International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

limeuu
post Dec 1 2011, 10:39 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(ilovetosleep @ Dec 1 2011, 04:20 PM)
err me p1anning t0 g0 t0 imu~ is there f0ndati0n in science?  n the mbbs pr0gram~ h0w much is it? is imu very expensive? h0w much d0 u have t0 pay by semester? they dun pr0vide sch01arships 0r disc0unt?
going by the nick.....you need to wake up and do some googling and research.....

asking information freely available in the public domain shows how lazy and/or incompetent one is.....

and stop using sms language.....

Added on December 1, 2011, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 1 2011, 04:58 PM)
Is the PMS stream for Feb 2012 full?

Neither the Administration nor the interviewer has the answer -to wait for the Dean to decide.
i know at least one offer that was rejected recently, so there should be at least 1 more slot......unless they rushed to offer someone else to lock in their fees......

i have also known people who forfeited the 1/2 sem fees paid, when they got better offers elsewhere......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Dec 1 2011, 10:43 PM
limeuu
post Dec 2 2011, 11:16 PM

12,290 posts

do you really need to spoonfeed?.....
limeuu
post Dec 3 2011, 11:56 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 3 2011, 11:31 AM)
Hey guys,

After finishing MBBS or BDS, are we considered Phds? Or must we do another specialisation to be qualified?
you have got to be kidding me.....are you sure you are a student?...... shocking.gif
limeuu
post Dec 4 2011, 10:15 PM

12,290 posts

there is NO difference between the different basic medical qualifications.....it's a matter of the convention in the respective countries......

the fact that in some countries, the basic medical qualification is obtained after a first degree does NOT make it a higher qualification.....

as for the imu pathway, what degree you get will depend of which uni you get matched to......and NO you cannot decide which uni.....you can place your choices, but the matching is usually like a lottery......
limeuu
post Dec 4 2011, 11:05 PM

12,290 posts

if people can understand your question, it is easier to get an answer......

if one cannot even ask a simple question properly, then really, one shouldn't think about being a doctor......
limeuu
post Dec 27 2011, 03:17 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 27 2011, 02:35 PM)
Relative applied for PMS intake for Feb 2012 but put on waiting list and given conditional offer for Aug 2012 pending pre-u results next month. Does it mean very unlikely to get Feb 2012 intake?

If  Aug 2012 intake and matched to UK, will it be Sept 2014 or  go thru a "gap" period for Sept 2015?

If Sept 2015, matched to an oz uni would be a better option, rite?
me2/12 will end dec 2014, therefore will match to uk sept 2015, except for nottingham, aberdeen and dundee, which will start early 2015.....
limeuu
post Dec 30 2011, 10:40 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(whitexnow @ Dec 30 2011, 09:51 AM)
Can i know what is the typical offer for mpharm course in imu?if i met the minimum requirement bbb for alevel am i guranteed a place?is it competitive?thank you
the actual cut off varies from year to year, depending of the overall performance of the cohort of rich/scholarship students who can afford and apply....bbb is very low, but there are occasions when that will get you into medicine and dentistry as well....there is no guarantee of anything....
limeuu
post Jan 12 2012, 07:11 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 12 2012, 02:37 PM)
For the PMS stream, which are the 3 most popular UK partner universities at the moment? And how many places does each of them allocate to IMU for each year? Thanks
nobody knows the actual statistics of who rank who higher/lower.....

places varies year to year, check with current sem4 or 5 students, they will have the lists....

logically, shorter places (dundee, aberdeen, notts), cheaper places (liverpool, queens), or 'famous' unis (somehow, edinburgh seems popular in spite of the highest fees)......
limeuu
post Jan 12 2012, 09:13 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 12 2012, 08:56 PM)
Shorter places refers to duration? Seems that Scottish unis are popular and also high in ranking. How abt glasgow? I noted quite a no. of doctors did their specialization in Glasgow.
If you are referring to membership and fellowship of the glasgow royal colleges, that has nothing to do with the university of glasgow......or even the city of glasgow, except to visit it for the exams....... smile.gif
limeuu
post Jan 13 2012, 12:02 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Jan 12 2012, 11:23 PM)
hey guys i received conditional offer for medic in feb 2012. would like to ask regarding about the requiremnt results. It says i need to get A for bio and chem and B for maths/phys. what if i get B for either Bio or chem and get A for maths and phys. Does that mean i did not meet the requirements?
if they specifically said they want a's for chem.bio, then that's what they want.....

