Nvidia Shield TV 2017

AVFAN
post Sep 2 2018, 12:28 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 2 2018, 12:10 PM)
Oh let me try later. Wait can we install chrome on the shield? Is there in the store or side apk?
If it is not preinstalled and i think it is not, not in playstore... u get from pc, sideload it.

A browser is required to complete astrogo installation such that it remembers your id and pw - log in just once.

And... if u still get a portrait and not landscape UI, u won't be able to allow phone access which is also required.

In that case, u go to settings, apps, astrogo app, permissiins, give it.

also, as astrogo is not an androidtv approved app, it does not appear at the home UI after installation.

you need to manually find it in settings, apps, open it from there.

or u install from playstore a sideload launcher; with this app, all other apps can be found and opened.

This astrogo app is troublesome for many boxes, won't work at all for some.

It is not like that but just the usual simple installation for boxes that have compatible firmware.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 2 2018, 12:54 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 2 2018, 07:44 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 2 2018, 07:15 PM)
Ok successfully login but still portrait.
another shield user has said the same (read back 1-2 pages).

despite using adaptive lock/landscape.

i do not know if this is peculiar to shield.

anyway, good at least got it working!

QUOTE(Ray Leee @ Sep 2 2018, 05:47 PM)
true astrogo doesnt work on my tvbox either.. mine is jz the old mibox..
old boxes... no chance.

even new ones.. some can, some cannot.

some say it's root vs unroot.

my exp - that is irrelevant.

a matter of firmware supporting it fully, partially or none.
AVFAN
post Sep 3 2018, 01:25 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2018, 12:35 PM)
I know this, is another person sonypshomer confuse on this.

sonypshomer go deep inside the system and choose power off and assume later can power on back by remote control. This definitely cannot because it is totally turn of the devices. When using remote to power off, it actually send standby signal to the device ask for sleep instead of completely turn off the device.

I know sonypshomer confuse the differences of actual power off and power off by remote because sonypshomer said later can turn back the Apple TV after "power off" from Apple TV Remote. This can because it is "power off" to standby mode not completely turn off the device.
Actually, most devices incl tv, avr, boxes come power on/off button on remote for standby... consumes very low power.

Then, there are some devices that have a sub option... u can choose 2 types of standby... one for normal, one for quick startup.
Obviously, quick start means it has not powered down much, consumes more standby power.

Lastly, u can unplug or switch off at power panel.

Your mibox... cannot put on any kind of standby... can only unplug, am i right? Now, that is not standard.
AVFAN
post Sep 3 2018, 02:34 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2018, 02:03 PM)
I know all those. Standard is standby not totally power off.

My Mi Box can Standby. It is very standard.

I just point out why he purposely go deep inside the Nvidia Shield system to total power off it instead of power button at remote to "power off" it which is actually standby it.
Ok, then i think the issue is...

Some people regard standby, red light, very low power used, as power off.

Some people regard no light, total shut down as power off.

Diff is.... maybe 0.1 watt, maybe cost 20 sen amonth.

A waste of time discussing this trivial matter.
AVFAN
post Oct 3 2018, 06:48 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kupongson @ Oct 3 2018, 05:52 PM)
Hi

Need help on Playtv@unifi installation/login to NSTV. I try install both type Playtv(phone) and Playtv(tablet) on NSTV. On tablet it come out with black screen with unifi logo and never ending process. Then i tried phone type manage to get to login page but cant login thru. I call 100 anso do live chat they told me Playtv not compatible with android tv. I already read thru this room some ppl manage to use playtv with NSTV. What could have gone wrong? Setting? Some say have to fully unroot, i bought this new not root i believed.

Using: NSTV 2017 16GB
100 bs u.

playtv works on androidtv.

check these if u haven't:

.. make sure u hv n use the correct id n pw - unique strings, not your wifi ones, call and get from unifi.

.. depending on device, may not work with ethernet, works only with WIFI.
AVFAN
post Oct 3 2018, 09:02 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kupongson @ Oct 3 2018, 07:13 PM)
Already tried on my phone, works ok. Now wanna install on NSTV but it cant. sad.gif also already tried using both ethenet then wifi.both also cant.

