Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

jitshiong
post Aug 29 2019, 09:18 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(FutureBuilder @ Aug 29 2019, 08:34 AM)
Yeah, James are right. Some company even stated HR policy maximum 20% for example, but i feel this is good as we no need to apply leave for interview a company which you won't accept due to not able to meet your expected salary. In the end, it still based on your negotiation skill with your skill set present to your future employer to enlightening them on why you deserve the pay you requested, maybe underpaid in previous company etc.. Just my cent. Good luck to you.  laugh.gif
It depends, if your skill-sets are a necessity and the increment justify it, they will still pay. In the end, it boils down to supply and demand. Do u need them more or do they need u more? If they need u badly, congratulation, the figure is for you to decide. If they cannot meet, walk away.
jitshiong
post Sep 4 2019, 01:46 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(masternobody @ Sep 1 2019, 08:52 PM)
IINM Malaysia and BEM only recognizes 4years engineering degree with industrial training. The 3 years degree in uk are all without industrial training.

Many employer dont care but u cant register with BEM if u have the 3 year degree unless u go for masters in engineering.
You are right. These degrees are not recognized as full course. It has to be 4 years program. Will have difficulties later when you want to get your professional license.
jitshiong
post Sep 4 2019, 01:47 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(c9313h @ Sep 2 2019, 04:46 PM)
Hi guys, would like to seek some opinion from you guys.

I am currently earning close to RM 6k with 4 years of work experience. I have recently got an offer to work in SG that pays SGD 4k.

The job role is different but the industry still remains the same.

Is it worthwhile to give it a try?
If it's me, nope. At your level, it's still possible to get 1 to 1.
jitshiong
post Sep 4 2019, 05:16 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(c9313h @ Sep 4 2019, 04:18 PM)
Yeah, I think it is possible to get a 1 to 1 but that really depends on timing and luck as well.

In your opinion, it's not worth the try?
It really depends on you. Increments in SG is not as good as Malaysia.
What do you want?
When i went to SG, i got more than 1 to 1. But like u said, timing....they need me at that time.
jitshiong
post Sep 18 2019, 09:30 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(silence94 @ Sep 17 2019, 08:29 PM)
Try speak about your concern to your manager first? Can be indirectly like tell them you're struggling to pay for car loan etc. Sames goes to management. I think now is the good time to tell them as they're preparing for year 2020 budget.

I talked before to both my manager and management for 3-4 times. Only tell me "good job" everytime a project done. I been in the company for 2 years tho. Just last month I jump ship to my competitor and recently my old company just found out where I went to.. They're panicking πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

TLDR; speak to manager first, if they can't do anything, jump ship then.
I've jumped shipped quite a number of times.....i noticed that talking to the manager/management is pretty much useless.....they will only act when u throw in the letter. But by then, i've made up my mind and it's meaningless to counter-offer. Not sincere.
jitshiong
post Sep 18 2019, 11:22 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 18 2019, 11:04 AM)
Yes this is applicable to most managers as they have this if it’s not broken why change attitude. This type is conversation is very difficult to start with managers unless you are close to them.
It's not hard to start, should be quite easy as the direct manager is the one you report to. You should have a good relationship with him/her.
What's is hard is to see a result from that conversation. Usually, maybe something will happen....maybe like 10% increment etc, but the job offers that comes will be like 25% or more.....too tempting to not go for the higher increment.
jitshiong
post Sep 18 2019, 12:00 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 18 2019, 11:46 AM)
The catch is the risk that comes along with the new job, new environment, new people, if the 25% increment is worth the risk that comes along with the new job
Surely, so for job seekers, it's up to the individuals to weight the necessary percentage for the risk to be acceptable. For some, it's 10%, some 50%, some 100%, everyone has a different story. No single case is the same.
jitshiong
post Sep 19 2019, 10:51 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(CareerSifu @ Sep 19 2019, 10:01 AM)
I'd say use the salary report that works best for you to negotiate your desired salary. There are plenty of other salary surveys out there released for free by Mercer, Hay, Towers Watson, Aon Heweitt, Robert, Walters, Michael Page, etc. so definitely shop around for the one that best reflects your interest. One thing to remember is that salary surveys are always outdated by the time they get published, as they were surveyed the year before, before inflation for this year hit. But that's another topic for another day.

Also keep in mind, while salary surveys are useful (only if using to your own advantage), as someone who hires talent for a multinational across APAC, 100% of the time we get the candidate's current salary package and use that as our basis for comparison. In fact, I've never met a candidate who cited from one of these salary surveys, which is a pity really as it definitely helps with the negotiations if ask me.

