[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

hebehow
post Aug 3 2018, 09:12 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 3 2018, 01:05 AM)
sweet smile.gif

there are things that you can do to make it much better. for now, just play with it first.
teach me pls~~
horns
post Aug 4 2018, 05:08 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hebehow @ Aug 3 2018, 09:12 PM)
teach me pls~~
basic mods that you can do are:
1. lubricate (lube) the sliders and springs of the switches. it makes it smoother and relatively quieter, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSgPKPoFo2k
2. lube the stabilizers, with bandaid mod. those large keys will be relatively nicer to type on and makes less noise (you should check if you're allowed to do this without voiding warranty), https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cD5Zj-ZgMLA
3. get some nice key caps, especially thick ones;
4. you can also swap the switches to other outemu switch types. (e.g. red, brown, assuming you're using outemu blue now)
5. maybe put a layer of anti-slip mat below the pcb. this helps to reduce pings, and make typing more solid.

i think you should play with the stock configuration for a while first, since you're ok with its current state. doing mods stated above require some time to complete, so just take your time.

daymontoh
post Aug 4 2018, 08:57 AM

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 4 2018, 05:08 AM)
basic mods that you can do are:
1. lubricate (lube) the sliders and springs of the switches. it makes it smoother and relatively quieter, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSgPKPoFo2k
2. lube the stabilizers, with bandaid mod. those large keys will be relatively nicer to type on and makes less noise (you should check if you're allowed to do this without voiding warranty), https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cD5Zj-ZgMLA
3. get some nice key caps, especially thick ones;
4. you can also swap the switches to other outemu switch types. (e.g. red, brown, assuming you're using outemu blue now)
5. maybe put a layer of anti-slip mat below the pcb. this helps to reduce pings, and make typing more solid.

i think you should play with the stock configuration for a while first, since you're ok with its current state. doing mods stated above require some time to complete, so just take your time.
Thanks for sharing the links. Been searching for a decent youtuber who talks about mkb but all i found was advertisement on products/ spread poison to make you purchase another mkb or smtg. Will have a look during my free time.
Regarding the anti-slip mat, is there any specific type made for kb or just the regular thing?
horns
post Aug 4 2018, 01:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(daymontoh @ Aug 4 2018, 08:57 AM)
Thanks for sharing the links. Been searching for a decent youtuber who talks about mkb but all i found was advertisement on products/ spread poison to make you purchase another mkb or smtg. Will have a look during my free time.
Regarding the anti-slip mat, is there any specific type made for kb or just the regular thing?
haha; maybe you used the wrong keywords to look them up. there are some nice clips from other users also, with slightly different techniques for switch lubing.

for anti-slip mats, it's the common type, or you can use foam. this one shared by our friend in mymkb fb group is ok, https://www.mrdiy.com.my/catalog/product/vi...9063989-001001/

Yuuyatails
post Aug 9 2018, 10:40 AM

42 posts

Hello guys, this is my first post on this thread.

Two days ago, I brought a Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire keyboard (The one with Cherry MX Speed switches and the 105 ISO key layout), because my old membrane keyboard (a Microsoft Wired Keyboard 500) is no longer able to keeping up with my pace when playing fast-paced games like Warframe.

As this is my very first mechanical keyboard, I had some minor problem while typing (Like accidentally misclicks the other buttons that I'm not supposed to press for example) at first. I'm getting hang of the keyboard right now, though misclicks and typos still happens occasionally.

Anyway, is there's any double-shot keycap sets (The ones that are compatible with Cherry MX switches) that are available in Malaysia?
irsyadfy
post Aug 9 2018, 02:03 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Yuuyatails @ Aug 9 2018, 10:40 AM)

Anyway, is there's any double-shot keycap sets (The ones that are compatible with Cherry MX switches) that are available in Malaysia?
Most of people here resort to getting keycaps from well-known international website.
Such as TaoBao/AliExpress(for banana/non-chinese reader) or KDBFans.

you sir need to check compability of the sets to accommodate your non-standard bottom row.
afaik, you have a 6.5u spacebar which is uncommon in a common sets.
horns
post Aug 9 2018, 04:33 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Yuuyatails @ Aug 9 2018, 10:40 AM)

Two days ago, I brought a Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire keyboard (The one with Cherry MX Speed switches and the 105 ISO key layout), because my old membrane keyboard (a Microsoft Wired Keyboard 500) is no longer able to keeping up with my pace when playing fast-paced games like Warframe.

As this is my very first mechanical keyboard, I had some minor problem while typing (Like accidentally misclicks the other buttons that I'm not supposed to press for example) at first. I'm getting hang of the keyboard right now, though misclicks and typos still happens occasionally.

for corsair boards, you can get corsair's own double-shot thick pbt cap sets.
horns
post Aug 10 2018, 03:27 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

finally found a combination that is relatively more quiet than my previous silent build.

the use of silent linear switches with black housings, and carbon fiber plate brings down noise levels when typing to the minimal. this is without anti-slip mat. i purposely use black housings to block led lights.

edit: there is a complete diy set for hhkb style key layout (tofu hhkb) also. the pcb has two usb-c ports; qmk-based.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 10 2018, 10:43 AM
peinsama
post Aug 10 2018, 03:42 PM

Au fait
725 posts

Hey guys, just a quicky question. Where can i find those 'squishy' thinggy which looks like jelly or plasticine to clean mechanical keyboard?

