Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

mylinear
post Jul 27 2018, 11:06 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2018, 10:52 AM)
This thread gets so many posts that i am not keeping up...

About the big event, can someone sumarize, please...

.. is the turbo upgrade website now open to check or still down?
.. are people still slowly getting email about it? I got none.
The eligibility site is still down. I think it may not even be up again. It should not take so many days to get it running again. Maybe they switched to just sending email. Otherwise everyone who checks and is not eligible will be calling them to ask why not. With email they just say wait until 15 Aug to see if you get email.

I think over past couple of days, users have not reported getting emails here. But customer service will tell you to wait till 15 Aug and see.

mylinear
post Jul 27 2018, 04:55 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Jul 27 2018, 03:25 PM)
Dunno what its for then lol. But it corresponds with https://wholesale.tm.com.my/HSBBWholesalerP...ge_4&_nfls=true tho
I think these checks are not fully accurate info. For example, Streamyx may show 2M or 4M as max speed, but actually 4M or 8M is installed. Also even if Unifi is installed, it can show error as no port available or no coverage.

mylinear
post Jul 28 2018, 02:54 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Jul 28 2018, 11:19 AM)
This is funny, I got called from Unifi TeleMarketing, offer me RM220 for 100MBps.

I said, I received an email from Unifi for Turbo upgrade already, dont want this extra payment.
He said, my current router cant support, and the Turbo upgrade is depends on the locations, bla, bla, bla.

Then I said, I got AC-1200 already,
after that, he said, Ok, thanks, hang up.

RM220 should be lower to RM179 as my current 50MBps subscription rite?
Agents are calling because they know if users get 10X speed upgrade, most won't upgrade their packages further. So they are trying to get you to upgrade before that happens. I said before, I think even Streamyx users are being called to switch to Unifi even though there is supposed to be a free upgrade for them anyway. Unfortunately, not everyone knows yet whether they are entitled to the free upgrade or what exactly it is going to be.

mylinear
post Jul 28 2018, 03:00 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 28 2018, 02:55 PM)
Received call from someone claiming to be from TM. Offered upgrade to 100Mbps from my current 50Mbps.

But they will charge me RM239 pm from my current RM199 pm. Gila. When asked why i have to pay more, he said this offer is "promotion upgrade".. 😁
See my post before yours.

Did you ask whether you will be eligible for 10X upgrade? If getting for free, why need to upgrade first now? Can always upgrade later after getting the free upgrade if not enough speed then.

As can bee seen for the past year or two, they are really trying to get users to pay more monthly.

mylinear
post Jul 31 2018, 09:58 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 31 2018, 02:37 PM)
Sources say Unifi 100Mbps will be much much cheaper next year
Compared to what? Their listed price of RM329? They going to say 50% discount based on that price?

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 31 2018, 05:18 PM)
100 and 300Mbps same upload speed.

Kinda imba after seeing my friend's TIME 100Mbps upload and download. laugh.gif My friend just terminated her account in Menara TM today. laugh.gif
Did they ask reasons or counter offer anything during the termination?

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 31 2018, 06:13 PM)
confirmed, and unifi basic 30Mbps will be having honeymoon period too for the quota checking.
Sounds like the original VIP plans which stated quota but never implemented in the end.

mylinear
post Aug 2 2018, 12:51 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Aug 1 2018, 10:53 PM)
TM shall reserves the right to amend the terms and conditions herein contained at any time if amendment is reasonably necessary in the interest of and for ensuring a fair level of availability of the Service to a majority of TM's subscribers and the Customer shall be bound by the amended terms and conditions. Notice of the amendment may be given by TM to the Customer in such manner as TM deems appropriate.

Yes they reserve the right but only
if (the) amendment is reasonably necessary in the interest of and for ensuring a fair level of availability of the Service to a majority of TM's subscribers 

How does this make the 30days notice relevant, can they prove that the new policy is "reasonably necessary in the interest of a majority of TM's subscribers"??
Most of these T&C from TM or other services are in general like that. Whatever clauses they have, generally there will be a clause to say the T&C can be changed by them. However much you read and agree, maybe later there will be an addition you don't like. Even if you don't like from the beginning, you are "forced" to accept anyway since you want the service.

How many users will read the T&C and say they don't agree with something and so they won't get the service, like internet or power to their house etc. In a way, mostly you don't have any choice if you want the service. This is one reason many don't even bother to read the T&C.

mylinear
post Aug 3 2018, 09:39 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Aug 3 2018, 09:07 PM)
I check almost all the NOVA/UnifiAddressled, even the one which no one resides in, shows  no port for side?

What's this even mean?
I have said before, I do not think the info is accurate. Even if no port stated, you should check with TM for latest updated info.

mylinear
post Aug 9 2018, 06:32 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 9 2018, 05:07 PM)
I'm one of those early birds paying RM299 for 100Mbps with STD 20 and Utlimate pack, so most of u already so much lower. Muitple live chats but no chance to reduce for almost 7 months now. Out of contract so will see if I can at least remove the redundant Varnam pack to save RM30. But at some point TM shd streamline pricing and early adopters shd not be penalized . However, this is life and things r never fair anyway....I guess we live and learn.
I guess it depends on your usage and needs, but why don't you try applying for a new line then terminating the old one? Even if you get 30M or 50M for RM139/179/199, maybe in 6-12 monts if it gets the 10X upgrade, it will be much better than what you have now and will be paying less, and saving some money from now till then.
mylinear
post Aug 15 2018, 11:02 AM

974 posts

Anyone got experience on this? If the fibre cable from the post to outside your house got problem and has to be replaced, do you have to pay for it?

mylinear
post Aug 15 2018, 11:10 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(izhamsatria @ Aug 15 2018, 11:04 AM)
You'll pay the contractor, expect more than RM100.
During installation, it is free from post to house. Then inside house is free for standard installation. I can understand if inside got problem we have to pay to re-do. But outside cable if broken or tree branch fall and damage etc etc, I thought its their responsibility.

mylinear
post Aug 15 2018, 12:23 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Aug 15 2018, 11:39 AM)
No worry, FOC if outside to pole. Mine broken once before. Call 100 to report, mine within 2 hours contractor came and fixed the cable.
I am just getting the info. Don't have cable problem. I was wondering because last time installation is in 2 segment. One is from pole to house. The other is inside house. With the socket to connect both parts. I guess the outside segment can be easily replaced for this.

But I read now the installation sometimes is one single cable from the pole to the house and continue inside the house. No socket. So if outside got problem, they have to replace the whole thing outside and inside?

QUOTE(izhamsatria @ Aug 15 2018, 11:39 AM)
Yes you're right about the first part. However, during my membawang session with fellow contractor, nowadays TM does not provide free cables to them.

It's their responsibility to determine what type of cable used during your installation as kampung area tends to have monyet joget @ cable. So, asks them to use self-supporting cable one (more expensive).
Some residential area in city also got monkey.... and squirrels. Also got neighbours cut tree branches and fall on cables. Didn't know about self-supporting cables. Thanks for info.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0346sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 AM