Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

JohnLai
post Apr 30 2018, 08:27 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Apr 30 2018, 06:19 PM)

2) If no longer under warranty, you can choose to get it replaced for free with a further contract extension.

Wait.....shouldn't TM replace the decoder free of charge as hypptv was bundled with internet package as long as customer still subscribed to the service?

Similar to Astro subscribers.
JohnLai
post Apr 30 2018, 09:09 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Apr 30 2018, 08:39 PM)
The only equipment that is lifetime warranty is the BTU. All others are only 1 year warranty.
bangwall.gif

With the forced bundling of hypptv...and MCMC allows such practise?
I think there is a rule saying broadcast providers which rely on monthly subscription (such as Astro and MYTV [paid subscribers in future]) must replace the decoder free of charge as long as customers still subscribe to the service.

The only exception is Astro NJOI.

I wonder if TM fall under broadcast provider definition with its hypptv....
Maybe someone should write to mcmc and ask for clarification? hmm.gif

EDIT:
Not to mention unifi contract = 2 years
And the warranty for both decoder and router only 1 year? vmad.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Apr 30 2018, 09:10 PM
JohnLai
post May 25 2018, 09:07 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(moonlight321 @ May 25 2018, 03:37 PM)
Hi, all
Good new, unifi bonanza promotion is back, rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  :
Better wait for the bawang announcement first....

TM often pulls bait and switch on existing customers.
JohnLai
post May 25 2018, 10:28 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Sigh, connection to OVH France screwed up since two days ago......again.

EDIT:
Only on 124.82.x.x range.
60.x.x.x range works just fine.
If only C1200 doesn't randomly reboot every week or so.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: May 26 2018, 12:29 AM
JohnLai
post Jun 6 2018, 10:23 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 6 2018, 08:06 PM)
802.11ax - there's pretty much no consumer device that supports this right now  hmm.gif

For me, gaming routers are overpriced and gimmicky - for the same price I'd rather build a Mikrotik/enterprise network setup and it will eat that ASUS for breakfast in terms of performance, reliability and security icon_idea.gif

Of course, a traditional Ethernet connection will be much more reliable, provided that the router itself is not of rubbish grade icon_idea.gif
K lah, now go check if your microtik devices are in the new list. bye.gif
https://arstechnica.com/information-technol...han-we-thought/

CCR1009 (new)
CCR1016
CCR1036
CCR1072
CRS109 (new)
CRS112 (new)
CRS125 (new)
RB411 (new)
RB450 (new)
RB750 (new)
RB911 (new)
RB921 (new)
RB941 (new)
RB951 (new)
RB952 (new)
RB960 (new)
RB962 (new)
RB1100 (new)
RB1200 (new)
RB2011 (new)
RB3011 (new)
RB Groove (new)
RB Omnitik (new)
STX5 (new)
JohnLai
post Jun 15 2018, 10:02 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(de_ghost @ Jun 15 2018, 09:59 PM)
There was a short .my tld outage. Posted by other forumer
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4601871
The guy closed the thread without saying how he fixed it. doh.gif
JohnLai
post Jun 15 2018, 10:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 15 2018, 10:08 PM)
Again down........ vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Change your DNS provider?
JohnLai
post Jun 15 2018, 10:19 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 15 2018, 10:18 PM)
Change to 8.8.8.8...still some is down... sad.gif
flushed the dns yet?
JohnLai
post Jun 15 2018, 10:24 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 15 2018, 10:21 PM)
Not yet...
So, your other sites still down for you after changing DNS provider because your OS still cached the previous DNS request.
We have no idea when the cached DNS request will expire....so......

A simple solution, just flush the DNS after changing DNS provider.

Open Command Prompt, type in ipconfig /flushdns, press enter, done
JohnLai
post Jun 15 2018, 10:28 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jun 15 2018, 10:27 PM)
Change to 1.9.1.9 or Opendns and you'd be golden.

Google's DNS facing some difficulties at the moment. 1.1.1.1 also.
I wonder why.

At first, it affects cloudflare, then it is starting to affect google. hmm.gif
JohnLai
post Jun 16 2018, 04:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jun 16 2018, 03:56 PM)
Agreed. Hopefully mynic will give an explanation as to what happened. The errors that I see indicates Mynic’s DNSKEY (the public key) is missing or invalid.

Did someone hack them and generated a new pair but failed to update DNSKEY and/or BIND?

Or less sinister, maybe somebody just accidentally deleted something?

North Korea?
Probably China APT teams after Najib loss. hmm.gif

JohnLai
post Jun 16 2018, 08:20 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

https://www.mynic.my/en/news.php?id=275
.MY Domain Outage

Saturday, 16 June 2018

SERI KEMBANGAN, Selangor, 16th June 2018 - MYNIC received a report of .my domain services intermittent outages late last night.

Our technical team acted upon the report and are working together with Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) and Verisign to resolve the problem. As part of the resolution to the problem, MYNIC’s DNSSEC key was refreshed and pushed to IANA servers.

It is our highest priority to restore affected services as quickly as possible.

No breach of customers’ data took place in this incident.

