133 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.30, Ultrabook/Gaming Laptop

b3arbear
post Apr 27 2018, 02:40 PM

115 posts

I wanted to have a laptop for gaming and video editing.

budget about 4k

should I go for thunderobot ST PLUS or Xiao MI notebook pro? or any alternative?
ZM Fong
post Apr 27 2018, 02:53 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(b3arbear @ Apr 27 2018, 02:40 PM)
I wanted to have a laptop for gaming and video editing.

budget about 4k

should I go for thunderobot ST PLUS or Xiao MI notebook pro? or any alternative?
ST Plus is based on N850HK1. That model runs VERY hot. Even a repaste couldn't help much. Xiaomi Notebook Pro is another story since the specs are not comparable. It has good build quality, display, input devices, battery life and cooling (8250U can be tuned to 7700HQ).

May I know what games do you play?
b3arbear
post Apr 27 2018, 03:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 27 2018, 02:53 PM)
ST Plus is based on N850HK1. That model runs VERY hot. Even a repaste couldn't help much. Xiaomi Notebook Pro is another story since the specs are not comparable. It has good build quality, display, input devices, battery life and cooling (8250U can be tuned to 7700HQ).

May I know what games do you play?
sorry, this is my first time buying laptop.. runs very hot means the laptop will be very hot if use for lets say 1-2 hours? cz I went to youtube, it said the fans did cool down the laptop and doesn't feel hot.. repaste meant what?

can notebook pro play game and compatible to use in Malaysia?

games - only dota 2, as at now.
ZM Fong
post Apr 27 2018, 03:54 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(b3arbear @ Apr 27 2018, 03:18 PM)
sorry, this is my first time buying laptop.. runs very hot means the laptop will be very hot if use for lets say 1-2 hours? cz I went to youtube, it said the fans did cool down the laptop and doesn't feel hot.. repaste meant what?

can notebook pro play game and compatible to use in Malaysia?

games - only dota 2, as at now.
For a mediocre cooling design, even in gaming CPU and GPU temps are already high (~80℃). If under heavy stress test the cooling system will die. Poor thermals lead to high inner temps, high surface temps and high fan noise while under load. Every laptop has different cooling performance, check reviews from Notebookcheck or Ultrabookreview (or notebookreview forum)

N850HK1: cooling design fault: fans too small and not powerful enough (chosen the wrong fans), tripod heatsink design, poor airflow etc.

Helios 300: Outdated cooling design, CPU runs hot as a result

MSI GL/GP: low quality thermal paste, fairly thin chassis

Asus GL: low quality thermal paste, thin chassis, undersized heatsink and insufficient heatpipes (in some models)

Repaste means replace thermal paste.

If only Dota then MX150 can handle it, no need 1050/1050TI. Thus the Notebook Pro can handle it. You need adapter for the plug (China plug), maybe need reinstall Windows too if you don't want Chinese Windows, otherwise compatible. One thing special about this laptop is, you can tune the 8250U CPU to match 7700HQ performance by undervolting and increasing PL1 (TDP) limit via Intel XTU. (may need a repaste if the thermal paste job is bad)

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Apr 27 2018, 03:56 PM
broga_night
post Apr 27 2018, 05:28 PM

101 posts

hi all,can sugest any 17.3 inch laptop tat avialble in malaysia..my budget around 3k++...i dont mine it is old model or even second hand...not for gaming, juz office and autocad...thanks
clon12
post Apr 28 2018, 03:10 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

Need a recommendation here

1. Preferred brand : Reliable after sales service
2. Budget : RM3500
3. Usage : Video editing using Adobe Premiere, Photoshop/Illustrator, office works
4. Screen Size : 15.6"

Did some lazada searching and found the Lenovo Y520 and HP Omen 15 (2017) both fits the budget range, but both laptop has display that is subpar or mediocre at best. Y520 has i7-7700HQ and 1050Ti while HP Omen has i7-7700HQ and 1050. Would like to get some other opinions.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by clon12: Apr 28 2018, 03:33 PM
ZM Fong
post Apr 28 2018, 03:56 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Apr 28 2018, 03:10 PM)
Need a recommendation here

1. Preferred brand : Reliable after sales service
2. Budget : RM3500
3. Usage : Video editing using Adobe Premiere, Photoshop/Illustrator, office works
4. Screen Size : 15.6"

Did some lazada searching and found the Lenovo Y520 and HP Omen 15 (2017) both fits the budget range, but both laptop has display that is subpar or mediocre at best. Y520 has i7-7700HQ and 1050Ti while HP Omen has i7-7700HQ and 1050. Would like to get some other opinions.

