Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Feb 6 2024, 09:52 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 6 2024, 12:31 PM)
Update :  The installer came and change the lnb to dcss and the problem is resolved now.
              In short, it is better to get dcss lnb if you are having ultrabox to watch 4K channels.
              Universal LNB is possible if you are using ultibox or older decoder boxes.

Glad to hear that. biggrin.gif So now the DCSS LNB on the satellite dish, is in blue colour, like this picture below, right?
Now, the LNB Input setting for both of your auntie's Ultra Box and PVR box are now set to "DCSS", correct?

So far do you encounter any SCNA on any of the channels for the PVR box?
Since it's now using DCSS LNB, then doing these scenarios below shouldn't cause SCNA or signal conflict issue on either of your auntie's Astro boxes:

Example A:
Ultra Box - Tune to 4K channels like CH549, CH805
PVR Box - Tune to channels like CH122, CH124, CH305

Example B:
Ultra Box - Tune to either CH549/805
PVR Box - Try record any 2 different TV channels at the same time for just a few seconds, and then stop recording for both channels. Then check if you can playback the 2 programme recordings on your My Library without issue/error.

In short, it is better to get dcss lnb if you are having ultrabox to watch 4K channels.
Universal LNB is possible if you are using ultibox or older decoder boxes.

The more exact answer should be:

Use DCSS LNB if you are connecting multiple Astro boxes from the same satellite dish, especially when you want the Ultra Box to be able to receive 4K UHD channels.
Universal LNB (single output) is okay to use if it is only connected only to one Astro box (one tuner), such as Ulti Box or the older HD box models.
joshhd
post Feb 6 2024, 10:41 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 6 2024, 10:06 PM)
For Example A, it is working and Example B, can only do it when I go to my auntie house.

I heard from the installer saying dcss LNB lifespan is one or two years whereas universal lnb is quite long.
Is it true?

Based on the stories I hear from some installers, they say the older batch of DCSS LNB (especially grey colour ones) may have a shorter lifespan (easier to spoil?), but still it really depends la...
If so happen that LNB is poorly manufactured one, then you unlucky lor... Same goes to Universal LNB also.

But the newer batch of DCSS LNB (blue colour) one is okay, so far no major complaints (according to some installers, not me ya)

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 6 2024, 10:42 PM
joshhd
post Feb 7 2024, 08:06 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 7 2024, 04:37 PM)
Yes, I can see the LNB is blue in colour and similar to the lnb photo you attached.
Thanks for your valuable information sharing.

Screenshot attached for the signal strength and CNR.
Is it good?
What are the complaints on the dcss LNB you know?

16.5dB, considered quite good already.

What DCSS LNB complaints you're referring to? As long you're using the blue one, then most likely shouldn't be a problem.
joshhd
post Feb 10 2024, 11:34 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Feb 10 2024, 10:23 AM)
This upcoming system upgrade is quite a long period of time, Astro has to make a dedicated website to inform customers about services that will be unavailable in phases.

12:00 AM on Feb 12, 2024 until 9:30 AM on Feb 16, 2024

https://www.astro.com.my/notice

Huh? System upgrade during Chinese New Year?? shocking.gif What are they thinking?
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 10 2024, 10:52 AM)
During upgrade got free previews of channels?
😁

This is the only one now. https://www.lowyat.net/2023/313258/astro-fr...annels-january/
joshhd
post Feb 13 2024, 01:16 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 12 2024, 11:33 AM)
Hi, I’m having an issue where I can watch CH551, the switch now message comes up

Tuner diagnostic shows on CH551
signal strength: 0%
Quality: 0%
CNR: 0

Other channel works fine
QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 12 2024, 01:24 PM)
Just checked and there is no issue for ch551.
Maybe u can restart your ultra.
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 12 2024, 08:47 PM)
Just tried restarting the ultra box, issue still persist sweat.gif

As you previously mentioned and I said before, the CNR satellite signal reading from your satellite dish to your Ultra Box is considered weak.
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Jan 1 2024, 10:30 AM)
hmm.gif the installer said that if can receive signal, then no issue rclxub.gif , should this even be acceptable?

CNR reading on ch393 is 12.7-12.9

Contact that same Astro installer that came to your house earlier on (you should still have 3 month of installation warranty?), tell them you insist to have that signal reading as highest as possible (i.e Realign the dish. If can adjust until CNR reading 16-18dB then good enough) and you do not accept such thing as "as long got signal/picture/sound then can already".
joshhd
post Feb 13 2024, 04:43 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 13 2024, 11:26 AM)
Some channels will have lower CNR readings.. due to transmitting from different transponders.

True also.
For me, I'll use transponder 10732MHz as a reference. One of the channels from that transponder is CH393 (One).
That is one of the transponders with strong satellite signals out there. For me, I can get around 18 dB.

