DIY Home Renovation, Solo DIY Diary [COMPLETED]

TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 1 2018, 10:49 PM, updated 5y ago

637 posts

So just got my key on friday, right before New Year. Started my work on Sunday, there it goes..

19/1/2018
- Working on living room, next momento. First layer sky blue done..

22/1/2018
- Finish up living room momento
- Completed Staging for altar

23/1/2018
- Completed ceiling
- Installed lights for master rooms.

3/9/2018

- Living room covered with plaster wall

- Platform for study area. Platform sticked with vinyl (floordepot)

I think that's all for my DIY, took me more than half year to repair and built. I didn't post smaller item as I don't think it's necessary here. There is one last plan to build a mini fish pond with water fall at my car porch but probably I would like to take a rest before continuing it.

This post has been edited by SheepGeeks: Sep 3 2018, 01:56 PM
Zoopdiidoo
post Jan 3 2018, 02:45 PM

216 posts

Why the part you painted the skirting is gone?
kabyss87
post Jan 3 2018, 03:39 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 1 2018, 10:49 PM)
So just got my key on friday, right before New Year. Started my work on Sunday, there it goes..

31/12/2017:
- Painted master room with base colour (white) for 2 layers
- Dismantled ceiling fan and replaced with LED light

Nice to see someone out there who does have the DIY spirit! thumbup.gif

Btw, how much momento paint have you use for that patch in your picture?

loritanah
post Jan 3 2018, 04:29 PM

162 posts

ensure lots of tapes boss..tapes haha
lowlowc
post Jan 3 2018, 05:04 PM

918 posts

I am also in the process of repainting my house. I think the prepping jobs and washing the tools are actually more tedious and takes longer than painting itself.

Do you paint the ceilings? Any tips to paint the ceiling better?
exkay
post Jan 3 2018, 05:07 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

My suggestion, get a professional to do paint job. world of difference.

Zot
post Jan 3 2018, 05:08 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 3 2018, 05:04 PM)
I am also in the process of repainting my house. I think the prepping jobs and washing the tools are actually more tedious and takes longer than painting itself.

It is water based paint. You don't need to wash it everyday you use it. Since you are going to use it daily, just wrap the roller in plastic bag to prevent it from drying. Tie with rubber band of anything. This way is less tedious smile.gif
Zot
post Jan 3 2018, 05:11 PM

7,938 posts

What about the ceiling? Just use multi-fold ladder and make a platform. If not high enough, then no choice but move ladder bit by bit laugh.gif Otherwise use roller at the end of pole. It is tiring.

The fastest one is to use spray paint gun wink.gif
SUSempatTan
post Jan 3 2018, 05:15 PM

1,678 posts

Ganbatei!
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 05:21 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Jan 3 2018, 02:45 PM)
Why the part you painted the skirting is gone?
Hi, previous owner removed it for their bed frame.

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Jan 3 2018, 03:39 PM)
Nice to see someone out there who does have the DIY spirit!  thumbup.gif

Btw, how much momento paint have you use for that patch in your picture?
Thanks tongue.gif

This area required 1 sets of 1 liter primer & 1 liter luxury series blue and it's a very close call. The last swipes require me to squeeze all the remaining paint on my brush.

FYI, this area is approx. 2.2m X 2.8m.

SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 05:23 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Jan 3 2018, 05:07 PM)
professional you mean the banggla all in 1 worker?

if hire real pro, labor alone cost rm3k for standard apartment. not including paint.
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 05:24 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(loritanah @ Jan 3 2018, 04:29 PM)
ensure lots of tapes boss..tapes haha
Yeap, all 4 borders have taped. So don't worry..

Hi, I have no idea as well. Roller is not working on my old ceiling. So I painted my ceiling using 4" brush but so far only managed to paint 4 panels of 4' X 4' in 4 hours time.

The struggle is real man...
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 05:25 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 3 2018, 05:11 PM)
What about the ceiling? Just use multi-fold ladder and make a platform. If not high enough, then no choice but move ladder bit by bit  laugh.gif  Otherwise use roller at the end of pole. It is tiring.

The fastest one is to use spray paint gun  wink.gif
spray paint gun need alot of masking and alot of wastage on the paint. and needs well ventilated area. and you need to be close to the ceiling can't just stand on floor use roller.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 05:26 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 05:21 PM)
Hi, previous owner removed it for their bed frame.
Thanks  tongue.gif

This area required 1 sets of 1 liter primer & 1 liter luxury series blue and it's a very close call. The last swipes require me to squeeze all the remaining paint on my brush.

FYI, this area is approx. 2.2m X 2.8m.
how much is the set of paint for that wall? any tips how to get the pattern done nicely? how long you waited before doing the pattern?

also did you buy their special brush & roller?

This post has been edited by advocado: Jan 3 2018, 05:27 PM
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 05:26 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Jan 3 2018, 05:07 PM)
Sir, when your bank account left Rm5k but you have to get the whole house done. How do you get professional?

I dismantle the ceiling fans, and replaced all the lights and switches myself. So far, I still have 3k++ budget.
lowlowc
post Jan 3 2018, 05:27 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 3 2018, 05:08 PM)
It is water based paint. You don't need to wash it everyday you use it. Since you are going to use it daily, just wrap the roller in plastic bag to prevent it from drying. Tie with rubber band of anything. This way is less tedious  smile.gif
Thanks for the tips about plastic bag. I did put the roller in an empty bucket, then cover the bucket with a damp cloth. The roller is still damp when I use it the next day, but somehow it didn't roll as good as previous day. I will try your plastic bag idea this weekend again. Still left living room and my master room to paint.

exkay, I employed, or rather, my contractor got me a so-called professional painter 5 years ago to paint my new house. The result was bad, but painter was already long gone before we can catch him. My contractor was only like, "ok la.. the painting ok lah, no need to call him back." There's still more than 50% of paint we bought for him, hidden in my store room. The guy didn't even use the primer we bought for him! He got plenty of paints on our floor that I have to scrap them up one by one.

Somemore, now I have furnishings in the house, no way I will let a painter paint. Painting the house myself is tedious, but satisfying when I look at the result. Plus, at a time like this when CNY is approaching, all the good painter will be taking big jobs already, and left the mediocre painters available.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 3 2018, 05:28 PM
SUSAmeiN
post Jan 3 2018, 05:29 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

Need more drillzpictures biggrin.gif
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 05:32 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 05:26 PM)
how much is the set of paint for that wall? any tips how to get the pattern done nicely? how long you waited before doing the pattern?

also did you buy their special brush & roller?
I guess, it'll depend on the existing wall colour. Mine was light yellow, so I applied 1 layer of perfect white. After few hour, I apply patching layer to cover off all the remaining patches.

The next day, I apply 2 layer of primer (each layer must be dried before proceed another one) then followed by momento. Probably 1 day++ to get it done for 1 wall but it's really tiring.

They'll provide you the special hand brush for the effects. You should prepare 1 roller for the primer application.