if they say aab in chem/bio/maths, then you may have different combinations.....

it all depends on the wording.....

local or pms?......i thought pms 1/12 is full.....
limeuu
post Jan 13 2012, 12:14 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Jan 13 2012, 12:05 AM)
pms. So if i guy say 3A and a B for bio, i have to apply again for aug intake?
hmmm.....so much for 'all full'.....

or perhaps, my relative rejecting offer (presumably there will be others as well) has freed up slots....

as usual, it is easier to get in with a levels.....3 a's can be atar86, so aab will be atar <86......poor oz year 12 students have to produce 95 to get in.....about a*a*a or higher.........

why don't you reproduce verbatim the offer condition here.........otherwise it will be guess work.....
limeuu
post Jan 13 2012, 12:33 AM

12,290 posts

your english really needs improvement....

getting an interview does not mean much, in imu's case....

you could have google what verbatim means....but never mind......just type out exactly word for word what the letter says.....
limeuu
post Jan 13 2012, 12:44 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(airborne_1944 @ Jan 13 2012, 12:41 AM)
A-chem
A-bio
B-phys/maths
are you kane?..... hmm.gif
limeuu
post Jan 13 2012, 12:59 AM

12,290 posts

reproduce the WHOLE paragraph please, ie verbatim, not in point form......
limeuu
post Jan 13 2012, 01:06 AM

12,290 posts

you obviously do NOT know how to follow instructions.

last chance.....if you want help, REPRODUCE THE ENTIRE PARAGRAPH STATING THE CONDITIONS REQUIRED......from beginning till the end.....word for word.....
limeuu
post Jan 15 2012, 02:20 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Jan 15 2012, 02:36 AM)
is it really 80%? seems like everyone passes it from imu.
if i am not mistaken, it's the same exam all students have to take at end of year 2....and most will pass and proceed to the clinical year...i have not know any imu transferee to have failed....the only concern is that the imu content/system will be slightly different from leicester's and thus imu students may have some problems with adapting to the format/knowledge content required....

not popular mainly because nobody wants an extra exam, if they can help it.... smile.gif
limeuu
post Feb 2 2012, 12:55 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 2 2012, 09:15 AM)
Just to check on the pms program. Apparently, the student upon registration is required to list the order of preference of the partner medical schools and when the time comes, IMU will do the matching  and the student will be given its partner school. Will the student be given one choice or a multiple choice to choose from? And will any appeal be entertained? And your academic performance is no guarantee that you will get the best of the lot, rite?
this exercise is done at mid sem 5, not the beginning.....

all students rank ALL pms, in their order of preference....

the pms also will rank the students....

there is supposedly a computer algorithm for the matching.....but it is well know, that is NOT how it is actually done.....

my assessment is, they band the students....and take one from each band.....eg, if uni x takes 3 students, they band the students into 3 thirds academically......and take one from each.....that is why many good students will NOT get their choices, as you are disadvantages if you are at the bottom of that band.....someone worse, but at the top of a lower band will get the place.....happens all the time....

however, generally, if you are top 15-20%, you will get your 1st choice, as you will be at the top of the 1st band..........

appeals usually do NOT work.....

this is so all unis have a spread of students.....otherwise the popular pms will always get the cream, and the lower ranked pms will always get the lousy borderline students......
limeuu
post Feb 2 2012, 02:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 2 2012, 01:36 PM)
Relative got Glasgow direct but thinking Manchester may be better and thus considering the pms offer from IMU. Your comments appreciated.
go to glasgow.......
limeuu
post Feb 2 2012, 02:37 PM

12,290 posts

i should add that i suspect there is also a 'black list' by some pms, particularly the oz ones.....although they never say so explicitly or implicitly.....

ie, if you have ever applied directly to the pms, and rejected, you will automatically be dropped from consideration by the uni.....as that would be considered a back door entry.....something taboo in oz.....(see the uq vc fiasco).....
limeuu
post Feb 2 2012, 03:50 PM

12,290 posts

no....the final say will rest with the recipient pms.....

however, some students will automatically be dropped from matching to some.....eg, pr's and citizens cannot match to their own country...only msians can match to canada.....people who failed any sem is excluded from some....etc...

and i suspect those who had applied to oz/nz pms directly and rejected cannot be match to them again....

25 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0524sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:09 AM