Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

mADmAN
post Jun 19 2007, 05:13 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 19 2007, 04:15 PM)
Im thinking getting MSI NX8800GTS 320MB OC-EDITION smile.gif

Juz wondering, how loud are those GTS?... izzit loud?... coz my casing pretty near to me..

akachester : how much u bought yers?..

Cheers wink.gif
if ur willing to wait awhile...drop a PM to karom... he ordered an evga 8800GTS 320mb superclocked & a BFG 8800GTS 320mb OC2 himself which i think is just to fill up the MOQ. my guess is hell be selling it off.

arc_archive is also selling off his slightly used BFG 8800GTS OC2 in the garage sales for quite a bargain. try taking a look at those first before going for the MSI.
mADmAN
post Jun 19 2007, 05:39 PM

10,530 posts

yeah...but the BFG arc_archive is selling is practically new (less than a month).. and its not even registered yet in BFG website...meaning if u buy it.. u register it and ur lifetime warranty starts brows.gif

the ones that karom are bringing in would brand spanking new in sealed boxes thumbup.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 19 2007, 06:00 PM

10,530 posts

yep....same thing with the evga.

thats the only downside with these 2 brands.

mADmAN
post Jun 20 2007, 01:27 AM

10,530 posts

whats wrong if the brand is made in china?? if those brands from china like colorful and xpertvision i wouldnt hesitate to recommend them in a heartbeat.

honestly...if i had the moolah right now id probably pick up arc_archive's 8800GTS to SLI with my current 8800GTS (same one..BFG OC2)
mADmAN
post Jun 20 2007, 01:36 AM

10,530 posts

actually the ones we talking about (BFG/EVGA) are ah-me-li-ka mali wan. most likely made there oso...but u can never really know wink.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 21 2007, 12:12 PM

10,530 posts

wooohooo!!!! finally got my BFG 8800GTS 320MB OC2 up and running last night rclxm9.gif

in aircond room....
idle 64
load 72

this morning around 11am after aircond has been turned off for around 5 hours.
idle 72!!! shocking.gif
no time to test for load coz already very late for work sweat.gif

i definitely need to either get a bigger case or mod/ change my sidepanel sweat.gif

either way...looks like ill have to update my sig soon hehehe
mADmAN
post Jun 21 2007, 02:06 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 21 2007, 01:52 PM)
My god  shocking.gif ..What happened?72c on idle?Thats like very high indeed..Anyway, you are using the GT casing right?Airflow should not be a very bad problem..
cant be helped ler... my friggin room is hot due to bad ventilation...think i need to get the sidepanel with mesh and the side patent fan to help cool things down doh.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 21 2007, 06:05 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 21 2007, 05:45 PM)
Why not open the side casing then? Would cool down a lot!
dun wan....the amount of dust in my room is murderous. the heatsink will be clogged in a few weeks!

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Jun 21 2007, 06:00 PM)
it seems that ur temperature is the same wif my secondary gc...70~76C...better have a look at ur casing ventilation...
i think my case ventilation is actually fine.... its my ROOM ventilation thats a problem. my room gets really hot even at night oso can sweat if aircond not on... and theres no ventilation..all windows are ALWAYS closed..coz if raining no one at home to close and theres the mosquitoes somemore doh.gif

but in aircond room its ok...goes as low as 61 wink.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 24 2007, 03:52 AM

10,530 posts

congrats bro....

what are the clocks u running? and what are the stock clocks?

and most important question... 3dmark05 score?? biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 25 2007, 11:12 AM

10,530 posts

mADmAN
post Jun 26 2007, 01:06 AM

10,530 posts

thats EXACTLY the reason why i keep asking for 3D MARK 05 scores. its a better measure for GC as the CPU doesnt really affect the final scores that much.
mADmAN
post Jun 26 2007, 06:34 PM

10,530 posts

eh guys.... how to know if ur PCIe slot is running at 4x or 8x or 16x?

any software that can be used to check?
mADmAN
post Jun 26 2007, 08:55 PM

10,530 posts

doh.gif laugh.gif

guys...i know how to see PCIe slot etc etc...

what i wanna know is...at what speed is the slot CURRENTLY running... laugh.gif

CPU-Z as suggested by sleepy is the only relevant answer to my question so far laugh.gif (thanks!)

will check with CPU-Z when i get home.
mADmAN
post Jun 26 2007, 09:05 PM

10,530 posts

yeah...i remember reading long ago in this forum.. some dude running his PCIe GC at 4x...so i wanna check...coz for some reason my 3D Mark 05 im only getting 8k.

not sure the reason. but i suspect the main reason is that my HDD is dying. but just wanna make sure its not the PCIe slot.