This post has been edited by SheepGeeks: Jan 3 2018, 05:33 PM
Zot
post Jan 3 2018, 05:34 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 3 2018, 05:27 PM)
Thanks for the tips about plastic bag. I did put the roller in an empty bucket, then cover the bucket with a damp cloth. The roller is still damp when I use it the next day, but somehow it didn't roll as good as previous day. I will try your plastic bag idea this weekend again. Still left living room and my master room to paint.

exkay, I employed, or rather, my contractor got me a so-called professional painter 5 years ago to paint my new house. The result was bad, but painter was already long gone before we can catch him. My contractor was only like, "ok la.. the painting ok lah, no need to call him back." There's still more than 50% of paint we bought for him, hidden in my store room. The guy didn't even use the primer we bought for him! He got plenty of paints on our floor that I have to scrap them up one by one.

Somemore, now I have furnishings in the house, no way I will let a painter paint. Painting the house myself is tedious, but satisfying when I look at the result. Plus, at a time like this when CNY is approaching, all the good painter will be taking big jobs already, and left the mediocre painters available.
Yes, I did my painting too but not all interior. Just did during weekend for many weeks laugh.gif

The house was already painted when you bought it right? There's no need to put primer on painted wall. Just straight paint with color of your choice. Obviously need to layer of paint or it will look patchy.
lowlowc
post Jan 3 2018, 05:34 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 3 2018, 05:11 PM)
What about the ceiling? Just use multi-fold ladder and make a platform. If not high enough, then no choice but move ladder bit by bit  laugh.gif  Otherwise use roller at the end of pole. It is tiring.

The fastest one is to use spray paint gun  wink.gif
Haha, I am moving the ladder bit by bit and a bit difficult the apply the same pressure to the whole roller when craning my neck. Yes, I think I will buy a multifold ladder this weekend. Luckily, plenty of paint shops in my area.

SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 05:38 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 05:32 PM)
I guess, it'll depend on the existing wall colour. Mine was light yellow, so I applied 1 layer of perfect white. After few hour, I apply patching layer to cover off all the remaining patches.

The next day, I apply 2 layer of primer (each layer must be dried before proceed another one) then followed by momento. Probably 1 day++ to get it done for 1 wall but it's really tiring.

They'll provide you the special hand brush for the effects. You should prepare 1 roller for the primer application.
hi, what is the reason you applied 1 layer of perfect white before the primer? the perfect white is not part of the momento set right?

the primer is what color actually? usually primer to me means just a layer to make the next layer stick. but for momenta primer = base color?

momento is the pattern part of the paint? how long did you wait before drawing the pattern?

how much did that wall cost you to paint?
Zot
post Jan 3 2018, 05:40 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 3 2018, 05:34 PM)
Haha, I am moving the ladder bit by bit and a bit difficult the apply the same pressure to the whole roller when craning my neck. Yes, I think I will buy a multifold ladder this weekend. Luckily, plenty of paint shops in my area.
Yes. At first bit by bit. Then stretch a bit. That's why pressure is uneven.

If multi fold is not high enough, then need two ladders and put a plank. However, be careful. Don't get lazy and try to reach out. Stay safe thumbsup.gif
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 05:50 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 05:38 PM)
hi, what is the reason you applied 1 layer of perfect white before the primer? the perfect white is not part of the momento set right?

the primer is what color actually? usually primer to me means just a layer to make the next layer stick. but for momenta primer = base color?

momento is the pattern part of the paint? how long did you wait before drawing the pattern?

how much did that wall cost you to paint?
Well, primer is in white colour but IMO, 1 liter is not enough to cover the existing colour, so it's better to cover it off first. It's not the same as ordinary white paint, it has rough surface upon dried off.

Primer takes like 1 hour to dry, so you can only apply after that.

Momento is just a special paint with glittering powder or white putty like mine. You need to paint it using cross method to produce the pattern with the custom paint brush.

For my luxury series, it comes with some small lump of white putty in the blue paint. Paint it using cross "X" method then after 30min use a flat card (provided by them) to press the white putty to produce the special white effect.

For 1 set of 1 liter for both primer & base, it cost me RM110. I bought that during PSM (Meru) stock clearance. So total is like RM110 + my perfect white, probably RM150~200.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 06:05 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 05:50 PM)
Well, primer is in white colour but IMO, 1 liter is not enough to cover the existing colour, so it's better to cover it off first. It's not the same as ordinary white paint, it has rough surface upon dried off.

Primer takes like 1 hour to dry, so you can only apply after that.

Momento is just a special paint with glittering powder or white putty like mine. You need to paint it using cross method to produce the pattern with the custom paint brush.

For my luxury series, it comes with some small lump of white putty in the blue paint. Paint it using cross "X" method then after 30min use a flat card (provided by them) to press the white putty to produce the special white effect.

For 1 set of 1 liter for both primer & base, it cost me RM110. I bought that during PSM (Meru) stock clearance. So total is like RM110 + my perfect white, probably RM150~200.
the manual says do X method or the person told you? i've seen some samples go by "Rainbow" curve, i'm wondering how they do that? most shown in shops have the X pattern but i not so fancy prefer smoother patterns.

btw are there Momento with less rough surface but can still do pattern just after finish painting the surface is only slightly rough but not very obvious?
lowlowc
post Jan 3 2018, 06:06 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 3 2018, 05:40 PM)
Yes. At first bit by bit. Then stretch a bit. That's why pressure is uneven.

If multi fold is not high enough, then need two ladders and put a plank. However, be careful. Don't get lazy and try to reach out. Stay safe  thumbsup.gif
Thanks. Hopefully will finish before CNY since I am using weekends to do.

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 05:24 PM)
Hi, I have no idea as well. Roller is not working on my old ceiling. So I painted my ceiling using 4" brush but so far only managed to paint 4 panels of 4' X 4' in 4 hours time.

Gambateh. Please share the picture of your work once completed. flex.gif

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 3 2018, 06:09 PM
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 06:17 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 06:05 PM)
the manual says do X method or the person told you? i've seen some samples go by "Rainbow" curve, i'm wondering how they do that? most shown in shops have the X pattern but i not so fancy prefer smoother patterns.

btw are there Momento with less rough surface but can still do pattern just after finish painting the surface is only slightly rough but not very obvious?
Manual said so and Nippon staffs taught me to paint it during the roadshow at PSM also.

The rainbow method is normally for the series with glittering powder. The concept is slightly different, 1 base colour + second layer tint with glittering powder. Example, red base colour then second layer is gold glittering powder. This series has lesser “texture”.

For mine, it comes with small putty lump inside the paint. So it will create rough surface with texture.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 06:40 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 06:17 PM)
Manual said so and Nippon staffs taught me to paint it during the roadshow at PSM also.

The rainbow method is normally for the series with glittering powder. The concept is slightly different, 1 base colour + second layer tint with glittering powder. Example, red base colour then second layer is gold glittering powder. This series has lesser “texture”.

For mine, it comes with small putty lump inside the paint. So it will create rough surface with texture.
oic. price wise which one is more premium?

i prefer the glittering you mention.

the rougher surface makes dust easy to stick on and difficult to clean as the roughness may cause the cloth to stuck on it.

TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 09:19 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 06:40 PM)
oic. price wise which one is more premium?

i prefer the glittering you mention.

the rougher surface makes dust easy to stick on and difficult to clean as the roughness may cause the cloth to stuck on it.
All same price, I bought 1 set of glittering one also. It's for another room.

