32 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V19, RTX 5000 unveiled

babylon52281
post May 21 2023, 01:35 AM

2,654 posts

In a desperate act, Nvidia is actually GIVING away free GPUs.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/news/w...graphics-cards/

But here is the catch; "OPEN TO LEGAL RESIDENTS OF ARGENTINA, AUSTRALIA, AUSTRIA, BELGIUM, CANADA (EXCLUDING THE PROVINCE OF QUEBEC), MAINLAND CHINA, COLOMBIA, CROATIA, CZECH REPUBLIC, DENMARK, FINLAND, FRANCE, GERMANY, GREECE, HUNGARY, JAPAN, MEXICO, NEW ZEALAND, NORWAY, PERU, PHILIPPINES, POLAND, SINGAPORE, SOUTH KOREA, SPAIN, SWEDEN, SWITZERLAND, TAIWAN, THE NETHERLANDS, UNITED KINGDOM, THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA (EXCLUDING THE STATES OF NEW YORK AND FLORIDA, AS WELL AS PUERTO RICO AND ITS OTHER TERRITORIES AND POSSESSIONS)."
babylon52281
post May 21 2023, 04:35 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ May 21 2023, 02:24 PM)
no Malaysia eh?
Thats the catch doh.gif
babylon52281
post May 24 2023, 06:57 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ May 24 2023, 08:19 AM)
AT BEST the 4060TI is a 3070 like card at 1080p.

AT WORST it performs wayyy under the 3060TI, especially at 4K.

One brutal example is Far Cry 6 Ultra at 4K, where the 3060TI has a massive 79% lead compared to the 4060TI (52 FPS vs 29 FPS).

Source - Guru3D's review of the 4060TI

Another example is in The Last of Us PC Port, where it loses to the 3060TI even at 1080p!

Source - HW Unboxed review of the 3060TI

Yes, you heard that right, this card cannot even BEAT its predecessor in ALL situations, the moment you go higher than 1080p it tanks hard, thanks to the shit 128bit bus which cannot be adequately covered by the increased L2 Cache at higher resolutions.

Imagine if I told you that the 4090 loses to the 3090 in any single game, y'all would think what a shitty successor it is.

What a joke of a card, deserves all the trash awards.
Ahh but for 40 series to work you hafta turn on DLSS3 for all those fake frames goodness bumping up ur FPS. Its like putting Ahbeng stickers on ur car except this time you do get more imaginary horsepower.
babylon52281
post May 25 2023, 12:02 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ May 24 2023, 08:15 PM)
Perfect. It's evidently clear that every product released thus far (except for the 4090) is actually 1 tier lower than it should be based on die size and % of CUDA cores compared to Ampere.

In a much more saner world the following would be the true release names for the cards:-

But of course, they couldn't overprice their cards as much as they've currently done if they really called them by their true names.
Reminder that 4070Ti was supposedly to be the 4080 as Nvidia had intended cool2.gif
babylon52281
post May 25 2023, 12:03 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 24 2023, 09:35 PM)
thanks god I bought my 3060 TI last year for around 2.1k and didn't wait for 4060 TI laugh.gif
I bought mine for 1.6k brows.gif
babylon52281
post May 25 2023, 04:55 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ May 25 2023, 08:54 AM)

I can't help but agree with this overall assessment lol.
I disagree.
Current generation of GPU are all turds top to bottom. 4090 is turd pricing simple bcoz it has no competition and melted connector. 7900XTX did not get my passing as was AMD top dog that failed to shoot. 4070 also did not get a pass for its soon to be limited 12GB VRAM and overall turdy pricing.

