Investment THE GRAND SS15 SUBANG JAYA, The Asia Cafe Redevelopment

BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 5 2019, 09:27 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Jul 5 2019, 03:47 PM)
Wah, 1km so far. but up to your definition if you want to term 1km radius as TOD
TOD just a created term and there's no one own the definition of TOD.
'TOD' or not TOD according to your definition, the fact is it's less than 500m walking distance to LRT station with cover walkway through the shoplot to the station  icon_rolleyes.gif
Friend look up wikipedia on Tod.

but wiki been wiki, dun take it lile a bible.

In order to qualify for TOD, one of the crteria is mixed development w transit attached to the project
plim_123
post Aug 9 2019, 04:26 PM

86 posts

Anyone know old taylor building is taking up by which company, and what business?
newsongfashion
post Aug 9 2019, 05:00 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 5 2019, 09:27 PM)
Friend look up wikipedia on Tod.

but wiki been wiki, dun take it lile a bible.

In order to qualify for TOD, one of the crteria is mixed development w transit attached to the project
Mixed development also in the opinion of the author, not necessary be one developer. Eventhough by different developer, the mixed development in SS15 consist of commercial shoplot, banking, medical centre, shopping (courtyard SS15), school & colleges, plus milk tea streets with LRT station & highways are more than enough to qualify for TOD in one opinion

This post has been edited by newsongfashion: Aug 9 2019, 05:03 PM
BEANCOUNTER
post Aug 9 2019, 05:03 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Aug 9 2019, 05:00 PM)
Mixed development also in the opinion of the author, not necessary be one developer. Eventhough by different developer, the mixed development in SS15 consist of commercial shoplot, banking, medical centre, shopping (courtyard SS15), school & colleges , LRT station & highways are more than enough to qualify for TOD in one opinion
The key words are 'transport is attached to the project".

Which part of the shop lots and apa apa facilities there 'attached" to the lrt?

Just for argument sake.

I even got wet once while tried to reach the lrr station after makan there....wat kind of tod is this? Arent all other non tod stations like this?

This post has been edited by BEANCOUNTER: Aug 9 2019, 05:05 PM
bigman
post Aug 9 2019, 05:07 PM

4,226 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 9 2019, 05:03 PM)

Just for argument sake.

I even got wet once while tried to reach the lrr station after makan there....wat kind of tod is this? Arent all other non tod stations like this?
LRT punya toilet share same sewerage pipe with SS15...
BEANCOUNTER
post Aug 9 2019, 05:09 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Aug 9 2019, 05:07 PM)
You dun know this.
It could be linked to ss16.
newsongfashion
post Aug 9 2019, 05:38 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Aug 9 2019, 05:07 PM)
Do you have any construction drawing to justify your claim? The newly constructed SS15 LRT station most probably have it own sewerage pipe connecting to the nearest STP and will not share with over 20 years old sewerage pipe of existing shoplots.
newsongfashion
post Aug 9 2019, 05:39 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 9 2019, 05:09 PM)
You dun know this.
It could be linked to ss16.
Yes, you are right, the old sewerage pipe most probably are linked as the age of SS15 and SS16 are similiar
newsongfashion
post Aug 9 2019, 05:40 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 9 2019, 05:03 PM)

Just for argument sake.

use umbrella lor icon_rolleyes.gif
holypredator
post Aug 10 2019, 12:22 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Aug 9 2019, 05:00 PM)
Mixed development also in the opinion of the author, not necessary be one developer. Eventhough by different developer, the mixed development in SS15 consist of commercial shoplot, banking, medical centre, shopping (courtyard SS15), school & colleges, plus milk tea streets with LRT station & highways are more than enough to qualify for TOD in one opinion
TOD requirements

