Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 12:47 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(vynes18 @ Jul 18 2018, 12:37 AM)
Bingo, first come first serve basis…
Early registered will allocated to early phase upgrading, but still subject to your areas technicians, ports and other external factors…
Not first come first serve, it's whatever the hell they want. If TM decides you area is worthy then they will upgrade. If not, too bad you wait 6 months or more. I suspect it's based on usage, the area with the lowest usage gets upgrade first. That way they know they line won't get raped so hard compared to upgrading an area with high usage. The upgrade is free so logically whoever registers should get it immediately so why the need to delay? They already got customer's consent so what are they waiting for? At worse I think 2 weeks is the slowest it would take after you register but nah, in my case I think it's 7 month or maybe more, forgot already. Your telling me it takes 7 month to change my account from 20Mbps to 50Mbps? HAHAHA what a JOKE.

This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 18 2018, 12:47 AM
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 01:30 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Jul 18 2018, 01:03 AM)
Still remember the time when tm said my area not available for free upgrade despite 8 months late

This is despite neighbor being upgraded one month ago, and again one month after that

Then I told them all you need to do is turn on the switch, I have the necessary equipment ready

Then they said no we have to come over your place to turn it on

Then the ppl finally came and they said "we're here to just let you sign it, but sorry we can't upgrade you today because central didn't turn on the switch"

Wtfffffffffff

Two weeks later

They finally did it
That issue is, some ppl purposely signed up for the plan to be upgraded, but if they are not upgraded within the agreed time period, that would be effectively cheating the customer

But no this is tm. If not scam what else is new
They don't need to come to the customer's location, it's all on their end. It's literally just a simple account settings, nothing crazy or complicated. TM lying through their teeth. Proof is when I got my upgrade nobody came to my home, I got an sms that say your account is upgraded bla bla and I come home, test and yep it's upgraded.

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jul 18 2018, 01:03 AM)
Probably the free upgrade phases will follow the way of how the last Thank you surprise campaign worked. How long you have been waited for in last campaign, this time you will also wait for the same amount of time. Everything been scheduled since the beginning in their system. Your consent is the only thing they needed before it proceeds.

Just my wild guess.
Sounds logical. Not their first rodeo so it's pretty obvious they'll just follow the same SOP as last free upgrade.
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 06:00 PM

475 posts

So I guess this time around the customer don't need to register anything since the option available is "check" only. Both my unifi and unifi biz free update is jan to june 2019, which is the same timeline as before.
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 09:58 PM

475 posts

So whole TM staff is working on the upgrade page till the whole network goes full retard? They can't even cater to the current bandwidth usage. How or where are they going to dig up the remaining bandwidth to cater to TEN TIMES the current speed?

Upgrade process that takes more than half a year to implement whilst not even able to maintain the current network and can't even create a website that doesn't crash and burn, knowing full well that there will be high traffic since this is not their first upgrade rodeo.

Twitch is still fking slow at peak hour and not a single fk is given, naturally. TM is just a joke that just keeps on giving. Maybe my grandchildren will get a better internet when TM finally goes bankrupt, though I think a Tsunami that would wiped out whole Malaysia is likely to happen before then.
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 10:11 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 18 2018, 10:07 PM)
I think now is a very good time to change to TIME because they'll be responding to TM's 10x upgrade soon. You should be so lucky that you have the choice.
I think any sane person would pick Time internet 9/10 times. Maybe that 1 time when your lapsed in judgement due to alcohol or maybe you want to win a bet with your friends but if given a choice I wouldn't give TM a dime of my money.
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 10:45 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 18 2018, 10:43 PM)
actually slowed since 2 days ago, but not every sites/services was affected.
More like it has always been slow at this time, i.e. peak hour. Speed should gradually improve nearing midnight time. Imgur, Twitch, Streamable will slow down to a crawl at 8PM at my place. No word from TM so clearly its working as intended for them. For people who watch Twitch religiously every night then get a VPN and bypass TM's bullshit speed cap. Worked for my case just using a free proxy or VPN.

This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 18 2018, 10:46 PM
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 10:52 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jul 18 2018, 10:48 PM)
any good VPN to recommend?
I don't use any paid ones. Free ones are ok but I woudn't use it since I can't trust it. The ones I have used are bolehvpn and it works good. Price is good, you get plenty of servers to choose from, speed is good; as fast as your internet can go. Haven't used it since I got unifi since tm don't throttle it, unlike streamyx.

This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 18 2018, 10:52 PM
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 10:55 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 18 2018, 10:51 PM)
There's a little poll here on thestar.com.my -- at the bottom of the article -- on whether you're getting your upgrade this or next year.
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...urbo-check-now/
No mention of the difficulty in accessing the website or the fact that it just doesn't work 99.99% of the time.

Quality journalism. Made in Malaysia. Support our local product *ptui*
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 11:02 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 18 2018, 10:58 PM)
I'm not too sure but Amazon services (Twitch) for some reason never works well with UniFi hmm.gif

Even their game client seems to have a weird bottleneck at 20Mbps or something, but other clients like Steam/Origin/Uplay managed to max out my connection just fine hmm.gif
Steam, origin or uplay either used Malaysia or Singapore server which unifi has no issues with. Twitch (for my case) uses Hong Kong server which is absolute dog sh*t with unifi. Looks like TM just doesn't give a damn about it and have no intention of fixing it. Do yourself a favor and get a VPN if your an avid Twitch user, will save you a lot of headache.
ahpek26
post Jul 18 2018, 11:55 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 18 2018, 11:48 PM)
same server? Not same Datacenter meh?
Streamyx or unifi ip address have different routing. That's why when some people are having issues, other are not. People have suggested to change ip address if your having slow internet. It won't fix anything if your account is not assign that particular (non problematic) ip address range so it works in theory but in practice not so much. Sometimes I try to change to multiple ip address but the routing is the same so no point either.

Guess TM has some special ip which is impervious to bad routing or slow speed that some people seem to have because every time someone complain about slow speed these "special people" will come in and say nothing wrong it's just you.

This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 18 2018, 11:56 PM
ahpek26
post Jul 19 2018, 12:12 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 19 2018, 12:10 AM)
You should count yourself lucky for being allocated with public ipv4 address.
Some poor souls are allocated with private ipv4 address  doh.gif
What private ipv4 address, got example?
ahpek26
post Jul 19 2018, 06:11 AM

475 posts

I'm wondering what are TM's plans for people who are not eligible for speed upgrade, it means they're stuck at 30 or 50Mbps. For now, not so bad. But in the future when 100Mbps is the slowest and cheapest package, are they expecting people to cut their line and register a new account to get cheaper price? That's not going to happen because their hardware can't even support it.

Are they expecting people to subscribe to the shit 30Mbps (60GB) that throttles to a BLAZING 128Kbps just to get a better pricing? I can't imagine the madness next year when they introduce a newer, cheaper, faster package and current customer is just left hanging by the balls and paying a premium while getting slower speed than new ones.

Oh I can't wait for the predictable and hilarious shitstorm that will follow.
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 02:30 AM

475 posts

Can't believe nobody has mention this already, but you don't have to register anything to get the upgrade. The system on the website is just to check if your eligible for the upgrade or not. If your not eligible, too bad. Not sure where people get this "register" nonsense from, you don't need to register a damn thing because there's nowhere on that website to register anything.

For the people who got the email, it's not because they login and check their eligibility, it's because they are already eligible for it in the first place.

Seems like TM can't even manage an intranet, sorry, a website of which is their own and customer is browsing so I can't imagine the bandwidth load it's getting is anything server. So god damn incompetent, now the whole world can see it, not just TM's customer.

Fking morons.

This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 20 2018, 03:28 AM
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 02:40 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jul 20 2018, 02:33 AM)
Not sure why did TM say about needing consent from users hence making everyone trying to verify with the idea of registering themselves else they won't get it.
Shows you even they're not sure about it. Funny enough, I have two account, unifi and unifibiz, both are eligible. As far as I know there's no mention unifibiz will get a speed upgrade but to be fair TM is being vague and states "unifi" so anything unifi related get's a speed upgrade. More bawang from the bawang master I guess.
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 04:45 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 20 2018, 01:33 PM)
ahpek26

While I do understand your dissatisfaction against TM about the whole upgrading exercise, you must remember that they are essentially working within their policy when it comes to changing your service.  Most ISPs (or telco services) here are not allowed to change one's customer subscription unless a service order can be issued and that service order can be made if the customer gave consent to the telco for that icon_idea.gif

The reason why they need a service order for that is to prevent potential fraud and is used as some kind of an agreement, that the subscriber has authorized TM to modify your subscription.  Also the service order can be sent to other departments such as the technical department so that the technical team can use that to check what speeds they can upgrade to, based on the customer location.  icon_idea.gif

It's not that we haven't done this before - remember the Thank You Surprise?  It was a relatively undramatic upgrade campaign, and most people here got the email as soon as they signed up for the upgrade at the website.  Their servers didn't went down, and despite the fact some people got the upgrade quite late, it was not exactly a hugely messy campaign  icon_idea.gif

Not to be judgmental here, but your vitriol towards TM is not going to magically make them a lovable, great ISP  icon_rolleyes.gif
Oh really they need your permission huh? Well then explain to me why I did not see anything resembling a "Sign here to agree for speed upgrade" when I login and check my eligibility. Instead, it's literally just a login and view if your eligible or not and the date of when your account would be upgraded. Where is this magical "verification" you speak off? I work with facts, not pixie dust.

It's a speed upgrade with no extra cost and no hidden quota or what have you so logically they don't need the customer's consent whatsoever. Of course, they want to do it "legally" so they would need some sort of agreement from their customer or as I would interpret it "if the user didn't give consent then yay, we make more money, suckers".

The thank you surprise is full of shit, just like this one. To be fair, it was less shitty than this current one i'll give you that much but it was a joke nonetheless. Took them more than 7 month to upgrade my account, oh yeah "smooth and fast" alright. Just because you got it fast doesn't mean everyone got it too. Heck, I might even be considered lucky because some people didn't even get it at all. What did TM give these people? Free premium tv channel or some garbage for 1 year, ONE YEAR HAHAHAHA WHAT A FKING JOKE.

TM is a shit ISP, from dialup, to streamyx, to unifi and I doubt it would ever change. I don't have much of a choice so i'd just stick with it since the alternative isn't any better. As they say, make lemons from lemonade. You want to support them, say good things, hey be my guess I'm not going to stop you.
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 04:58 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(I<3LYN @ Jul 20 2018, 04:51 PM)
selective and non-transparent pricing is never a good thing.
essentially bullying the non-selected customers to pay for those who are selected.

we made such a fuss over the maxis incident... but never ever talk about TM is taking it to the extreme.
We have always talked about it. You might not noticed it. What most people here did (myself included) is go to TMpoint and ask for a discount. TM employee would say this la, that la, you know typical bs can't do this can't do that but if you push hard enough they will give you a discount. Old customer is literally getting screwed because TM will never give discount or offer, period. They would just keep quiet and let these suckers customer pay crazy money every month.

So you have to be vigilant and know what the current pricing is, what everyone else is paying, then you can go to TMpoint and argue your case. Else, if you simply go there they will bs you and you won't get squat. This is Malaysia la, gotta fight for everything if you want to have better life.
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 05:11 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 20 2018, 05:04 PM)
My request to TM more simple but also get rejected/ignored...

Why forced everyone to pay extra for those stupid bundles? Someone might just need internet access only...
Have to fight lor, fight till you die if you want discount. Most people got lucky TM actually entertained their discount request first time but some forum user here not so much. Have to go TMpoint many times, write email, complain mcmc etc and only then TM would give discount.

Money la what else, I myself don't give a shit about tv so i'd rather not pay for it but no choice, want internet have to pay for tv. It's free RM30 for them every month, per customer, MINIMUM. You'd think they remove that? HAH, over their dead bodies! If gobind screw their ass then I think we might get a chance but that's like wayyyyy down the line. Maybe 50 years later, when internet is fast enough and we don't need tv or astro.

This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 20 2018, 05:13 PM
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 06:07 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 20 2018, 06:03 PM)
Indeed, multi-gigabyte even. My next project in the next few months will be trying to get 10Gbps ethernet with Cat5e. Will settle for 5Gbps if I can't.
Like this I come pull cable from my home straight to your house and I pay you monthly. Can or not?
ahpek26
post Jul 20 2018, 07:05 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(ScivanShimitar @ Jul 20 2018, 06:50 PM)
Yeah called and livechat their staff as a follow up earlier this morning, they said "yes sir we will make this as a priority case". Till now nothing, not even a call or messages saying restoration service will be delayed.
Huhuhu.. been there, done that, multiple times in fact. Problem starts Thursday, solved at Tuesday (next week). Call everyday from Thursday (to report), Friday (to tell me to hurry up), Saturday (to tell me to hurry up), Sunday (request to speak to Manager or Supervisor), Monday and Tuesday no need call since Sunday Manager already said will come on Tuesday (confirmed will come and they did come).

Every time I call them to hurry up, they will "escalate the situation", whatever that means but it didn't speed up the repair at all. The problem was a faulty power adapter for BTU (modem). I changed it to a spare I had and it fixed the problem. So I told them on Friday and Saturday just send one technician change the power adapter but no action. So Sunday I fed up I call them and straight asked for Manager or Supervisor.

With TM call center this is the only way to get your problem solve fast, by reaching a Manager or Supervisor. Why? Who knows. Maybe they have special privileged that normal staff don't have. Maybe they got special power or something I donnu but every single time I make a report via 100 it's always the same shit, I make report, wait 3 days, problem not solve, call and ask to speak to manager or supervisor then one or two days confirmed problem solved.

Now I may just be unlucky or my area is problematic so not enough technician to do the job but result is result and I've done this so many times and it worked pretty much all the time.
ahpek26
post Jul 21 2018, 03:06 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 21 2018, 12:13 AM)
ahpek26

I know you may be frustrated - but bear in mind I am just expressing my opinions and you are always free to express whatever opinion you have on TM.  If you are that dissatisfied with TM, you can always file a complaint or even get someone else having the issue and voice it out collectively, even if you think that it's not going to help.  Of course, if you never try to put any effort in to solve the problem and just rant elsewhere, it is not going to magically solve the problem by itself. icon_idea.gif
Case in point: GameSky and others (Streamyx users) have been long annoyed by the fact that they never get any kind of proper speed upgrade or even mass discounts (at least you and other people here has gotten something).  Rather than sitting around and rant somewhere that they have been abandoned by TM and complaining about GLCs and cronyism, GameSky attempted to make this issue heard by getting as much affected people and trying to collectively voice their complaints.  Sure it might not be much, but at least they eventually got the attention of the Minister and he is attempting to work with TM to resolve the matter.  It is still a long way to go, but it's still a progress nonetheless.  icon_idea.gif
I'll rest my case here icon_rolleyes.gif
I'll be frank, I don't care much about it. Slow upgrade? 50Mbps works for me. Not running a datacenter or leech server and i'm not too heavy on the download, so no big deal. The price? Already satisfied with mine after I got my discount request approved, RM149. The slow speed at peak hour? VPN can solve.

I honestly don't believe in reporting to the higher authority e.g. mcmc, skmm since I tried once and they didn't do anything and just sit on their ass. What works is I take a picture and send email to TM help and also forward it to facebook. Within two days problem is solved. Mcmc or skmm? Not a peep, no reply or anything, total silence. Probably still on holiday mood or something, useless garbage.

I rant just to vent my anger and share info. Maybe someone noticed their connection is dysfunctional but are unsure, if I voice my opinion then they might get a better understanding of their own problem... maybe. So what does their complaining achieve so far? I see streamyx got a price cut, that's good, except its for new customer, not so good then. I noticed most of them aren't eligible for speed upgrade and no effort is made by TM to explain why. Not saying he should stop doing it but I think a more proactive and effective direction is required. What is it? I donnu I'm the guy who rants in forum remember? lol.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0264sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:26 AM