.
Majority of the assthrow subscribers are still there because of the older family members and they are not utilizing this Go app.
If you ask the youngsters about assthrow, they will say they are not interested after all.
I happened to ask them early of this year where they watch their favourite shows, and their answers are loklok, bilibili and etc.
So I really wonder if assthrow Go is so popular nowadays?

I understand where you come from.
But in reality, just because you asked your circle group of friends or relatives who gave you the similar answer of "not interested in Astro Go", it doesn't mean that Astro Go isn't popular elsewhere.

Astro themselves has the latest data and metrics of how many active Astro Go users out there, and how many hours of content being streamed on Astro Go.
And if it's not popular, Astro might as well cease it already, don't you think so? hmm.gif
joshhd
post Apr 16 2024, 12:36 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Apr 15 2024, 11:05 PM)
Today, I tried to log into my TVB Anywhere+ app in my Ultra Box and there isn't a QR code in the box for me to scan.

Then, when I went to https://plus.tvbanywhere.com/en/tvapp/login on my mobile, I get a message that says I am NOT an active subscriber of TVB Anywhere+.  I am on Platinum Pack and I have no issues with the TVB Anywhere+ app in my Ultra Box prior to February 2024.  Just that I haven't use the app since January until today.

Then I came across this in Astro Website:
https://support.astro.com.my/question/what-...-1st-april-2024

I am not a new Astro subscriber. When I called Astro Customer Service, they said everything is fine on the side and asked me to re-boot my box. Same issue after re-boot.

What's the issue? Looks like I need to call Astro again tomorrow.

For your case, as you said, you have previously activated your free TVBAnywhere+ from Astro, but you haven't been using the app since January (2024, I suppose).
And today, you're getting this error when logging in your TVBAnywhere+ account:
Dear Astro customer, you are currently not an active subscriber for TVB Anywhere+. Kindly WhatsApp "GET TVB" to 03-9543 3838.

But Astro website FAQ ( https://support.astro.com.my/question/what-...-1st-april-2024 ) cleared stated that:
Existing TVBAnywhere+ app users: You can continue to enjoy the TVBAnywhere+ app via the apps rail on your Ultra/Ulti Box and on your preferred devices.
However, you are not able to access it now at all, which you are not getting as what stated from their website.
On other note, I've previously mentioned this on my post:
What it means is that for Dynasty/Chinese Favourites customers who previously linked their TVBAnywhere+ with the Astro account, and been using it, then you shall still be able to continue using it.
However, if you've previously activated your free TVBAnywhere+ with Astro, and if you're getting an error message like "you are not an active subscriber of TVBAnywhere+" now, try contact Astro customer service for assistance.
But I got the info that their continued free usage for some existing Astro customers will only last for few months from now as it is just their "temporary solution".
Link: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109501354

You can try dispute this matter by contacting customer service. But since their CS agents (03-95433838) can be unreliable sometimes, I suggest you write email to wecare@astro.com.my instead.
Get a written reply from them, and see what is their reply. Do share a screenshot on their reply here.

Like I said previously, I got the info that their continued free TVBAnywhere+ to some existing customers would only last for few months, and it will not be permanent.
If it's for me, I'll just accept the fate that Astro don't want to give free TVBAnywhere+ anymore, probably because they don't want to pay additional money to TVB for the app (since Astro wants to save cost here and there nowadays)?
But it's up to you la, if you want to try call them and dispute about this further, since their website is stated otherwise.

Alternatively, if you want a better long term solution, I suggest you move on and subscribe TVBAnywhere+ as a standalone subscription instead.

If you have a Unifi TV subscription, TVBAnywhere+ (VOD Zone) is already included for free if you're on Ruby Plus Pack.
Otherwise, you can subscribe to it as an add-on subscription from Unifi TV at these promo price of:
• TVBAnywhere+ (Channel Zone) at RM9.90/month
• TVBAnywhere+ (VOD Zone) at RM9.90/month
• TVBAnywhere+ (VOD + Channel Zone) at RM15.90/month
(VOD + Channel Zone) is also known as their "Premium" tier plan.

