Modenas Dominar 400, cheapest 400cc bike

alexei
post Sep 13 2019, 11:03 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 12 2019, 03:41 PM)
"The bike’s biggest negatives are its ride and handling. The front forks’ rake angle is too high which has increased the turning radius massively. So, turns are very difficult on the bike in heavy traffic. "
Later cause low speed wobble. hehe.

https://www.rideapart.com/articles/253963/u...rake-and-trail/
Steering dampers are often used on sporty motorcycles – which have a very low rake angle – to keep the machine stable, preventing oscillations from becoming a severe speed wobble. Aftermarket steering dampers can be added to machines that don't have them if the owner feels that one is needed.

https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Bicycle_and_motorcycle_dynamics
https://road.cc/content/feature/219888-how-...e-speed-wobbles
alexei
post Mar 25 2020, 05:41 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 25 2020, 05:05 PM)
Dah pi dulu. Barang takde. Pakai winshield tebuk je la for now. Bergetar semacam, lepas MCO kena cari rubber washer supaya senyap sikit...
How about those clip on extension windshields?
alexei
post Apr 11 2020, 06:07 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 11 2020, 02:24 PM)
Hey I went downstairs to periodically start my D400 that has been sitting idle throughout MCO.

This time I decided to take it for a spin around the parking floor of my condo.... and discovered that the front brake has stopped working!

The brake lever felt dead - it would squeeze & bottom out. No braking at all.

My bike only has 1400km on the clock.

Anybody has the same prob?
May have something to do with ABS.
Need to service, or push the brake pads back in and pump it back out.
alexei
post Jun 30 2020, 10:22 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 29 2020, 06:28 PM)
Bini aku komplen, Sabtu hari tu ride balik hari gi Melaka bontot dia kebas 2 hari x hilang.

Bergetar semacam motor ni. Aku ingat nnt senang aku nak gi modify seat cushion kasi empuk mcm sofa...
single cylinder mah.
alexei
post Jul 1 2020, 04:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

This bike is fun at heart, but boring on the outside.

This post has been edited by alexei: Jul 2 2020, 07:52 AM
alexei
post Jul 3 2020, 09:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ Jul 3 2020, 01:48 AM)
Hi guys, newbie learning B full lesen here.

Just want to enquire regarding this Dominar 400

I am in JB, usually my riding habit would be like 30-40km everyday, while long distance would be JB - KL / Ipoh maybe once or twice per month.

Is this suitable for my needs? normally best cruising speed would be how much? Thanks!
The bike is cukup for your purpose, with dual channel ABS and slipper clutch.
Topspeed is not as fast as R25 or Ninja 250R but even a CBR500 is not faster then them either.
According to users here, seat not as comfy and long distance ride can kebas one. Need add windshield.

Maybe you can provide your riding background and expectation of this D400?

Additional info that I came across, and I have no affiliation to pandulaju:
https://pandulaju.com.my/10-soalan-paling-b...s-dominar-d400/
https://pandulaju.com.my/4-reviu-pantas-mod...-kawasaki-z250/
alexei
post Jul 4 2020, 05:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ Jul 3 2020, 11:51 PM)
Alexei, thank you for your reply!

I have zero experience in riding, well, i am looking for stability and reliability than speed or excitement as my first bike. Was thinking 400cc enough for interstate travel. I am driving a Golf TSI which can achieve 150-180 very easily, so i am looking for something similar for the bike riding but with very good stability.

My only concern on this d400, is whether it will rattle or vibrate above 140kmh, or is it requiring a lot of effort to achieve that kind of speed range?  Should i spend more on bikes like Yamaha mt-07? safety wise i think d400 is already very good.

Of course, learning to ride a bike first, then after a few more months of riding then i would go highway distance travel. Being safe and responsible is my principal of driving/riding anything.
Get a bike that you won't mind dropping it too much, for learning, one with good off throttle and clutch release response, less jerky and predictable.

