125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Mar 28 2018, 08:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(watermineral @ Mar 28 2018, 06:29 PM)
Ok thanks lol. Not cheap to get a custom built keyboard
price is the main advantage of mass-produced prebuilts.

custom built boards have their own advantages: it's much easier to build them with almost everything that you plan to have (switches, stabs, case, form factor, mods, etc.) you can also tweak as much as you want to make customs perfect for you. furthermore, the price actually depends on costs of each part, e.g. if you swapped the case with a generic plastic case, the costs will be lower.
horns
post Mar 28 2018, 08:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Mar 28 2018, 07:44 PM)
Collected the Logitech G613 Lightspeed Wireless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard  and G603  Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse.

Logitech G613  Lightspeed Wireless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

The Keyboard is very nice built with High-Quality and fine textured plastic. Typing on it feels very nice and crisp. Romer-G switch is really nice to type with.
There's no wire, so my desk stays cluster free as before ( Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 2000 ). There's no fancy RGB LED backligthning ,
it's fine for me as i don't fancy those leds, kind of distracting in my ambient room.

Logitwch G603  Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse

The Mouse is very nice built with High-Quality and fine textured plastic for comfort grip. This is my first mechanical Gaming mouse featuring both wireless and Omron Switches.
Clicking on it feels super awesome and crisp and clicky. The scroll wheel is one piece thick rubber and hopefully won't degrade like my old Microsoft Wireless Mouse 2000. Also,
there's no fancy RGB lightning for this mouse too.
good smile.gif

actually you can say the same for mkbs with decent cherry mx style switches.

StuartLee2015
post Mar 28 2018, 08:34 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 28 2018, 08:27 PM)
good smile.gif

actually you can say the same for mkbs with decent cherry mx style switches.
I never actually went to Low yat and other stores that display the keyboard and press all the keyboard since
Cherry Switch or Mechanical Keyboard introduced years ago.

This is my first time pressing it, and it feel totally awesome to type.
When i try my Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 2000.... a membrane type-keyboard, and i can say Mechanical Keyboard is the one i need now..
I won't ever go back to Membrane-keyboard anymore.
TSquovadis123
post Mar 28 2018, 08:53 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Mar 28 2018, 08:34 PM)
I never actually went to Low yat and other stores that display the keyboard and press all the keyboard since

When i try my Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 2000.... a membrane type-keyboard, and i can say Mechanical Keyboard is the one i need now..
To be honest here, after adventure long time in mkb, you will go back to membrane (those cheap price keyboard).
Less generalise keyboard, you will be happier.
horns
post Mar 28 2018, 09:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Mar 28 2018, 08:34 PM)

you should really do that first. usually it's important to find the switch type that you like the most.

however it's fine now because you like your new board haha that's all it matters.

about ditching membrane-like boards, hold that thought yet. maybe some days you will like capacitive switches, found in boards like topre and hhkb (springs + rubber dome sheets). they feel just like membrane boards, but the devils are in the details.
horns
post Mar 28 2018, 09:07 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2018, 08:53 PM)
To be honest here, after adventure long time in mkb, you will go back to membrane (those cheap price keyboard).
no. i will not go back. die die also wanna use mkbs now hehe
TSquovadis123
post Mar 28 2018, 09:13 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 28 2018, 09:07 PM)
no. i will not go back. die die also wanna use mkbs now hehe
Once reach enlightenment, then you will say differently like other old folks veterans. laugh.gif
StuartLee2015
post Mar 28 2018, 09:25 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2018, 08:53 PM)
Why ? 😅
irsyadfy
post Mar 28 2018, 09:48 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2018, 09:13 PM)
Once reach enlightenment, then you will say differently like other old folks veterans.  laugh.gif
enlighten me mastah !

coz same as above, i die die oso wont use cheap membrane.
horns
post Mar 28 2018, 10:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2018, 09:13 PM)
Once reach enlightenment, then you will say differently like other old folks veterans.  laugh.gif
maybe this will happen. it's true that i will never know what i like at the much later stages of my mkb journey.