I think you should get the catalogue from the shops, it has 68 pages, over 50++ combinations.

Enjoy dulu.. Later baru pikir how to clean it.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 09:31 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 09:19 PM)
All same price, I bought 1 set of glittering one also. It's for another room.

I think you should get the catalogue from the shops, it has 68 pages, over 50++ combinations.

Enjoy dulu.. Later baru pikir how to clean it..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i have the book actually. just i forgot everything because it's so complex.

so to save on primer you used white paint 1st? if wall color is those yellowish white, also need white to cover up 1st?

have you done the glittering yet?
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 09:51 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 09:31 PM)

so to save on primer you used white paint 1st? if wall color is those yellowish white, also need white to cover up 1st?

My advice is to use white paint first, the 1 liter primer not enough to paint 2 layers one. Only enough to patch up after you finish first layer.

Not yet, I'm doing master room now. Need to settle this room first before moving on. I can only do it during the weekend.

SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 09:58 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 09:51 PM)
My advice is to use white paint first, the 1 liter primer not enough to paint 2 layers one. Only enough to patch up after you finish first layer.

Not yet, I'm doing master room now. Need to settle this room first before moving on. I can only do it during the weekend.
i c. so the shortage is the primer. the base coat & top coat is sufficient like more than enough?
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 10:16 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 09:58 PM)
i c. so the shortage is the primer. the base coat & top coat is sufficient like more than enough?
No matter what series you're getting, you only supplied with 2 mediums. Either primer + colour or base colour + tint.

For my Elegant series that I posted, they only have 1 primer (white) + blue with special effect. I have another set which comes with purple base colour + teal colour tint.

It depend on how big is your wall, 1 set of 1 + 1 litre better not exceed 5m² or 53.8 sqr.ft.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 10:20 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 10:16 PM)
No matter what series you're getting, you only supplied with 2 mediums. Either primer + colour or base colour + tint.

For my Elegant series that I posted, they only have 1 primer (white) + blue with special effect. I have another set which comes with purple base colour + teal colour tint.

It depend on how big is your wall, 1 set of 1 + 1 litre better not exceed 5m² or 53.8 sqr.ft.
will see. the color are standard right? meaning if i'm short i can just run out and buy more, not like custom mix if buy more end up different tone?
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 3 2018, 10:30 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 10:20 PM)
will see. the color are standard right? meaning if i'm short i can just run out and buy more, not like custom mix if buy more end up different tone?
All colours standard one. Just make sure to paint the pattern from top, row by row or it will messed up.
VeeJay
post Jan 3 2018, 10:37 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 09:31 PM)

if you want simple, try sancora, those are pretty straight forward to apply

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jan 3 2018, 10:37 PM
SUSadvocado
post Jan 3 2018, 11:20 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 3 2018, 10:37 PM)
if you want simple, try sancora, those are pretty straight forward to apply

looks not bad the 2 patterns on the right side. but really can achieve this patter?

is the texture rough or smooth after finish?

same like Nippon need 2 coats?

price wise compare to Momento how?

1st time heard this brand.
VeeJay
post Jan 4 2018, 12:10 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 3 2018, 11:20 PM)

looks not bad the 2 patterns on the right side. but really can achieve this patter?
yes pretty straight forward

is the texture rough or smooth after finish?
smoother than other brands

same like Nippon need 2 coats?

first coat is the paint color of your choice...then
use the WOW finish to do the pattern (its like shinning glue, and uses normal painting brush provided with the purchase)

price wise compare to Momento how?

I did mine 2 years ago, cant remember. Bought it at Mr. Paint

1st time heard this brand.

Check with them when would the promotion comes, I bought half the price of momento

They are pretty famous, there are tons of signboard of them on north-south highway

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jan 4 2018, 12:11 AM
ozak
post Jan 4 2018, 08:52 AM

17,025 posts

Use an extension pole with a paint roller.

You might want to tape the edge corner to get a straight line.

Use a small brush to touch up that roller cannot reach.
Zoopdiidoo
post Jan 4 2018, 09:15 AM

216 posts

I also painted my house in momento..but i got the painter to do it...he said moving on he never wants to pick up jobs which requires momento painting cos its way harder and takes up lots of time.
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 4 2018, 09:24 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Jan 4 2018, 09:15 AM)
I also painted my house in momento..but i got the painter to do it...he said moving on he never wants to pick up jobs which requires momento painting cos its way harder and takes up lots of time.
Because contractor wants fast money, momento require lots of idling time waiting for each layer to dry and the application itself required more labour & skill.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 4 2018, 09:25 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 4 2018, 12:10 AM)

Mr.Paint Shop is the full name or Mr.Paint Man?
Zot
post Jan 4 2018, 09:29 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 09:25 AM)
Mr.Paint Shop is the full name or Mr.Paint Man?
Two different shops

http://mrpaintman.com.my

http://mrpaintshop.com.my

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 4 2018, 09:31 AM
SUSadvocado
post Jan 4 2018, 09:32 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 4 2018, 09:29 AM)
Two different shops
i'm asking the Mr.Paint that got 50% clearance is Mr.Paint Shop or Mr.Paint Man.

Looks like Mr.Paint Shop.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 4 2018, 09:41 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 3 2018, 06:06 PM)
Thanks. Hopefully will finish before CNY since I am using weekends to do.
Gambateh. Please share the picture of your work once completed. flex.gif
may i know how tall is your ceiling? is landed or apartment?

want to know for apartment are those long pole rollers enough or still should use ladder + standard roller to paint the ceilings?
lowlowc
post Jan 4 2018, 11:01 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 09:41 AM)
may i know how tall is your ceiling? is landed or apartment?

want to know for apartment are those long pole rollers enough or still should use ladder + standard roller to paint the ceilings?
My ceiling is around 2.8 - 2.9m height, depending on which area. I bought extendable pole at Mr DIY RM10.90 and it's enough. Problem is, if we paint the ceiling by standing on the floor and using the pole, it's hard to apply balance pressure throughout the painting. So, after painting, I can see the unbalance patch. This time, I want to repaint the ceiling by standing on a platform, so I can shorten the pole. Easier to apply balance pressure. But maybe it's just me, have weak arms. blush.gif Pick a good roller.

Mine is landed, so I can't repaint the stair case area where the ceiling is too high and dangerous. Luckily the old color at this area is good, so no need to repaint.

lowlowc
post Jan 4 2018, 11:08 AM

918 posts

It seems like in overseas, DIYer can usually buy a pod size sample of the paint so they can go back home, paint it and look at the result on their wall. Is this available in Malaysia? I forgot to ask this at the paint shop that day.

Most of the time, the color we chose won't turn out like what we see on the catalog, their visualizer apps and website.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 4 2018, 11:19 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 4 2018, 11:01 AM)
My ceiling is around 2.8 - 2.9m height, depending on which area. I bought extendable pole at Mr DIY RM10.90 and it's enough. Problem is, if we paint the ceiling by standing on the floor and using the pole, it's hard to apply balance pressure throughout the painting. So, after painting, I can see the unbalance patch. This time, I want to repaint the ceiling by standing on a platform, so I can shorten the pole. Easier to apply balance pressure. But maybe it's just me, have weak arms.  blush.gif  Pick a good roller.

