TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 7 2017, 03:09 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(skywolfie @ Feb 6 2017, 01:38 PM)
This one hand carry and one backpack is free of charge right? Do they weigh it also?
Depends on how big that bag is and how strict the airport is.
Most of the time if it's just a small backpack and a hand bag they wouldn't bother to weigh. It's its a roller hand carry luggage or a huge backpacking kind of backpack, they might ask you to weigh it. Also, if you physically look like very susah to carry the bag then they might also pick you out to check.
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 9 2017, 08:23 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 9 2017, 04:09 PM)
but i heard they will weight your carry on luggage during check-in at AUS/NZ?
so must make sure it's below 7kg then?
This applies to all airlines and airports that your cabin luggage must be within the weight limits. Sometimes they will ask you to to put it on the scale, sometimes they don't. Depends on your luck also. For Auckland airport, they will randomly pick people to weigh the carry on luggage when you walk into the immigration area.

In short, always make sure your luggage is below 7kg.

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Feb 9 2017, 04:20 PM)
i always bring my 360ml contact lens liquid in my backpack to vn without issues until one fine day i used a 20" trolley bag doh.gif
Ooh so scan inside the backpack no issues? I thought scan is all scan thru lol.
I heard if it's in a thermos flask, some machine can't detect the liquid inside so can pass thru also. Not sure about that. Usually my 500-600ml water bottle has about 100ml or less water inside and doesn't give any problems. But some airports are very strict so have to empty it.

I've seen big jars of peanut butter and all sorts of lotions being confiscated as well.
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 9 2017, 09:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 9 2017, 08:30 PM)
yup, my sister have to take motion sickness medicine when she got up the plane, requested the people to let me bring in less than 100ml of water (really like just a mouthful of water), but still don't allowed..

lol..i have seen few parang kena confiscated. i really dunno wth are the passengers thinking..
I understand Swiss knife sometimes we forgotten to check in. My friend kena his diving knife also, forgotten to check in. But parang?! Lol!
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 10 2017, 03:44 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Feb 9 2017, 10:22 PM)
most likely they pay less attention to bag packs
Possibly, kinda shows how inattentive they are then. laugh.gif

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 10 2017, 02:55 PM)
but that time we departed from chiangmai..
They didn't have a water dispenser inside the departure area? Most airports will have, I suppose if they don't have also they will at least have some shops selling water inside.
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 10 2017, 03:51 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Feb 10 2017, 03:45 PM)
shops selling water inside usually comes to approx rm5 per 500ml bottle  dry.gif
No choice lor. Airport memang like that sad.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 11 2017, 12:10 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 11 2017, 08:55 AM)
so cheap
not RM499 1 way?
return u got what price???

cheapest i saw now is RM899 + RM819 = RM1733 return
Yea saw some friends also got it for RM913. Return ticket was RM414 for certain dates biggrin.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 20 2017, 08:31 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Feb 13 2017, 05:19 PM)
It depends on which part of US. You cant get below $3k for honolulu.
My KUL-Tokyo-HNL via ANA and Air China was about RM3.2k. Include a whole bunch of luggage too. So if it comes up to around RM2.5k, I'd just go with other airlines sweat.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 21 2017, 08:07 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 21 2017, 07:58 PM)
I booked 2 tickets for an Australian friend returning from Shanghai to Melbourne but not used cos visa only realise visa expired at departing airport.
from Shanghai-to-KL (AirportTax CNY90 but CancelFee CNY324)
from KL-Melbourne (PassengerServiceCharge MYR50 + ArrivalTax MYR81 =MYR131 but CancelFee MYR140)

Airasia is charging such high cancellation fees which exceed the claims. Not the same situation for u?
Hm. There was an administrative fee but it's less than the total airport tax I paid for the ticket. So the refund I got back was after deducting the administrative fee. Not sure how much though.
TSmunkeyflo
post Feb 21 2017, 10:11 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 21 2017, 08:09 PM)
TQ for the prompt reply, AdminFee is the same as Cancellation Fees?  as stated in: http://www.airasia.com/my/en/our-fares/fees-and-charges.page

P/s just realise that I should use refund fee rather than cancellation fee (CNY40 & MYR15), right?
Well I just dig into my email. My flight was KL-Bali return.
I got a refund of RM67. The total airport tax I paid was RM97. So I guess they charge me RM30 processing fee for the airport tax refund.

I don't think you can call it cancellation fees as I did not cancel the flight. I just forfeited the flight and then claim airport tax later.
http://www.airasia.com/ask/template.do?id=443
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 8 2017, 11:09 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Icona Pop @ Mar 8 2017, 12:04 AM)
Hi just wondering how Air Asia charges if I were to change day of flying after confirmed?  Given that the price of the day I wanted is the same or cheaper or dearer?
If price is more expensive, you pay the difference plus the flight change fee. If cheaper then I think you just pay the change fee.
Not sure if the change fee is the same for all flights but it was around RM220 per way.