As of 3pm today, the .my domain service has been restored by MYNIC, but the availability of some .my sites will take more time to be restored as DNS servers cycles its cache.

We are actively monitoring the situation with the assistance of SKMM and we will revert with status updates as and when such is necessary.

Summoning se7en for updating lowyat front page status......
JohnLai
post Jun 17 2018, 12:18 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Wah, se7en sudah mengamuk. laugh.gif

Tak bagi muka langsung bye.gif

https://www.lowyat.net/2018/164609/tiada-maaf-bagimu-mynic/
JohnLai
post Jun 19 2018, 12:52 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Spawny @ Jun 19 2018, 11:52 AM)
Wanna ask you guys something, since my 7 years of using unifi i nvr bother installing the unifi tv box, but i decided it to install it for my dad cause my account has the ultimate pack. The box could not reach the server when i connect to the router, so i call report to unifi and they brought a technician to help.

He mentioned that this box is obsolete and they need to replace the box with a newer one cause the old box will not work anymore with the server. He replaced the box and it worked after that.

But my bill for this month, they charged me 300 bucks for the replacement box which i feel is ridiculous cause the old box cannot be use anymore. Is it right for them to charge me for the box?
Yes, it is 'right' for them to charge you if you didn't agree to 'renew' your service contract.

Read https://www.tm.com.my/OnlineHelp/Documents/...nfographics.pdf

Somebody ought to complain with Gobind, it not as if we want to subscribe to hypptv, but if the decoder is damaged, instead of free replacement, we have to pay for it or renew the service contract for 2 YEARS for free replacement! Wanna know the worst? Assuming if you opt for 2 YEARS service renewwal to get free hypptv decoder, that decoder only HAVE ONE YEAR WARRANTY! doh.gif ranting.gif

Note: Remote control ain't free, need to buy separately no matter what.
JohnLai
post Jun 19 2018, 02:50 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Spawny @ Jun 19 2018, 02:44 PM)
i renewed the contract end of last year when I upgraded my line to 100mpbs, so I should be provided a new router and a box right? They gave me a new router but not the new box,

I'm still paying for the unifitv service so how can I use the service without the box? My box was not spoiled but they stop the box to received transmission from the server, so by right they have to replace the box for free for me to continue to use the unifitv cause I'm paying for the service right?
-.- Technically, since you renewed the contract, TM should provide you with both new router (default) and NEW hypptv decoder (need to request). Unfortunately, you missed the boat.

Nope, TM is not using Astro monthly subscribers model. In case of Astro, if you are monthly subscriber and the decoder is dead, it is replaced for free.

EDIT: What is your hypptv decoder model?

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jun 19 2018, 02:51 PM
JohnLai
post Jun 19 2018, 03:15 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Spawny @ Jun 19 2018, 03:05 PM)
Its a bigger box, its silver in color and has a small display panel on the left side of the box, I cant remember the model name but the technician has already brought it back with him.
Way bigger than the current unifitv box which is only a small white box

Which?

EDIT:
In any case, both of old decoders above STILL CAN BE USED.

All TM needs to do ===> update its hypptv server database with your old decoder MAC address and login detail.
There isn't a need to replace the hypptv decoder. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jun 19 2018, 03:20 PM
JohnLai
post Jun 19 2018, 08:05 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Spawny @ Jun 19 2018, 03:57 PM)
The second one, well it was the technician that said the box can't be used but he didn't mentioning about charging a new box for it. He just say to replace the box to a newer and it will work. Yea I think I can mentioned that I was not given a new box when i signed a new contract and it was not offered to me, after i made a complain to them they mention to change the bill next cycle after they make the report to the billing department. Lets see how it goes.
Print that pdf file and bring it there, since you renewed the contract, you ought to get NEW DECODER.

Good luck on getting that charge out. console.gif
JohnLai
post Jun 21 2018, 10:22 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 21 2018, 01:53 AM)
To be fair, the half price speed doubled came from previous government. Was the price halved then? No. Speed doubled, yes but not all got it. My speed was free upgraded from 30 to 50, that's not doubled but well. laugh.gif

It's just a start for this new government, at least we shall have some discounts now. I'm definitely happy and looking forward to next step. I believe there will be another round of discount. Fingers crossed.

The Ministry needs to negotiate with the providers especially big whale like TM who is monopolizing the market now, so it may take some time to reach there. I am also looking forward to open market where more companies can startup their broadband business here.
To be fair --> The budget had been allocated by previous government and given to TM for the purpose of reducing the price and double the speed.

Next thing we know, there is no half price double speed, but only 25% discount? blink.gif

So what is the purpose of the allocated budget again? It had been invested to the fiber infrastructure rclxub.gif By right, new government should follow through the previous government promise on this matter.....unless there is element of songlap in TM?

Takkan lah pakatan nak telan duit rakyat? After all, more revenue by TM = more corporate tax paid.....might this be the reason why it is only 25% discount? ranting.gif
JohnLai
post Jun 21 2018, 10:58 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jun 21 2018, 10:37 AM)
PUTRAJAYA: Fixed broadband prices are expected to drop by at least 25% by year end in a move by the Pakatan Harapan government to fulfil its election manifesto pledge.