Mine is landed, so I can't repaint the stair case area where the ceiling is too high and dangerous. Luckily the old color at this area is good, so no need to repaint.
if you are talking about uneven patch could it be you dipped too much paint in them? by right after you roll it should only give a thin layer of paint and you need to do 2-3 runs after the previous layer dried. if you applied before previous layer dried you risk peeling off the previous layer. and if you dip too much paint on the roller you get uneven surface on the areas you roll on right after the dip. so you have to like rub the roller around the edge of the bucket to get rid of excess paint. also reduce paint spilling on the floor (and yourself).
lowlowc
post Jan 4 2018, 11:31 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 11:19 AM)
if you are talking about uneven patch could it be you dipped too much paint in them? by right after you roll it should only give a thin layer of paint and you need to do 2-3 runs after the previous layer dried. if you applied before previous layer dried you risk peeling off the previous layer. and if you dip too much paint on the roller you get uneven surface on the areas you roll on right after the dip. so you have to like rub the roller around the edge of the bucket to get rid of excess paint. also reduce paint spilling on the floor (and yourself).
All done. Which is why my wall color is very balanced and nice, with and without pole. The ceiling is tricky.
toonny
post Jan 4 2018, 01:25 PM

185 posts

Man.. talking about repainting.. it was a nightmare.. LOL.. painting the ceiling is like killing me off.. about 10 - 11ft height, and with just extension pole, my neck and back is totally gone at night time. laugh.gif

For my case, I have plaster ceiling. The shop recommend to use just normal base coat, the Nippon Matex. Cheaper alternative is Maxilite.

My wall I went for full white, by Nippon also, Vinilex EasyWash.

All the above, double coated for better coverage and durability. Walls were all sand-papered and wipe with damp cloth before apply paint.

Nippon Matex 18L - about RM 70
Nippon Vinilex EasyWash 18L - about RM 250

cyclone9
post Jan 4 2018, 01:27 PM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 4 2018, 01:25 PM)
Man.. talking about repainting.. it was a nightmare.. LOL.. painting the ceiling is like killing me off.. about 10 - 11ft height, and with just extension pole, my neck and back is totally gone at night time.  laugh.gif

For my case, I have plaster ceiling. The shop recommend to use just normal base coat, the Nippon Matex. Cheaper alternative is Maxilite.

All the above, double coated for better coverage and durability. Walls were all sand-papered and wipe with damp cloth before apply paint.

How about Nippon Perfect White for plaster ceiling?
toonny
post Jan 4 2018, 01:36 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 4 2018, 01:27 PM)
No idea bro. I also just trust what their advice and proceed. Overall very satisfy with the color and finishing.

Based on the website, it says suitable for walls and ceiling. I think should be fine. Best is consult them in the shop. They could give better advice.

Nippon Perfect White
lowlowc
post Jan 4 2018, 07:00 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 4 2018, 01:25 PM)
Man.. talking about repainting.. it was a nightmare.. LOL.. painting the ceiling is like killing me off.. about 10 - 11ft height, and with just extension pole, my neck and back is totally gone at night time.  laugh.gif

Oh, I am using Maxilite for ceiling, also advised by the paint shop. If using the mainstream paint, purse will bleed. I used Nippon last time for walls, so now, I choose Dulux Easy Clean, also around RM250.
How is Nippon Vinilex's smell? Five years ago, I use Air Care series, wah.. it smelled like overly strong perfume.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 4 2018, 07:06 PM
SUSadvocado
post Jan 4 2018, 08:44 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 4 2018, 01:27 PM)
is perfect white matte finishing? plaster ceiling usually go for matte white.
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 4 2018, 09:42 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 08:44 PM)
is perfect white matte finishing? plaster ceiling usually go for matte white.
It's matte, I used that for wall and ceiling.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 4 2018, 09:49 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 4 2018, 09:42 PM)
It's matte, I used that for wall and ceiling.
mind i ask (again if i already did) how much are the perfect white per how many liter? are perfect white acrylic/water based and do you need to dilute them or straight paint out of bucket?

This post has been edited by advocado: Jan 4 2018, 09:50 PM
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 4 2018, 09:58 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 09:49 PM)
mind i ask (again if i already did) how much are the perfect white per how many liter? are perfect white acrylic/water based and do you need to dilute them or straight paint out of bucket?
It's okay to ask.

20liters for RM260+ if I'm not mistaken. You may add some water, like 5~10% to dilute it for easier to paint.
toonny
post Jan 4 2018, 11:00 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 4 2018, 07:00 PM)
Oh, I am using Maxilite for ceiling, also advised by the paint shop. If using the mainstream paint, purse will bleed. I used Nippon last time for walls, so now, I choose Dulux Easy Clean, also around RM250.
How is Nippon Vinilex's smell? Five years ago, I use Air Care series, wah.. it smelled like overly strong perfume.
Hmm.. the odour is not strong. If you didn't ask, I wouldn't recall there is any smell during and after the paint job.

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 09:49 PM)
You always can refer to their website. They even have instructions how to use and details on the dilution ratio.

VeeJay
post Jan 4 2018, 11:20 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 4 2018, 09:32 AM)
i'm asking the Mr.Paint that got 50% clearance is Mr.Paint Shop or Mr.Paint Man.

Looks like Mr.Paint Shop.
yup, its Mr. Paint Shop
SUSadvocado
post Jan 5 2018, 10:09 AM

2,948 posts

how to check when got discounts hehe.

lazada really hard to search due to their search engine.
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 10 2018, 01:46 PM

637 posts

*Updated thread for 6 & 7 January 2018 at page 1.
Zot
post Jan 11 2018, 11:30 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 4 2018, 11:01 AM)
My ceiling is around 2.8 - 2.9m height, depending on which area. I bought extendable pole at Mr DIY RM10.90 and it's enough. Problem is, if we paint the ceiling by standing on the floor and using the pole, it's hard to apply balance pressure throughout the painting. So, after painting, I can see the unbalance patch. This time, I want to repaint the ceiling by standing on a platform, so I can shorten the pole. Easier to apply balance pressure. But maybe it's just me, have weak arms.  blush.gif  Pick a good roller.

Working with long pole is tiring and strain your arm. Remember that we are not doing this as professional and not used to it laugh.gif
hutazi
post Jan 11 2018, 04:00 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 1 2018, 10:49 PM)
7/1/2018
- Installed new ceiling (80%)

um. this is plaster ceiling or wood? doesnt look like you added any support other than the existing. can this tahan? i think will start drooping down as time goes by.

This post has been edited by hutazi: Jan 11 2018, 04:01 PM
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 11 2018, 05:12 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Jan 11 2018, 04:00 PM)
um. this is plaster ceiling or wood? doesnt look like you added any support other than the existing. can this tahan? i think will start drooping down as time goes by.
Don't worry, the existing wood frame (2" X 4") is strong. I added few more support points for the ceiling board mounted to the frame as well. Each board (4' X 3') is secured with at least 8~9 screws.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 15 2018, 09:41 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 4 2018, 09:58 PM)
It's okay to ask.