The only good they did is to push last gen GPU prices down to very attractive levels, get these fast before they run out.
babylon52281
post May 25 2023, 05:28 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 25 2023, 02:47 PM)
Ya laugh.gif

So far okay with my 3060 TI, but then my rig spec is too old

Time to upgrade other whistling.gif
I bought on last year lazada birthday sales which is around March laugh.gif
Mac 2022 before the Etherium Merge, when GPU prices still on the high side as people were desperately mining til the last second before POW changeover. I waited until GPU prices started collapsing.
babylon52281
post May 25 2023, 06:35 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ May 25 2023, 05:31 PM)
The x90/TITAN class has always been synonymous with retarded pricing due to its halo status, and for what it represents, it was never meant to be affordable or reasonably priced for the masses. We do not expect NVIDIA to be charitable with this class of card.

For a 60-70% performance uplift over the 3090 for only 100 USD more, it is the only card of the 40 series to show any significant uplift over the previous generation for that minimal increase in price.

Yes, the melted connectors are a big problem, but it was proven that the majority of reported cases are from user error in properly putting in the 12 pin cable as GN reported in their huge video about it.

The big problem is that every card below it meant for the masses has either crap uplift (4070) or even negative price to performance uplift (in the case of the 4080).
Past x90/TITAN have had competition from AMD, even the 'catch-everyone-by-surprise-10k coars-monster' 3090/Ti still had a good fight from 6900/6950XT. Mind you, past x90/TITAN only cost 1000-1200 and now the 4090 is ridiculously at 1600 with AIBs even higher(!).

Worse we dont get to enjoy MSRP as we are isolated from tech companies nor can we enjoy global market price drops. Here we get to eat local distro & reseller scalper prices all bcoz our gomen dont allow imports without paying hefty tax.

And with such prices going north, soon GPUs might just get put into their proposed luxury item taxation scheme. Orz!
babylon52281
post May 25 2023, 06:38 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ May 25 2023, 05:48 PM)
3 mnths, that is for official USD MSRP ? For local distributors to follow that drop, got to wait another 2-3 mnths?
Since when do we enjoy MSRP here? All we get is local distro & reseller scalper prices. Even officially AMD Msia, smoking strong wee to be selling RX series on the same tier as RTX when AMD USA had priced them one tier lower.
babylon52281
post May 26 2023, 01:13 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 26 2023, 12:43 PM)
No choice during that time my old AMD GPU dead

Whenever turn on pc, use awhile then power off itself
Tried plug hdmi/displayport to motherboard, no issue

But now having another issue, sometimes using desktop awhile the screen will goes black for few seconds then no more issue

Don't think is monitor issue as I also using it whenever play Nintendo Switch or PS4

TLDR, time for me to buy new rig, no idea is PSU, motherboard, etc ... or what issue rclxub.gif
Want budget then go for console laugh.gif
Cheaper to just pay a computer shop to diagnose where the problem lah.
babylon52281
post May 27 2023, 10:30 PM

2,654 posts

Its either 4090 or nothing. Nvidia dont need to care about gamer peasants anymore
https://www.techspot.com/news/98823-ai-chip...hts-gamers.html
babylon52281
post May 27 2023, 10:33 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(Balasundram Karruppiah @ May 27 2023, 07:26 PM)
Thank you for your input. Was nearly tempted by DLSS3, but its memory bandwidth size is a major turn off for me. And yeah, VRAM size is still stuck at 8GB, what a joke from Nvidia.

I will buy RTX 3060 Ti instead.  biggrin.gif
If you want a worth successor to ur 1070, should at least get 4070.
xx70 family to replace older xx70 baru ngam.
babylon52281
post May 29 2023, 12:02 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(targon @ May 28 2023, 02:04 PM)
nvidia fan,  just get the 4060 ti  , will be adequate for ur resolution.
don't be swayed by others views , after all it's u who are gonna use the gpu
u will get the benefit of a newer architecture and lower power consumption
in shopee, look out for certain resellers with rebates , that will help to reduce the price.

after that platform upgrade :
i5 13500 / 13600kf / 13600k
Msi B760M PRO or Mortar or z790 pro
16gb x 2 D4
kingston KC 3000 or Fury renegade nvme
4060Ti is a joke, at some benches it actually loses to the older 3060Ti. If between these 2 OP better to save the money and get 3060Ti but in honest to replace a 70 card should be a newer 70 card as well.
babylon52281
post May 29 2023, 12:06 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(Balasundram Karruppiah @ May 28 2023, 01:14 PM)
I can stretch my budget a little bit to get RTX 4070 too, as long as my 650W PSU can support it.

