DIY Home Renovation, Solo DIY Diary [COMPLETED]

Zot
post Jan 11 2018, 11:30 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 4 2018, 11:01 AM)
My ceiling is around 2.8 - 2.9m height, depending on which area. I bought extendable pole at Mr DIY RM10.90 and it's enough. Problem is, if we paint the ceiling by standing on the floor and using the pole, it's hard to apply balance pressure throughout the painting. So, after painting, I can see the unbalance patch. This time, I want to repaint the ceiling by standing on a platform, so I can shorten the pole. Easier to apply balance pressure. But maybe it's just me, have weak arms.  blush.gif  Pick a good roller.

Mine is landed, so I can't repaint the stair case area where the ceiling is too high and dangerous. Luckily the old color at this area is good, so no need to repaint.
Working with long pole is tiring and strain your arm. Remember that we are not doing this as professional and not used to it laugh.gif
hutazi
post Jan 11 2018, 04:00 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 1 2018, 10:49 PM)
7/1/2018
- Installed new ceiling (80%)

um. this is plaster ceiling or wood? doesnt look like you added any support other than the existing. can this tahan? i think will start drooping down as time goes by.

This post has been edited by hutazi: Jan 11 2018, 04:01 PM
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 11 2018, 05:12 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Jan 11 2018, 04:00 PM)
um. this is plaster ceiling or wood? doesnt look like you added any support other than the existing. can this tahan? i think will start drooping down as time goes by.
Don't worry, the existing wood frame (2" X 4") is strong. I added few more support points for the ceiling board mounted to the frame as well. Each board (4' X 3') is secured with at least 8~9 screws.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 15 2018, 09:41 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 4 2018, 09:58 PM)
It's okay to ask.

20liters for RM260+ if I'm not mistaken. You may add some water, like 5~10% to dilute it for easier to paint.
bro just checking where you got the paints?

i just surveyed around seems some shops carry 5-7L paint how you find 20L?

Perfect White is around rm100 for 5L, yours 20 liters rm260 is very cheap.

maxilite 7L rm35

Easy Wash 5L rm100

Momento 1L rm120

i'm not sure which paint to use for matte white on plaster ceiling...
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 08:38 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 15 2018, 09:41 PM)

maxilite 7L rm35

Easy Wash 5L rm100

Momento 1L rm120

CSM Kota Kemuning, but better go Kedai Cat Boon Seng @ Klang.. I got a new momento there layer 1 5L + layer 2 1L around 180~190 only..
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 08:42 AM

2,948 posts

oh Klang abit far. anyone know how's the price for Mr.Paint?
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 08:45 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 15 2018, 09:41 PM)

maxilite 7L rm35

Easy Wash 5L rm100

Momento 1L rm120

I think plaster ceiling use the same paint as your brick/cement wall.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 08:47 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 16 2018, 08:45 AM)
I think plaster ceiling use the same paint as your brick/cement wall.
plaster ceiling is white. the walls are yellowish white. or you saying plaster ceiling should match color of wall? if like that the cost of paint will be very expensive as matte white is alot cheaper than wall paints. don't think they have matte yellowish white right?
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 09:02 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 08:47 AM)
plaster ceiling is white. the walls are yellowish white. or you saying plaster ceiling should match color of wall? if like that the cost of paint will be very expensive as matte white is alot cheaper than wall paints. don't think they have matte yellowish white right?
I did not mean the same color but the paint type for the ceiling is the same as the interior cement wall paint. Just buy the pure white like this

https://www.lazada.com.my/dulux-18l-maxilit...0180116010213:s
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 09:06 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 08:42 AM)
oh Klang abit far. anyone know how's the price for Mr.Paint?
If you're on budget, just use maxilite lo.. Most contractors and developer also using it..
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 09:08 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 09:06 AM)
If you're on budget, just use maxilite lo.. Most contractors and developer also using it..
i know, that is super budget. but how's the durability? will the paint come off after sometime like what we see in shopping malls especially the toilet?

