OKLY
post Jul 5 2018, 07:51 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(tboonc @ Jul 5 2018, 05:44 PM)
Hi may I know is this your assumption? because for me if throttled to 10mbps is still good enough.
May I know how and from where you access to history?
Yes it’s just my point of view on how TM can still market it as unlimited, by throttling it down to a reduced speed upon exceeding monthly quota for the entry-level package.
OKLY
post Jul 6 2018, 10:35 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(chan01 @ Jul 6 2018, 10:23 AM)
Unifi turbo is 10x increase speed? https://www.lowyat.net/2018/165655/unifi-tu...speed-increase/

so 30 mbps = 300 mbps
50 mbps = 500 mbps
100 mbps = 1gbps

So will TM change our modem and router to complement the upgrade?

Any speeds from 100mbps and above, if existing equipment do not have gigabit LAN ports then it will require a replacement.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Jul 6 2018, 10:36 AM
OKLY
post Jul 6 2018, 01:47 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Seannnn @ Jul 6 2018, 01:05 PM)
I'm currently subscribed 100mbps pro plan and just did a live chat with TM online support, operator told me that their maximum speed are 100mbps package, no more upgrade.  :confused:
No official information released to their customer service staffs yet so maximum 100mbps is correct for now until the official announcement on 12th July.
OKLY
post Jul 11 2018, 02:21 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 11 2018, 10:34 AM)
Is this desirable? Mikrotik RG750Gr3 ready to rock and roll.

Any Unifi beta-testers here? If already released from your NDA, please post Speedtest results here.
So with overhead factor, this is about the max speed that can be achieved by the gigabit LAN port?
OKLY
post Jul 11 2018, 04:08 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 11 2018, 04:05 PM)
So probably 100mbps upgrade to 1gbps?
Can get almost 999mbps or not?
I also using RG750Gr3 ,last few day also afraid it can't support for max speed.
Don’t think so as have to factor overhead of the WAN/LAN port.
OKLY
post Jul 11 2018, 09:32 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 11 2018, 09:17 PM)
The RB750Gr3 can handle 1Gbps no problem but cannot get 999 lah due to pppoe and TCP/IP overhead. I think 950-980 very good already. But if you’re doing more with your router, may need to upgrade to RB3011 for processing power.
What’s the CPU load like when maxing out the 1gbps connection?
OKLY
post Jul 12 2018, 09:37 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jul 12 2018, 09:32 AM)
my assumption based on xefron's post,

10 -> 100
30 -> 300
50 -> 500
100 -> 800

inb4 why not 10x for 100Mbps, become 1Gbps???
If this is really announced later, the only logical reason would probably be they know that the stock routers that they are providing might not be able to achieve 1gbps and when this problem happens, their customer service will be flooded with complaints from customers.
OKLY
post Jul 12 2018, 02:43 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Anyone knows what are the upload speeds for the new plans?
OKLY
post Jul 12 2018, 02:44 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Jul 12 2018, 02:44 PM)
Existing dir850l router able support 800mbps?
Yes should be fine.
OKLY
post Jul 12 2018, 02:52 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jul 12 2018, 02:44 PM)
Upgradeable means what?
Most likely a "disclaimer" due to those on VDSL will not be able to enjoy this upgrade in speed.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 12 2018, 02:51 PM)
I see, will try tonight then

but I wondering they will change the BTU for us or not hmm.gif
as I am using the black BTU model, which is this one
because if I am not mistaken this model cannot support up to 100mbps and above laugh.gif

Yes equipments have to be replaced with newer ones that have gigabit LAN port.
OKLY
post Jul 12 2018, 06:54 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

So no need to “apply” for this upgrade right like Thank You Surprise campaign?
OKLY
post Jul 13 2018, 09:50 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 12 2018, 11:48 PM)
Not sure because I rarely use Windows. Maybe more appropriate to ask in the Mikrotik forum. But Mikrotik's IPv6 implementation has its problems. The biggest is that if your IPv6 prefix changes, the Mikrotik router will not tell your devices that the previous prefix is invalid while happily advertising the new prefix. Result is that your devices end up with 2 different IPv6 addresses. There're ways around this though but Mikrotik should really fix this. Many ppl complain about this on their forums. Especially German home users cause their IP address changes every 24hrs.
So you don’t use IPv6 for now?
OKLY
post Jul 13 2018, 08:21 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 13 2018, 07:14 PM)
Still using. For now I have a script which runs whenever PPPoE goes down and up to avoid that problem.
I see, I might want to start playing around with a dedicated router. Still considering. hmm.gif
OKLY
post Jul 14 2018, 08:33 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 14 2018, 08:20 AM)

still no good news i guess?
15 August onwards in phases.
OKLY
post Jul 14 2018, 09:50 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Jul 14 2018, 09:44 AM)
What if unifi basic plan is actually wireless broadband since they didnt explicitly mention fibre??
There is both wireless (which was already available much earlier) and fibre (recently announced), both at RM79 monthly with 60GB quota. Wireless no guarantee in speed as subject to location and signal strength while fibre is at 30mbps.
OKLY
post Jul 18 2018, 09:37 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Can't seem to find anywhere to give my consent?

OKLY
post Jul 18 2018, 09:40 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jul 18 2018, 09:39 AM)
erm...where did it state you will be upgraded to 800Mbps ?
this message indicates you already given your consent...i think

same here
I think it is an image? If you noticed on my image, there is a small x icon which I believe an image failed to load.
OKLY
post Jul 18 2018, 09:52 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Jul 18 2018, 09:50 AM)
got it too, but only get the upgrade next year sad.gif
When it says next year, any specific timeline given?
OKLY
post Jul 19 2018, 10:02 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 19 2018, 09:53 PM)
Still no email for me although yesterday got confirmed on the verification page. hmm.gif

However mine service date start April 2018 but 30mbps RM179 installed on October 2017 then got RM10 upgrade to 50mbps. But I requested to remove Ruby pack so my bill now reduced to RM159. brows.gif

I wonder is this the reason why they delayed my upgrade to 2019? hmm.gif
Basically Ultimate pack already allows you to watch all the channels right?

I wonder if I should try or not, just afraid I will lose the promo discount after removing Ruby pack.
OKLY
post Jul 19 2018, 10:08 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jul 19 2018, 10:05 PM)
I think it will indicate in self-care, refer back to previous post, some members got it if not mistaken.
Yes Ultimate pack got everything in Ruby, Varnam and Aneka. But I didn’t watch much since parents used to watch Assteruk. But Ultimate got free BBC player access, which I like.

FYI my promo discount still there, just didn’t get the perpetual discount at the beginning.
Do you remember your Ruby pack does it state “Ruby pack (promo)”? Mine has the word promo there so I’m not sure if they will be more cautious when I enquire about this.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2270sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:48 PM