14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

akachester
post Jun 22 2007, 04:53 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 22 2007, 04:13 PM)
Juz pm'ed CKC_1, he said hes card really comes with COH and he bought it in Lowyat Plaza.

akachester : Btw, where didcha got yer 8800GTS-OC?... *juz curious*

EDIT:
------
Anywayz, i juz called ComputerWar, a pc shop at pj/ss2, they said their MSI 8800GTS comes with COH... i gotta say.. izzit juz me or some shops actually took out the game and sell it separately?.. tongue.gif

Cheers tongue.gif
LOL...I got mine from irenic. I dont mind it does not come with the game though cause i already own one..Funny thing is, yes, i did check with ComputerWar before about the MSI and they said NO..LOL..
akachester
post Jun 23 2007, 03:09 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 22 2007, 08:00 PM)
Yea same here, its a dam ez decision when i saw MSI pre-oc and comes with the best game of the year!.. biggrin.gif

Totally 'anti-climax' to me.. lol

Cheers smile.gif
Well, to be honest, having the game or not doesnt really bother me. Just whether the card performs or not is important to me in the first place.
akachester
post Jun 24 2007, 02:25 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

By that time, people would feel that the 8series is a generation behind and start focusing on the 9series. Comments like, gosh, the 9600GT (for example) does not perform well etc etc..Besides that, more questions of whether i should get the DX10.1 (IIRC) or not will come out as well..For me, get whatever you could afford now, enjoy every last bit of it..It would still be some time before 9series would be here...
akachester
post Jun 24 2007, 10:05 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 24 2007, 03:15 AM)
w00t!.. finally gotten my MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC EDITION!!!  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif

And best of all it comes with 'Company Of Heroes'!..  thumbup.gif

Juz installed it few hrs ago, runs great and i gotta say its really quiet too, abt the same noise level as my 7600GT.

So far played RainbowSixVegas which runs great at 1680x1050res!!.. was playing at 1280x800res on my 7600GT, even that res oso laggish  sweat.gif

And i benchmarked using COH, and i gotten
avg 73.1fps
max 137fps
min 32.9fps

and best of all it rated "GREAT" status... sweet gaming here i come! biggrin.gif

Btw, first time using the latest drivers for 8series.. i noticed kinda different, like the part when i click to see GPU temperature, and it asked me to download nTune.

I gotta say nTune pretty big filesize comparing other 3Dcards utility softwares.

And heres the idle temp. readings i gotten from nTune :-
CPU: 36'C and GPU: 59'C
Good temp.?

Cheers  icon_idea.gif
You got a good deal there. How much you got it anyway?

For the COH, what setting you used cause i am getting average only on my com. Worried that it might be either my card or processor..

For the idling temp, i am getting roughly the same. around 58 - 61c most of the time. enjoy the card...

akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 08:34 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 24 2007, 11:14 AM)
True. Why not a x1950pro?

X1950 cannot play DX10 games wor.....
Dont worry about that if i were you. Dont think game developer will totally ditch out DX9 for now. The DX10 games should still be DX9 compatible with slight disadvantage only...

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 24 2007, 03:53 PM)
Well, i set all high-settings 0xAA at first, then later tried all ultra-settings 4xAA i still can get "GREAT" status  thumbup.gif

Weird.. average, esp. since yer rig specs its much better than mine.

As i said earlier, didcha 'disabled vsync' for yer COH?.. bcoz its enabled by default.

Cheers biggrin.gif
VSync?LOL..Didnt notice anything about that though.Where can i change it? But might not be testing the card anytime soon due to problem that i had with my LCD and PSU today..Well, as i said, i am worried that my processor is bringing it down.

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 24 2007, 10:42 PM)
No probs smile.gif

Btw, i juz did a quick 3DMark06 benchmark and i gotten :-
7182 3DMARKS

I gotta say from 7600GT to 8800GTS has nearly tripled my 3dmarks/score... sweet... rclxm9.gif

akachester : What didcha got for yer 3DMark06?..

And MSI 8800GTS OC EDITION owners, did u peeps use MSI D.O.T software?.. which its MSI's own overclocking utility.

