Good quality DSLR
TSJames_yka
May 2 2007, 05:36 AM, updated 19y ago
Im looking for a good quality, not necessary the priciest... just worth the money... and im trying to dig up as much money as i could... was thinking in about the range of 5K... If this question was asked as many times as everyone has remember... please kindly redirect me ? cos i couldnt find any of them... sorry... Anyway... was thinking of getting a consumer digicam also... is Sony T100 ok ? is kinda expensive... how to get a cheaper and more media friendly... thz...
simmytan
May 2 2007, 09:09 AM

for the budget of 5k, you can get alot of decent DSLR cameras already, how about Nikon D70s? Last i heard was about RM 4500
sir_impesto
May 2 2007, 09:15 AM
D40 is not bad too. It's about RM2000 plus u can buy a lotsa additional lense and flash.
aichiban
May 2 2007, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(simmytan @ May 2 2007, 09:09 AM) for the budget of 5k, you can get alot of decent DSLR cameras already, how about Nikon D70s? Last i heard was about RM 4500 last u heard is how many years ago 5k budget is total? or not total? Check out D200 and D80 of Nikon
simmytan
May 2 2007, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(aichiban @ May 2 2007, 09:24 AM) last u heard is how many years ago 5k budget is total? or not total? Check out D200 and D80 of Nikon really eh? means cheaper now is it? pai seh Added on May 2, 2007, 9:28 amor you could go for Nikon D80 This post has been edited by simmytan: May 2 2007, 09:28 AM
goldfries
May 2 2007, 09:28 AM
40K Club
QUOTE(simmytan @ May 2 2007, 09:09 AM) for the budget of 5k, you can get alot of decent DSLR cameras already, how about Nikon D70s? Last i heard was about RM 4500 hehe. you can get D80 / 400D for much less than that. the thing is do you want to spend RM ~5k on just the body alone? i'd suggest get something like the Canon 400D and use the leftover cash to get stuff like ext. flash, more memory cards, extra battery, bags and above all - LENS!!!!
jasonlts
May 2 2007, 09:40 AM
At 5k, if you wanna get cheaper bodies, u can have a look at Canon 400D, Nikon D40X and Pentax K100D. And you can also get good lenses. On the higher end, there is Nikon d80, Pentax k10D
TSJames_yka
May 2 2007, 12:08 PM
5k is some sort of the guideline... thats what i can afford so far...
So its either Canon, Nikon and Pentax... i will give it a try on the shop before buying... thz...
How about the Sony CyberShot T100 ? consider ok or not ?
goldfries
May 2 2007, 12:16 PM
40K Club
James, the T100 is a compact camera.  as for the DSLR i would advice you to browse around the other threads around this forum (an other forum) to get a better idea on what are the pros and cons of each unit. then of course, have a look at galleries and identify WHAT kind of shots you'd like to take. because when you buy a camera, it's rather pointless for you to just spend RM 4 - 5k on a body + kit lens alone when that sum of $$$ could be allocated to buy many other parts that could make your photography outing more interesting.
kevin613
May 2 2007, 12:39 PM
for that budget, u might wanna consider to hunt around for used D200 or 30D(very rare), they will probably cost more than a new 400D kit or any new entry level(except D80 kit), but i think the money spent is worthwhile cause the the above mentioned(D200/30D) are 1 class ahead of the entry level, so it'll be better in terms of performance,handling and built quality..
Gadget_Freak
May 2 2007, 02:12 PM
If u really want a DSLR. what kind of things u want to shoot?
I recommend a D80 body alone (RM3.8k) + Tamron 17-50 f2.8 (RM1.3k) so is around RM5k.
Or u can find a 2nd hand D70S body and go for the same lens + 1 ext flash
earthkid
May 2 2007, 02:48 PM
with that amount of budget...u can get a canon 30D with kitlens or a 2nd hand nikon d200 with battery grip...
chingchingching
May 2 2007, 04:14 PM
Since you keep mentioning the T100 then i would say get a T100 and not a DSLR, Sony T100 is a fine compact camera that you can slip in your shirt pocket and use to take pictures everyday.
R a D ! c 4 L
May 2 2007, 05:12 PM
Linc | Nox
dude, u can also check other brand, like pentax k10d or the on coming Olympus E510 or the E410. Or the sony alpha100.
wlcling
May 2 2007, 07:58 PM
i recommend the D200... worth it and a lil pricey, yeah.... but still worth it...
TSJames_yka
May 2 2007, 08:20 PM
The T100 is just for asking... cos i might wanted to get that also... No way that a person is going to carry DSLR everywhere here goes... T100 is just for a sudden shoot... very valuable moments...  Let just say that its mostly on Cosplayers, yes its a hobby... But that not the only thing, just general in anything thats nice and beautiful... Thank you for all your opinion i will take a great look into it before buying...
sojen
May 2 2007, 08:35 PM

Guys.. I think he wants both a DSLR and a compact digicam. Read his post carefully.
chrisoys
May 2 2007, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(James_yka @ May 2 2007, 05:36 AM) Im looking for a good quality, not necessary the priciest... just worth the money... and im trying to dig up as much money as i could... was thinking in about the range of 5K... If this question was asked as many times as everyone has remember... please kindly redirect me ? cos i couldnt find any of them... sorry... Anyway... was thinking of getting a consumer digicam also... is Sony T100 ok ? is kinda expensive... how to get a cheaper and more media friendly... thz...  Canon 400D kitlens & 55-200mm Lens = RM3.5K Canon IXUS 900TI = RM1.5K I think can get it now
wlcling
May 2 2007, 08:52 PM
or how about a nikon d40, sb800
and for the compact, get the Nikon p5000... woo hoo... u can use the sb800 here as well...heheh
g88
May 2 2007, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(James_yka @ May 2 2007, 05:36 AM) Im looking for a good quality, not necessary the priciest... just worth the money... and im trying to dig up as much money as i could... was thinking in about the range of 5K... If this question was asked as many times as everyone has remember... please kindly redirect me ? cos i couldnt find any of them... sorry... Anyway... was thinking of getting a consumer digicam also... is Sony T100 ok ? is kinda expensive... how to get a cheaper and more media friendly... thz...  what is your max budget ? what u plan to shoot ? Need macro, telephoto and etc ?? U use any digital cam before ?? U prefer Nikon or Canon ??