d40 only comes in kit....=)
and d40 IS an SLR....
kjin
post May 13 2007, 10:11 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ May 13 2007, 12:00 AM)
d40 not dslr wink.gif
you seriously have to know what a d slr is smile.gif regardless of its few shortcomings, d40 is still a single lens reflex camera, digital of course whistling.gif

and yeah, you can get d40 with 2k ++ abit... around 2.1k - 2.3k smile.gif start shopping ya wink.gif

This post has been edited by kjin: May 13 2007, 10:12 AM
hsienming
post May 13 2007, 10:40 AM

Homer
963 posts

QUOTE(kjin @ May 13 2007, 10:11 AM)
you seriously have to know what a d slr is smile.gif regardless of its few shortcomings, d40 is still a single lens reflex camera, digital of course  whistling.gif

and yeah, you can get d40 with 2k ++ abit... around 2.1k - 2.3k smile.gif start shopping ya  wink.gif
how do u define dSLR and SLR
wats the diff actually? hmm.gif
tongyam
post May 13 2007, 12:08 PM

perfect
686 posts

you seriously have to know what a d slr is smile.gif regardless of its few shortcomings, d40 is still a single lens reflex camera, digital of course  whistling.gif

and yeah, you can get d40 with 2k ++ abit... around 2.1k - 2.3k smile.gif start shopping ya  wink.gif
no qualification can be dslr wink.gif

QUOTE(hsienming @ May 13 2007, 10:40 AM)
how do u define dSLR and SLR
wats the diff actually?  hmm.gif
drift digital
aichiban
post May 13 2007, 12:46 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

P&S oso single lens reflex, prosumer oso wink.gif
but by today's dslr definition, d40 is indeed a dslr
Harddisk
post May 13 2007, 03:32 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(aichiban @ May 13 2007, 12:46 PM)
P&S oso single lens reflex, prosumer oso  wink.gif
Huh? *scratch head*

Which model?
ac98
post May 13 2007, 05:57 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

You guys are so CUTE ... one dunno anything and wanna ask, one know half-half wanna teach everyone, one know a lot but dunno how to say, one dunno if he know or not and trying too hard to explain everything, LOL!
jasonlts
post May 13 2007, 06:49 PM

397 posts

Guys n gals .. looks like DSLR prices are dropping like crazy smile.gif For those thinking of purchasing new budget DSLRs, I think now's the right time smile.gif
osiris
post May 13 2007, 10:02 PM

77 posts

for 2k, there's the nikon d40 and the pentax k100d. if you are going to stick with the kit lens for a while, the pentax one is way ahead... metal mount, better construction and faster AF. then also, the pentax is not in anyway crippled like the d40.
yewkhuay
post May 13 2007, 11:46 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 13 2007, 05:57 PM)
You guys are so CUTE ... one dunno anything and wanna ask, one know half-half wanna teach everyone, one know a lot but dunno how to say, one dunno if he know or not and trying too hard to explain everything, LOL!
i like this answer....
Harddisk
post May 14 2007, 12:26 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 13 2007, 05:57 PM)
one dunno anything and wanna ask
Of course if dunno anything, have to ask ma. biggrin.gif
sinister
post May 14 2007, 08:09 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 13 2007, 11:46 PM)
i like this answer....
so which category ur under?
jasonlts
post May 14 2007, 08:21 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(osiris @ May 13 2007, 10:02 PM)
for 2k, there's the nikon d40 and the pentax k100d. if you are going to stick with the kit lens for a while, the pentax one is way ahead... metal mount, better construction and faster AF. then also, the pentax is not in anyway crippled like the d40.
Yup, I agree (coz I am a Pentax user too tongue.gif). I tried out the D40, Pentax K100D, and 350D before settling on Pentax. The main reason was because it felt good in my hands and the features were a lot more than present in D40. No regrets so far smile.gif
kjin
post May 14 2007, 10:30 AM

227 posts

tongyam
post May 14 2007, 10:33 AM

perfect
686 posts

hsienming
post May 14 2007, 12:08 PM

Homer
963 posts

QUOTE(jasonlts @ May 14 2007, 08:21 AM)
Yup, I agree (coz I am a Pentax user too tongue.gif). I tried out the D40, Pentax K100D, and 350D before settling on Pentax. The main reason was because it felt good in my hands and the features were a lot more than present in D40. No regrets so far smile.gif
whrere and how much did u purchased your pentax? cheers.gif
jasonlts
post May 14 2007, 02:09 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(hsienming @ May 14 2007, 12:08 PM)
whrere and how much did u purchased your pentax? cheers.gif
Hi hsienming, I purchased it from Tarita Sg Wang for 2.2k (body with kit 18-55mm). I bought additional Tamrac bag (rm 250) plus Pentax SMC DA 50 - 200mm lens (rm 750).

If you are interested in Pentax, the only shop in Sg Wang I found so far which carries a wide range of Pentax accessories is Tarita.

Pentax is also having a promotion now for the K100D where there is a RM 500 rebate for any old camera trade-in (not sure what kind of 'old' camera). Their retail price for K100D is RM 2.4k so less RM 500 is RM 1.9k smile.gif
ramblie
post May 15 2007, 03:16 PM

Learning Forever !!!
952 posts

Go for D80 or D50!
shinchan^^
post May 15 2007, 03:20 PM

K66
21,256 posts

if D50 still available
Harddisk
post May 15 2007, 03:46 PM

2,967 posts

Or a 350D, if you still can find it.

A sample picture of it using EF50mm f/1.8 II.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0149sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:37 AM