-Walkable design with pedestrian as the highest priority [As far as I know, there is no plan from MPSJ to change anything in that area]
-Train station as prominent feature of town center [It is not really a prominent feature of SS15... hack, they even charge lower to stop at SS15 than subang despite further stop cause you know why? Too little ppl taking the train there]
-Public square fronting train station [SS15 infront is either housing area or commercial shops... so no.. they did not meet the requirement]
-A regional node containing a mixture of uses in close proximity (office, residential, retail, civic) [No office and civic there so... out on this as well]
-High density, walkable district within 10-minute walk circle surrounding train station [This one yes, they meet this requirement]
-Collector support transit systems including streetcar, light rail, and buses, etc [Not so much on this cause the only thing they have is a bus station and there is no taxi stop there unlike subang station where they have taxi stop, bus stop and also KTM]
-Designed to include the easy use of bicycles and scooters as daily support transport [They definitely don't meet this requirement but subang station did... they used to have an o-bike station but it is now a motorbike parking place so they still meet the requirement]
-Large ride-in bicycle parking areas within stations [Same as above]
-Bikeshare rental system and bikeway network integrated into stations [Same as above]
-Reduced and managed parking inside 10-minute walk circle around town center / train station [This in Malaysia is supposed to be the Park and Ride feature.... Subang station has that but SS15 do not]
-Specialized retail at stations serving commuters and locals including cafes, grocery, dry cleaners [If I'm not mistaken they only have a small sundry shop downstairs whereas subang station inside itself has food stalls, all sorts of sundry shops etc.]

Out of the 11 requirements, the Grand SS15 area only meets 1 requirement. How the hell you can consider that as TOD?

The subang station area honestly is not a TOD either. It was "supposed" to be and it all depends on how Sime develop it. They already label that area SJCC and also said they are doing TOD so time will tell.

Based on Sime's 2012 plan, SS16 is indeed vision to be a TOD project. The mall right in front of the LRT station right at the center is a public square (go see their concept art). The entire area has been discussed with MPSJ to make the area as walk able as possible and one of their proposed method is to seal up the entire drainage to construct a wider driveway and they even had link bridges from the mall to Subang parade, Big Aeon, Subang Avenue and Lot 15 (based on the concept art).
newsongfashion
post Aug 10 2019, 02:05 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Aug 10 2019, 12:22 AM)
TOD requirements

-Walkable design with pedestrian as the highest priority [As far as I know, there is no plan from MPSJ to change anything in that area]
-Train station as prominent feature of town center [It is not really a prominent feature of SS15... hack, they even charge lower to stop at SS15 than subang despite further stop cause you know why? Too little ppl taking the train there]
-Public square fronting train station  [SS15 infront is either housing area or commercial shops... so no.. they did not meet the requirement]
-A regional node containing a mixture of uses in close proximity (office, residential, retail, civic) [No office and civic there so... out on this as well]
-High density, walkable district within 10-minute walk circle surrounding train station [This one yes, they meet this requirement]
-Collector support transit systems including streetcar, light rail, and buses, etc [Not so much on this cause the only thing they have is a bus station and there is no taxi stop there unlike subang station where they have taxi stop, bus stop and also KTM]
-Designed to include the easy use of bicycles and scooters as daily support transport [They definitely don't meet this requirement but subang station did... they used to have an o-bike station but it is now a motorbike parking place so they still meet the requirement]
-Large ride-in bicycle parking areas within stations [Same as above]
-Bikeshare rental system and bikeway network integrated into stations [Same as above]
-Reduced and managed parking inside 10-minute walk circle around town center / train station [This in Malaysia is supposed to be the Park and Ride feature.... Subang station has that but SS15 do not]
-Specialized retail at stations serving commuters and locals including cafes, grocery, dry cleaners [If I'm not mistaken they only have a small sundry shop downstairs whereas subang station inside itself has food stalls, all sorts of sundry shops etc.]
Out of the 11 requirements, the Grand SS15 area only meets 1 requirement. How the hell you can consider that as TOD?

The subang station area honestly is not a TOD either. It was "supposed" to be and it all depends on how Sime develop it. They already label that area SJCC and also said they are doing TOD so time will tell.