Cheers biggrin.gif
Well, did not test 3DMark06 yet. I tested it that day but something went wrong with my 3DMark. Keep on asking me to view online but did not show anything. Anyway, i will settle my stuff by this weekend and see whether i can test it out or not.Yet to do any OCing in the card yet...

akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 11:03 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 12:06 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 25 2007, 11:12 AM)
how loud is urs? i know my BFG gets loud at 100%. even at 80% its audible. at 60% its just nice. i did a search on "rivatuner" in this thread and found a link to a guide on how to set it to auto adjust the fanspeed. thumbup.gif
How loud?Err...Hardly noticeable. My Silverstone fan is way louder than the one on the GC. I am wondering whether speedfan and PCwizard is giving me false information or not..
akachester
post Jun 25 2007, 01:35 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Jun 25 2007, 01:16 PM)
hi, im a Winfast 8800GTS 320MB user.

scores 6810 most for 3dMark06, i think its way too low isn't it? maybe my x2 3600+ bottlenecks the performance?
Might be so cause i do think mine will be around that range as well (yet to test but my 03 score is way less than other people here).. Will be performing the testing later again to see if my scores increases when i OC my proc..

Anyway, would resolution affect the score of 3D Mark?
akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 08:24 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 01:06 AM)
thats EXACTLY the reason why i keep asking for 3D MARK 05  scores. its a better measure for GC as the CPU doesnt really affect the final scores that much.
LOL...Maybe i should retest my card once i settle all my stuff with my current PC. Bad day with my LCD and PSU going kaput..

Guys, any idea what might be the lowest wattage i could go with my current 8800GTS setup?Do you guys recommending me going with CM 430 Extreme or FSP 400W or maybe (kinda expensive) ST400? Do you think my rig can support them?

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 26 2007, 01:51 AM)
Well, i didnt chg fanspeed, esp. i dont even know where to chg fanspeed..  blush.gif

Where to chg ah?.. tried Rivaturner.. but it cant recognize my drivers.

Btw, didcha try using MSI D.O.T?..

Cheers tongue.gif
Well, i also duno where to change but i heard from kmarc, you can install speedfan, go to configuration and change the speed from there. Just put the minimum fan speed to 100%. However, for me, the PC Wizard is still stating my GPU fan is at 100% even though i did not touch anything..

Never tried the D.O.T before cause i never touch that CD before as well..LOL..Maybe i should give it a try but Ntune also have the ability to let you OC the card as well right?

akachester
post Jun 26 2007, 11:18 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 26 2007, 07:54 PM)
I think the important thing of the PSU that you choose is the Ampere rating of the 12V rails. The extreme 430W's A's you're looking at seems to be abit low. I wouldnt use that one sweat.gif Try saving more for something better. At least your card will be safer wink.gif
Try Cpu-Z
Well, out of the choices i have thus far, only the FSP 400W offers higher A at around 30+. Most are below 30A. I do not want to spend too much on this PSU cause i am still going to use back my ST56F after it is back from RMA. Therefore, i prefer to spend < RM150 on it though...

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jun 26 2007, 08:58 PM)
sweat.gif .....
i think all the PCIE graphic card is running on 16X speed, is that any PCIE GC running on non-16X PCIE slot?
Well, on default, most of the PCIE card will be running on 16X. They will only be reduced if you are running SLi on some motherboard. However, there are some cases (weird ones) that i had seen before where on some way, it only runs on 8x..

akachester
post Jun 27 2007, 08:39 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM)

I see.. well, according the reviews, they said the MSI's D.O.T pretty solid 3Dcard utility.

If not mistaken it can o/c, see temperatures, check artifacts, and best of all, auto o/c.

I might try that later, esp. after i gotten a new PSU wink.gif

And yea, nTune can do o/c too.

Cheers smile.gif
Wow..Never knew it would be a good software. Maybe i should try it out and see whether it works for me or not. Cause i miss the auto OC ability that was previously available in older versions of Nvidia Ctrl Panel..
akachester
post Jun 27 2007, 03:57 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 27 2007, 03:46 PM)
can any1 recommend a 8800 GTS 320 MB brand i shud buy ?  smile.gif  (or those i shud avoid?)

ordered my new rig already , just left the graphics card  sweat.gif

eVGA or BFG sint really an option for me because of the delivery period  sad.gif
Any particular brand would be fine as all of them are on reference/stock cooler and PCB. Recommendation from me would be either of these few :

Palit - For being the cheapest available in the market. Bulk orders are even less than 1k

Asus - For having 3 years warranty international wide. Good bundle package.

MSI - For having a good, cheap price. Pre-OCed and at some cases, bundled with COH game which might be a plus point for some.

akachester
post Jun 28 2007, 08:30 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(any1else87 @ Jun 27 2007, 09:12 PM)
but is palit recommended? Heard my fren said that a lowyat stall people told him that last year ,the famous brand was colourful , this year , it's palit. How true is that?
Well, Palit had been a good brand when it comes to Nvidia GCs. They are known to be very reliable, OCable and at the same time, very cheap as well. The opinion is based on the low/middle end series of GC. However, when it comes to the 8800series, MOST of them (not sure its all or not) are based on the reference design/cooler. Hence, they are all basically the same with maybe difference in term of the cooler graphics, bundle package and some might come pre-OCed.