and there are 8x PCIe slots built into the mobos.

and speaking of 3dmark 05... i just re-downloaded it a few days ago....and for some reason i have to check my scores online. i cant check it WITHOUT submitting the ORB. how do i do it without having to check it online ah??

the previous 3dm05 i downloaded a year ago didnt have this..can check without going online.
mADmAN
post Jun 27 2007, 12:51 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(eluna @ Jun 26 2007, 10:26 PM)
nowaday graphic card only using pcie 16x slot with 75 watt supply
low 3dmark score does not mean anything gua? y worried? as long as play as good as other gamer fps then it just fine
actually with UT2004 at 1680*1050 everything runs smoooooooottthhh....even after i put all details to high/max oso still smooooooooooooootthhh thumbup.gif

must be me HDD vmad.gif

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 26 2007, 11:04 PM)
Yea, u can check yer PCIE speeds on CPU-Z.

And abt 3DMark05, yea, it used to show result straightaway w/o going online smile.gif

Now the latest version of it, needs to check yer results thru online.
Yea, juz take it lightly when comparing with 3DMark06, as i said, best to benchmark using games  cool2.gif
checked....running at 16x. im putting the blame on me HDD. coz whenever its active (ie bitcomet running) everything becomes frigging slow. but close bitcomet and the pc moves fine. sadly the 3dm05 scores only ever so slightly improves with the bitcomet off....i need an upgrade biggrin.gif

now when is that OP650 of mine coming?? isk.

EDIT: where can i get the old version 3dm05 where i dont have to check my scores online? damn mafan ler have to submit ORB everytime.

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 27 2007, 12:16 AM)
Yeah, although the card is 16x capable, sometimes under some circumstances, the card will not run at full speed. If im not mistaken, it has something to do with drivers or some other software, coz this type of problem happened on AGP's too, ie AGP8x running at AGP4x.

But the again, I doubt you'll get that much performance hit running at 8x or 4x, coz most card hardly use over 8x worth of bandwidth. Well, not to the extend of getting 8k only in 05 sweat.gif
thats the thing....i think the HDD must be too friggin slow loading it. im VERY sure thats the reason (more like im praying thats the reason laugh.gif)

my HDD is a 320GB WD SATA 1 by the way. bought from bulk orders about 2 years ago biggrin.gif

looks like i have to change oso...coz nowadays everytime i boot the PC itll run scandisk on one of my partition (my BT partition).

godammit...i need an upgrade!

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jun 27 2007, 01:08 AM
mADmAN
post Jun 27 2007, 12:16 PM

10,530 posts

put it simply...whenever i wanna open my computer...u can hear the hdd moving and then the flashlight thing comes out searching etc etc etc..

so yeah...its slow.
mADmAN
post Jul 4 2007, 02:19 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 4 2007, 01:40 PM)
ANyone on 158.22 driver?Do you guys feel its unstable?I am having reboot problem on this driver when i try to change the fanspeed to full..
i am.....seems fine to me...

i tried changing my fanspeed to 100% thru rivatuner and it did ask me to reboot...but i chose not to la and change it anyway. ok only.

now i set my fanspeed to auto adjust according to temp using rivatuner.
mADmAN
post Jul 4 2007, 03:24 PM

10,530 posts

mine is at 70 idle all the time... lowest itll go is 69...even in AC room....

no idea why ler...but it seems to be working fine so ill just let it be for now la.

could be coz my case is small... or could be because my soundcard is practically touching the shroud tongue.gif (but not blocking the fan)

wait til i upgrade to an ATX mobo (now m-ATX) and distance the soundcard abit.
mADmAN
post Jul 10 2007, 02:31 PM

10,530 posts

geez.....i need a new case...

previously my idle has been at 70 for my 8800.... even with sidepanel open (but no fan)...

this morning i open the side panel and point a fan towards the GC and it dropped to 63! and still dropping!! doh.gif

either that or i need a blowhole for my GC....

dammit..now my case is gonna be full of dust doh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jul 10 2007, 02:32 PM
mADmAN
post Jul 10 2007, 03:54 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 10 2007, 02:56 PM)
That's what I've been trying to say. Why don't you all just open the side casing!!! Will do a lot of good for your rig!!

See, like my rig, it is bare naked....  whistling.gif
dust bro....DUST!!! u have no idea how bad is the dust in my room man...somemore my room no ventilation sweat.gif. if i leave it like that ill end up having to clean my GC HSF once a week! tongue.gif its THAT bad

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 10 2007, 03:03 PM)
LOL..Be ready to clean your rig every day due to dust...But seriously, the 8800 is really making my room quite warm..
same here man...somemore my room no ventilation...lagi siao sweat.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:16 AM