Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

mylinear
post Jun 16 2018, 03:19 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jun 16 2018, 03:01 PM)
That's right.

Indeed, problem fixed now. Looks like MYNIC no longer signing responses on their side.

Chances are that they have done this temporary fix to get domains resolving again for now. Probably fix the DNSSEC issue later. Either way, its all ok for now. My point was just to say that we should not just jump to conclusions without getting the facts first.

mylinear
post Jun 20 2018, 02:29 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(fli_guy84 @ Jun 20 2018, 11:03 AM)
For those who are wondering, I managed to change 2x Unifi accounts under my name (both are 30Mbps@RM199/month plan) to the latest Raya promotion 30Mbps@RM139/month. Just walked in into TMPoint in Taipan, Subang.

Since the contracts for both of my accounts are already over, the 'upgrade' is contract-free too.

Edit: Added TMPoint location.
I thought this RM139 plan is only valid for 24 months and price will go back to RM199? If you can check your Unifi portal account details, does it show perpetual discount?

I wonder if they have relaxed the terms or this means there is price adjustments coming.

Also:
Did your previous RM199 have STD20 free calls? How about now?

This post has been edited by mylinear: Jun 20 2018, 02:32 PM
mylinear
post Jun 21 2018, 05:52 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jun 21 2018, 11:03 AM)
no point having 100-300Mbps then u implement the quota... rclxub.gif
Speed and quota are different in the sense that speed is related more to efficiency and quality and quoata is related more to quantity.

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Jun 21 2018, 03:28 PM)
2L Coca cola price in Australia is AU$3.23.

If A$89.99 for 100MB unlimited plan is merely same like RM89.99, very cheap.
It is not always right to compare dollar for dollar between countries. Such comparison may work for some items but not others. It depends on people's earning power and what the item is, where it was produced etc etc.

The news is that there is supposed to be a price cut coming up. There was no mention of quota implementation. It was just mentioned by Xefron in an earlier post as a possiblity. We should not be concerned about it for now unless something is announced.

As Xefron said, I too think that internet should be seen as a utility. It is no longer a luxury item. Affordable internet will most definitely benefit many people who may not be able to afford it now.

Quoata in itself may not be a bad thing. It is the amount that is important as that should be sufficient for the majority of the users. Saying it is unlimited now has never been true. Even now we have a quoata as there is a limit to data that you can download based on the speed for a given hour, day or month. Users usage patterns have also changed in the past years.

mylinear
post Jun 23 2018, 10:25 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 23 2018, 09:15 PM)
Nope, the original 30Mbps price is RM199 while original 50Mbps price is RM219.
Actually the Raya promotion packages are 30M RM139 back to RM179, and 50M RM199 back to RM229. That was shown in a advert graphic.
mylinear
post Jun 26 2018, 11:08 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jun 26 2018, 07:59 AM)
some good news in coming but will not satisfy all type of people.
Lower prices but with quota??

Like last time Streamyx RM38 for 1Mbps but with 1GB quota? Just to say they have low priced package.

mylinear
post Jul 7 2018, 10:47 PM

974 posts

I will not be surprised if the lower priced < RM100 package will have a quota. I think many are looking at this wrong. Just because we want lower priced packages, we are unhappy if this new package comes with a quota. Actually we should be looking at it that this is an entry level package for light users. I don't think it should be targeted at B40 users. Just because you are B40 does not mean your usage is less than others. Even if you are M40 or T20 also you may have light usage only. I think this is not a good way to classify packages.

The whole idea of economic progress is to create more M category from B category. If the new entry level package is going to be 30M, it must have some restriction. Otherwise our B40 population will soon become B50, B60 or B70. Why? Because many users will suddenly claim they are in B category just to get the low priced package...!

I am sure there are many users who want higher speeds if they are heavy users. But there are also many users who have average usage who should be happy with the speed they have now. What we all should want is for overall price reduction for everyone. Then with various package speeds and prices, users can choose what suits their usage or budget the best.

It seems like the so called 25% price reduction has quietly been dismissed. Instead they are saying increase of speed. It is apparent that they really need to keep users paying around the RM179-199 range. Thus they don't mind giving more speed rather than price cut. It is probably easier for them to handle bandwidth rather than lose fees.

mylinear
post Jul 7 2018, 11:51 PM

974 posts

As much as we wish and hope for 10X speed, I find it hard to believe it will happen. 1G for users now paying RM179-199?? At the same time they say maybe RM99 for new 30M? That difference is 2X price and 30X speed. Does not sound right. Guess we have to wait for a week or so to know for sure.

When they had the briefing a few days ago, they said at least twice the speed for upgrade. Why should they say that if it was actually going to be 10X? Surely they would have said 10X straight away. 2X is so different from 10X.

Even when they say at least 2X, we cannot just say 10X is more than 2X so its possible. I think what at least 2X means is that its minimum 2X across the packages . Meaning some packages may get a bit more than 2X.

Setting aside that they should reduce price across all packages as I mentioned in my earlier post, this is an opportunity for them to level-up prices for all users.