Additional info
Nvidia Shield TV version 8, android SW 7.1.0

Android 7.1 is Naugat right? I saw somebody say can update ro Oreo 8. I tried to update it say you already have latest. Plus i check in nvdia page it say in release note 7.1 is the latest. How to get Oreo?
if it works on yr phone but not NSTV, it says something... likely the box firmware restricting it.

i am not using NSTV but a sharp tv that runs on androidtv.

unifi platv works well on androidtv for android 5, 6, 7 and 8, at least on my devices; the same for astrogo.

sorry, tot i cud help... but can't help further. hopefully some other user can help...
AVFAN
post Oct 4 2018, 09:52 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kupongson @ Oct 4 2018, 09:12 AM)
Yeahh, you give me hope. I ll try again today.
I tot Oreo is ver 8?
yes, please try again.

and if applicable, try astrogo too.

one tot... a package installer may be required... so, u should have a browser (chrome or some other) already installed.

hope to hear to your results.

my interest here is i may be looking to get a new box soon.

a question for NSTV owners/users... what is the experience for GAMING?

game selection, easy to get, play, online or downloaded?

need additional drivers, controls?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 4 2018, 10:10 AM
AVFAN
post Oct 5 2018, 11:41 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(mahadi82 @ Oct 5 2018, 11:25 AM)
is UNIFI set top box using separate line or speed connection ?
i mean if i'm install unifi APK to Nvidia and using from Nvidia will it affect and take some of my UNIFI speed limit ..?
or
should i just watch UNIFI Hyptv to in origin UNIFI set top box..?
My objective is to minimize hardware in my living room. i just wanna use 1 that can access evrything
unifi tv STB uses special allocation.
so, yes, better use STB. it also gives better video quality.

the app is popular becos it can be used on other devices, run on wifi.
but lower video quality, consumes speed like other apps.
AVFAN
post Oct 5 2018, 11:43 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kupongson @ Oct 5 2018, 11:08 AM)
What i know:
1- playtv@unifi only for 2 device
2-only valid in malaysia.
3-for ANY android device
All 3 comply. So is nstv restric the apps? Or any setting require?
My query is apply to NSTV, there is maybe a room for unifi/playtv alone.
u may want to try astrogo 8.2.4.

if it shows same kind of problem as unifi playtv, it says something.
AVFAN
post Oct 12 2018, 12:04 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 12 2018, 09:27 AM)
I just received NSTV 2017 yesterday. Tried astro go app, it opened then closed. Tried Rotation Control app but doesn't work. Anyone out there what exact rotation screen app is working on astro app?
this one works on my sharp androidtv-astrogo:

https://apkpure.com/set-orientation/com.goo....setorientation
AVFAN
post Nov 8 2018, 07:26 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 8 2018, 05:29 PM)
Do you all think it's better to get the TV that build on android platform or to get separate android box like this and hook to 4k tv?
this is a good question.

the answer can only be really found if u describe:

.. what exp u have with androids... androidtv, androidbox, android phone, android tablet..?
.. what r u looking for in an "android"?
.. what video and audio expectations?
AVFAN
post Nov 9 2018, 12:51 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:55 AM)
Bro, here's my answer.

.. what exp u have with androids... androidtv, androidbox, android phone, android tablet..?
I'm just a social user on the android phone and have purchase some of the android boxes (include modified my hypp tv box to the ahem version from outside vendor). However I'm not a pro on this techie thingy as occasionally I found those boxes especially China made will have some issues after a while (no WIFI connection or apps stopped working, probably I have accidentally updated certain OS).

.. what r u looking for in an "android"?
Freedom to install apps especially for movies streaming (I'm not into much gaming).

.. what video and audio expectations?
My expectations are on low side as I just need HD streaming for movies. No special requirements on video or audio input/output as I do not owned any high-end entertainment set although I do not rule out may purchase a bundled speaker entertainment set to boost the movie experience in the near future.
boxes are definitely not made equal.
your scenario... if u hv the money, get a better box.
the learning exp will be richer with less trouble like disconnects or run out of memory or overheating.
better still if u hv someone who can help u during the initial period.
if low budget, get a less known brand, learn.

as for tv's... note "smart" comes in many types.
some brands use own platform - u can't install any app u like; can only use what is provided.
sony and sharp run on androidtv, the same one as shield - these, u can sideload.
in general, the best features of a tv are found in premium 4khdr tv's; u dun find a dumb tv with great PQ and other goodies.
take note shield runs on androidtv which is a little diff from the generic android platform.
for newbies, generic is easier to use but for exp users, diff is immaterial.
having a smart android tv does not mean u dun need a box.
navigation, file management is easier with boxes; smart tv is more convenient, may do apps some boxes can't.

one last thing... if u must hv a certain app working like astrogo or unifi playtv, do check carefully as it is tricky.
most boxes wont run these 2; androidtv will for sure.

