62 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

tenda ac18, who got firmware

afroboy
post Oct 6 2018, 07:40 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 6 2018, 06:14 PM)
Wifi has limitation around 200-300mbps on 5Ghz, only wired can get full speed. You may try on other wireless device.

Are you using tenda firmware or Merlin?
Tenda. Will Merlin firmware fix that rebooting issue?

Edit: Ah I think I know what the issue is. It's the heat. My room is too damn hot lol. I put my fan towards it and it no longer drops the connection during speedtest.

This post has been edited by afroboy: Oct 6 2018, 07:53 PM
renishi
post Oct 6 2018, 07:55 PM

893 posts

Guys dont make the same amateur mistake as me

Router with beamforming enabled but wifi adapter beam forming disable...

Was wondering by speed not even 500 mbps on ac18 (default firmware)
pisces1529
post Oct 6 2018, 07:57 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(afroboy @ Oct 6 2018, 07:40 PM)
Tenda. Will Merlin firmware fix that rebooting issue?
I tried both firmware. Both didn't give me any rebooting issue.

You may try flashing Merlin but not sure whether it solve your rebooting issue.
prokiller1199
post Oct 6 2018, 10:45 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

Who tried the new X7.9.1 firmware
prokiller1199
post Oct 6 2018, 10:45 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

*deleted* double post

This post has been edited by prokiller1199: Oct 6 2018, 10:46 PM
pisces1529
post Oct 6 2018, 10:56 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 6 2018, 10:45 PM)
Who tried the new X7.9.1 firmware
Your Merlin is using Koolshare or other variant?

Mind to share the source?
prokiller1199
post Oct 6 2018, 10:57 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 6 2018, 10:56 PM)
Your Merlin is using Koolshare or other variant?

Mind to share the source?
yes koolshare.
I need to find a China phone number first haha anyone have it?

This post has been edited by prokiller1199: Oct 6 2018, 10:58 PM
pisces1529
post Oct 6 2018, 11:01 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 6 2018, 10:57 PM)
yes koolshare.
I need to find a China phone number first haha anyone have it?
Dont have china number, haha. sweat.gif

Wait and see whether someone has it
prokiller1199
post Oct 6 2018, 11:17 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 6 2018, 11:01 PM)
Dont have china number, haha.  sweat.gif

tomorrow maybe I get it
prokiller1199
post Oct 7 2018, 01:22 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 6 2018, 01:29 PM)
Update: After set asus device list to RT-AC68U, nvram commit and reboot.

The default setting changed to RT-AC68U from TENDA, nvram show | grep asus_device_list shows it stick too.

But Asus router app still not working tho.  hmm.gif

Update 2: After some experiment, apparently need to set the odmpid to RT-AC68U only able to use the ASUS router app.

Things I did to make it work.
1. Change TENDA to RT-AC68U in odmpid, nvram set odmpid=RT-AC68U
2. Change TENDA to RT-AC68U in asus_device_list
3. Wifi SSID can be any name.

[attachmentid=10057333]
can post details steps. sorry im noob.
pisces1529
post Oct 7 2018, 01:54 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 7 2018, 01:22 AM)
can post details steps. sorry im noob.
Everyone is a noob at some point, no worries.

Here is what I do.

1. Make sure the telnet in Administration > System tab > Telnet is enabled. Or SSH enabled if you prefer SSH.
2. Telnet to your router using Putty tool, login. Make sure putty is tick Telnet. If SSH then SSH ticked.

3. Type in command "nvram show | grep asus_device_list"
You will see something similar to this, below AC68U is my wifi SSID, same goes to MAC and router IP.
Make sure you copy yours, not mine. lol

Sample result:
asus_device_list=<3>TENDA>192.168.1.1>D8:65:63:D4:3D:40>0>AC68U>255.255.255.0>1

4. Copy the entire string above except "asus_device_list=" and also replace "TENDA" to "RT-AC68U"

Command: nvram set asus_device_list="< paste the string starting from <3> until 255.255.255.0>1 >"

Sample:
nvram set asus_device_list="<3>TENDA>192.168.1.1>D8:65:63:D4:3D:40>0>AC68U>255.255.255.0>1"

5. Type in command "nvram show | grep asus_device_list" again to check whether it has the latest changes you made.

6. Next, type in "nvram show | grep odmpid"
You will see it's showing TENDA

7. Type in nvram set odmpid=RT-AC68U (For this part, after commit & reboot, if you issue "nvram show | grep odmpid" again it will be empty, but it still works. Need other sifu to comment on this part)

8. Type in "nvram show | grep odmpid" to check again.

9. Check your setting with this command, nvram show | grep RT-AC68U
computer_name=RT-AC68U

odmpid=RT-AC68U
asus_device_list=<3>RT-AC68U>192.168.1.1>D8:65:63:D4:3D:40>0>AC68U>255.255.255.0>1

10. Type in nvram commit to to apply.

11. Type in "reboot" and router will reboot.

12. Download ASUS router app to try

13. Turn off wifi > When launch the app, it will asked you to enable wifi. After connect, if everything is correct. Will show screen as below.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

14. When you login to your ASUS router, the name on top will change from TENDA to RT-AC68U

15. Router web > Tools > name will show as RT-AC68U

Let me know if you got stuck, hope this helps. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pisces1529: Oct 7 2018, 01:57 AM
prokiller1199
post Oct 7 2018, 01:56 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 7 2018, 01:54 AM)

Here is what I do.

