Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Mar 6 2024, 01:14 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Mar 5 2024, 11:58 PM)
I used the official WhatsApp to contact their CS.

Lol. Could not be 30 years then. It was so long ago. Probably 25-26 years ago when. Back then I need to pay around RM1100 for installation.

Someone from Astro tries to call me after but kena blocked by Whoscall pulak.

So you WhatsApp Astro (0395433838) and you select "Type 7 for Box Upgrade", and this is what they tell you? doh.gif doh.gif shakehead.gif
Try chat with another live agent later morning.

If worse come to worse, tell Astro customer service that your box is having technical issues (e.g. cannot power up at all, even though power adapter light indicator is light up).
Before they assign installer for you, remind them to replace to the new Ultra Box for you.

Yes, legacy pack customers facing such technical issues are also eligible for the same free box upgrade campaign as well.
Reminder: If you still want to receive Astro channels via satellite dish upon replacing to new Ultra Box, you must specifically tell that agent ya.
joshhd
post Mar 8 2024, 10:44 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 7 2024, 08:12 PM)
Will OSCARS 95 be live on Astro this Monday? Still no promos yet.

On Unifi TV via ROCK Entertainment, they will only air the Red Carpet show.

In Indonesia, it will be live on Disney+ Hotstar.

It will be on SHOWCASE channel.
https://www.facebook.com/Astro/posts/pfbid0...Fn4oTmvGoic3wBl
joshhd
post Mar 9 2024, 10:17 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Mar 8 2024, 11:24 PM)
Is the Astro installer going to collect back our old decoder if we upgrade our decoder?
They need to replace the LNB to DCSS type rite?

Installer will collect back your old Astro box, yes.
But whether they will replace to DCSS LNB or not, nowadays it depends whether you have Multiroom boxes at home or not. If have, then they would change it to DCSS LNB. Otherwise just remain whatever LNB you're using now.
joshhd
post Mar 9 2024, 08:35 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Mar 9 2024, 07:54 PM)
Is Astro Go down on android phone?

Both my family android phones can't access into it, while iPad no issue to access.

I can access Astro Go on my Android device without issue though... What error message do you see?
You tried clear cache all those already?
joshhd
post Mar 11 2024, 03:52 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Mar 10 2024, 03:36 PM)
Hi guys, sorry it's me again. WTA is there any way to know if the Ulti box is currently using the satellite as main source and not wifi?
Asking bcs my house many people using many devices, I dont want another device to be taking up the wifi unless necessary ...

Press home, go to Settings (gear icon), STB Diagnostics > General Diagnostics, look for STB Operating Mode.
You'll see it's either "Satellite" or "Plug and Play (self-install)" there.
QUOTE(potatocam @ Mar 11 2024, 08:20 AM)
Quick question: Has anyone received the bill statement for March?

My bill cycle is 6th of every month, normally received bill every 7th of the month.
Wondering if it is delayed due to SST adjustment?
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 11 2024, 10:49 AM)
Mine was waiting since Feb 20, as my bill cycle is every 20th of the month. As of yesterday, finally I got the new billing stated Feb 20–Apr 1; the details on the bill however is for February 2024. Possibly because of the new SST charge, or due to Astro’s recent system upgrade. So Astro extends the billing period to end of March 2024 instead.
QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 11 2024, 11:35 AM)
If like that, can't think of any reason the delay in bill issuance.

Have you guys perhaps try retrieve the bill using My Astro?
http://myastro.astro.com.my/
joshhd
post Mar 14 2024, 08:08 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(feed2doorsmhbm @ Mar 14 2024, 07:31 PM)
In case you missed it, DW-TV Deutsch was ceased forever that due to low popularity of German speaking viewers worldwide, to continue watching, watch these videos on YouTube

Ceased date: December 31, 2023
QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 14 2024, 07:43 PM)
Is this channel on assthrow platform?

No. The one that is available on Astro Go, is the DW English channel.
joshhd
post Mar 16 2024, 12:11 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 15 2024, 03:58 PM)
Assthrow until now still has yet to make announcement?
Assthrow miracle?

