Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

Harddisk
post Oct 3 2018, 05:12 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Oct 3 2018, 11:39 AM)
Anyone using Yamaha YSP-2700 soundbar? Or anyone has any good soundbar recommendation which are not too expensive? Thanks.
Me! But I didn't get this TV, cause it only support DD and DTS.

Though AVFAN did mention that sound output still possible from files coded in DD+/Atmos/DTS-HD and etc, if you use Kodi.
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2018, 11:04 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 3 2018, 06:54 PM)
android7 was easier... kodi could read ext hdd, playback any file, give up to dd5.1 audio if passthru n transcoding set on.

recent android8 update messed it up, need to go thru es file explorer, choose kodi player to get there.

above is for component home theater.

HITB or soundbar - no idea... i usually do not comment on things i hv not used before...
That soundbar has ARC support. Should perform similarly like receiver with ARC.

I play my media via NAS. No headache on accessing sdcard folder on future update.

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Oct 3 2018, 07:26 PM)
How's the sound quality? Is it only suitable for certain room shape & size?
SQ is not bad, but the advance feature of this soundbar is its sound projection tech. Rectangular room is the best. Download the manual online and have a look first.

Bring this to the Yamaha thread instead should you wanna continue the discussion.

Harddisk
post Oct 4 2018, 10:11 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 4 2018, 09:32 AM)
i just googled this soundbar... cost rm4-5k.... more than the TV!

with such a costly bar, i do not understand why u wud want to use the tv (your sony) as a player for playback.

unless the files are all small n low level... but then u hv a NAS.

another rm500 or so for a separate player, u get all the video and audio passthru player=>soundbar->tv.

that way, u can play anything w/o hassle, get best performance for tv, no need to use arc with tv passthru restrictions.

the tv player video quality is nowhere near what other players can deliver; and i am sure audio will be better, even for a soundbar.
Does the box allow 1 remote to control TV/soundbar on off automatically?

Besides, sometimes I do switch off the soundbar and use the TV speakers. Mainly for Youtube videos. biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2018, 04:40 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 4 2018, 10:20 AM)
as for tv youtube-audio... that is not an issue - whenever u use youtube of the tv, u get audio from tv, nothing to do with soundbar or box player.
What I meant was, if I were to use an Android box, with SB connected to box and when I watch Youtube using box (cause I don't wanna use too many remotes), I can't off SB cause will become no sound. laugh.gif

Unless I switch to using TV's Youtube, which I need to whip out TV's remote.
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2018, 04:42 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 4 2018, 11:17 AM)
I hv used himedia q10pro for 1.5 years now.

For local playback, it is among the best players u can find.

More so if u r into big full bluray 4k hdr files with hd audio.

To my eyes, himedia q10pro native player output is superior to kodi app player... or any other app player.

Tv player.. to me, it is poor enuf that i never use it!

Android version is fine, 7.0; just dun buy anything android 5 or even 6 now since android 9 is already launched.
Can extract that APK and install on my TV right? lol

Sony's built-in player very basic.
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2018, 07:17 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 4 2018, 07:00 PM)
yes, that's what i do all the time.
how do u find the sony androidtv?
i do not understand why some people say they hate it... shud be the same as the sharp androditv.
i gotta get my hands on somebody's sony androidtv and check it out.

just about ALL TV's come with shitty players for playback.
becos TV makers are supposed to make good displays, they dun spend research/money to make good players - and rightly so - that's somebody else's biz.
just that i think i am failing to convince u to forget using it. laugh.gif
u know... it does a lot of injustice to the thousands of rm u already spent on the TV and soundbar! tongue.gif
Don't think Android on Sony TV is any difference from other brands. Most of them running on MTK processor anyway. Slightly laggy here and there. Blame it on the lacked of CPU power.

I use the built in player mainly for 4k content. Somehow it seems smoother than Kodi @ 4k video.

As for good built-in TV player. I was pretty happy with LG' webOS built-in player. Has option to change subtitle colour, set delay and etc. Nothing on Sony's. 😅
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2018, 07:14 PM

2,959 posts

A quick one on your Android TV. Are you able to set sleep timer (without going to Home -> Sleep) while watching Youtube (or any other video playing)?
Harddisk
post Oct 24 2018, 10:50 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 24 2018, 09:16 PM)
Never used this sleep thingy.

But on remote, there is a sleep button to set 30min, 60, 90, 120, 180, off.