For more info: http://www.airasia.com/ask/template.do?id=266
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 8 2017, 11:11 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 7 2017, 09:11 PM)
Strictly speaking, as long as your backpack can crumple and push into the measuring metal size at the departure hall airport, they can't stop you as a handcarry. If you stuff your backpack full until can't fit into the measuring metal thing, then AA got rights to deny your handcarry item. This is on the size.

For weight, they can ask you to weight during check-in. Actually not just AA, I was asked to lighten my handcarry to below 7.0kg on full fledge airlines.

Therefore, this is not just budget flights, this is quite standard among airlines.

Also as stated, I saw countless oversized handcarry, this delays the boarding and disembarking time, as each person will delay the queue by seconds, to take time to take out things/lift up into compartment/etc., multiple by hundreds of passengers, etc. Also mention above, these oversized luggage took up so much space that some people have to put their handcarry else where.
vmad.gif

Therefore, I'm also agree that AA should be strict on oversized handcarry and also 7kg weight.  rclxms.gif

Of course, the process will not be always 100% strict, there will be some who will manage to get away with it.
Yes fully agree.

Pretty much all airlines also follow this rule. Some say that laptop is not included in the weight but some airlines also include laptop into the 7kg weight limit. Jetstar charges the passenger too at the boarding gate when the hand carry is overweight.
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 8 2017, 01:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(crazyivan @ Mar 8 2017, 12:53 PM)
Air Asia changed my time of flight without me realizing. Last year bought the ticket stated flying at 0100 but now when I check the timing at website is no longer available (Saja go check see price got increase or not)...

So I asked live chat what's happening. Mana tahu they say 0100 flight no more and moved to 0800 due to operational requirement.  Any advise for me eg. my rights or any compensation???
They usually will email and SMS you regarding any flight change. With such changes, most of the time, they will give you an option to change to another flight. For example, one of the emails I received for a flight change last year.

This one was rescheduled to more than 2 hours and had Option 1 & 2. Whereas the other email I received..

This one didn't get any option because it's just a difference of 10 minutes I guess. I still get an email and SMS about it regardless. If you didn't receive anything, just contact them for more assistance.
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 8 2017, 04:35 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Mar 8 2017, 02:48 PM)
my backpack can put into the metal measuring case. but what they claim is hiking backpack above 30L will not allow.
and the backpack got big big word say 32L. lol
my flight is end of this month, no idea can or not.

cargo pants pocket, i done before on ryanair.
i put in notebook power bridge inside.
then all tshirt, role and put inside pocket.
i even wear jacket that have 4 huge pocket, 1 put few underwear, 1 put few pair of socks, 1 put 3 short pants, and 1 put handphone charge. lol

but at security there, all need to take out from pocket, i like WTF. lol
At security of course la you take out everything. If you pakai boots or some security also ask you to strip off your shoes ma. This one is expected in all airport security.

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 8 2017, 02:56 PM)
One laptop backpack will likely to exceed the weight limit of 7kg. The bag, laptop, chargers, mouse, external hdd, tablet and some documents with other small stuff. My working laptop backpack weight around 9kg. Used to fly around weekly for work, with a carry on roller for clothes and toiletries around 7kg. For courtesy wise, roller at the overhead bin, the slim backpack under seat.

Waiting in line to drop the baggage and after landing is time wasting especially for frequent flyer. Don't mind to pay for extra hand carry weight allowance if Airasia is offering it to save time. Worst is they ask to gate check the laptop bag and the thing is lost. The staffs said its due to safety issue for the 7kg weight limit but other countries can have 15 - 20 kg weight limit. Avoided Jestar because the gate staff is too much. Will avoid Airasia too if they too strict.
Yup, my brother carries his gaming laptop around. Laptop itself already 5kg+ plus all the accessories and bag so he had to pay for excess weight when traveled with Jetstar.

If Airasia is gonna include laptop/camera/books into the weight, maybe you might want to fly with other airlines then.

QUOTE(crazyivan @ Mar 8 2017, 04:11 PM)
Hmm. when I questioned them they said only send an updated itinerary. So I should just tell them it bring inconvenience to me and request to change the day? 

I think they changed because of the hawaii route that stopover Osaka.  My flight is on October this year to Osaka and when I realized only they said yet to tell me.  Maybe still got long way to go.

Thanks for your previous reply  icon_rolleyes.gif .
Yea prolly ask them to change to your preferred flight time or ask for a credit refund. Maybe they are in the midst of still rescheduling to fit in the new Hawaii route. It's best to reconfirm with them and get black and white proof of whatever they agree with you.
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 8 2017, 05:38 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(crazyivan @ Mar 8 2017, 05:04 PM)
Bought during promo.. quite cheap imho if take credit refund macam not worth it right?

that time u went NZ for wh ke? haha
Yea that's true. Nowadays promo also not very cheap anymore and not easy to get tickets also.
If so, just try to adjust the new scheduled time into you itinerary lor. Hopefully your hotel bookings and leaves can still be amended.