"If make this a public announcement, then customers will bash us for ceasing channel again without offering any replacement/bill adjustments. So might as well keep quiet."
"If really a customer calls in and dispute about this, then only offer them some offer like bill rebate or channel previews. Otherwise, it's just business as usual..."

joshhd
post Mar 16 2024, 09:12 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 16 2024, 01:06 AM)
Will they offer some kind of bill rebate, doubt so.
Some assthrow staff told me assthrow shares being thrown away by many insider since 2 days ago...

Bill rebate or some channel previews are usually offered to those dispute customers (like you, for example) so that to keep the customer's mouth shut and close the case ASAP. But doing so still does not solve the root cause of the main problem that affects everyone.

They think that "losing revenue" to a smaller group of people (those who disputed) is BETTER than "losing revenue" to a large group of customers (all affected customers). Eventually they gonna make sure that it doesn't greatly affect their ARPU. Of course, this raises ethical problems in the way of them doing business.

In the long term, bye bye customer loyalty and trust.
joshhd
post Mar 17 2024, 01:41 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Mar 17 2024, 01:37 PM)
My current premium 2 pack will auto renew on 20 June 2024, i like to dowgrade to sport pack, know how terrible experiece for termination. what about dowgrade ? go request downgrade 1 month before auto renew date ?

Same thing only. Anything that affects their revenue, they'll make the experience as terrible as possible, to deter customers from downgrading.

For black and white purposes, you can try write in to wecare@astro.com.my and say you intend to downgrade pack upon end of contract.
joshhd
post Mar 18 2024, 05:25 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Aregip11 @ Mar 18 2024, 10:33 AM)
My Astro Sport Pack together with Astro Fibre will be auto renews on 20th April 2024.. Currently my bill is RM 212..

my questions is, if I continue with my current subscription, do I still get monthly payment of RM 212..? Will they give a call to me for any offer or rebate if I continue with the subscription..?

I've tried to call Astro, but the answer is they not sure whether i will be entitled to get the same rebate as before..

the Astro representative told me that normally Astro will give an offer to the existing customer who intended to terminate the subscription.. and the funny is, the representative teach me to ask for termination in order to get some rebate or offer..
my questions is, if I continue with my current subscription, do I still get monthly payment of RM 212..? Will they give a call to me for any offer or rebate if I continue with the subscription..?
I've tried to call Astro, but the answer is they not sure whether i will be entitled to get the same rebate as before..

You are on the new Astro pack, right? If not sure, then can share the name of the Astro pack you're now?

the Astro representative told me that normally Astro will give an offer to the existing customer who intended to terminate the subscription.. and the funny is, the representative teach me to ask for termination in order to get some rebate or offer..
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Oh well, then go tell them you wanna terminate because it's expensive, then see what is the retention offer they propose to you.
But true also la. Usually they don't give bill rebate one, cuz it will affect their revenue.
So unless if it is a gating offer or retention offer, then it's different story.
Astro's financial performance is already "not that good" because of ever increasing number of people terminating their service.
joshhd
post Mar 18 2024, 09:58 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 18 2024, 08:18 PM)
[From private Facebook group]

These channels will be discontinued starting April 1, 2024:

- Ch 123 | Awesome TV
- Ch 124 | TVB Magic
- Ch 352 & 354 | Astro AOD (SD)
- Ch 713 | Paramount Network*

*Confirmed by the channel owner itself, Paramount Global. It will discontinue its linear TV channel in Asia.

It's from a Facebook group named "Astro Malaysia Info Fans"... I'm in that group also, as well as other Astro spies in there... sweat.gif
I just contacted and clarified this with *ehem*, and based on what that person revealed to me, yes it is true that Astro is going to cease these 4 channels starting 1 April 2024.

Paramount Network, yes, Astro have publicly confirmed it.

I have been told that there is an internal discussion going on, where Astro had inked a new content agreement deal with TVB, and as a result, from 1 Apr 2024 onwards:
- TVB Magic channel will cease.
- SD channels of Astro AOD (CH352 and CH354), as expected, low viewership, no point of maintaining it, hence cease it.
- Internal discussion ongoing: TVBAnywhere+ app may be removed from part of Chinese Favourites and Dynasty pack bundle.
Meaning, if you activated or been using "free" TVBAnywhere+ entitlement that you got from Astro, then you may lose access to it from 1 Apr 2024.
Instead, you can stream TVB shows from Astro Go or On Demand instead.