Thanks!
HP Omen 15 2017 has a good IPS panel but OKish cooling and build quality. Get a new model with CFL-H CPU like Dell G7. They have good after sales service (bad service can still occur if you're unlucky)
clon12
post Apr 28 2018, 04:47 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 28 2018, 03:56 PM)
HP Omen 15 2017 has a good IPS panel but OKish cooling and build quality. Get a new model with CFL-H CPU like Dell G7. They have good after sales service (bad service can still occur if you're unlucky)
Slightly out of budget, but will need to wait for reviews out on that model (also to wait it officially available on our shores). Apparently the i5-8300H is > i7-7700HQ.
myway1985
post Apr 28 2018, 05:45 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(broga_night @ Apr 27 2018, 05:28 PM)
hi all,can sugest any 17.3 inch laptop tat avialble in malaysia..my budget around 3k++...i dont mine it is old model or even second hand...not for gaming, juz office and autocad...thanks
Dell Inspiron 17 (5770) 5000 Series
Laptop (i5-
8250U/8G/128G+1TB/17.3"FHD/W10/1
YR) Silver

chokie
post Apr 28 2018, 10:54 PM

61 posts

Preferred brand : DELL,HP,Lenovo
Budget : RM1500
Usage : Computing
Screen Size : 14 or 15
GPU : any
CPU : any
RAM : any

thank you

ZM Fong
post Apr 28 2018, 10:57 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(chokie @ Apr 28 2018, 10:54 PM)
Preferred brand : DELL,HP,Lenovo
Budget : RM1500
Usage : Computing
Screen Size : 14 or 15
GPU : any
CPU : any
RAM : any

thank you
Used Thinkpad like T430/T520 would be my choices, much better than all 14/15 inch options in this price range.
fish133
post Apr 29 2018, 03:31 AM

1. Preferred brand :any
2. Budget :below 2k
3. Usage : normal uni usage , office software
4. Screen Size :any
Sufi pls recommend me a laptop for my sister up coming uni life , I was for quoted some HP with 6th gen i3 for around 1.8 k but I think I still can get something better for that price . Search internet but noticed that laptops doesn’t get advertised much compare to desktop . Plus the specs are abit confusing . Pls also show the link to the product you are recommending .tqtqtq
toktok
post Apr 29 2018, 06:40 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 27 2018, 09:45 AM)
Reliability mainly depends on luck and how you use/keep it.

Envy 13, UX331UN - mediocre cooling (due to small chassis), everything pretty much the same
Acer Swift 5 - OKish battery life, low brightness, high sRGB touch display
Acer Spin 5 13 - base unit has some flex

Every model has its own pros and cons. Check NBC reviews to compare
Thank you on your info and recomendation. I think i will go for Asus UX331UN. Read mostly comment good quality screen. I like their distribution of ports. Left and right side on the notebook.
ZM Fong
post Apr 29 2018, 11:15 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(fish133 @ Apr 29 2018, 03:31 AM)
1. Preferred brand :any
2. Budget :below 2k
3. Usage : normal uni usage , office software
4. Screen Size :any
Sufi pls recommend me a laptop for my sister up coming uni life , I was for quoted some HP with 6th gen i3 for around 1.8 k but I think I still can get something better for that price . Search internet but noticed that laptops doesn’t get advertised much compare to desktop . Plus the specs are abit confusing . Pls also show the link to the product you are recommending .tqtqtq
Buying laptop isn't just only specs

New: Lenovo Ideapad 120s, Chuwi stuffs
Used/refurb (1 yr warranty), much better choice IMO: Thinkpad T430, T520, T440s. Just need to add new battery, maybe SSD and some extra RAM
Davird
post Apr 29 2018, 02:45 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 26 2018, 10:24 PM)
You don't need overkill performance for your needs. I would priority display quality (after looking at your usage). Asus UX430UQ with i3 7100U would be my choice. If you need 8GB RAM, Asus UX430UA with i3 7100U.
was looking around lowyat yesterday to get a feel for the laptop.
why the shop guys keep pushing for me to get
lenovo legion y520 i5 and acer swift 5?
They said this is better and priced more or less the same as ux430ua?
They just made me confused. can please let me know the difference.

