20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Modenas Dominar 400, cheapest 400cc bike

alexei
post Jul 9 2020, 01:34 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,709 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jul 9 2020, 11:49 AM)
Check Youtube for z400 dyno and I believe it's the TST industries dyno run that sums it up. I think the bike generally just doesn't need to be revved as high as the ninja and that makes it easier and more fun to ride.

As for cooling, in my experience the nakeds are better. Maybe because in city traffic I don't move at a constant pace that the channel in and draw out ability provided by the fairings is minimized. My ninja is fine when on the highway but in slower traffic the fairings stop the heat from radiating out, which is good for me but not so fun for the engine.
The TST industries showed higher torque and hp on its dyno compared to motorcycle_com and cycleworld. But, the curves looked similar than what other dyno's got. No comment on this one, but I would say the engines and gearing are the same. I cannot verify those claims, but I would not conclude Z and Ninja are different engine tunes.

Searching the dyno charts, particularly the torque one, the clear distinction Z400 against RC390 is 4~5.5k RPM. Associating this to D400, I think the D400 can be made faster by changing the sprockets based on rider's preference.

For highway cruising speed at 110kmh, D400 will be operating past its peak torque RPM, hence very inefficient.
For Z400, it is right before peak torque RPM, which is great if you need to overtake something and do so without dropping to 5th.

blackbox14
post Jul 9 2020, 05:30 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 9 2020, 01:34 PM)
I cannot verify those claims, but I would not conclude Z and Ninja are different engine tunes.
Hmm, I always had the impression that Kawi's naked and faired bikes had slightly different tunes - one for better torque and the other for higher top end respectively. Is there a way to check this with the Z650 and Ninja 650 as well?

Then again, if the manufacturer spec sheet says it's the same, then perhaps you're right.
alexei
post Jul 9 2020, 08:51 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,709 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jul 9 2020, 05:30 PM)
Hmm, I always had the impression that Kawi's naked and faired bikes had slightly different tunes - one for better torque and the other for higher top end respectively. Is there a way to check this with the Z650 and Ninja 650 as well?

Then again, if the manufacturer spec sheet says it's the same, then perhaps you're right.
Z650 and N650 has same cylinder, crankshaft, camshaft, FI and ECU components. Gears too IINM.
moo_zai_mie
post Jul 27 2020, 11:25 AM

33 posts

Hi guys,

I need help on my dominar 400 first edition. During my commute to work, my bike suddenly shut down by itself. The dash all dead. Fuel is still half a tank. Any advice? Thanks
Hades76
post Jul 27 2020, 11:28 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(moo_zai_mie @ Jul 27 2020, 11:25 AM)
Hi guys,

I need help on my dominar 400 first edition. During my commute to work, my bike suddenly shut down by itself. The dash all dead. Fuel is still half a tank. Any advice? Thanks
Battery okay ? Sounds like an electrical issue.
megahertz
post Jul 27 2020, 02:42 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,843 posts

might be battery connector loose
mujinkun
post Aug 25 2020, 12:00 PM

815 posts

SIfus.

Any chances Modenas will introduce updated Dominar in near month(this year)?

Only saw Careta spyshots drive in North.

Others than that, nothing.

But, with a current discount price, is it...is it will be introduce? Less than RM15k for a near 400cc is a good deal thought.

Reguards
Dreadlock13
post Aug 26 2020, 11:41 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Aug 25 2020, 12:00 PM)
SIfus.

But, with a current discount price, is it...is it will be introduce? Less than RM15k for a near 400cc is a good deal thought.

Reguards
Modenas probably busy with kawasaki right now. This year is modenas 25th year.
If anything special would come out. Probably around this year. Hopefully
gin&tonic
post Aug 26 2020, 02:00 PM

4,873 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Aug 25 2020, 12:00 PM)
SIfus.

