Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

party
post Dec 16 2018, 11:04 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Dec 13 2018, 06:44 PM)
hopping to another company general rules (from all the gossips from my seniors and colleagues):-
MNC to MNC = 10% at least
MNC to small company = 10%-50% (any rate can happen if the small company boss really loves you)
small company to MNC = 20% at least

but many factors apply too, like what your current skills can contribute to the new company. one of my friends got offered from 3.3k to 4.5k to a new company, because the new company is doing the exact same job scope as his old one. note that he only worked a year after graduate.

for "solid salary", really depends on company, my colleague just got increment to 3.7k a month ago, and he went to interview recently, got offered by new company, based on his current salary, he is given 4.4k offer.

if the next company is really good, less than 20% is still considered ok.

At same salary, I would rather work in a new company than "NO OT pay, heavy workload and underappreciated".

P.S. : There are so many bad companies out there. We should always keep on exploring from time to time, to know how far our value can go. Many bad companies love to bully their workers by giving them low pays because they know majority of their employees are afraid to leave their comfort zone. I believe based on your experience and job location, you should at least get 4k for now. Good luck. #SayNoToBadCompanies
MNC to MNC is 100% incorrect. It highly depends on position also. However standard is 20% and above. Those who got 10% is usually doesnt dare to request or desperately wanted to resign from their current co.
party
post Dec 18 2018, 10:39 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(badguy93 @ Dec 18 2018, 09:45 AM)
I have seen some MNC promised you to get the 20% additional amount after you passed probation, and you will get the salary that below than 20% during your probation. However, after your probation, you only get 10% instead of 20%.. This scenario should resign or complain?

If to resign, isn't the next company view you as "not loyal" employee?
Then tats not mnc liao coz so far never head mnc do like tis. Also..always get it in written confirmation not verbal.

If it really happens, just ask ur manager n settle it internally. If unable to then depends on u. Nx company would not view u as not loyal if u noe wat to say in interview.

This post has been edited by party: Dec 18 2018, 10:45 AM
party
post Dec 18 2018, 02:37 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(jejaktrend @ Dec 18 2018, 01:14 PM)
if written they still no give then what you can do?
There is no such thing as written n no give in mnc
party
post Mar 6 2019, 07:42 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Mar 6 2019, 07:07 PM)
I believe with financial institutions, and possibly GLC and major conglomerates, where everything is structured and HR reigns supreme, it is impossible to choose to not disclose your salary. They will just move on to the next candidate. They also tend to have rules like max 30% increment. Yes, they can have exceptions, but exceptions are rare...less than 5% of new hires will come from the exception list.

To me, just don’t worry about the salary. Ask what you really want. Or 10% premium to that. Then go to the interview, excel and wait for their offer. If they lowball, reject outright respectfully. They will either say kthnxbai or come back with an improved offer. Key is...you need to have options. Do not be or appear desperate. And the most powerful negotiation tool you will ever have is the willingness to walk away. This is why it is important to continue interviewing periodically (say once a year) eve though you are happy in your current job. Cause then your negotiating hand is super powerful and this will show through during the interview as well.
Alot real mncs with real pratice doesnt ask about ur payslip n will hire u. They hire u on what they believe u r worth on ur capability. Not ur past salary indicators.

Actually following past salary indicators, bills gates, steve jobs n alot billionaires would still be poor guy.
party
post Mar 14 2019, 06:26 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Mar 13 2019, 12:01 PM)
Is banking really that lucrative? Damn, maybe should've studied those in uni.
No. He is in investment side thus the higher salary. Normal like operations side or the retail area dont have high hope on it.
party
post Apr 11 2019, 11:22 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(john_unai @ Apr 8 2019, 12:15 PM)

Years spent in company : 3 month

This industry salary is not as good as other but stress level is quite low. Thinking to go back to my previous company due to some personal issues but felt shy since I reject their 3 times counter offer before I join this company. The previous company is wood product manufacturing industry.  Any advice on returning back there?
If you ever go back, don't ever think about getting any new offer outside in the future. Why? Because HR will definitely ask you why you work only 3mths in new company before jumping back to your previous company. And you will have to answer the second question from them which is "How can we be sure that you will not do the same thing again after we hired you?"

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Apr 9 2019, 10:56 AM)
Don't need to be shy
Be professional then u are good to go
ooii..mana urs? biggrin.gif
party
post Apr 12 2019, 01:10 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Apr 12 2019, 09:22 AM)
Many people choose not to disclose their unpleasant work experience in their resume. For example, promised upon ABC job scope during interview but ended up doing XYZ, or some unprofessional work ethics was uncovered only after started working, and had to leave within few months for own good.

Like a friend of mine, was promised to work on some mobile app but ended up coding illegal gambling systems and he left and joined a new company.

You can either be honest and tell your new employer about your experience, or just tell them you took a break in between, or even make it like it never happened.
Your friend case is different cause its illegal work.