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 29 2018, 02:45 PM
ZM Fong
post Apr 29 2018, 03:05 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Davird @ Apr 29 2018, 02:45 PM)
was looking around lowyat yesterday to get a feel for the laptop.
why the shop guys keep pushing for me to get
lenovo legion y520 i5 and acer swift 5?
They said this is better and priced more or less the same as ux430ua?
They just made me confused. can please let me know the difference.
UX430UA and Swift 5 are Ultrabooks. Y520 is gaming laptop with dGPU. So not a good comparison. Do not listen to shop guys.

UX430UA has a good display. Swift 5 has a good display too with touchscreen enabled (with good contrast and sRGB) but the max brightness is too low. Y520 has entry level IPS with low sRGB and OKish contrast.

UX430UA with i3 is slower than 8250U in Swift 5 and 7300HQ in Y520. 8250U is generally faster than 7300HQ, however that's not the case with Swift 5 due to mediocre cooling (due to thin profile).

Swift 5 and UX430UA are WAY more portable in terms of weight and thickness.

UX430UA has good battery life. Swift 5 has OKish battery life while Y520 has mediocre battery life.

Y520 has the worst build quality among the 3 options (still good for gaming laptop). UX430UA have aluminum frame+plastic body. Swift 5 has full metal body.

There may be more differences but these are what I remember. Look at Ultrabookreview and Notebookcheck reviews to compare.
Davird
post Apr 29 2018, 08:13 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 29 2018, 03:05 PM)
UX430UA and Swift 5 are Ultrabooks. Y520 is gaming laptop with dGPU. So not a good comparison. Do not listen to shop guys.

UX430UA has a good display. Swift 5 has a good display too with touchscreen enabled (with good contrast and sRGB) but the max brightness is too low. Y520 has entry level IPS with low sRGB and OKish contrast.

UX430UA with i3 is slower than 8250U in Swift 5 and 7300HQ in Y520. 8250U is generally faster than 7300HQ, however that's not the case with Swift 5 due to mediocre cooling (due to thin profile).

Swift 5 and UX430UA are WAY more portable in terms of weight and thickness.

UX430UA has good battery life. Swift 5 has OKish battery life while Y520 has mediocre battery life.

Y520 has the worst build quality among the 3 options (still good for gaming laptop). UX430UA have aluminum frame+plastic body. Swift 5 has full metal body.

There may be more differences but these are what I remember. Look at Ultrabookreview and Notebookcheck reviews to compare.
Ok got it. It's more clearer to me now.
I don't need a gaming laptop. I don't need touchscreen. I don't need a super fast laptop as well.
All I need is a good display, good build.
Ux430ua serves my purpose and it's a bit cheaper than swift 5, That difference in money can go for a better ext drive.
so I guess ux430ua it is.

Thanks again for your time and explanations. It's really helpful.
adam_lew85
post Apr 30 2018, 12:08 AM

780 posts

Hi all sifus, currently looking for a gaming laptop that can play most AAA games from medium to high settings:

Brand: any

Screen size: any (Most of the time will connect to TV)

GPU: At least GTX 1050TI

Budget: Around RM3500 + -
shirogawawa
post Apr 30 2018, 11:07 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(adam_lew85 @ Apr 30 2018, 12:08 AM)
Hi all sifus, currently looking for a gaming laptop that can play most AAA games from medium to high settings:

Brand: any

Screen size: any (Most of the time will connect to TV)

GPU: At least GTX 1050TI

Budget: Around RM3500 + -
Thunderobot 911
noloveishere
post Apr 30 2018, 11:33 AM

119 posts

1. Preferred brand : Any with good after sales service
2. Budget : RM1500
3. Usage : College (arts foundation) so should be fairly light apps like Google docs and spreadsheets.
4. Screen Size : 14 preferably, less is a bit small and more can be too heavy

Looking for something for college. Quite light usage, already have desktop for games and whatnot. Prefer something that is emphasized on being light and portable, and has ssd. Also a good battery life.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by noloveishere: Apr 30 2018, 11:38 AM

133 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:07 PM