With Palit priced lower than 1k for now, its really a good purchase for me. I dont think there is any Colorful 8800GTS on sale at LYP AFAIK. Colorful wise, i am not so attracted to the brand. But it is indeed very cheap..

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 28 2007, 12:09 AM)
Been using this card for exactly a month. Havent encounter anything like that yet. Im on 158.27
Using driver 158.22 on Windows XP for roughly 1 month. Never encountered any problem thus far...
akachester
post Jun 28 2007, 03:38 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 28 2007, 03:23 PM)
Is getting a 8600 GT worth it? I was saving for an 8800 GTS...but then...financial issues. I really hope there is something for me. I really can't afford RM1000+ for just a graphics card. I know because I have a 7800 GTX (it affected my life financially quite terribly)
Are you still using the 7800GTX right now? If you are, then try to prevent yourself from "upgrading" to the 8600GT. Its more like downgrading to me..Keep the 7800GTX and wait for some price drop before making a move. Do not regret in making the wrong decision since you are having financial difficulties.

Else, if you do not have the 7800GTX, getting the 8600GT would be a good choice as well. Try to get the cheapest available and below RM500. Getting one that is over RM500 would mean its better to get the previous generation 7900/1950 series...
akachester
post Jun 28 2007, 10:18 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just boot up my PC after 5 days of hibernation due to problem with my LCD. Surprisingly, my MSI is now idling on 62 - 63c. Never dropped below 60c when my previous idling temperature is around 58c...LOL..

TomatomanzSeedlezz,

Have you tried the D.O.T software? Do you have a CD with the software cause i cant seem to find it though..
akachester
post Jun 29 2007, 08:37 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Guys, i am using 158.22 driver for my 8800GTS. Anyone have any newer and better (more stable) driver to recommend?

I just had one problem yesterday. When i switch on RivaTuner and change my GC fan speed to 100%, the monitor turned off in about 5 minutes. I am wondering, would my previous LCD problem is also caused by this here. But after i restarted, everything seem fine (of course, fan speed back to auto)..

What might be the problem here?Driver?Hardware?
akachester
post Jun 30 2007, 01:08 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

No problem. Whatever it is, just dont rush and make a wrong decision..Good luck..
akachester
post Jul 1 2007, 09:29 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(chlow6 @ Jul 1 2007, 02:42 AM)
My current MOBO don't but i am changing it to a gigabyte motherboard with a dual core e2140 processor. That portion of the budget is taken care of,i just want to ask if i can fork out Rm 500-600 and will be running Win xp for a long time,is it good to get a mid range 8 series card (looking at the 8600gt) or a 7 series card?

Will a 8 series card be a waste of money if i use it in win xp?

This is my opinion. If i were you, i have plenty of choices available for RM500 - RM600. First of all, ask yourself whether you are a heavy gamer or not and whether you NEED to play games on high resolution + MAX details or not..

8600GT (and other DX10 cards) are not just about running Vista or anything. They just provide you the basic requirements that you will need to run FUTURE applications (aka DX10). Those card actually have more potential, not in the sense of gaming, but also conversion, HDMI, HDTV etc.

Anyway, if i were you, i will opt for the cheapest 8600GT around which roughly cost about RM400 - RM420. That would be a good buy for me. It performs decently, and still provide you with the platform needed for future apps. Else, if you are heavy gamer, get those older generations 7900GS/X1950pro will be fine as well...
akachester
post Jul 2 2007, 08:36 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

May i know which drivers are you guys using on Vista for the 8800series?Is there any compatibility issue between the driver and Vista?Wanted to install Vista and try it out..
akachester
post Jul 3 2007, 08:23 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just realise that the 8800GTS MSI is running on 1350 shader processor instead of the stock 1200. Good one indeed..LOL..

Anyway, to my shock, i saw my card idling on 54c yesterday. But after i left it overnight, it went to 63c again..

EDITED:

Installed Vista yesterday and tested it. So funny that i saw the Vista performance tester showing my 8800GTS scoring 1.0 only when my previous 7300GT even scored around 3.8. LOL...Overall performance of my system : 1.0.

This post has been edited by akachester: Jul 3 2007, 08:25 AM

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:41 AM