Or do you guys have a better alternatives?

Thanks in advance
irsyadfy
post Aug 10 2018, 03:56 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Aug 10 2018, 03:42 PM)
Hey guys, just a quicky question. Where can i find those 'squishy' thinggy which looks like jelly or plasticine to clean mechanical keyboard?

Thanks in advance
i dont trust the squishy thing.

i just use brush instead.
n tummy-powered air blower.
which is i tiup myself. i have no machine-powered air blower.

peinsama
post Aug 10 2018, 04:12 PM

Au fait
725 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Aug 10 2018, 03:56 PM)
i dont trust the squishy thing.

i just use brush instead.
n tummy-powered air blower.
which is i tiup myself. i have no machine-powered air blower.
ah i see. tbh, i was quite disappointed using brush (mine is those paint type with soft brush). Any extraordinary brush you guys used? lol
irsyadfy
post Aug 10 2018, 04:21 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Aug 10 2018, 04:12 PM)
ah i see. tbh, i was quite disappointed using brush (mine is those paint type with soft brush). Any extraordinary brush you guys used? lol
how clean u want it to be clean?
i oso using brush not fully clean, but clean enough. sweat.gif
and usually when i clean, is full on cleaning. open everything that can be open.
so i use brush, n tissue/wipes.
Oyaji
post Aug 11 2018, 02:13 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Aug 10 2018, 03:42 PM)

Thanks in advance
IINM Viewnet have those. If you want to do quick cleaning that is rather useful.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2018, 06:02 AM

4,457 posts

Capcom Is Releasing a $676 Keyboard for Resident Evil 2 Fans

Capcom Japan is selling a replica of the Lexington-style keyboard featured in the upcoming Resident Evil 2 remake. While it does feature Bluetooth and novelties such as a return bar that functions as an Enter key and knobs for volume adjustment and page scrolling, the price is steep at 75,000 yen ($676). A redditor has managed to find what appears to be an exact replica on Amazon for hundreds less.

The priciest bundle includes a Leon S. Kennedy statue and "ink ribbons" for a whopping $900, but even just the keyboard on its own starts at $676. There's a comparable typewriter-style keyboard (minus the Umbrella and Lexington branding) for $249 on Amazon. I'm sure someone will be able to take that basic model, match the Resident Evil-specific detailing, and come up with a convincing replica.

https://www.hardocp.com/news/2018/08/11/cap...ent_evil_2_fans

icon_rolleyes.gif
horns
post Aug 12 2018, 02:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 12 2018, 06:02 AM)
.. for the collectors. apparently hehe
horns
post Aug 15 2018, 01:54 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

possible kailh box stem mods (if you still really wanted to put expensive key cap sets on kailh box):

1. using metal caps, https://www.keebtalk.com/t/kailh-box-switch...roblems/2926/71 , https://www.keebtalk.com/t/kailh-box-switch...roblems/2926/97
2. stem filing with a chisel, https://www.keebtalk.com/t/kailh-box-switch...oblems/2926/110, https://www.keebtalk.com/t/kailh-box-switch...oblems/2926/113

alternatively, just use dedicated thick pbt sets for boards with kailh box (they will be loosened for other switches, but usually they're relatively less susceptible to cracks)
quinchesther
post Aug 15 2018, 06:07 PM

Hi guys,

I would like to buy my 1st mechanical keyboard.
I got try the switch type in game store, i prefer brown switch la

Any budget mechanical keyboard for recommendation?

budget : rm 200
usage : gaming + coding
Savor_Savvy
post Aug 15 2018, 06:43 PM

2,776 posts

How is Armaggeddon MKA-13R for a budget MKB?
Mr201
post Aug 16 2018, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 15 2018, 06:43 PM)
How is Armaggeddon MKA-13R for a budget MKB?
For budget mkb nothing can beat Tecware Phantom. Solid all around build, with true adjustable rgb through software(not 7 colours only).
horns
post Aug 16 2018, 02:22 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

for those who are not aware of the meetup this Saturday: Malaysia Mechanical Keyboard Meetup 2018, https://www.facebook.com/events/212145692884700/

this is a rare chance for those who are interested in mkbs (as a hobby, not as a keyboard), to get to play with, and know more about various prebuilts, and custom boards, owned and built by our very own mkb community users. for beginners, you might learn a thing or two from seniors there; for existing owners, you might wanna share your mods with us. we might learn a thing or two from you too smile.gif

i really suggest attending this one. the last meetup was held few years ago. if you missed this one, it might take time to have the next.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 16 2018, 03:03 AM

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:31 AM