This anticipated reduction is due to the Mandatory Standard on Access Pricing (MSAP) which came into force on June 8.

Reduce by AT LEAST 25% due to MSAP. So could be more than 25% due to other factors, but maybe not by July/Aug 2018.
Read Najib's manifesto launched in April, he had postponed "half price and double speed" from "2 years from 2017" to "within 5 years if BN wins GE14".
PH's manifesto didn't specify the time frame but it should be a 5-year job scope.
Damn Najib, confirm the allocated budget had been 'taken' by najib to pay 1MDB debt.

No wonder certain people from TM resigned.

If you read these two from last year:
https://www.mcmc.gov.my/skmmgovmy/media/Gen...ess-Pricing.pdf

Maxis supports the price regulation for both Layer 2 HSBB Network Service with QoS and
Layer 3 HSBB Network Service, however views the prices for both as substantially high.
Based on Maxis’s analysis of the proposed price of RM133 per month (based on RM94
recurring charge and RM39 installation charge over 24 months), it is higher than TM’s
retail price of RM129 per month. Currently, there is a RM99 promotion for 10 Mbps, that
is very close to the proposed recurring charge of RM94 per month.
This would not allow
the Access Seeker to be able to compete with TM. For the higher speed such as 30 Mbps,
50 Mbps and 100 Mbps, the proposed regulated prices are not above TM’s retail prices,
however, they cause a significantly negative margin to the Access Seeker of 63%, 21%
and 19% respectively. In the UK, the regulated prices by Ofcom for the high speed fixed
broadband is only between 12% to 17% of the operator’s most popular retail prices, and
this provides a margin of between 83% to 88% for the Access Seekers to recover their
costs and compete against the incumbent’s retail packages. In contrast, the proposed
regulated prices in Malaysia is more than 80% of the retail packages offered by TM to its
end users.

Maxis submits that, in order to sustain competition, the regulated prices of HSBB Network
Services are at the minimum 40% to 50% of the incumbent’s retail prices. This is derived
based on Ofcom’s final statement of the “Fixed Access Market Reviews: Approach to the
VULA Margin” published on 15 March 2015, where Ofcom requires BT to maintain a
minimum margin of approximately £22 to £25 between the wholesale VULA prices and its
own retail packages to end users based on its consumer’s portfolio of fibre-based
packages, rather than individual products or bundle.
Further, Maxis also submits that the structure of the regulated prices should follow that of
TM’s wholesale prices, to separate into port and bandwidth. This is also implemented by
ACCC in Australia. This structure would provide flexibility to the Access Seeker to offer
different forms of speeds to their end users.
Finally, as a fall back, Maxis proposes the MCMC to consider the retail minus approach in
particular for the HSBB Network Services that are most important to the development of
the country.
TM comments that Layer 3 HSBB Network Service without network service is not in the
Access List and should not be included under the purview of this review. Further, TM has
highlighted that the proposed pricing structure reflects retail pricing and is inappropriate
at the wholesale level. Firstly, TM will not achieve cost recovery with this pricing structure
as it makes no allowance for incremental cost in preparing and conditioning the local ring,
aggregation core, BRAS and core ring to align with the structure. Secondly, the proposed
pricing structure is not ready for immediate deployment as there needs to be modification
to the back-end system. Thirdly, the structure encourages the Access Seeker to be
positioned as a Reseller/End User than as a Service Provider.
TM also clarifies that the Layer 3 HSBB Network Service with network service should only
be applicable for High Speed Internet and does not include value-added services such as
VOD and IPTV, which are charged separately
. Further, the prices are for Point of
Interconnection (POI) at an Access Provider’s premises (which includes access and core
network) within Peninsular Malaysia only. For Sabah and Sarawak, the cost of submarine
cable will be included. TM also proposes the pricing structure to be consistent with the
current wholesale offering for HSBA based on port and bandwidth. To be in line with the
pricing structure, TM proposes to remove contention ratio in the core network, as the
Access Seeker will use contention ratio.
Despite the above, TM maintains that the HSBB
service should not be price regulated as there is already a significant wholesale HSBB
market and is more than sufficient to provide competitive broadband service offerings for
the long-term benefit of end users. It is also best practice not to regulate where there is
significant capital investment deployed for new network infrastructure and where service
demand is still emerging.

Remember, only Internet package section got discount. No discount for Hypptv crap.
Prepare for quota system, although I can guarantee there will be riot if it is implemented.
JohnLai
post Jun 21 2018, 11:22 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jun 21 2018, 11:12 AM)
Pay premium for heavy users.
Choice to pay minimal (or even subsidised by Govt) for basic Internet service (10-20Mbps) with quotas.

Normal users do not require >25Mbps.
One of main purpose of quota = they wanna discourage line sharing of unlimited broadband. dry.gif

Youtube 4K 60fps requires at least 68Mbps...
For 2K 60fps, it is 24Mbps....

Normal users do require >25Mbps sad.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4431sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:30 AM