For yongtjunkit's case, he's getting a CNR reading of around 12dB, which is considered weak.
Generally speaking, if you're getting a weak CNR reading from one of the transponders where you're supposed or can get a strong CNR reading, then there's "something wrong somewhere" with either the alignment of his satellite dish or LNB, or the cable, or cable splitter (if any).
If this doesn't get rectified soon, it could happen where you may get pixelation or even completely no satellite signal from other transponders.
And that has started to happen to yongtjunkit, where he is getting "Switch to Continuous Viewing" message when tuning to CH551 Global Trekker (which is from transponder 11182MHz).
So don't be surprised if this continues to happen to other channels from other transponders after some time.

The minimum CNR reading should be 9.4dB and above. Anything lower or near that reading will result in pixelation or no signal (SCNA). If there are dark clouds, the CNR reading will gradually become lower.
To make the signal as robust as possible (especially when there are dark clouds or bad weather), try to achieve a higher CNR reading whenever possible.

The general rule of thumb is, that if you can get a high CNR reading of either one of the strong transponder signals from Astro, then basically you can assume that you'll get an almost equally strong signal across all different Astro transponders.

joshhd
post Feb 13 2024, 09:27 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 13 2024, 06:48 PM)
hmm.gif the 16-18db CNR is on which channel? sweat.gif

You mean which channel do I get 16-18dB CNR reading?
CH 393
joshhd
post Feb 15 2024, 08:22 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Feb 15 2024, 02:19 PM)
Anyone noticed the spike in CPU usage when open the astro go website in chrome. Just at the home page without playing any video also CPU reach 80% wth

Does this happen if you use Astro Go on a different browser, like Microsoft Edge or Firefox?
And perhaps (not sure if it's related), but try temporary disable adblock (if have) and see if it persists...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 15 2024, 08:22 PM
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 01:33 AM

7,799 posts

Unhappy with your telco? Consumer Forum of Malaysia aims to be one-stop resolution centre before calling in the big guns
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...big-guns/118238
  • CFM urges dissatisfied consumers to reach out, offers track record in resolving issues
  • CFM advocates public to join as associate members for industry oversight
  • Established in 2001 under MCMC, aims to protect consumer rights in telecommunications
  • Prepares consumer codes, empowers consumers, fosters positive provider-consumer relationships
  • Comprises members from service providers and consumer associations, NGOs, academics
  • Additional representation from demand side sought for authority in resolving telecom issues
  • Disputes handled transparently by independent secretariat despite corporate composition
  • Top complaints include bills, service delivery, unfair practices, misrepresentation, number portability
  • Organizes face-to-face mediations, resolves cases through diverse channels
  • Complaint process involves notifying provider, discussing, and resolving issues
  • Unsatisfied parties can escalate to MCMC or court if not resolved
  • Calls for more diverse expertise representatives in CFM for comprehensive service coverage
  • Aims to be a one-stop shop, create trust, knowledge, and proper representation

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 17 2024, 01:36 AM
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 10:50 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 10:48 AM)
Can cover assthrow dispute and complaints?

Yes.
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 11:41 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 11:34 AM)
If assthrow is under telecommunications/telco, then SST should be 6% and no increase in march 2024?

In my opinion, SST for Astro should remain as 6% since it is considered telecommunications (a media company that provides TV and broadband services).

However, it seems that Astro is pretty quiet about this, so I guess it is remained as 6% 🤷
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 01:25 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 12:23 PM)
Isn't it a good news there is no increase of sst for assthrow?
When being so quiet, meaning they are also dunno and waiting for kastam confirmation.
What about netflix and other streaming app subscribed thru asstrow?

What about sooka?  it is a streaming service like netflix.

Isn't it a good news there is no increase of sst for assthrow?
Of course it is a good news if SST for Astro remains 6%. I'm not gonna be happy for paying more tax sweat.gif

When being so quiet, meaning they are also dunno and waiting for kastam confirmation.
Possible also, but now it's just 2 weeks away from 1 March 2024 oh... Why wait till so last minute? confused.gif

What about netflix and other streaming app subscribed thru asstrow?
What about sooka? it is a streaming service like netflix.

We'll just have to wait and see then. 2 weeks is not too long from now sweat.gif
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 01:27 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 12:38 PM)
Assthrow is so desperate now... doing promotion at mosque already..

Astro dominates in the Malay market mah...
By introducing campaigns like these can potentially bring in new subscribers biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 04:01 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 03:24 PM)
Seems like Assthrow system upgrade is to delete all the records?

What's the issue you're facing? Elaborate further please...
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 05:56 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 05:45 PM)
Hope they will not say.. you need to watch Assthrow so that you can go to heaven....