also can you mix maxilite with more expensive paint? like 1 use for 1st coat another for 2nd coat? if yes better paint goes 1st or 2nd?
gugukrez
post Jan 16 2018, 09:29 AM

943 posts

Actually i also got idea to DIY my house.. first of all will personally change the plaster ceiling then hack floor tiles and replace a nicer 1..

but.. time..

dont have time for it..
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 09:41 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 09:08 AM)
i know, that is super budget. but how's the durability? will the paint come off after sometime like what we see in shopping malls especially the toilet?

also can you mix maxilite with more expensive paint? like 1 use for 1st coat another for 2nd coat? if yes better paint goes 1st or 2nd?
shopping malls issue is due to air con pipe condensation & humid in the toilet. They should use weather proof paint in the toilet.

My advice is paint only 1 layer with something more reliable. You'll break your back if you paint 2 layers
TSSheepGeeks
post Jan 16 2018, 10:02 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jan 16 2018, 09:29 AM)
Actually i also got idea to DIY my house.. first of all will personally change the plaster ceiling then hack floor tiles and replace a nicer 1..

but.. time..

dont have time for it..
If you don't try or start, you won't do it forever..

Currently I'm like working 12 hour for 7 days to rush my deadline..

nebula87
post Jan 16 2018, 10:08 AM

Fg = mg
1,423 posts

What you planning to do for this room, TS?

toonny
post Jan 16 2018, 10:13 AM

185 posts

Tough to get the answer you want here as everyone has their own preference. Just make sure you clean your paint surface before applying new coat of paint, be it 1 or 2 layer.

For my scenario, mine is new house. I did plaster ceiling and contractor want to charge RM1500 for labour, just to repaint the whole house. shakehead.gif

I feel the paint is dusty and clean it with a damp cloth, I believe I've left it to dry for at least 1 hour as I am cleaning other walls as well.
For plaster ceiling - 2 layers of Nippon Matex, matte finish.
For Interior walls - 2 layers of Nippon Vinilex Easywash, semi-gloss.

Before
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

After
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 10:13 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jan 16 2018, 09:41 AM)
shopping malls issue is due to air con pipe condensation & humid in the toilet. They should use weather proof paint in the toilet.

My advice is paint only 1 layer with something more reliable. You'll break your back if you paint 2 layers
what paint did you use to paint toilet plaster ceiling?

last time people say after done plaster ceiling have to water proof with 1 layer of primer then paint.

but now contractor all say after plaster dry just paint 2 layers of water paint. they say if you waterproof the plaster next time need to open up will be difficult. not sure how true is that?
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2018, 10:15 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Jan 16 2018, 10:13 AM)
Tough to get the answer you want here as everyone has their own preference. Just make sure you clean your paint surface before applying new coat of paint, be it 1 or 2 layer.

For my scenario, mine is new house. I did plaster ceiling and contractor want to charge RM1500 for labour, just to repaint the whole house.  shakehead.gif

I feel the paint is dusty and clean it with a damp cloth, I believe I've left it to dry for at least 1 hour as I am cleaning other walls as well.
For plaster ceiling - 2 layers of Nippon Matex, matte finish.
For Interior walls - 2 layers of Nippon Vinilex Easywash, semi-gloss.

Before

After
you paint yourself? ceiling you just use extended pole with roller?

toilet plaster also use nippon matex?

how much you bought and how many liter per bucket for both wall & ceiling paint?
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 10:17 AM

7,938 posts

Why need to mix? Just go ahead use the better paint. The interior wall paint acrylic based also has matte finishing. The acrylic will prevent moist to the ceiling as this paint is washable type for wall
Zot
post Jan 16 2018, 10:19 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 16 2018, 10:15 AM)
you paint yourself? ceiling you just use extended pole with roller?

toilet plaster also use nippon matex?

how much you bought and how many liter per bucket for both wall & ceiling paint?
http://www.nipponpaint.com.sg/resources/paint-calculator/

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:18 PM