Based on Sime's 2012 plan, SS16 is indeed vision to be a TOD project. The mall right in front of the LRT station right at the center is a public square (go see their concept art). The entire area has been discussed with MPSJ to make the area as walk able as possible and one of their proposed method is to seal up the entire drainage to construct a wider driveway and they even had link bridges from the mall to Subang parade, Big Aeon, Subang Avenue and Lot 15 (based on the concept art).
This is another opinion regarding the requirement of TOD. There's nothing right or wrong
holypredator
post Aug 10 2019, 11:45 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Aug 10 2019, 02:05 AM)
This is another opinion regarding the requirement of TOD. There's nothing right or wrong
What do you mean by nothing wrong and right.... it is written by the TOD institute....

newsongfashion
post Aug 10 2019, 01:24 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Aug 10 2019, 11:45 AM)
What do you mean by nothing wrong and right.... it is written by the TOD institute....
Any of the project in Malaysia fulfilled the requirement mentioned in actual dealings in Malaysia?
holypredator
post Aug 10 2019, 01:39 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Aug 10 2019, 01:24 PM)
Any of the project in Malaysia fulfilled the requirement mentioned in actual dealings in Malaysia?
I do not know what "actual dealings" you are talking about but :

http://www.dbkl.gov.my/pskl2020/english/transportation/

READ...

I notice you don't even be bothered to do any research and just spewing your own assumption on the definition of TOD based on whatever that suits you.
newsongfashion
post Aug 10 2019, 03:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Aug 10 2019, 01:39 PM)
I do not know what "actual dealings" you are talking about but :

http://www.dbkl.gov.my/pskl2020/english/transportation/

READ...

I notice you don't even be bothered to do any research and just spewing your own assumption on the definition of TOD based on whatever that suits you.
A lot of people don't really care the requirement u mentioned to qualify as genuine TOD or not genuine TOD according to published online requirement...but most important that location are conveniently walking distance to public transport and nearby amenities which suit to individual requirements.

holypredator
post Aug 10 2019, 04:27 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Aug 10 2019, 03:41 PM)
A lot of people don't really care the requirement u mentioned to qualify as genuine TOD or not genuine TOD according to published online requirement...but most important that location are conveniently walking distance to public transport and nearby amenities which suit to individual requirements.
Then please don't call it TOD.

You can call it whatever you like but you can't just simply use an official term to label whatever you "think" it is.

That is like calling your proton car a ferrari just because it brings you from point A to point B.
newsongfashion
post Aug 10 2019, 05:51 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Aug 10 2019, 04:27 PM)
Then please don't call it TOD.

You can call it whatever you like but you can't just simply use an official term to label whatever you "think" it is.

That is like calling your proton car a ferrari just because it brings you from point A to point B.
There's no official term to define TOD also through the link given.

The branding is a name and esential for advertising purpose. and in this case, branding is most accurately refer to developer name like Proton , Ferrari etc, not type of development like TOD.

For transit-oriented development is a type of urban development that maximizes the amount of residential, business and leisure space within walking distance of public transport , not really referring to brand.

This post has been edited by newsongfashion: Aug 10 2019, 06:12 PM
holypredator
post Aug 10 2019, 07:12 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ Aug 10 2019, 05:51 PM)
There's no official term to define TOD also through the link given.

The branding is a name and esential for advertising purpose. and in this case, branding is most accurately refer to developer name like Proton , Ferrari etc, not type of development like TOD.

For transit-oriented development is a type of urban development that maximizes the amount of residential, business and leisure space within walking distance of public transport , not really referring to brand.
Please do your research.. doh.gif
newsongfashion
post Aug 19 2019, 10:13 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Aug 10 2019, 07:12 PM)
Please do your research.. doh.gif
Pls do your research nod.gif
Even the findings from the research is not 'bible' and it's still base on the individual preference for certain location
newsongfashion
post Oct 21 2019, 09:27 PM

315 posts

Progress as of 21-Oct-19. Structure works of 1st tower reached Level 18

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0153sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:29 PM