It's a single cylinder, so expect a lot of vibrations, and it will have 4 sets across RPM range. Some will be not obvious being absorbed by mounting dampers, but some will resonate across the whole bike.
3 cylinder is the best in vibe control, followed by twin with 270~275 degree firing sequence.

Between MT07 and D400, I would compare the frame and decide. MT07 punya ABS is front only IINM, and a bit intrusive based on reviews.

Engine wise, MT07 is definitely the better rounder. Gear ratio is similar between the 2.
140kmh is quite a stretch for D400 with stock sprockets. Sproket for D400 needs to be adapted for different speed range.

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 4 2020, 01:12 AM)
I call my D400...

"THE GREAT VIBRATOR".

Nothing else makes my wife's ass numb for 2 days straight like a day ride to Melaka on my D400.
Does that answer your question?
Oh my goodness... seat mechanism need add damper.

alexei
post Jul 4 2020, 10:07 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ Jul 4 2020, 08:21 PM)
Thanks wow i learnt something from you. What do you think of Kawasaki Versys X 250? Is it good or too lethargic for me with my luggage? I am 180cm and 83kg by the way. Or is it better if i go for Versys 650? To be honest, i have no idea on the ownership cost per year on each segment of the bike.
The VersysX 250 bikes out of my radar, sorry.

You're blessed with height and weight for touring bikes, how about some middle weight BMW such as F800R etc. Who knows you might leave your TSi behind afterwards.

You can try out some online insurance calculator for insurance. 30k is around 600 with 25% NCD.
Roadtax is 250 for 800cc or below, 350 above. Details below.

Touring tyres are ~1k per set, up to 10k km.
Sports tyres are more like 3k~8k km per set.
You can go cheap on non-major brands too.

Engine oil varies greatly too, from RM20~30 per liter, up to RM90. Some bikes take 3, up to 4 bottles.
Petrol is 4.2~7L per 100km, ranging from CB500 to CBR1000RR.

Spark plugs, air filter.
Valve clearance every 24k km.
Chain and sprocket set every 30k km.

In your case, would be 10~15k km per year?
Insurance roadtax ~1k
Fuel ~750L = ~1200
1~1.5 sets of tyres... and so on

alexei
post Jul 4 2020, 11:47 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ Jul 4 2020, 10:26 PM)
Again, thank you so much to even spare your time for me providing these useful figures.  BMW is great, but continentals would be expensive to maintain and this i learnt from my golf tsi. In fact, i am looking a bike that would satisfy me as a golf TSI would, that car has pampered me with torque, top speed of 170-200kmh with stability, sad that i have to sell it as it is approaching 8th year and having big repairs incoming my DSG gearbox, it is this car has made me lost interest with other continentals except for the GTi variant.

Tyres i would prefer to go for sports or the local cheaper touring as i would mainly doing daily commuting more than touring across states unless i am on outstation, which is once or twice per month. Now that i seen the insurance and the road tax, i can rest assured as it is affordable to me even up to 800cc.

Middleweight wise i think i will go for Yamaha MT-07, what do you think? Looks good, and quite stable no? if i am buying a used yamaha mt-07, say 2015/2016, 16-18k possible?
Haha, cool. You're welcome. Try AMG. (Disclaimer, I not working for Mercedes, not driving one, and don't receive benefits for saying this.)

At that price, you might need to deal direct with buyer, and handle the wear and tear yourself. Some shops may ask a higher price, but offers 1 year warranty.
ER6 is replaced by Z650, you might wanna look at this too.

VW is expensive because it has not been bought over by China. So is a certain French brand. Just ignore me if I'm wrong. Point is, don't let the perception of conti brands cloud your judgement.

On bikes, certain Italian bike brand is expensive to maintain but they are improving albeit slowly, while some other conti brands do not have such as good service support in Malaysia and rely on good pomen.
And to avoid hefty bills and lengthy waits, avoid certain brands that are weak in parts supply in Malaysia. A tip, just google '(brand) motorcycle parts Malaysia' and you can assess the search results. Some major brands do not have a parts supply chain.