Reguards
It's quite possible that updated Dominate could be intro this yr looking at the discount price of the current version being offered. Clear stock some may say. But it's only my opinion la.
Thailand already selling the updated version n hopefully we get it as well.

megahertz
post Aug 28 2020, 11:04 AM

1,843 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 26 2020, 02:00 PM)
It's quite possible that updated Dominate could be intro this yr looking at the discount price of the current version being offered. Clear stock some may say. But it's only my opinion la.
Thailand already selling the updated version n hopefully we get it as well.
based on the news. the thailand's stock is actually build by modenas here at gurun.
so i guess its matter of time they updated to 2019's version.
because with discount price,and some shop clear stock, it could be modenas preparing to launch once they done supply to the thailand. they cant launch to both country at the same time due to limited units built at their factory.
ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 30 2020, 11:31 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Aug 25 2020, 01:00 PM)
Less than RM15k for a near 400cc is a good deal thought.

Better yet, Eang Chun in Setapak is quoting RM11800 plus a complete set of Givi panniers + top box.

Bloody hell that's freakin' cheap....

RicoT
post Aug 31 2020, 12:38 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 30 2020, 11:31 PM)
Better yet, Eang Chun in Setapak is quoting RM11800 plus a complete set of Givi panniers + top box.

Facelift coming out i guess? Will it be with the 2nd digital display on the fuel tank?
alexei
post Aug 31 2020, 08:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,709 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 31 2020, 12:55 AM)
Yeah pretty much. Noticed that the key Suzuki dealerships (Sin Seng Huat, GC Ann, Eang Chun) are slashing price of the V-strom on Mudah, so I decided to make a trip out to K Selangor to check what's up.

D400 is more than OK when riding solo, but when touring two-up with luggage its lack of displacement and cylinders quickly become apparent. There's nothing below 6000rpm and above 8000rpm it runs out of puff while its fuel economy goes to shit shockingly fast. Exploiting the few overtaking opportunities on the tight twisties towards Tapah for example got me bouncing off the rev limiter in 3rd gear a few times.

However, it truly shines when commuting and negotiating city traffic plus the lack of heft makes it super easy to muscle in and out of tight parking spots.
Yeah, disappointing that D400 is detuned like that, getting 35hp in real life.
Could it be fitted with Duke 390 head+camshaft to match? Something about SOHC to DOHC conversion...
ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 31 2020, 10:18 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 31 2020, 09:29 PM)
Yeah, disappointing that D400 is detuned like that, getting 35hp in real life.
Could it be fitted with Duke 390 head+camshaft to match? Something about SOHC to DOHC conversion...
Even if that is at all possible, it's just a RM13k bike at the end of the day... not worth the risk & the expense.

Better off buying a second bike for proper 2-up touring & keeping the D400 for the daily 70km commute.

basilisk
post Sep 1 2020, 12:07 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 31 2020, 10:18 PM)
Even if that is at all possible, it's just a RM13k bike at the end of the day... not worth the risk & the expense.

Better off buying a second bike for proper 2-up touring & keeping the D400 for the daily 70km commute.
binili trk 800 kambing to msia in 2-3y time...

ZZR-Pilot
post Sep 1 2020, 05:51 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 1 2020, 01:07 PM)
binili trk 800 kambing to msia in 2-3y time...
I wanted to wait... but not 2-3 years...
007SMH
post Sep 2 2020, 06:20 PM

43 posts

Question : is it worth taking ? I'm about to get my B full license. Saw ths deal quite tempting. Never rode a motorbike before fyi.
megahertz
post Sep 3 2020, 08:46 AM

1,843 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Sep 2 2020, 06:20 PM)
Question : is it worth taking ? I'm about to get my B full license. Saw ths deal quite tempting. Never rode a motorbike before fyi.
for me its worth it. cheapest bike with more than 250cc u can find. even 2nd unit, is around 9-10k.
for learning big bike, this should be ur option.
once u get ur B full and can it handle nicely, its time for upgrade.
007SMH
post Sep 8 2020, 02:21 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Sep 3 2020, 08:46 AM)
for me its worth it. cheapest bike with more than 250cc u can find. even 2nd unit, is around 9-10k.
for learning big bike, this should be ur option.
once u get ur B full and can it handle nicely, its time for upgrade.
Just booked the D400 blue color with Top box & side box OTR for Rm12800
gin&tonic
post Sep 8 2020, 06:02 PM

4,873 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Sep 8 2020, 02:21 AM)
Just booked the D400 blue color with Top box & side box OTR for Rm12800
Nice. From Eang Chun Motor?

20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled