Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi
ahpek26
Jul 6 2018, 11:00 PM
From this thread in kopitiam QUOTE(deazth @ Jul 6 2018, 09:26 PM) In tonight's berita utama [attachmentid=9901841] Not sure if this is legit or not but if it is then it looks like even TM staff is going to rage soon. TM is being so fking greedy it's absolutely disgusting. Guess gotta cut cost somewhere huh.
ahpek26
Jul 6 2018, 11:01 PM
From this thread in kopitiam QUOTE(deazth @ Jul 6 2018, 09:26 PM) In tonight's berita utama [attachmentid=9901841]  Not sure if this is legit or not but if it is then it looks like even TM staff is going to rage soon. TM is being so fking greedy it's absolutely disgusting. Guess gotta cut cost somewhere huh.
ahpek26
Jul 9 2018, 12:49 AM
Even with 50Mbps I can't even load content from streamable.com smoothly, lulz tmnut. Give me 1Gbps also no use.
ahpek26
Jul 9 2018, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(biloxee @ Jul 9 2018, 02:32 AM) I didn't say I can't watch any videos, i'm just saying it loads so slow I thought I was on dial-up.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 09:36 PM
With 50Mbps still can't buffer twitch smoothly, speed from 1Mbps to 3Mbps. TM as usual, a fking joke. Now already this shit I can't imagine what happens when everyone suck all bandwidth with 10x the speed.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 09:43 PM
Seems like TM can't even manage a decent connection towards a hong kong server, as in within asia region, LoL. Pathetic shit.
You give me 500Mbps for free also no use, can't even buffer for shit.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 12 2018, 09:45 PM) According to your picture it showing server is sin01, it should mean for singapore twitch server. See mine to twitch sg https://video-edge-c55294.sin01.abs.hls.ttvnw.net/ bla bla bla Sin could literally mean anything. The name is meaningless. A simple whois check would tell me the location, its Hong Kong.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 09:52 PM
Seems like only using a proxy fixed the twitch buffering problem. Using a Canadian server no less too, got speed of 9Mbps to 20Mbps, smooth buffering. I used Kproxy extension for firefox, its free try it yourself.
TM as usual, a joke.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 12 2018, 09:51 PM) Which streamer you watching,let met try? That's not how it works, that's not how any of this works. Your connected to the same CDN regardless of the streamer your watching. More lovely traffic shaping by Total Morons at peak hour, how surprising. Looks like they can't even cater towards the current usage, can't imagine the shitstorm when they upgrade everyone to TEN TIMES THE SPEED. Funny thing is, I don't watch twitch anymore since buffering is slow as garbage. It got fixed months after that but by then I already sick of it and moved on. I guess if your a serious twitch user better get a VPN since that's the only way you would be able to buffer anything. For anyone wondering, I'm using 50Mbps, paid RM149 monthly, ip address used was 115.134.140.*, 175.136.117.*, 60.50.53.*. PJ area. Thank fking god I got a discount or else I'd call them and raise a shitstorm or two.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(afroboy @ Jul 12 2018, 09:57 PM) What is causing this twitch lag, does anybody know why? It only started last Monday, usually after 7-8 pm, typical peak hour time. Are they upgrading stuff for new promo plans? TM can't manage the bandwidth so have to throttle you. It's a sign that TM is garbage at bandwidth management and clearly oversell their service. They can't cope with the demand and refuse to allocate more resource so that's why you get dial up buffering at peak hours.
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(afza @ Jul 12 2018, 10:08 PM) TM can only manage network in their infra. I liked that argument, I do. It's like your saying it's not their job, right? Cool. Except I used a free proxy and magically it buffers smooth. No proxy speed around 1Mbps to 3Mbps. With a proxy it's 9Mbps to 20Mbps. One might argue the proxy has a better connection towards Twitch CDN, which is true. So then whose fault is it? Why are you defending TM anyways, you got stock in them or something?
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 12 2018, 10:10 PM) It might probably traffic shaping issue for those ip block,because last year i also using similar block of your list ip,and also facing those issue. But it had been fixed after few weeks. So i think the issue come back recently ,just report to TM,they will try to fix it. I am using 147.158.x.x ip block,so far after 2weeks maintenance my connection is good as no issue. My connection is pretty good actually, never had a serious issue. But this twitch thing, heh. It's dejavu. I remembered when I just subscribe unifi at my home and guess what, twitch slow buffer. At office, also unifi, twitch buffer no problem. Home and office different ip range, go figure. I make report hu ha hu ha only after a month its fixed. Not sure if TM fixed it by removing traffic shaping or Twitch change their CDN, either way it's solved. Now years later same thing. TM will never change, same shit different day. This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 12 2018, 10:18 PM
ahpek26
Jul 12 2018, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(afza @ Jul 12 2018, 10:25 PM) Sometimes it's not your Telco fault that other service provider suck at shaping their network. TM can only optimize on their side. If there's complaints and the fault is not in their network, they would have to relay the issue to their partners and waits for them to fixed it. I'd like to believe TM is doing their best and that its not their fault, I really do. But if a simple ip change can fixed an issue then clearly TM is at fault. Either way, I hate to be the guy who wants to relax for the night and watch twitch, only to get fked in the ass with slow buffering and are forced to watch at 360p like using some dial up internet pre 2000 era. There is a solution to the problem but if you have to macgyver computer, smartphone, laptop or whatever else just to watch something on Twitch then that says a lot of the quality of TM's service, as in low or no quality.
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(kayroll @ Jul 13 2018, 12:01 AM) Watching twitch right now no buffer. Smooth streaming on 100mbps. [attachmentid=9912237] No shit sherlock its way past the peak hour. I can buffer smoothly without proxy too now. For anyone wondering, its the exact same CDN, a hong kong location that was lagging like shit during peak hour. Surprise surprise, TM is traffic shaping. Not that surprising seeing as tm is run by greedy assholes. Further proof is using a proxy or vpn to bypass the traffic shaping and getting smooth buffering. This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 13 2018, 12:07 AM
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(kayroll @ Jul 13 2018, 12:10 AM) My kids watched twitch since 8 pm if im not mistaken. No complain about buffer. Ip 202.xxxx  Did you test it out, as in buffer twitch yourself? Did your kids use proxy or vpn? Since they're regular twitch user I assumed they already google and found a solution to slow buffering since ages ago. Not the first time tm doing this nonsense. Free proxy or vpn are aplenty and does the job so not surprising if your kids aren't having any issue. Bypassed that bs using a proxy myself and worked fine. This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 13 2018, 12:15 AM
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(kayroll @ Jul 13 2018, 12:20 AM) No proxy or vpn set. Just using ipad pro 12.9". Will try tomorrow on peak hour. My screen shot above from iphone 8+. Meh guess your ip range is probably the least congested or something. 202.* is an old ip range from memory, most people are already transferred to others by now. Not surprising though, sometimes some ip range are not affected by slowdowns. QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 13 2018, 12:30 AM) When do you encounter the "traffic shaping" most? I think you mentioned 8-9pm, is that right? Does it matter which channel you're watching? Only the HK CDN or others as well? I'd like to see where the bottleneck is. Usually from night to midnight. I seem to only get HK CDN so nothing much I can do. Maybe it'll change tomorrow? Who knows. A free proxy fixed it but meh, what a sour taste in the mouth. This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 13 2018, 12:39 AM
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(wyh @ Jul 13 2018, 12:39 AM) Tenda AC6 Looks like im able to utilize my router speed D: with the upgrade  Not gonna lie, I chuckled a little bit seeing that router QUOTE(biloxee @ Jul 13 2018, 12:44 AM) Tomorrow, check the speedtest with Telin, HK server during peak and off peak... This is mine tonight. 9:58pm  12:39am  I see, that explains it. I didn't do a speedtest because I can view the twitch stream speed and server from windows resource monitor and it's horrible during peak hours, about 1-3Mbps.
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 12:57 AM
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 12 2018, 10:48 PM) Almost identical to Asus RT-AC68U, but do you wonder why it is much cheaper than the Asus? It is because the firmware lags behind the Asus significantly, so don’t expect Asus like performance here, in terms of the firmware. Asus Malaysia markup for routers are terrible. It's downright disgusting how greedy these people are, putting such a high price just because it's Asus and it's in high demand.
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jul 13 2018, 08:53 AM) Looks like TIME is coming up with something better : Lowkey advertising on your website there bud, huhuhu..
ahpek26
Jul 13 2018, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(EroS @ Jul 13 2018, 10:04 PM) Looks like connection to twitch is still slow. Yep have fun with your free 10x upgrade. Can't even use a 1/10 of my current 50Mbps to buffer twitch. Use proxy walla, no more issue. Starts at 8PM for me. After 12AM you test again, confirm can buffer smoothly. TM being their usual total moronic self, no surprise. Seems like routing issue to Telin, Hong Kong facing issue. Other Hong Kong servers on speedtest.net no problem. This post has been edited by ahpek26: Jul 13 2018, 10:19 PM