And also, there is another internal discussion going on related to Dynasty Pack / Chinese Favourites, which I find it very shocking... shocking.gif
I've promised that person not to reveal it yet because it is not yet finalised, so got to wait and see what happens from 1 Apr 2024 onwards first.
joshhd
post Mar 18 2024, 10:08 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 18 2024, 10:06 PM)
Astro got option to pay for it? I know you can buy the app subscription in official online store...

Yeah, you can still subscribe to TVBAnywhere+ directly from https://www.tvbanywhere.com/en/webtv/subscribe without relying on Astro.
But like I said, let's wait and see after Apr 2024 first...
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 12:50 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 18 2024, 10:51 PM)
So astro wah lai toi becomes aod? I already see aec become free/fast channel already... Big difference of outcomes of these 2 charter inhouse stations...

No... Since Astro Wah Lai Toi channel ceased back in 2020, they still keep the branding alive, by making it On Demand-only.
Meaning, you would see some of some Cantonese shows/Hong Kong shows via On Demand platform, with Astro Wah Lai Toi logo on it. That's all.
But tbh it doesn't mean anything to me sweat.gif

Astro AEC all along is included as part of the basic pack on Astro, and it is not considered FAST channel...
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 12:50 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 18 2024, 10:54 PM)
No wonder all the assthrow insiders throwing the assthrow shares since last week.

Hah? What you mean? Can elaborate further?
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 12:54 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 19 2024, 12:10 AM)
"atas perintah mahkamah?"
Now MYTV says the cessation of Awesome TV will postpone due to court order... So there is an ongoing court case between Awesome TV and MYTV?
Ok, that is news to me sweat.gif But does the court case related to Astro though?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 19 2024, 12:54 AM
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 01:23 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Mar 19 2024, 01:08 AM)
Many are dumping assthrow shares since last week before the financial year end report is announced within these 2 weeks.
Some insiders have preview of what is going to announce.

I tell you what... Just move on from Astro stocks.
If you wanna get rich, go look at other stocks, not Astro stocks.
No point keep a closer eye on Astro stocks. It's a waste of time.
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 01:24 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 19 2024, 01:12 AM)
joshhd So this is correct? Aec is listed as free tv on sooka...

Uh yeah... You can see it yourself that Astro AEC is now a free channel on Sooka.
I wonder why you ask for my confirmation? 😅
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 01:36 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 19 2024, 01:31 AM)
I wonder would astro radio would be getting some readjustments like rearrange/remove service? I think would be less likely since they got pretty good ratings...

Also the audio channels like opus, jazz would get affected?

I don't think so.
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 01:39 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(xxxgkssixxx @ Mar 19 2024, 01:33 AM)
I changed my legacy pack to the sports pack 2 months ago, but Astro let me keep my legacy box. However, when I wanted to subscribe to multiroom smart TV, Astro told me that I must change to the Ultra box before I can activate it. Is that true?

No. You can subscribe to Multiroom Smart TV by yourself at https://myastro.astro.com.my
joshhd
post Mar 19 2024, 09:15 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(xxxgkssixxx @ Mar 19 2024, 05:04 PM)
Ok I just add it via My Astro app. Let's see if it works. Thanks.

Update:
It seems like my order has been rejected. The message that stated my order was being processed disappeared, and I am now able to add the multiroom smart TV again.

Rejected due to what? Is there an error message?
Maybe try launch the Astro app on your smart TV, log in using the same credentials as Astro Go there, and see what it says...?
QUOTE(xxxgkssixxx @ Mar 19 2024, 01:33 AM)
I changed my legacy pack to the sports pack 2 months ago, but Astro let me keep my legacy box. However, when I wanted to subscribe to multiroom smart TV, Astro told me that I must change to the Ultra box before I can activate it. Is that true?

Just curious, what was the name of your legacy pack before you upgrade to Sports Pack (with 24 mths contract, I assume)?
And you upgrade the pack through what method? Is it through My Astro app also, or you call the customer service hotline?
By right, if you switch from legacy pack to Sports Pack, you should be eligible for Ultra Box... You tell them you don't want to change the box, or how?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 19 2024, 09:53 PM

224 Pages « < 187 188 189 190 191 > » Top

0.0482sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:43 PM