What a brilliant idea.
"Subscribe to Astro, then you can go to heaven" biggrin.gif

If Astro marketing team is reading this, do take note. šŸ˜‰
joshhd
post Feb 17 2024, 08:45 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 17 2024, 07:47 PM)
Anyone who watches HBO at ch411, do you guys notice the AQ is horrrible now?Ā  Especially when connected to sound system.Ā  I cannot hear any proper and crystal clear conversation and the bass is overshadow the conversation.Ā  There is no issue when I watch netflix, prime video, disney+, viu and other streaming app.

Is it specific to a particular movie only, or what?
You're referring to the Stereo audio track or the Dolby 5.1 track of the HBO channel?

And if you contact customer service to report this, they'll ask for movie name, date & time.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 17 2024, 08:46 PM
joshhd
post Feb 19 2024, 01:31 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 18 2024, 01:00 PM)
Still got problem..
Cannot even reconnect those suspended accounts after payment made.

Oh? Where is it?
Can share link here?
joshhd
post Feb 19 2024, 01:37 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 18 2024, 09:14 PM)
After spending nearly a week trying to get a proper 5.1 audio when watching TV, I noticed something. BEIN Sports don't have 5.1 audio, even when they are providing 4K feed. This is noticeable as Astro's own native feed will have 5.1 audio on channel 805 (with commentary/voices coming from centre, even during commercial).

Surprisingly enough, even History Channel has 5.1 audio. BEIN, why are you skimping? 🤌🤌🤌

Does Bein Sports has the track record of providing Dolby 5.1 audio track on its content?

If no, then we all will stick to Stereo only. Maybe because Bein would need to pay more fees to provide Dolby 5.1, or the other way round (Astro pay Bein more to get 5.1 audio?), or so happen that sports match only provides Stereo audio?

QUOTE(jusbella @ Feb 18 2024, 10:07 PM)
Had tried bein apps ā“
QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 18 2024, 10:37 PM)
Bein app PQ and AQ is very horrible.
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 18 2024, 10:41 PM)
Not as bad as Unifi feed one. brows.gif

BeIN Sports Connect app only offers Stereo audio.
Unifi TV also, offers Stereo audio only.
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 18 2024, 11:14 PM)
This only specific issue for me for beIN 4K feed. With the app I won't get 4K
Sadly I don't subscribe to movie pack  cry.gif

How about Bein Sports 1, 2, 3 HD channels?
joshhd
post Feb 19 2024, 02:00 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Feb 19 2024, 11:12 AM)
Wana ask can i request upgrade to ultra box then self DIY take the new ultra box from Astro branch ?
1 of my multiroom decoder+dish  at different hse  tongue.gif
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 19 2024, 11:41 AM)
Tell them to courier it to you. That's what I did with mine. Also note that to make sure other people can't steal your box, they will courier your box and sim card separately.

If you do that, they will create your Ulti/Ultra Box Upgrade order as Plug & Play. It won't be the usual Satellite.
QUOTE(prdkancil @ Feb 19 2024, 11:46 AM)
They r not going to take back the old pvr or no need return to them ?
New Ultra box juz need internet right or still need plug the satellite as backup

You don't need to concern too much whether they'll take your existing PVR box back or not, cuz either way, you won't be able to view any TV channels on it once your new Astro box is activated.

There are 2 operating modes that Ulti/Ultra Box can use today, which is Plug & Play (self-install) and Satellite.

Plug & Play means, 100% Internet streaming on TV channels and On Demand content, won't use satellite dish, so no more rain interruption, but if your Internet or their server sucks, your viewing will be interrupted. No backup whatsoever.

Satellite means, the box will connect to the satellite dish to receive TV channels. If the box is connected to the Internet, on top of On Demand steaming, it'll also allow you to temporarily switch to Internet streaming when there's no satellite signal (heavy rain).

One of the few benefits of satellite is, there's no such thing as loading, buffering or fluctuating picture quality due to adaptive bitrate streaming when watching TV channels, unlike Plug & Play.

For Satellite, installer visit is required. For Plug & Play, you can choose to either courier the box to your house or pickup from Astro Experience Store or branches.

You must make sure that Astro agent creates your box upgrade order as the box operating mode you prefer. Example if you prefer Satellite, then tell them to create your order as Satellite. Not tell them to create Plug & Play but eventually you secretly change it to Satellite on your box manually.
joshhd
post Feb 19 2024, 02:04 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Feb 19 2024, 01:44 PM)
Currently hv multiroom , main at parents hse , sub at brother hse (by right shd be use at same hse ) so if upgrade thy will come replace and will know we put the sub at different hse .

I tell you what... To avoid awkward situation between you and the installer, I suggest you temporarily bring your Multiroom box from your brother house back to your parents house.

Once the installer done their box upgrades for your Astro boxes, and once the installer left your house, then only you bring your new Multiroom box to your brother's house.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 19 2024, 02:04 PM

224 Pages « < 184 185 186 187 188 > » Top

0.0561sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:02 PM