If you don't have a Unifi TV subscription, then you got to subscribe directly from TVB instead, at original retail price of:
More info here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109377110
joshhd
post Apr 16 2024, 12:49 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 16 2024, 12:33 AM)
Assthrow is very scheming to cut the cost now.
I didn't have this issue to logon to TVBAnywhere+ today.

If pokemon can access it as usual, but brandonkl can't, then I suspect that Astro has a certain quota on how many users (e.g. for first few thousands of users?) can still get the continued limited-time free access to TVBAnywhere+ after 1 April 2024.

So by the time that brandonkl wants to login to the TVBAnywhere+ (which is today? shocking.gif ), their quota has been used up.

This is just my hypothesis ya...
joshhd
post Apr 16 2024, 12:46 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 16 2024, 08:27 AM)
hmm.gif I’ve tried on 1st April afternoon but can’t login sweat.gif

Eh? Hmmm... Does it mean the quota have been used up on 1 April midnight or what? hmm.gif

Who else here is experiencing the same thing with TVBAnywhere+ from Astro?
Can share when is the last time you login to TVBAnywhere before you get the "not an active subscriber of TVB Anywhere" error?
joshhd
post Apr 16 2024, 01:29 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Apr 16 2024, 01:16 PM)
I called Astro again this morning and they informed me to whatsapp them with the screenshots. But instead of whatsapp, I emailed to wecare@astro.com.my with the details of my issues and account.

By the way, I also can't access BBC iPlayer. Error message says I need to upgrade to Platinum Pack. No issues accessing it prior to January 2024.

I have no issues with Netflix, Disney Hotstar and BeIn Sports app in Ultra Box.

But instead of whatsapp, I emailed to wecare@astro.com.my with the details of my issues and account
Good thumbup.gif Do share with us on the outcome.

By the way, I also can't access BBC iPlayer. Error message says I need to upgrade to Platinum Pack. No issues accessing it prior to January 2024.
You are already on Platinum Pack and when you login to BBC Player, they still say you need to upgrade to Platinum Pack.
Very good. It means something have messed up on their end then. doh.gif
You did mention this issue on the email you sent to them, right?
joshhd
post Apr 16 2024, 10:46 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Apr 16 2024, 07:48 PM)
Today I go there and able to change package already. Now primary pack RM59.99  24months contracts.
So from old package with add-on total RM118.79 now become RM64.78 every month save RM54.01.
Also to do that, they have to take photo from IC front and back and also subscriber photo. Something like padu registration and Identity verification so remember the person under account must go there to do that.

Ah, so it can be done then... Which Astro Exclusive Partners branch that you went to?
Is it a long wait? Many people queueing up? Or nobody at all?

Also to do that, they have to take photo from IC front and back and also subscriber photo. Something like padu registration and Identity verification so remember the person under account must go there to do that.
They take photo of the IC card (front and back)? That Astro account, is it under your name?
And what you mean by "subscriber photo"? Is it like, they use a webcam camera and take a picture of you, standing in front of the counter or something, or how?
joshhd
post Apr 17 2024, 10:03 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 17 2024, 02:33 PM)
Would the old ASTRO WiFi USB dongle can be use for PCs ?
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Apr 17 2024, 06:39 PM)
It wouldn't hurt to try
If you do try do document what does it show up as in device manager/task manager/the MAC Address of it (first 3 chunks identify the manufacturer)

My guess it is just a generic MediaTek or Realtek USB N150 WiFi dongle but with an astro logo slapped on it

No idea... You can try it yourself if you have one.
QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Apr 17 2024, 07:37 PM)
I dont know this thing exists before... Where does it come from?

edit: I see it comes from PVR era to use online services like VOD...

Yes correct. Astro's WiFi dongle was introduced back in 2013.
https://www.lowyat.net/2013/3021/astro-intr...yond-pvr-users/

The purpose of the Wi-Fi dongle, was meant to those who uses the first generation Astro PVR box (which does not have built-in WiFi function) to be able to access Video On Demand library using WiFi rather than the only option of Ethernet LAN cable.
But not long after, they put more focus on their very first Astro box to have built-in WiFi function instead, which is known as Astro PVR box DMT 5 model.

224 Pages « < 189 190 191 192 193 > » Top

0.0532sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:12 PM