But, I feel that might be an overkill for 1080p gaming, as I want to keep my 34" LG monitor (max resolution 2560 x 1080, max refresh rate 144 Hz )  laugh.gif
In theory it can
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/geforce-rtx-4070.c3924

but in reality it needs a PSU with 2 separate PCIE rails for the 12VHPWR adaptor. So technically it can support if ur PSU meets that requirement.
babylon52281
post May 30 2023, 08:32 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(Balasundram Karruppiah @ May 30 2023, 06:53 AM)
Yeah, we respect each other's opinion. In fact, differing opinion has to be celebrated thumbup.gif

I saw RTX 3060Ti for RM15xx, and RTX 4060Ti for RM2,0xx at PC Image. But this photo is even more tempting, coz not everyday you will see this species priced below RM2,700  sweat.gif

That 3060Ti price is not bad esp if its the 3 fan model.

That 4060Ti is priced the same as 3070 which beats the pants out of it.

The 4070 pricing isnt bad and I reckon is worth the Rm600 extra if you could afford it as its priced similar to 3080 now and performs about the same at lower power levels plus the 12GB VRAM will defo last it in games far better than 4060Ti.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 30 2023, 08:32 AM
babylon52281
post May 30 2023, 08:37 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ May 29 2023, 11:41 PM)
notworthy.gif  so is it worth it to upgrade RTX 3070 Ti to RTX 4070 Ti OC now  sweat.gif  icon_question.gif  just because want to get 12GB VRam  rclxub.gif
A generation to generation upgrade dont make much sense unless ur have the money and want the latest.

8GB is only limited in certain situations for now, yes the day where its insufficient will come but not so soon, so you still got a couple of years to wait for 5070Ti which Im hoping Nvidia will learn their lesson from the poor showing of 40 series.
babylon52281
post May 30 2023, 11:01 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 30 2023, 02:10 PM)
poor man's cable mod 90 degree adaptor tongue.gif

inb4 mana der8auer adaptor with power indicator?
Your wish is granted
https://www.thermal-grizzly.com/en/products/601-wireview-en

Now pay our 10X premium price you gamer peasant

This post has been edited by babylon52281: May 30 2023, 11:02 PM
babylon52281
post May 31 2023, 04:05 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(Balasundram Karruppiah @ May 31 2023, 06:42 AM)
Just took the plunge yesterday and got the RTX 4070. This card is a real beast, albeit I'm not getting its full potential at the moment due to CPU bottlenecking issue. Will upgrade my CPU by the end of this year. Or should I wait for Intel 14th gen? Hopefully this card will serve me well for another 5 years, just like my GTX 1070 and before that, GTX 670.

p/s : I have a strong affinity for number 7, as Cantona and Beckham are my favorite players, their iconic number 7 sealed that GPU purchase decision.. just kidding  laugh.gif
So you got that Colorful Battleaxe one?
babylon52281
post Jun 5 2023, 11:42 PM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Jun 5 2023, 03:04 PM)
Should perform like 4080 in the worse case scenario.
You better pray Nvidia will have learn their lesson otherwise can expect 5070 to perform even worse than 4070! (judging by the 4060Ti vs 3060Ti) ohmy.gif
babylon52281
post Jun 8 2023, 02:07 AM

2,654 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 2 2023, 08:20 AM)
Useless benchmark, easily can get 100/100

That too with everything maxed out ultra high settings

Unfortunately the FPS is capped by my monitor 75Hz refresh rate, I think could get up to 100 FPS with a faster monitor.

32 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.4580sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:07 AM