20liters for RM260+ if I'm not mistaken. You may add some water, like 5~10% to dilute it for easier to paint.
bro just checking where you got the paints?

i just surveyed around seems some shops carry 5-7L paint how you find 20L?

Perfect White is around rm100 for 5L, yours 20 liters rm260 is very cheap.

maxilite 7L rm35

Easy Wash 5L rm100

Momento 1L rm120

i'm not sure which paint to use for matte white on plaster ceiling...
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 08:38 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 15 2018, 09:41 PM)

maxilite 7L rm35

Easy Wash 5L rm100

Momento 1L rm120

CSM Kota Kemuning, but better go Kedai Cat Boon Seng @ Klang.. I got a new momento there layer 1 5L + layer 2 1L around 180~190 only..
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 08:42 AM

2,948 posts

oh Klang abit far. anyone know how's the price for Mr.Paint?
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 08:45 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 15 2018, 09:41 PM)

maxilite 7L rm35

Easy Wash 5L rm100

Momento 1L rm120

I think plaster ceiling use the same paint as your brick/cement wall.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 08:47 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 16 2018, 08:45 AM)
I think plaster ceiling use the same paint as your brick/cement wall.
plaster ceiling is white. the walls are yellowish white. or you saying plaster ceiling should match color of wall? if like that the cost of paint will be very expensive as matte white is alot cheaper than wall paints. don't think they have matte yellowish white right?
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 09:02 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 08:47 AM)
plaster ceiling is white. the walls are yellowish white. or you saying plaster ceiling should match color of wall? if like that the cost of paint will be very expensive as matte white is alot cheaper than wall paints. don't think they have matte yellowish white right?
I did not mean the same color but the paint type for the ceiling is the same as the interior cement wall paint. Just buy the pure white like this

https://www.lazada.com.my/dulux-18l-maxilit...0180116010213:s
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 09:06 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 08:42 AM)
oh Klang abit far. anyone know how's the price for Mr.Paint?
If you're on budget, just use maxilite lo.. Most contractors and developer also using it..
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 09:08 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 09:06 AM)
If you're on budget, just use maxilite lo.. Most contractors and developer also using it..
i know, that is super budget. but how's the durability? will the paint come off after sometime like what we see in shopping malls especially the toilet?

also can you mix maxilite with more expensive paint? like 1 use for 1st coat another for 2nd coat? if yes better paint goes 1st or 2nd?
gugukrez
post Jan 16 2018, 09:29 AM

943 posts

Actually i also got idea to DIY my house.. first of all will personally change the plaster ceiling then hack floor tiles and replace a nicer 1..

but.. time..

dont have time for it..
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 09:41 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 09:08 AM)
i know, that is super budget. but how's the durability? will the paint come off after sometime like what we see in shopping malls especially the toilet?

also can you mix maxilite with more expensive paint? like 1 use for 1st coat another for 2nd coat? if yes better paint goes 1st or 2nd?
shopping malls issue is due to air con pipe condensation & humid in the toilet. They should use weather proof paint in the toilet.

My advice is paint only 1 layer with something more reliable. You'll break your back if you paint 2 layers
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 10:02 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jan 16 2018, 09:29 AM)
Actually i also got idea to DIY my house.. first of all will personally change the plaster ceiling then hack floor tiles and replace a nicer 1..

but.. time..

dont have time for it..
If you don't try or start, you won't do it forever..

Currently I'm like working 12 hour for 7 days to rush my deadline..

nebula87
post Jan 16 2018, 10:08 AM

Fg = mg
1,424 posts

What you planning to do for this room, TS?

toonny
post Jan 16 2018, 10:13 AM

185 posts

Tough to get the answer you want here as everyone has their own preference. Just make sure you clean your paint surface before applying new coat of paint, be it 1 or 2 layer.

For my scenario, mine is new house. I did plaster ceiling and contractor want to charge RM1500 for labour, just to repaint the whole house. shakehead.gif

I feel the paint is dusty and clean it with a damp cloth, I believe I've left it to dry for at least 1 hour as I am cleaning other walls as well.
For plaster ceiling - 2 layers of Nippon Matex, matte finish.
For Interior walls - 2 layers of Nippon Vinilex Easywash, semi-gloss.

Before
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

After
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 10:13 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 09:41 AM)
shopping malls issue is due to air con pipe condensation & humid in the toilet. They should use weather proof paint in the toilet.

My advice is paint only 1 layer with something more reliable. You'll break your back if you paint 2 layers
what paint did you use to paint toilet plaster ceiling?

last time people say after done plaster ceiling have to water proof with 1 layer of primer then paint.

but now contractor all say after plaster dry just paint 2 layers of water paint. they say if you waterproof the plaster next time need to open up will be difficult. not sure how true is that?
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 10:15 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 16 2018, 10:13 AM)
Tough to get the answer you want here as everyone has their own preference. Just make sure you clean your paint surface before applying new coat of paint, be it 1 or 2 layer.

For my scenario, mine is new house. I did plaster ceiling and contractor want to charge RM1500 for labour, just to repaint the whole house.  shakehead.gif

I feel the paint is dusty and clean it with a damp cloth, I believe I've left it to dry for at least 1 hour as I am cleaning other walls as well.
For plaster ceiling - 2 layers of Nippon Matex, matte finish.
For Interior walls - 2 layers of Nippon Vinilex Easywash, semi-gloss.

Before

After
you paint yourself? ceiling you just use extended pole with roller?

toilet plaster also use nippon matex?

how much you bought and how many liter per bucket for both wall & ceiling paint?
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 10:17 AM

7,938 posts

Why need to mix? Just go ahead use the better paint. The interior wall paint acrylic based also has matte finishing. The acrylic will prevent moist to the ceiling as this paint is washable type for wall
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 10:19 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 10:15 AM)

how much you bought and how many liter per bucket for both wall & ceiling paint?
http://www.nipponpaint.com.sg/resources/paint-calculator/
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 10:23 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 16 2018, 10:17 AM)
Why need to mix? Just go ahead use the better paint. The interior wall paint acrylic based also has matte finishing. The acrylic will prevent moist to the ceiling as this paint is washable type for wall
existing plaster already painted. probably those cheap maxilite. so i ask can we mix paint by painting over cheap paint with better paint? will the paint still chip as the base paint is maxilite. if yes then no point using better paint.

also i was asking about how much he bought and how many liter per container. i notice if you buy 5L it's more expensive than 18L but not all shops carry the big containers.

looking for good place to buy. i only know people say Mr.Paint.
toonny
post Jan 16 2018, 10:33 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 10:15 AM)

Ya. DIY with the helps from my brother and dad.

Toilet already comes with plaster and painted by developer. Did not touch them since did nothing.

18L for Matex - around RM 65-70.
18L for Vinilex EasyWash - around RM250.

Plaster ceiling area, Matex (applied 2 layers and still got left over)
Total area around 700 sqft.

Walls, Vinilex EasyWash (applied 2 layers and still got left over)
Total area should be around 1100 sqft.