however, what i know for sure is this: for switches, i will stick to lubed red for a long time. i know it's cool to play with other switch types; and i like the vast varieties and choices. it's nice to play with different ones once in a while, but then i will go back to lubed red eventually.

edmund_yung
post Mar 28 2018, 11:08 PM

1,198 posts

Thinking of getting Anne Pro, and see Lazada selling for RM200. Any problem buying from them/there?
choongy
post Mar 28 2018, 11:58 PM

18 posts

Guys, Logitech G610 for 300, is it worthwhile? Is it a good mkb?
BreakYourLimit
post Mar 29 2018, 12:05 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(choongy @ Mar 28 2018, 11:58 PM)
Guys, Logitech G610 for 300, is it worthwhile? Is it a good mkb?
Yes, for a branded mkb with dedicated multimedia control, definitely worth it.
horns
post Mar 29 2018, 12:37 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Mar 28 2018, 11:08 PM)
Thinking of getting Anne Pro, and see Lazada selling for RM200. Any problem buying from them/there?
not familiar with lazada. the last time i checked these anne pro don't come with warranty.

--

there is a rgb version of varmilo tkl, va87rgb. i wonder when they will be available.

irsyadfy
post Mar 29 2018, 01:38 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 29 2018, 12:37 AM)
not familiar with lazada. the last time i checked these anne pro don't come with warranty.

--

there is a rgb version of varmilo tkl, va87rgb. i wonder when they will be available.
u shud change ur mkb to 20++ whistling.gif
horns
post Mar 29 2018, 02:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Mar 29 2018, 01:38 AM)
u shud change ur mkb to 20++  whistling.gif
.. damn yeah i will reach that number with up-coming ones. thanks to gk64, i don't need to get many prebuilts anymore.
irsyadfy
post Mar 29 2018, 02:18 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 29 2018, 02:12 AM)
.. damn yeah i will reach that number with up-coming ones. thanks to gk64, i don't need to get many prebuilts anymore.
as u and me know, not much prebuilts are good enuff for us except for some brands.

just need more CIY boards now.
horns
post Mar 29 2018, 09:54 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Mar 29 2018, 02:18 AM)
as u and me know, not much prebuilts are good enuff for us except for some brands.

just need more CIY boards now.
yes luckily there are only a few of them now haha

for CIY boards, especially decent-quality CIY kits, i really hope there will be more. in terms of typing experience, they are filling up gaps between most prebuilts and conventional custom boards that require switch soldering effectively. they are good because they help beginners to learn and experience more about essential components of a mkb (e.g. switches, cases, plates, stabs, pcb), before they decide to build permanent customs with whatever combos that they need.

for now CIY boards are still at the early stages of the development cycle. (still have plenty of rooms for improvements, e.g. structural reinforcements, firmware) a nice thing to see is that adoption and user acceptance level are getting better in mkb community.

good prebuilts will always have their places in the market. instead of going blindly for brands, and ending up with a crappy product, users are more aware of options that they can have. a good prebuilt will always win.
horns
post Mar 29 2018, 12:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

key caps that i want are here now.

- pcb: gk64 pcb, firmware: 1.16;
- case: kbdfans 5-degree,black;
- plate: tina's plate, layout-a;
- switches: lubed cherry mx; numbers - silent red; alphas - red; modifiers and space bar - silent black;
- stabilizers: Chinese-made screw-in pcb-mount stabs;
- key caps: cherry profile dye-subbed pbt for gk64.
- mods applied: lubed switches; band-aid mod; lubed stabilizers.

this concludes everything: my first ever custom gk64 built from a spare pcb, and it's very easy to assemble. for those who already have generic 60% cases, pcb-mount stabs, and switches, all you need are just gk64 pcb, and compatible top plate.
edmund_yung
post Mar 29 2018, 12:48 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 29 2018, 12:37 AM)
Yeah, quite risky because if one of the switches broke, it's considered DOA.

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:59 PM