Making it like it never happened works for small company or when you went from A->B->C. Going from A->blank->A in that short period makes no sense no matter how honest you want to be simply because you think what you want to think and HR and the hiring manager has the right to think what they want to think. Also if its same industry, its much easier to get the news. Plus, there are enough threads in the forum itself that tells you the reality that its not going to work unless you ada cable or rich.
party
post Apr 12 2019, 02:54 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Apr 12 2019, 01:33 PM)
hi unker party. where's what mine? my salary post?

dont want la. shy. i am kecik miao only... unsure.gif
Aiya...5 figure d still kecik meh.

QUOTE(budang @ Apr 12 2019, 02:22 PM)
Hmm I don't get it when you quoted "don't ever think about getting any new offer outside in the future".

Let's say he went from A -> B (3 months) -> A (for a few years maybe) -> C

How is C going to know the existence of B if you don't say anything at all?
If you small kuli and C is small company, C wont know.
If you small kuli and C is big company and same indutry, they can know
If you big kuli and C is big company, defi will know

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Apr 12 2019, 02:37 PM)
of course, possible to check with EPF if they want to be stringent in checking.

actually other than that, i don't think it's possible to check. unless you submit those documents.
For Financial industry, it has become mandatory to share as they need to check your previous employment. Effective last year july if not wrong.

For others, I am not HR so not exactly sure but big company has it ways. Of course, not all things are wonderful and sometimes you can escape from it.

But for big salary, its easy to know because you have to submit documents in order HR to assist you for income tax monthly deduction (PCB) unless you report wrong amount intentionally. biggrin.gif
party
post Apr 13 2019, 10:10 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(john_unai @ Apr 13 2019, 07:50 AM)
I work there for 10 years and most probably they will accept me provided there is a vacancy. If they already hire other ppl then sorry lor  console.gif  console.gif
I'm also have a good relationship with the GM and all manager except the COO which I guess must be quite pissed off with me after I reject his offer. Even worst, he is the decision maker in recruitment. bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
I am talking about new offer from other company. There is no issue for previous co to accept you.
party
post Apr 13 2019, 11:15 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(john_unai @ Apr 13 2019, 10:48 AM)
Very simple la bro. Don't apply for other job then you won't get new offer from other company. Unless other company look up for my profile at Jobstreet and give me resistible offer.
I dont think you even understand what I am saying. Anyway, up to you.
party
post Apr 21 2019, 03:26 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Apr 19 2019, 06:43 PM)
When I was young, all the adults told us, "go become doctor lah, go become engineer lah, go become lawyer lah, earn big big one."

Then now all of my friends doing these fields (including me), earning 2.5k to 3.0k when graduated. lol what a big lie told by adults since 18years ago
What lie? You expect to earn 30k per month 2 years after graduated for these profession?

I know a doctor who earn 50k per mth, engineer who bagged USD20k per mth, lawyer who get RM100k per mth. They dont earn this amount by just graduating. They start from the lowest position and climb a few steps before earning this much.

Edit: Also it apply to those who are working and improving themselves. Not just graduated, dapat kerja then daydream without efforts and wait for 50k to fall down from sky. When it doesnt blame others and said got lied to.

This post has been edited by party: Apr 21 2019, 03:28 AM
party
post Apr 21 2019, 02:16 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Apr 21 2019, 01:47 PM)

TLDR: Graduate Engineer should get around 3.2k to 3.5k, else the fantasy of "get a degree in professionals, you can suffer less in future" is not really that fantastic huh?

There are tons of graduates getting 3.5k - 6k. Are you looking in the right direction? I personally knew alot of friends started work with 4k. A recent fresh graduate come in to my co and his salary is 4.5k.

But....

Are you deserving that price? You said SG adjusted that but you only looking at one aspect. Alot of SG graduates are still earning 1.8k - 3k and only the best are earning higher. Same goes to MY, you dont expect a graduate with 2.8 earned 4k just because they are graduate do you?

party
post Apr 22 2019, 08:52 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Apr 21 2019, 06:54 PM)
because that was the average rate in East Malaysia 3 years back, even in Capital like Kuching and Kota Kinabalu. Sad but true.

Not sure about the rate now though, but I believe even 3 years back in KL or Penang or JB, it shouldn't as low as that.

Well, I said that was an extreme case.

Regardless, generally in west msia, graduate engineers now are still getting 2.5k to 3.2k. Some big MNC might give 3.2k to 3.5k but it is still not common yet. I think every company should follow that rate, even those self-proclaimed "small company"
Damn...you keep moving the goalpost that further discussion just not worth it.