Hope the figures do provide you some idea how much coverage for 18L paint. No dilute with water.
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 10:38 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 10:23 AM)
existing plaster already painted. probably those cheap maxilite. so i ask can we mix paint by painting over cheap paint with better paint? will the paint still chip as the base paint is maxilite. if yes then no point using better paint.

also i was asking about how much he bought and how many liter per container. i notice if you buy 5L it's more expensive than 18L but not all shops carry the big containers.

I would presume the cheap paint adheres just fine on the ceiling. So, if I coat with good paint on top of it, it will protect moisture from to seep through to the ceiling, thus should be okay and will last ling. If you leave cheap paint to expose over time it cannot last long but painting over it will make it last... unless you paint over the bad conditioned paint. I would say painting over the newly paint surface would be okay.

Starting this year 2018, official 18L ICI paint for 18L one increased by about RM30, I was told last week but I did not ask how much the 18L cost sad.gif The 5L paint is around RM150. This is from small shop.

The Jotun paint is more expensive that ICI and Nippon, which are similarly priced. this was what I was told at authorized Mr. Paint distributor. They told me the 5L paint for ICI and Nippon is RM115.

Forgot to mention that these are interior acrylic based paint price.

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 16 2018, 10:39 AM
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 10:41 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jan 16 2018, 10:08 AM)
What you planning to do for this room, TS?
Paint whole room, replace ceiling, replace all lights, seal window.. I still have other rooms and area to do.
toonny
post Jan 16 2018, 10:42 AM

185 posts

Even the Nippon Matex also listed as Fungus resistance. So, I think it should have last you good for few years.

toonny
post Jan 16 2018, 10:49 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 10:41 AM)
Paint whole room, replace ceiling, replace all lights, seal window.. I still have other rooms and area to do.
I guess TS must be a very strong man.. tongue.gif

Damn tired and exhausting to DIY. But the great fun and achievement is just something cannot be describe by words.
Ofcoz, save $$$ is the main factor to me. blush.gif
Anything can DIY then I just DIY. Salute to TS for DIY-ing all the stuff. Geng Chow! bruce.gif notworthy.gif
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 11:19 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 10:23 AM)

I just checked with Mr Paint Shop Sdn Bhd, 18L perfect white RM230, contact Alec 017 7771738
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 11:24 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 16 2018, 10:49 AM)
I guess TS must be a very strong man..  tongue.gif

Damn tired and exhausting to DIY. But the great fun and achievement is just something cannot be describe by words.
Ofcoz, save $$$ is the main factor to me.  blush.gif
Anything can DIY then I just DIY. Salute to TS for DIY-ing all the stuff. Geng Chow!  bruce.gif  notworthy.gif
Yeah, achievement is the best thing.. Cost wise, yes, you'll save but still rely on how you plan it because you might end up spending too much on product wastage or machinery investment to earn the knowledge and experiences.

Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 11:25 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 11:24 AM)
Yeah, achievement is the best thing.. Cost wise, yes, you'll save but still rely on how you plan it because you might end up spending too much on product wastage or machinery investment to earn the knowledge and experiences.
I would say the machinery cost is probably less than labor cost laugh.gif
gugukrez
post Jan 16 2018, 12:43 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 10:02 AM)
If you don't try or start, you won't do it forever..

Currently I'm like working 12 hour for 7 days to rush my deadline..
landed house of course you got time..

My condo.. weekend no renovation.. even knock a nail also.. 30min later security come to check..
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 12:44 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 16 2018, 11:25 AM)
I would say the machinery cost is probably less than labor cost  laugh.gif
Yes if you buy what you need only. Else, you'll end up buying it for 'interest' purpose. tongue.gif

So far, I bought 1 impact drill for screwing, drilling & small chisel only..
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 12:56 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 12:44 PM)
Yes if you buy what you need only. Else, you'll end up buying it for 'interest' purpose.  tongue.gif

So far, I bought 1 impact drill for screwing, drilling & small chisel only..
I bought many tools which I think I will be useful from time to time. I have jigsaw, hammer drill (normal), rotary hammer drill (SDS), angle grinder, and oscillating tool. I think they still cover the cost if I have to hire people to do all those jobs around the house over times.

I probably need circular saw or maybe get holder for my grinder to use as circular saw. Hard to cut long plank straight with jigsaw. Angle cutting also not easy sad.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 08:19 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 16 2018, 10:33 AM)
Ya. DIY with the helps from my brother and dad.

Toilet already comes with plaster and painted by developer. Did not touch them since did nothing.

18L for Matex - around RM 65-70.
18L for Vinilex EasyWash - around RM250.

Plaster ceiling area, Matex (applied 2 layers and still got left over)
Total area around 700 sqft.

Walls, Vinilex EasyWash (applied 2 layers and still got left over)
Total area should be around 1100 sqft.

Hope the figures do provide you some idea how much coverage for 18L paint. No dilute with water.
are you around KL? where you buy the paint?
toonny
post Jan 17 2018, 10:21 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 08:19 PM)
are you around KL? where you buy the paint?
I'm from Puchong. Just walk-in to a few shops to survey. The price quoted is from the shop opposite Tesco Extra Puchong (Pusat Bandar Puchong).
Shop is same row to a few Chinese restaurant.

I got quoted RM270 for Vinilex from one of the Nippon shop at other area. shakehead.gif Decide to get from here since already cheaper. Not gonna waste few more trips to survey for cheaper price since the price fits my budget.

ozak
post Jan 17 2018, 10:35 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 16 2018, 10:49 AM)
I guess TS must be a very strong man..  tongue.gif

Ofcoz, save $$$ is the main factor to me.  blush.gif
Anything can DIY then I just DIY. Salute to TS for DIY-ing all the stuff. Geng Chow!  bruce.gif  notworthy.gif
DIY is fund and a hobby for some people.

In addition, you acquire a skill that probably can cari makan.

Basic painting don't need high skill. Unless you go for artistic look. With today tech, it even more easy.

I paint my whole house. Indoor and outdoor.
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 19 2018, 02:01 PM

637 posts

*Updated thread for 19/01/2018.

Working on second momentum, 7m first layer width & 2m width second layer. Tonight will finish up second layer if allow.
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 23 2018, 10:59 AM

637 posts

Updated up to 23rd January 2018*

- Painted first layer of my ceiling.

Rough roller works well, finish it within 1.5 hour for 215sqrft room. Aiming to complete this room today.
cyberixus
post Jan 24 2018, 10:35 PM

apple newbie
1,890 posts

I have a question.
1.Primer Paint
2.Skim Coat
3.Paint

Which one apply first?
1-2-3 OR 2-1-3 ?

TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 24 2018, 11:49 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ Jan 24 2018, 10:35 PM)
I have a question.
1.Primer Paint
2.Skim Coat
3.Paint

Which one apply first?
1-2-3 OR 2-1-3 ?
White paint > Primer Paint/Base colour paint > Top coat

Or

Primer/Base colour paint > Top coat

If you have no confident to cover the existing wall colour with Primer Paint or Base colour paint then go for white paint first.
Zot
post Jan 25 2018, 07:57 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 24 2018, 11:49 PM)
White paint > Primer Paint/Base colour paint > Top coat

Or

Primer/Base colour paint > Top coat
If you have no confident to cover the existing wall colour with Primer Paint or Base colour paint then go for white paint first.
White paint? Primer is generally white in color already. However, it can be tinted to match the final color so that the finishing will have no problem to be evenly toned.