No la. I just fly to NZ a lot haha. biggrin.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 9 2017, 09:19 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(crazyivan @ Mar 8 2017, 06:19 PM)
Since the going time changed, can I ask them to change the balik to Kuala Lumpur to a later time without changing the going one?

NZ not cheap to travel and Auckland is boring.  Hehe
Why not work around going earlier without changing the other flight?

Ya I have commitments there. Boring hence in Malaysia most of the time.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 8 2017, 09:57 PM)
Not AA or low cost airlines, but a full fledge flight. You can nego with ground staff to only weight the whole bag, minus the laptop itself. i.e. whole bag, adapters, cables, accessories, etc. all in. I did that before and some ground staff think that is fair enough. No choice as some smart people stuff non laptop stuff into the laptop bag, and then another 7kg handcarry. Spoil market  mad.gif

Next, we will have smart people stuff things in laptop battery slot, DVD slot, in between keyboard/LCD,  ranting.gif  I was asked to boot up my laptop before also to prove it is a working laptop  puke.gif
Just change to a flight 1-2 days earlier, then extend your stay and rearrange plans. Meanwhile, save and budget a bit more money for the expenses and stay. Happen to me many years ago AA to Bali, flight cancel without reason, then after discuss, we go there 1-2 days earlier. Coming back same, no change.

Later found out the original arrival day is Nyepi Day, no wonder la. But it was an eye opening experience of the local culture there and it was really a blessing in disguise thumbup.gif
Hahaha have to boot up the laptop somemore? That's so strict.
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 13 2017, 01:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 12 2017, 10:56 PM)
this is what happen when AA enforce the 7KG rule of hand carry
and its not even 15th march yet laugh.gif
we have to be at the airport 4 hours before our flight
Oh my god, my flight next Monday looks like I have to go much much earlier since I have so much luggage blink.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 13 2017, 04:02 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Mar 13 2017, 02:13 PM)
Is there any confirmation of this?

when im just about to fly this wednesday and i see all this matter all over my facebook now bangwall.gif
Better be safe than sorry. Just pay to check in the extra weight or pack your bags below 7kg.

I flew from KLIA2 a month ago and there was already some staffs with weighing scales just before the immigration check. They didn't check my bag (luckily) but they were already randomly choosing people to weigh. The rule has been on all the while, it just wasn't impose strictly.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 13 2017, 02:22 PM)
official start date is 1st april...

but don't ride on your luck
I thought 15th March?
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 14 2017, 08:01 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Mar 13 2017, 07:29 PM)
Currently i wanna buy also cannot due to their website so busy with the promo.

Jialat  bangwall.gif

Anyhow, im not gonna bother much already. I just bring spare rm200 in advance. If manage to get through fine then its good to go. If not then never mind.

I do not wanna get my travel mood destroyed by this crap.
Same thing happen to me. But when using desktop to access then it's okay. I can't access thru the app or mobile at all.
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 14 2017, 04:26 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Mar 14 2017, 12:12 PM)
not..and that definitely weigh less than 7kg..
Not always the case. Some professional photographers (underwater photographers too) mostly hand carry their precious equipments and that thing can be super duper heavy. Plus these people usually carry laptop and external HDD as well. I can see easily go above 7kg.

So they will have to look into investing in Pelican case or similar hard bags with lots of protection for their gears. Or just fly other airlines laugh.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Mar 14 2017, 05:06 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 14 2017, 04:48 PM)
My workstation laptop is already > 5kg
not including the extra batt, charger, and other accessories, all together my laptop bag is already slightly more than 7kg, haven't add in my powerbank which AA refused as a check-in cargo

used to have no problem boarding AA with my laptop bag, and a light hand carry for my clothing & toiletries, which is < 4kg doh.gif

I think now I'll have to get my company to purchase extra check-in luggage just for that small hand carry as there's no way I'm gonna check in my laptop bag into cargo

Also at times I hand carry my phantom drone with all it's spare batts, which is also > 7kg, there's no way I'm gonna check in that into cargo as well doh.gif

Seems like my company will prefer either Mas or Malindo more in the near future
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 14 2017, 04:52 PM)
no need pro photographer, my amatur camera backpack (1 slr body, 3 lens, flash, batts, laptop + charger) already almost 10kg
no issues bringing it on-board all these while, seems i'll have major issue bringing them for my future trips if using AA

easiest solution and peace of mind, fly other airlines laugh.gif
Exactly. Even amature photog will have a hard time also.
Roller hand carry luggage easily 3kg. Laptop 2kg. That's 5kg there already. So you are left with 2kg for your camera stuffs. Extra batteries cannot be checked in, only can hand carry somemore.

Go get a pelican case and charge to your company also tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0700sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:57 AM