If you base on at least 2X, most 100M users are now paying RM179-199. They should upgrade to 200M. Over the past year or so, the promo prices for 50M was at RM189-199. These users should get upgrade of 4X to 200M also since they are paying the same price anyway. Similarly for 30M RM179 users should get 7X to 200M.

What about 30M RM139 promo users? These users will go back to the normal RM179-/199 price after the 2 year contract. At that time, the benefit of them having to pay the higher prices is that they too will be on 200M then. In the meantime, they should get an upgrade to 50M / 100M.

I wonder if the Lite 10M will still be around soon. If so, 10M RM129 should get at least 30M. The difference between this and the RM99 new package would be it has UnifiTV on apps and not subject to quota. I think they have already tried to move most 10M RM129 users with extra RM10 to 30M RM139 recently. So maybe RM139 will be the lowest package to replace RM129 Lite.

So, unless there is real good news of 10X, maybe
30M RM99 (with quota)
50M RM139
100M RM169
200M RM199

Once again, 10X sounds hard to believe . Imagine if Unif Lite 10M goes to 100m. Or the promo 30M RM139 goes to 300M. That creates a problem for them as most users who are happy with 100M speed now paying RM179-199 will cancel and get same / higher speed for less money. They cannot afford to have that happen.

10X is possible for Streamyx 1M going to UnifiLite 10M as they said they have special upgrades for Streamyx users. Some Streamyx users 4M / 8M have already got such upgrade to 10M while still paying their old RM88 etc prices.

Again, users should focus more on lower prices for all. A 25% reduction would mean the current 100M at RM199 or so should be around RM149. I think most users would be happy with that. Speed increases will eventually come anyway. But for now, it looks like price decreases may not be coming...??

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 7 2018, 11:38 PM)
they want to maintain the ARPU I guess.
just like Maxis "upgrade" previously. Same price but higher Quota (wireless).
in Malaysia. very hard to reduce price.

as for for B40 become B70 because of cheating. I sure they would somehow link to Jabatan Kebajikan or even Bantuan Rakyat scheme. then how to cheat tongue.gif
I am not sure if B40 means you are registered with Kebajikan. I don't think BR1M is necessarily accurate info for such use.

Even within B40 there is a wide gap. Imagine someone earning RM800 or even RM1800 vs someone earning RM2800 or RM3800. Chances are that the lower earners maybe staying in areas which are not covered by Unifi anyway. The higher earner are covered and can get the low priced package . But actually they can also afford to pay bit more anyway. So how does it help?

This really reminds me of how last time they brought out Streamyx RM38 package with 1GB quota just to say they have a low priced package. While the other normal Streamyx packages remained at RM110 and above all the while.

This post has been edited by mylinear: Jul 8 2018, 12:11 AM
mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 11:04 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 12 2018, 08:48 AM)
For starting,

New 30 Mbps less than RM100
New 100 Mbps/300Mbps/500Mbps/800Mbps for existing Lite/Advance/Advance Plus/Pro customers.

What you pay right now remain.

All FTTH customers will get free speed upgrade.

non FTTH area will depends on infra readiness.
If the new packages are to be the same price as current ones, eg RM129 for Lite, doesn't that mean that all existing customers who are happy with their current 30M - 100M speed but paying RM139 - 2xx would switch over to the cheaper RM129 with 100M speed? That would be a loss for TM.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 11:26 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Jul 12 2018, 11:15 AM)
My guess.
Rm100, 30mbps
Up to Rm139, 100mbps
Up to RM 189, 300mbps
Up to Rm249, 500mbps
Up to RM 349, 800mbps

Edit:local Malaysia server.
International =25% of the speed (? My question is is able to traffic shape QoS in this manner?)

Will cut down on unfair pricing complain.

Plus reduce 25%price  in December.

Contract fix 2years if u accept.
I think one thing to note is that we are normally comparing with the current promo prices. For example, we say 100M is at RM179-199. But actually the listed price is RM329. So the new packages may be based on listed price. Like RM329 may now be 300M or 500M. So existing 100M user may only get upgraded to that speed.

I guess soon we will not have to guess if there is an announcement later today...

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 02:09 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 12 2018, 01:24 PM)
Yes, the only downside for this approach.100Mbps is sufficient for many Malaysian rights now.
Will get the answers soon, but I wonder if the Turbo plans are actually new packages in addition to the existing ones and not as replacements. Why? Because they did say previously that new customers who subscribe by end of the year will also be upgraded to new plans next year. Why should new customers subsribe to old plans and wait for upgrade if Turbo plans are already available from August and just subsribe to those instead?

So maybe its still the 30 / 50 / 100 old packages available and in addition they also will have 300 / 500 / 800 packages? If so, then my guess is that existing customers will only be upgraded to the next higher package.

I guess I stil find it hard to believe there will be a 10X upgrade... I really hope so for all of us.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 02:48 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 12 2018, 02:39 PM)
[attachmentid=9910648]
Is there a 20Mbps now? I guess it should be 10Mbps and below to cover Lite and Streamyx users.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 02:55 PM

974 posts

Not fair to say new RM79 30M is 56% less than old RM179 30M. Old one has UnifiTV package. So its RM179-30 = RM149. And it has no quota. And its got phone line, not sure new one got or not. So at most its 46% less.