Most important is the type of primer for different purpose. Wet or damp surface need to use primer for damp surface. Sometime people use something like plaster to patch uneven part of the dry wall. This part will be more porous than the rest. So, when priming the wall will look blotchy. This can be solved using a primer meant for that specific purpose. It would be slightly more expensive. There is also primer for heavily stained wall. smile.gif
Zot
post Jan 25 2018, 08:05 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ Jan 24 2018, 10:35 PM)
I have a question.
1.Primer Paint
2.Skim Coat
3.Paint

Which one apply first?
1-2-3 OR 2-1-3 ?
Skim coat is what people use for filling void like nail holes etc. This is what contractor use to fill gap between plaster ceiling or gypsum wall board. It is not paint as far as I know. Yes, you need to do this first to smoothen the surface to be paint.

I would just user primer>paint>paint.

Don't paint it too thick on one go, else the paint will look like orange peel. Paint one layer and after the surface is lightly dry, paint another layer. This is what normally the instruction said on the paint can but sometimes I am lazy biggrin.gif
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 25 2018, 08:44 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 25 2018, 07:57 AM)
White paint? Primer is generally white in color already. However, it can be tinted to match the final color so that the finishing will have no problem to be evenly toned.

Most important is the type of primer for different purpose. Wet or damp surface need to use primer for damp surface. Sometime people use something like plaster to patch uneven part of the dry wall. This part will be more porous than the rest. So, when priming the wall will look blotchy. This can be solved using a primer meant for that specific purpose. It would be slightly more expensive. There is also primer for heavily stained wall.  smile.gif
Keyword: "If you have no confident"

Like I said, you can go straight with primer first also. It's up to you to decide, I prefer to patch up all holes and paint a thin layer of white first before going for Primer/Base colour. Since 1 liter of Primer/Base colour is quite limited.
hjh87
post Feb 24 2018, 04:32 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 3 2018, 05:24 PM)
Yeap, all 4 borders have taped. So don't worry..

Hi there, may I ask why the roller is not working on your old ceiling. The paint will not apply easily to the ceiling??
Zot
post Feb 24 2018, 05:33 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Feb 24 2018, 04:32 PM)
Hi there, may I ask why the roller is not working on your old ceiling. The paint will not apply easily to the ceiling??
Try wipe the ceiling with damp cloth first smile.gif
TSSheepGeeks
post Feb 26 2018, 09:23 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Feb 24 2018, 04:32 PM)
I found it later on, course roller must be used because it can provide more volume of paint to be absorb & stick by the ceiling.

When I use fine roller, the paint is very thin and require many layer.
TSSheepGeeks
post Sep 3 2018, 02:01 PM

637 posts

Thanks everyone here for supporting.. This project has completed in the "meantime", I really need a rest after 8 month of continuously work.

My living room room is finally completed with all my sofas and TV on. I'm just waiting for the glass door contractor to install the sliding door to enclose my living room for air con.

Upcoming DIY?

Yes, probably a DIY fish pond with waterfall and I will then focus on DIY car stuff.
Kaka23
post Mar 21 2020, 01:51 PM

8,259 posts

Hi.. would want to know if using Matex white paint, we still need to add water or thinner when we want to use it?
Zot
post Mar 21 2020, 02:05 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 21 2020, 01:51 PM)
Hi.. would want to know if using Matex white paint, we still need to add water or thinner when we want to use it?
Tinner is for oil paint but yours is acrylic water based paint right?

https://www.nipponpaint.com.my/assets/produ...pKey=1066336991
Kaka23
post Mar 21 2020, 03:05 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 21 2020, 02:05 PM)
Tinner is for oil paint but yours is acrylic water based paint right?

https://www.nipponpaint.com.my/assets/produ...pKey=1066336991
Thanks bro..
ozak
post Mar 22 2020, 08:02 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 21 2020, 01:51 PM)
Matex is a cheap paint and diluted already. (Thinning out. Hence the cheaper price)

So just paint as it is.
Kaka23
post Mar 22 2020, 10:26 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 22 2020, 08:02 PM)
Matex is a cheap paint and diluted already. (Thinning out. Hence the cheaper price)

So just paint as it is.
Quote hard to paint as I think it is still think... maybe I am using the wrong brush??! hmm.gif
ozak
post Mar 22 2020, 10:29 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 22 2020, 10:26 PM)
Quote hard to paint as I think it is still think... maybe I am using the wrong brush??!  hmm.gif
5Liter?
Kaka23
post Mar 23 2020, 07:50 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 22 2020, 10:29 PM)
5Liter?
yup... I aleady open the cannister, hope it wont dry up so fast
ozak
post Mar 23 2020, 09:36 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 23 2020, 07:50 AM)
yup... I aleady open the cannister, hope it wont dry up so fast
It won't be dry up as long as the cover is close.

You can add very small amount of water. Too much will cause you paint 2x.

You can just brush directly or roller without dilute. Emulsion paint is a bit sloppy like. Not like oil paint.
BoomerangCircles
post Mar 23 2020, 09:58 AM

244 posts

cxzczxczxczmmmmmmmmmmm
Zot
post Mar 23 2020, 12:29 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 22 2020, 10:26 PM)
Quote hard to paint as I think it is still think... maybe I am using the wrong brush??!  hmm.gif
Water based on wall use roller brush is easier. Roll not too fast as it will sputter all over places. Thicker roller holds more paint but too much on it will be dripping. Adjust accordingly. As you paint the paint will get thicker compare to when you opened it. JUst add a bit of water it you felt so.
Kaka23
post Mar 23 2020, 04:33 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 23 2020, 09:36 AM)
It won't be dry up as long as the cover is close.

You can add very small amount of water. Too much will cause you paint 2x.

You can just brush directly or roller without dilute. Emulsion paint is a bit sloppy like. Not like oil paint.
Thanks bro for the advise... appreciate it
Kaka23
post Mar 23 2020, 04:34 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 23 2020, 12:29 PM)
Water based on wall use roller brush is easier. Roll not too fast as it will sputter all over places. Thicker roller holds more paint but too much on it will be dripping. Adjust accordingly. As you paint the paint will get thicker compare to when you opened it. JUst add a bit of water it you felt so.
OK bro... thanks notworthy.gif
Mijac
post Apr 1 2020, 06:20 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 23 2020, 12:29 PM)
Good tip to note.
barca96
post May 5 2020, 09:15 PM

980 posts

Hi guys. I would like to paint my new house. There is already a white color paint on it but the quality is not so good. Definitely not washable. It is by SKK.

I think I will go for Nippon Odourless Air Care as adviced by Nippon. It is easier to clean compared to their "easy wash" line which surprised me.

I watched a video on YouTube. This guy sand the wall, paints the primer, then sand again, first coat, sand and then 2nd coat.

1) Is it necessary to sand it multiple times?

2) Is it ok to paint at night? I am planning to paint between 9pm-12am.