So the next time you get asked your expected salary by a recruiter, say something along the lines of 'Salary-wise I am currently at XXX, and I know based on the latest salary surveys that the range of pay for this role at this level is XXX-XXX, so I am looking at something that pays at market.'
That only works, if you are asking within the range. If u are good, and want to go beyond the range, these reports don't work towards your favour.....
jitshiong
post Sep 26 2019, 12:28 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(static_365 @ Sep 26 2019, 12:10 PM)
Anyone have experience already resigned from X company but still receive salary from X company?
Wow!! That's dream come true
jitshiong
post Nov 6 2019, 04:10 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 6 2019, 09:57 AM)
Usually after you have accumulated enough experience they do not look at your academic result already, normally they just look at how relevant your experience is to the advertised job and how you fare in the interview.
Build a name for yourself, once your reputation is there.....nobody cares about your academic qualification.
jitshiong
post Nov 7 2019, 10:28 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(deyamato @ Nov 7 2019, 08:53 AM)
Especially those hiring company still put the same description in the requirement must candidate at least a cert, are those actually a gimmick now? correct me if i'm wrong.
if your submission is random, then HR will filter and very likely u won't get called for an interview.
But if the hiring manager wants you to be in his team, then u will get the job.

So it depends on how u found out about the job. If u see it from adverts....likely u won't be able to go through the filter. If by word of mouth, your chances will be higher.
jitshiong
post Dec 17 2019, 11:50 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Acheron @ Dec 17 2019, 11:32 AM)
Engineer Electrical oil n gas
Not my field, but for E&E in O&G, one would think it is kinda low.
jitshiong
post Feb 13 2020, 10:22 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ikuso96 @ Feb 12 2020, 10:58 PM)
Well i planned to work in singapore for few years first and then back to malaysia.
But i was fired right before new year.. and now the coronavirus.
Imagine the risks when taking public bus, MRT and going through customs.. the lists goes on.
So.. any advice on exploring job opportunities in KL? hmm.gif
Why are you fired?
jitshiong
post Feb 21 2020, 04:58 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 11:36 AM)
Promised me a promotion next year. Telling me that they are expanding and needed me to guide my juniors so the firm able to grow and soon, they will hand their business to me. Sweet talks. doh.gif
After u guide the juniors till they can fly by themselves, off you can go. They found a replacement for u already. No more leverage. They are buying time for themselves. Not for you.
jitshiong
post Feb 22 2020, 09:28 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 08:52 PM)
^crossed my mind before. But I'll give them a benefit of doubt. If this happens though, I'll be ready to move on with a stronger resume.
As long as the situation favours you. All the best!
jitshiong
post May 30 2020, 11:05 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Queen P @ May 29 2020, 08:55 PM)
Why in an organisation, same level position but different salary ya?
In my company  all of us has differ salary range despite same level position? Even managers and between managers also different salary range. I'm quite shock with that. Same experience, different salary range. Why this happen among hiring company?
Everyone same level but may not be contributing equally. Hence the difference.
Same like everyone 20 years old, some 150cm tall, some 200cm tall, some 170cm tall.....
jitshiong
post Oct 28 2020, 04:38 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Oct 28 2020, 04:14 PM)
Hi guys, need ur advice. I just received an offer to one of the big 4 and they only offered 12% increment from my current salary. I felt that was too low on their end. I'm also given a sign on bonus and transportation allowance. Would it still be possible for me to ask for negotiation? They just called and emailed me the details of the package. No offer letter is given yet.
If you firmly believe that you deserve more than that, stand firm and request for what you want. If they can't give, then say no and thank them. Move on from there.
jitshiong
post Oct 29 2020, 09:25 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Oct 29 2020, 01:35 AM)
I took your advice and bite the bullet. Emailed them asking for 25% and they agreed with it. Not sure if still can go higher but I've decided with the sign on bonus, it's a good package after all. Thanks!
Nope, can't go further. Negotiation is a skill as well. When u asked for 25% and they gave it to you, that's the end. If u ask for another revision, that would look bad on your part. If u have wanted higher and felt that you deserve higher, u should have done so at the start of it. Maybe ask for 50%, then let them negotiate it downwards. Of course that would also blow off the chance of securing the job.

Anyway, congratulations is in order!

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Oct 29 2020, 09:25 AM
jitshiong
post Nov 2 2020, 09:29 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Nov 1 2020, 02:18 AM)
When including my salary in my CV, do I include the word "(Negotiable)" beside the salary or is it like an unspoken rule where all expected salaries are negotiable unless stated?
It's up to u to show your expected salary. Could do you good, could do you harm, all depend on the purpose of it. No need to put negotiable, it's an expected salary. Which means it's something u expect, but not a must.
jitshiong
post Dec 28 2020, 04:45 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(sado.oi @ Dec 26 2020, 03:17 PM)
Job Title : Plant Manager
Job Desciption : Problem identification, troubleshooting plant improvements, HACCP ISO 9001, ISO 22000
Years spent in company : 3 months
Company : Feed industries
Tenure : permanent with contract
Experience before joining (years) : current company industry- none; engineering industry- 7 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bac. Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 9 hrs per day x 6 working day

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5000 (yes working in oversea still get paid in MYR)
Contractual Bonus (months): nil
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : nil

Benefits (where relevant) : Free lunch, free accommodation
Health Benefits : Company Insurance
Transport Benefits : nil
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : nil
Flexi Working Hours : nil
Other Benefits : free return ticket back malaysia 2 times per year (will be forfeited during this pandemic period)
U should ask them to pay you the return tickets in cash. Or fly back. Kena conned wei....

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0320sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:04 AM