I suppose thats what its for... to shut down tv, whatever it is doing.
This is much better, with a dedicated sleep button.
Harddisk
post Nov 22 2018, 04:19 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(hahaboy @ Nov 22 2018, 07:04 AM)
Yes, i m headache to choose lc60ua6800x or sony kd65x7500f
Sharp uses VA panel, while Sony's is IPS. VA has better "blacks", make it better contrast overall. Just losing out on viewing angles.
Harddisk
post Nov 24 2018, 12:35 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Nov 23 2018, 04:49 PM)
I believe the above works flawlessly if the soundbar comes with 2 hdmi input

too bad mine low end, only have 1 hdmi port which is ARC  sad.gif

anyway from the image, there is no connection from bluray player to TV, how to transmit the video  hmm.gif

Video will be transmitted via SB -> TV. Change TV to HDMI input which is connected to the SB. You'll see some display from the SB, like menu and such. That's where the video from BR would be broadcast-ed, while sound stays with the SB.
Harddisk
post Jan 16 2019, 07:04 PM

2,959 posts

To put it simply, HDR is definitely 4K, while 4K is not necessarily HDR.

Wait, did I confuse you?
Harddisk
post Jan 16 2019, 09:05 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(benshakeer @ Jan 16 2019, 08:19 PM)
Err... I think in netflix, the 4k UHD tagged shows is definiteltly with hdr, while hdr tagged shows may be in hd only with hdr, at least I can see the hdr tagged shows are less sharper compare to playing with mibox where the same shows are tagged as 4k uhd.

Edit: nevermind, i think both u n voncrane are correct. Mibix is the crappier ones haha
Before your edit, FHD comes with HDR?

Hence what I concluded earlier.
Harddisk
post Jan 25 2019, 11:41 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Jan 25 2019, 10:22 PM)
Hello peeps,
After I bought my first "4K" smart tv - LG 49UJ630T + HDR, last year my hunger grows for more

Hence I saw a promotion on this very specific model sharp LC60ua6500X, after going through some pages, this specific model's price had really gone down? Why is that
I went through the same experience (in fact I used to owned the same LG model and size too), except my LG was giving me problems on audio pass-through.

QUOTE(Turnip @ Jan 25 2019, 10:22 PM)
Any problems arise? My current 49 incher couldn't satisfy me now, I want more
Consider the 6800x model, it has Android. 6500x won't satisfy you cause LG's WebOS is 1 of the best out there, if not the best. Even I'm using an Android TV, I do miss WebOS from time to time. laugh.gif
Harddisk
post Jan 26 2019, 12:09 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Jan 26 2019, 09:51 AM)
I guess the audio problem pass through is that hissing annoying sound? I fixed it by turning it off few seconds and turning it on again.

How was the wow factor moving from 49 to a 60 inch? The quality of of the sharp models are the same?

Because my nvidia shield(for kodi stuffs) is otw, so I might not need the smart tv function biggrin.gif
It was DD+ audio breaking. Changed board a couple times, can't get it fixed.

I ended getting a 65" because Sharp's tv can't decode DD+. Anyway, the stands are too deep for my shelf anyway.

The panel is made in Japan, it should be good. It's VA compared to the rest of them using IPS (or most of them).
Harddisk
post Jan 30 2019, 02:10 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 16 2019, 07:04 PM)
To put it simply, HDR is definitely 4K, while 4K is not necessarily HDR.

Wait, did I confuse you?
I need to correct this now.

Netflix released their first FHD 4K clip already.

So I retract my statement above. 😅
Harddisk
post Feb 7 2019, 07:35 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Feb 7 2019, 01:03 PM)
Is this still VA panel?
Harddisk
post Feb 8 2019, 04:16 PM

2,959 posts

For fellow enthusiasts. There's dark rim at the perimeter though.

Harddisk
post Mar 23 2019, 04:36 PM

2,959 posts

Screen also blank when you press Home button?
Harddisk
post Mar 27 2019, 01:08 PM

2,959 posts

Yup, Sony's UI is laggy. Fortunately, video playback isn't laggy/jerky.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Mar 27 2019, 04:05 PM
Harddisk
post Jul 6 2019, 03:04 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(happyhaka @ Jul 6 2019, 12:49 AM)
For you guys who have a soundbar and connected via ARC or Optical do you experience that the TV seems to be sending rogue signal to the soundbar making it switch modes?

Im using an LG SK9 soundbar and when I play Spotify it would switch to ARC even when the TV is switched off and from what I read the mode only switches when it detects a signal. I dont think it's my soundbar because when all the cables are removed, spotify works just fine.
I think it's an Android thing. It happens on my Sony Android TV too.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0866sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:30 PM