Do be ready to have a fair expectation of the bike you plan to buy. 140kmh on first gear, then 200kmh is 3rd gear on most liter sportsbikes.
200kmh is 4~5th gear for 600cc sportsbikes and high performance tourers, 6th gear for most >600cc bikes in general.

ER6 and MT07 has ~200-210kmh top speed, and both have conventional forks. For your weight, the MT07 has better forks for you compared to ER6.
If TSi level is what you're after, do consider something with decent chassis, forks, brakes and aerodynamic. Weak suspension also causes poor tyre wear, too. On naked bikes, 160kmh is about the fastest you can go comfortably.

Bike tyres got sports touring, features dual/multi compound that's good for high mileage at the middle thread, and better grip on the sides. They perform better in the rain, too. With bikes, you better not go cheap on tyres. Bridgestone T31 is a good start. Some sports tyres also dual compound, with less thread for better grip... S22 is a good start. There is a myriad of choices out there. (Disclaimer, I do not have affiliation with Bridgestone, and I don't use those tyres myself.)

alexei
post Jul 6 2020, 09:53 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

ocb05Zontes Z310T looks ok, but lacks power with all that load and your body weight. Cannot reach 140kmh.

There's Honda NC700 as well, around 20k. Engine concept derived from Jazz engine. Nice flat torque curve and very fuel efficient for touring. If add more money, you get DCT version, similar to the Honda NM4, that behaves like automatic gear.
Redlines at 6.5k RPM, top speed 188kmh and cruises 120kmh at 4k RPM. Kinda like the operating range of your Golf TSi I might add.

And special mention for touring, definitely need a screen.
Other models I know of that you can consider, leaning towards touring - TRK502, CFMoto 650.
Reference: https://autowise.com/top-chinese-motorcycles/

This post has been edited by alexei: Jul 6 2020, 09:53 AM
alexei
post Jul 7 2020, 07:52 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ Jul 6 2020, 08:38 PM)
Thanks for the tip, but i wanna pick a manual precisely because of Golf TSI gave me trouble in DCT gearbox on the seventh year biggrin.gif

NC700 looks good, but to get 20k on used, i supposed it is of min 5 years old used?

i think i get a Zontes 310T 2020 model. Comes with everything and i actually asked multiple zontes owners these few days and they replied, 130-150 sustained actually no issues if you are not obese, in fact CFmoto got quite a few owners reporting leakage issues. Gonna take a gamble then.

Edit: Or CFMOTO 650MT. My budget are sub 30k so either a really good condition used bike or a new budget tourer.
Alright, all the best.
alexei
post Jul 7 2020, 04:01 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ocb05 @ Jul 7 2020, 12:46 PM)
Again, thank you very much for your valuable opinion. So as i learn bike riding, i guess i will get to decide either i get a big cc but heavier, or smaller cc but more economic bike. Pretty sure it will be a duel between zontes 310t 2020 vs cfmoto  650mt as they are very close in terms of total OTR price.
you're welcome.

Bear in mind, believe 50% of what you hear from forums.
Fact check yourself, and more importantly test sit and test ride before you hand over your cash.
alexei
post Jul 9 2020, 09:13 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Dreadlock13 @ Jul 9 2020, 12:41 AM)
Z400 a good bike?
rarely seen any on the street
now ppl scared lepas beli terus jadi Modenas Z400, lost value.
other than that, the kawa 400 seems very good middle weight.
alexei
post Jul 9 2020, 10:35 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jul 9 2020, 10:27 AM)
It was actually selling quite well prior to the modenas JV announcement.  Sold more than the equivalent Ninja since I had to wait a week or two if I wanted the Z400, while the Ninja was ready stock.

From what I have heard, it is a superior bike to the Ninja 400 overall. Better ergos and engine tuning. Probably superior cooling as well due to lack of fairings.
Oh, more details please about the engine tuning?
Cooling with fairings IMO is better, as it channels air towards the radiator, and the side fairings draws hot air out as the bike moves.
alexei
post Jul 9 2020, 01:34 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jul 9 2020, 11:49 AM)
Check Youtube for z400 dyno and I believe it's the TST industries dyno run that sums it up. I think the bike generally just doesn't need to be revved as high as the ninja and that makes it easier and more fun to ride.