1. Make sure the telnet in Administration > System tab > Telnet is enabled.
2. Telnet to your router using putty, login

3. Type in command "nvram show | grep asus_device_list"
You will see something similar to this, below AC68U is my wifi SSID, same goes to MAC and router IP.
Make sure you copy yours, not mine. lol

Sample result:
asus_device_list=<3>TENDA>192.168.1.1>D8:65:63:D4:3D:40>0>AC68U>255.255.255.0>1

4.  Copy the entire string above except "asus_device_list=" and also replace "TENDA" to "RT-AC68U"

Command: nvram set asus_device_list="< paste the string starting from <3> until 255.255.255.0>1 >"

Sample:
nvram set asus_device_list="<3>TENDA>192.168.1.1>D8:65:63:D4:3D:40>0>AC68U>255.255.255.0>1"

5. Type in command "nvram show | grep asus_device_list" again to check whether it has the latest changes you made.

6. Next, type in "nvram show | grep odmpid"
You will see it's showing TENDA

7. Type in nvram set odmpid=RT-AC68U (For this part, after commit & reboot, if you issue "nvram show | grep odmpid" again it will be empty, but it still works. Need other sifu to comment on this part)

8. Type in "nvram show | grep odmpid" to check again.

9. Check your setting with this command, nvram show | grep RT-AC68U
computer_name=RT-AC68U

odmpid=RT-AC68U
asus_device_list=<3>RT-AC68U>192.168.1.1>D8:65:63:D4:3D:40>0>AC68U>255.255.255.0>1

10. Type in nvram commit to to apply.

11. Type in "reboot" and router will reboot.

12. Download ASUS router app to try

13. Turn off wifi > When launch the app, it will asked you to enable wifi. After connect, if everything is correct. Will show screen as below.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

14. When you login to your ASUS router, the name on top will change from TENDA to RT-AC68U

15. Router web > Tools > name will show as RT-AC68U

Let me know if you got stuck, hope this helps.  biggrin.gif
hahaha thanks for the details explanation. I done it since the steps from the guy is a bit out of format so I googled it and done.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
pisces1529
post Oct 7 2018, 01:59 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 7 2018, 01:56 AM)
hahaha thanks for the details explanation. I done it since the steps from the guy is a bit out of format so I googled it and done.
Ya, necromancer actually give me some ideas and missing pieces that need to make it work.

His command is on WS880, so slightly different. Heh

Anyway, enjoy the app ya biggrin.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

The guide and steps just put here to let others explore and try. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pisces1529: Oct 7 2018, 02:04 AM
ex999
post Oct 7 2018, 11:54 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 6 2018, 11:01 PM)
Dont have china number, haha.  sweat.gif

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 6 2018, 11:17 PM)
tomorrow maybe I get it
https://firmware.koolshare.cn/Koolshare_Mer...1-koolshare.trx

just guess and change the link folder file name , it work lol

This post has been edited by ex999: Oct 7 2018, 12:05 PM
fli_guy84
post Oct 7 2018, 12:28 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 7 2018, 01:54 AM)

Here is what I do.

Thanks for the detailed steps, it works for me! smile.gif

QUOTE(ex999 @ Oct 7 2018, 11:54 AM)

Thanks for the heads up. Upgraded to this firmware and there's no issue for me. Not sure what are the updates though. System status is still in Chinese but it's no big deal.

prokiller1199
post Oct 7 2018, 12:29 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

Great Thanks.

QUOTE(fli_guy84 @ Oct 7 2018, 12:28 PM)
Thanks for the heads up. Upgraded to this firmware and there's no issue for me. Not sure what are the updates though. System status is still in Chinese but it's no big deal.
Haha later i will upgrade, according to the website the update is regarding the koolshare software centre.
fli_guy84
post Oct 7 2018, 12:37 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Oct 6 2018, 06:39 PM)
im aware about that, but under impression of dont poke the physical reset button tongue.gif
You could try to talk to the customer service people if they can accept warranty claim. I bricked my router and they were willing to accept it even though I was honest and told them it was my fault.

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 7 2018, 12:29 PM)
Haha later i will upgrade, according to the website the update is regarding the koolshare software centre.
Not a big change though but still nice. thumbsup.gif
pisces1529
post Oct 7 2018, 01:05 PM

371 posts

Thanks for sharing bro.

QUOTE(fli_guy84 @ Oct 7 2018, 12:28 PM)
Glad it helps. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Oct 7 2018, 12:29 PM)
Great Thanks.
Is it the same as this link?

https://source.wifihell.com/9-firmware.koolshare.cn/MERLIN/
prokiller1199
post Oct 7 2018, 01:37 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(pisces1529 @ Oct 7 2018, 01:05 PM)
I don't think so
prokiller1199
post Oct 7 2018, 01:37 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

deleted: double post

This post has been edited by prokiller1199: Oct 7 2018, 01:37 PM

62 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:34 AM