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:48 AM)
Bro, thanks for sharing and based on the above certified boxes, only Nvidia and Mibox S can be considered. I have check on Amazon and they have latest offer whereby only USD139.99 for the Shield with remote which looks tempting. However still quite divided as was thinking to upgrade my current 3 years old LED TV to Sharp LC60UA6800X or just grab the high-end Android box.

From your personal point of view, which would you opt to if you are being given above choices?
looks like u prefer andorditv, which is fine.
mibox s just launched is not available here yet, i think.
since it is new, gotta be mindful of firmware bugs, esp with the troubles in previous models incl android8 - read mibox thread.
as for the sharp ua6800x, u can visit:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+1240
i am using this tv and boxes too!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 9 2018, 01:55 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 6 2018, 12:09 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Dec 5 2018, 08:05 PM)
Just bought Apple TV 4K for streaming 4k Dolby Atmos contents on my server on my home theather system via plex but this ATV 4K has audio output limitation to PCM and don’t support Dolby Atmos. I have also been converting my BDMV and iso files to mkv so it can be play on plex tru ATV which somehow reduce the quality. It plays 4K content fine just the audio problem that annoys me as always says multi channel in PCM mode.

Come across this Nvidia Shield 4K so would like forum members comment first before buying else end up like my ATV. Does it have any other shortcomings for true home theater use?

I also have been using xiaomi box 3S which works great but limitation is it doesn’t have Ethernet port. Was wondering anyone here use a USB to Ethernet adaptor?

Given I own both 3S and ATV 4K, do u think this nvidia shield is a good buy?
there is no perfect box.

it's a matter of what u seek; what is of priority and what is not.

.. u mentioned dolby atmos... i suppose u wud want dtsx too?
.. u mentioned bdmv, iso... do u want full menu or just to play the main file?
.. ethernet.. i suppose u would like gigabit and not 100mbps?

maybe other issues of interest...
.. wifi... with 5ghz or no need?
.. usb... need 3.0 or 2.0 is good?
.. need spdif audio output too?
.. any apps u MUST be able to run... netflix 4k, astrogo..?

i dun have all the answers for all boxes.... but was just thinking if u line up yr requirements... users of diff boxes may be able to comment more accurately.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 6 2018, 12:24 AM
AVFAN
post Dec 6 2018, 11:55 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Dec 6 2018, 11:15 AM)
Yes I want all all full menu with full audio output Dolby Atmos and Dolby Digital MA 7.1 so that I can fully utilize my my home theater setup.

WiFi not required since I mostly stream 4K via gigabit Ethernet and i was told that if I use WiFi it will eat up my WiFi bandwidth. USB also not much of an issue as I hook up to my own plex server via gigabit Ethernet. Audio output would have to be in the highest format of the 4k.

Apps using would be Netflix (I have a premium account), kodi (currently using on mibox 3S mainly for icdrama), plex and VLC (mainly to stream my own server). Plex is unable to load BDMV and iso files, thus I have to manually use makemkv to convert them into mkv so it appear on plex.
now that i understand yr prime requirements, i will say...

.. there aren't many players that can do full bd menu; those which do, use their own proprietory player app and not generic player apps like vlc or mx.

.. there r other boxes that can play BDMV/atmos/dtsx but u need to navigate to the main file to play... however, will not get full menu.

.. converting bdmv to mkv is an outrageously tedious and inefficient task... u just need to find the right player(s), they exist.

.. afaik, only certain models from himedia, ziddo and egreat can do 2160p full BDMV menu; there may be others which i don't know.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4629018/+300
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4297258/+60
i m not sure if there is a zidoo thread?

anyway, i repost yr question in himedia thread as there are atmos/dtsx, bdmv, zidoo users active there to comment further if u wish to know.

AVFAN
post Jan 19 2019, 10:51 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(alanishev @ Jan 19 2019, 10:46 PM)
Already tried but the screen just go black after entering app..
try this - unplug ethernet, use wifi.
AVFAN
post Feb 3 2019, 12:08 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Feb 3 2019, 11:50 AM)
Stupid Shield upgrade Kodi 18 and ruin my beautiful fuse neue setup.

Since fuse neue only compatible to Kodi17.6, shield will automatically upgrade back to Kodi 18 even after you delete kodi and install the old kodi. mad.gif

this is happening to all kodi 17.6 users.

the only way to stop the auto upgrade is to do it in playstore settings.

but that will stop ALL updates, which is no good.

0.0464sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:42 AM