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 22 2019, 08:47 AM)
I'm not sure about Sabah & Sarawak, I'm referring to KL as I was based in KL.
Sabah n srwk has lower salary even though working the same things in kl (with exception OnG n 1 or 2 industries).
party
post May 17 2019, 08:40 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(ventolin @ May 17 2019, 12:07 AM)
It’s not a local startup. It is one based in the US. They have been around since 2014 and their product is very niche
if 2014 shud not be consider a start-up anymore I believe....
party
post Jun 18 2019, 07:12 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(beng970804 @ Jun 17 2019, 11:31 PM)
Initially plan to work in SG after graduate, then i realize like most of the company they paying around 2400SGD +- for the fresh graduate only... but since im graduate in computer science, most of the IT job is in SG town area which the living cost quite high...

After some consideration, make up my minds and find the job in KL.. not sure is a good decision or not
U dint choose SG. SG dint choose you. =...=

Anyway sgd 2.4k is higher than msia. If u work there and decide come bak van get higher salary too.

This post has been edited by party: Jun 18 2019, 07:12 PM
party
post Jul 2 2019, 08:24 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jun 29 2019, 01:08 AM)
I have been avoiding this thread for many years. I posted twice and I am ashamed to say that my salary is still stagnant. I am very ashamed of myself and the salary I made. I need some input so i could get out of this salary bracket.

I have been working for 7 years starting as a normal Admin to E-commerce Sales cum Admin for the last 5 years. I dont consider myself knowledge in every aspect of what an E-Commerce employee should have. My skillset is more of mixed here and there. I Worked in a medium sized Chinaman company (previous) and startup company (current) so we need to do a lot of things including Cleaning every week like mop the floor, clean the toilet, etc 😫

I am so lost and demotivated. I live in Ipoh with my family. It is not that I dont want to work in KL/SG, it is just that my parents are in their early 70 now and I am not young anymore. It is not an excuse but my heart is not there. I was once away from home for a week in KL and my father was in hospital. I was so worried that I kept calling my mum to check on him.

I am looking forward to attend workshops and trainings to upgrade myself but I dont know where to start 😔

Thnx for reading my long rant. My english is weak, pardon if it feels funny to you.

Job Title : Digital Marketing Sales Exec (Title only, more towards normal Admin + Sales + Customer Service)
Years spent in company : 1.5ys
Industry : Travel (E-Commerce)
Employment Level : Exec (no level, all executives)
Experience before joining (years) : 5 years +
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Deg
Working Hours Per Day (incl lunch hours): Mon - Fri : 9.30-6.30pm ; Sat : 9.30 - 1.30pm

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary : RM2.2k
Allowance : RM100
Commission : Average per month (RM100-RM300), up to RM1000 during school holidays (Nov & Dec) in Malaysia

Benefit :
Company Phones to manage customer calls from day-night
OT claim
Mileage claim
Expenses claim (only for outstation like GRAB, Tol, etc)
Meal allowance (only for outstation. RM10 half day, RM20 full day)
Sick Leave
Maternity Leave
Public Holidays (Gazette)
Do part time like unit trust, insurance etc if you cant leave ipoh.
party
post Jul 5 2019, 08:20 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Jul 3 2019, 02:00 PM)
Can you guys share on how to increase salary when jump from a company to another company?

Should we reveal our current salary to our potential future employer?

I don’t think our next salary should be based on our current salary, am i right?
yes you are right though alot company will ask your current salary (some with intention to lowball you).

I got 50% increase when jumping to new company and reveal my current company salary only after agreed on the new salary cause need to submit to HR to make sure my PCB contribution to LHDN is correct.
party
post Jul 5 2019, 10:02 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jul 5 2019, 10:00 AM)
Usually that is the first question hr asks when they approach you no?
No. My new co hr never ask during the interview stages. They only ask after agreed on my new compensation packages n ask me submit my old salary n payslip n fill up form so they can pay the correct pcb amount for me.
party
post Jul 5 2019, 12:20 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Jul 5 2019, 10:57 AM)
good for u boss party.

i did call up LHDN actually and ask, if you filled up wrong information of PCB, what will happen?

Nothing will happen. Work carries on. Only when u file during march, then will know whether u have to pay more or less.

when i joined new company during nov, they didnt bother to minus pcb. ( i think i paid enough annually or they didnt want to calculate) lol

of course, paying tax is compulsary and doing our responsiblity as a citizen  rclxms.gif
Wrong info usually nth at lhdn la..but u will feel it. My ex-colleague fill up wrongly.imagine her reaction when salary 4.5k gross kena minus 1.2k PCB. LOL..tats y i give so can submit nice n accurate. To minus the hassle of claiming back in march.

U join nov so most probably that dec mth controbution wont made too much difference. I joined in Aug.
party
post Jul 5 2019, 06:47 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jul 5 2019, 02:26 PM)
Good for you then. I have changed job 3 times. Been asked that question on all 3 occasions, hence my mindset of the question being mandatory.
You can try to not reveal and see their reactions. If really forced then no choice. Some co okay with you not revealing but will still ask cause wan to try luck.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0267sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:52 AM