3) Which roller is the best for water based paint?

4) Is there a particular shop in Klang Valley besides Paint Man that sells a lot of painting tools such as brush, roller, paint?

5) What is the correct step for my new condo? Sand, primer, 1st coat and then 2nd coat?

This post has been edited by barca96: May 5 2020, 09:25 PM
stormer.lyn
post May 5 2020, 09:34 PM

1,132 posts

I'd like to give anyone some advice for painting water based paint.

Always have a wet rag available, and immediately wipe up any paint droplets or spills, before it dries.

If you have already dried paint (water or oil based) you can remove it with thinner and a rag. But only if the floor is resistant to thinner (Tile floor okay, laminate/wood cannot)
Zot
post May 5 2020, 10:41 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ May 5 2020, 09:34 PM)
I'd like to give anyone some advice for painting water based paint.

Always have a wet rag available, and immediately wipe up any paint droplets or spills, before it dries.

If you have already dried paint (water or oil based) you can remove it with thinner and a rag. But only if the floor is resistant to thinner (Tile floor okay, laminate/wood cannot)
Oil based paint can easily removed with turpentine even overnight. If it has been dried too long then you probably need stronger remover like acetone (nail polish is actually acetone as well) These material are safe for laminated floor.

Well, just cover the floor with plastic sheet before paint to reduce tiny droplets especially from paint roller. smile.gif
Zot
post May 5 2020, 10:54 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ May 5 2020, 09:15 PM)
Hi guys. I would like to paint my new house. There is already a white color paint on it but the quality is not so good. Definitely not washable. It is by SKK.

I think I will go for Nippon Odourless Air Care as adviced by Nippon. It is easier to clean compared to their "easy wash" line which surprised me.

I watched a video on YouTube. This guy sand the wall, paints the primer, then sand again, first coat, sand and then 2nd coat.

1) Is it necessary to sand it multiple times?

2) Is it ok to paint at night? I am planning to paint between 9pm-12am.

3) Which roller is the best for water based paint?

4) Is there a particular shop in Klang Valley besides Paint Man that sells a lot of painting tools such as brush, roller, paint?

5) What is the correct step for my new condo? Sand, primer, 1st coat and then 2nd coat?

Painting of cement wall? No need to sand anything. Since your wall still new, just paint on it. Of too dusty, just wipe with damp cloth.

Water based paint no need to worry if paint at night since it is wwater based anyway if you worry about humidity. Normally people will avoid paint wood if it is damp.

I think you can Google for all your question here. Since it is already newly painted, no need primer. If the wall got stained or paint become chalky, then it is better to prime it first.

Smooth surface can use thinner roller but rough surface need thicker roller so that paint can go into rough surface.
barca96
post May 7 2020, 11:14 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 5 2020, 10:54 PM)
Painting of cement wall? No need to sand anything. Since your wall still new, just paint on it. Of too dusty, just wipe with damp cloth.

Water based paint no need to worry if paint at night since it is water based anyway if you worry about humidity. Normally people will avoid paint wood if it is damp.

I think you can Google for all your question here. Since it is already newly painted, no need primer. If the wall got stained or paint become chalky, then it is better to prime it first.

Smooth surface can use thinner roller but rough surface need thicker roller so that paint can go into rough surface.
Thank you very much for your advice.

In every video that I watched and articles that I read they all mentioned primer but perhaps because it is not a clean wall.
Mine is not exactly brand new though. House was completed in 1Q 2018. Should I prime or can paint right away?

This post has been edited by barca96: May 7 2020, 11:17 AM
Zot
post May 7 2020, 11:21 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ May 7 2020, 11:14 AM)
Thank you very much for your advice.

In every video that I watched and articles that I read they all mentioned primer but perhaps because it is not a clean wall.
Mine is not exactly brand new though. House was completed in 1Q 2018. Should I prime or can paint right away?
My house was no less than 10 years and the outdoor was recently painted. The painter rub his hand and say the old paint is still good since his hand not powdery. He just water-jet the wall and start using paint straight away. No primer.
barca96
post May 7 2020, 05:48 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 7 2020, 11:21 AM)
My house was no less than 10 years and the outdoor was recently painted. The painter rub his hand and say the old paint is still good since his hand not powdery. He just water-jet the wall and start using paint straight away. No primer.
Mine is a a condo = interior. So as long as it’s not dusty I won’t need to use primer?
Zot
post May 8 2020, 07:52 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ May 7 2020, 05:48 PM)
Mine is a a condo = interior. So as long as it’s not dusty I won’t need to use primer?
Yes.

For me primer is for unpainted wall because it will seal the wall and make it non-porous that the paint will have even finish for one reason.
Primer also can cover stain so that the wall finishing will look evenly toned with no darker spot on stained portion.
chilskater
post May 10 2020, 03:39 AM

1,124 posts

Any wall primer will do for outdoor concrete wall? I just replacing steel gate to concrete wall...
Zot
post May 10 2020, 06:47 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ May 10 2020, 03:39 AM)
Any wall primer will do for outdoor concrete wall? I just replacing steel gate to concrete wall...
There are primer meant for outdoor and indoor wall. The formulation is different probably to fungus prevention etc. Anyway you can still apply the indoor one to outdoor and vice versa.
Roxue
post May 19 2020, 09:05 PM

41 posts

Bro, can u share where did u bought the wood panels for the study platform?
Planning to DIY a single bed platform with storages hmm.gif

TSSheepGeeks
post May 19 2020, 09:15 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(Roxue @ May 19 2020, 09:05 PM)
Bro, can u share where did u bought the wood panels for the study platform?
Planning to DIY a single bed platform with storages  hmm.gif

I bought it from Mesmenang Sdn Bhd at Jln Kebun, they provide free delivery for certain areas.

They have different thickness, I'm using 1", Very heavy but 0 deflection, my frame was spaced around 400~500mm though..
Roxue
post May 19 2020, 09:32 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ May 19 2020, 09:15 PM)
I bought it from Mesmenang Sdn Bhd at Jln Kebun, they provide free delivery for certain areas.

They have different thickness, I'm using 1", Very heavy but 0 deflection, my frame was spaced around 400~500mm though..
Nice. Gonna drop by the shop hopefully soon.

Can u share a pic of the finished platform? Must be cool.
peterkinglim
post Apr 7 2021, 03:40 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ May 8 2020, 07:52 AM)
Yes.

For me primer is for unpainted wall because it will seal the wall and make it non-porous that the paint will have even finish for one reason.
Primer also can cover stain so that the wall finishing will look evenly toned with no darker spot on stained portion.
I just started painting using the Nippon momento paint. My wall existing colour is light cream colour. I am wondering whether is it necessary to paint two coat of primer or just one coat will do. TIA
TSSheepGeeks
post Apr 7 2021, 03:54 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(peterkinglim @ Apr 7 2021, 03:40 PM)
I just started painting using the Nippon momento paint. My wall existing colour is light cream colour. I am wondering whether is it necessary to paint two coat of primer or just one coat will do. TIA
Hi, paint 1 layer is enough unless you mix the paint with water or the wall condition is not good (i.e. water mark)

0.0764sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:51 AM