As for cooling, in my experience the nakeds are better. Maybe because in city traffic I don't move at a constant pace that the channel in and draw out ability provided by the fairings is minimized. My ninja is fine when on the highway but in slower traffic the fairings stop the heat from radiating out, which is good for me but not so fun for the engine.
The TST industries showed higher torque and hp on its dyno compared to motorcycle_com and cycleworld. But, the curves looked similar than what other dyno's got. No comment on this one, but I would say the engines and gearing are the same. I cannot verify those claims, but I would not conclude Z and Ninja are different engine tunes.

Searching the dyno charts, particularly the torque one, the clear distinction Z400 against RC390 is 4~5.5k RPM. Associating this to D400, I think the D400 can be made faster by changing the sprockets based on rider's preference.

For highway cruising speed at 110kmh, D400 will be operating past its peak torque RPM, hence very inefficient.
For Z400, it is right before peak torque RPM, which is great if you need to overtake something and do so without dropping to 5th.

alexei
post Jul 9 2020, 08:51 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Jul 9 2020, 05:30 PM)
Hmm, I always had the impression that Kawi's naked and faired bikes had slightly different tunes - one for better torque and the other for higher top end respectively. Is there a way to check this with the Z650 and Ninja 650 as well?

Then again, if the manufacturer spec sheet says it's the same, then perhaps you're right.
Z650 and N650 has same cylinder, crankshaft, camshaft, FI and ECU components. Gears too IINM.
alexei
post Aug 31 2020, 08:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 30 2020, 11:31 PM)
Better yet, Eang Chun in Setapak is quoting RM11800 plus a complete set of Givi panniers + top box.

Bloody hell that's freakin' cheap....
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 31 2020, 12:55 AM)
Yeah pretty much. Noticed that the key Suzuki dealerships (Sin Seng Huat, GC Ann, Eang Chun) are slashing price of the V-strom on Mudah, so I decided to make a trip out to K Selangor to check what's up.

D400 is more than OK when riding solo, but when touring two-up with luggage its lack of displacement and cylinders quickly become apparent. There's nothing below 6000rpm and above 8000rpm it runs out of puff while its fuel economy goes to shit shockingly fast. Exploiting the few overtaking opportunities on the tight twisties towards Tapah for example got me bouncing off the rev limiter in 3rd gear a few times.

However, it truly shines when commuting and negotiating city traffic plus the lack of heft makes it super easy to muscle in and out of tight parking spots.
Yeah, disappointing that D400 is detuned like that, getting 35hp in real life.
Could it be fitted with Duke 390 head+camshaft to match? Something about SOHC to DOHC conversion...
alexei
post May 22 2021, 11:56 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ May 22 2021, 10:59 AM)
Depends on how you ride.

Kalau ride secara halal lagi toyyiba ikut rukun & speed limit etc >300km boleh dapat.

Kalau hang dok tibai 150km/h asyik >8500rpm lampu berkelip memanjang, dapat 200km ja pun boleh jadi.

Ni motor yg dah pecah dara la, sebab lubang dah relah. Motor hang 270km tu ok la sbb lubang dok kuat kemut merenyam piston hang... kekeke...
hard break-in is the way to go
engine assembly line already do hard break in test, might as well follow through
alexei
post Sep 15 2021, 05:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

I tried another bike, 830mm can flat feet both sides.
This bike seat height 800mm. What makes this bike harder to flat feet?
alexei
post Sep 16 2021, 10:39 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 16 2021, 07:08 AM)
The width of the seating will also have an  effect

With the same seat height.
Wide seating, you will tip toe more than a bike with narrow seating.  Narrow you do not have to kangkang that much.
What's the seat width near the tank?
I can post the measurement of my 830mm later...

0.0352sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:51 AM