Then the promo 30M is actually RM139. Also got UnifiTV so less RM30 = RM109. And no quota. So now at most new one is 28% less only. Much less if consider quota vs no quota.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 03:24 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(ardn @ Jul 12 2018, 03:17 PM)

'56% lower than current 30mbps price.."

kek

60gb quota = 512kbps streamyx 24hrs..30days nonstop full speed download volume..

a few phone and 1 or 2 pc in a family would consume min 5gb f0r app/firmare/windows/programs/antivirus update..

puke.gif  puke.gif  puke.gif
ranting.gif  ranting.gif  ranting.gif

BAWANG plan
bottom right corner of the picture.." LIFE MADE EASIER ™"..sommore
kek... to the highest level!
I posted a couple of pages back,its not fair to say 56% less as its not apple to apple comparison.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 03:32 PM

974 posts

I wonder if there is a plan to standardize prices for users during this upgrade. Now for RM179-199 you have some users on 30M, 50M or 100M. At least the speed difference is not that much in terms of Mb. If upgraded as is, then users will be on 300-800M around the same price. Much bigger difference in Mb.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 04:37 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(deean9 @ Jul 12 2018, 04:01 PM)
What do they mean by streamyx customer in unifi area? Adjacent area that have unifi or the ones who're still waiting for avaibility of the port?
I think it means Streamyx users who are in Unifi covered areas but have not switched to Unifi for whatever reason.

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 12 2018, 04:25 PM)
Anyone who becomes unifi customer before 31st December 2018, will entitle for the free speed upgrade.

The only difference is the upgrade phase you will be on.
As I posted before, this indicates new users have to sign up with existing plan then wait for upgrade next year. But isn't there already going to be the new plans in August? Or Auguest is just beginning of upgrades and the new plans will only be available next year which then will make sense I guess.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 04:47 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Bighead88 @ Jul 12 2018, 04:39 PM)
this kind of streamyx user really baik hati to give higher payment for TM if they pay 1mbps for RM110
Well it could be that the Streamyx user is on those RM88 promo packages for 4M / 8M and dont' want to pay more per month if its sufficient. Or that area has no more ports and now they are going to add ports so that those Streamyx users can switch.

I see that they say 340K Streamyx users will be upgraded to Unifi. So it may be that they are adding ports or only now having coverage. Because otherwise thats a lot of users who have not switched.

Then the 350K Streamyx users who will get double speed must be in totally non-Unifi covered areas. Even then like last time many Streamyx users did not get upgrades because the ports only supported 2M / 4M. Maybe now there will be SUB in these areas.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 05:46 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Jul 12 2018, 05:27 PM)
i agree.    give you speed upgrade x10.  we all know they wont reduce the pricing  because they need this money to survive.

what more you people want ? 

personally i am very happy for the speed upgrade.  from 30  to 300 at RM139.  still okie la
Is your RM139 perpetual or back to RM179 after contract?

QUOTE(rajlesta00 @ Jul 12 2018, 05:41 PM)
Raya promo 30mbps RM129 still exist?

Currently I am paying RM159 for 30mbps (no contract)

thinking to subsribe RM129 30mbps Raya promo (with contract, under different name of course)
and get turbo upgrade to 300mbps next year...
I think that promo was RM139 30M, not RM129.

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jul 12 2018, 05:41 PM)
any other unfortunate unifi 100Mbps subscriber here who pays either -

a. RM329

or

b. RM309 (slightly less unfortunate because sign up early. LOL)
If you're on that and not on contract, why did you not switch to a cheaper package when there were promos?

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 05:53 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 12 2018, 05:45 PM)
cut the line, sign up the lowest package.

it is the usual SOP now for casual user.
Its unfortunate that users dont do such in masses. We've been complaining that prices should be cheaper. Now that they give higher speed, the price factor is forgotten.

If users really wanted, and 100M is relatively sufficient for most, all should downgrade to RM129 100M. That would show TM and the authorities that users really want cheaper broadband. Now TM just have to say users willing to pay higher prices for higher speed as speed is more important. And price difference between users for similar packages are still going to exist like before, just at higher speeds.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 05:59 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Jul 12 2018, 05:53 PM)
my RM139 is promo.  will back 179 after contract.  However,  wait 2 years and see if TM will maintain at 139.  since now new government and new TM CEO.    things can change .  hope can remain 139 after 2 years.
My guess is that it won't. They will offer to upgrade before your contract is up. Or you'll get higher speed at that time when back to RM179. Either way you'll be paying more than RM139 when contract ends. But yes, things can change in 2 years.

Whatever changes also prices don't seem to change, ie reduce in RM for user.

mylinear
post Jul 12 2018, 06:02 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 12 2018, 05:57 PM)
different people got diff need lah, some do enjoy the 10x upgrade.

In oversea, broadband sub can be <RM50 thing. well not here lol
Yes I know that. That's why I said most users. Wish we had some stats on user usage patterns.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2348sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:44 PM