Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

AVFAN
post Feb 5 2018, 06:01 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 5 2018, 05:52 PM)
Need to connect to internet? I do try at Pana tv before... Its very easy,just pair... On his sharp i cant find... Already on wireless display on my phone,and its searching for Tv but cant find... Then,i find google cast at android apps... Try open,cant... See picture...
Ar... cant remember... maybe need to pair under settings, accessories first.

Pairing requires a procedure with remote... read maunal.

This feature 6800x, 630x shud be same.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 5 2018, 06:03 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 5 2018, 09:13 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 5 2018, 06:29 PM)
Im using android phone n Ua6800x too..
I want to mirrorring my phone screen to tv...
sorry.. i am only trying to help u from my exp with ue630x.
ua6800x should have the same android as ue630x.

if it is diff, u need to go read the full manual.

for yr sake, i just installed google home app on my asus phone.
top left corner, u click to activate cast to the tv.
and anything on the android phone is cast to tv.
same with samsung android tablet.
for both devices.. youtube and other apps with installed chromecast, no need google home.
just click on cast icon top right corner, all is cast.
yes, internet connection is on for all devices, incl tv.

i do not know if this will work with non android devices like apple phones.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 5 2018, 10:55 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 6 2018, 04:07 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 6 2018, 03:44 PM)
Oic... After done a reading on google... Chromecast and miracast is different thing... Chromecast need same wifi connection...

If just connect to wifi but no internet connection can chromecast?
I really dont know... i actually dun cast anything, except to test.

Hope others can help u.
AVFAN
post Feb 7 2018, 11:56 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 7 2018, 11:42 PM)
Do you guys know if this ua6800x has the following

1) upscalling engine to 4K
2) deep color or wide calor gamut
3) full array led backlIght with local dimming?
4) multiple HDR format (hdr10,hlg)?
page 1 has some info, links to read.
AVFAN
post Feb 8 2018, 10:29 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 8 2018, 10:26 AM)
Thanks! i noticed the model has up- scaling features, wide colour gamut and latest HDR standards (guess it support both HLG and HDR10). The only information i couldn't obtained is what type of local dimming in the LCD display whether full array local dimming or not.
can't help u.

maybe others can.

or ask at the shops...
AVFAN
post Feb 9 2018, 12:20 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 9 2018, 11:36 AM)
very good deal.. may i know which shop u guys went?
all senheng shops will have it.

if rm4188 has 2+3 year warranty as someone just said... that's better than the the last deal i saw.

which was 4188 +518 for the extra 3 yr warranty.

maybe no more free cctv... just the keyboard+mouse?

the promo was supposed to end on feb 4, but extended to feb 28.

the info is after promo, price will revert to rm4799, std warranty.
AVFAN
post Feb 10 2018, 12:57 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 10 2018, 11:36 AM)
No,promo for senheng till feb 4 only... Promo for Sharp smart cctv extended to Feb 28

i must hv read wrong then...
AVFAN
post Feb 12 2018, 11:27 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Feb 12 2018, 08:58 AM)
i am so late to notice this topic. i just bought from harvey norman for LC60UA6500X.
RM45xx, Then add on RM6xx for extended 3 years warranty.
with further discount somemore, the end price i am paying was below Rm5100.
Free a Sharp Apple design Rice cooker.
and PWP rm30 for Belkin 4 socket plug (worth RM99)
BTW, the total price i mentioned is included the RM30 for plug ady.
for those asking about the comparisons between LC60UA6500X (NON ANDROID VERSION) and LC60UE630X, I decided to buy after using the same 4k source to play side by side. its clearly the color and texture had been improved compared 630x.
I do compared with panasonic & lg (forgot the model no) that within the same price range. its clearly sharp produce the color better, however, when i view the same video on SOny, sony had better in everything but with higher price tag.
HN is a good place to view but seldom a place for best prices.

sorry to hear yr case... u could have gotten the 6800x for that price or even lower.

and, good to hear u say the 6500x PQ is superior to 630x - that's what i thought too.
AVFAN
post Feb 13 2018, 10:20 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(franlow @ Feb 12 2018, 02:18 PM)
Hey guys,

After using the tv for a week, I noticed when playing youtube videos, every now and then the video pauses for a spilt second but not the sound. Like it skipped a frame. Any idea why? It even happens when I am watching movies through hypptv but have not noticed it when I playback through my android box.
what internet speed? Wi-Fi or Ethernet?

Low speed, Wi-Fi... U get those issues.
AVFAN
post Feb 15 2018, 10:31 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(Hearm @ Feb 13 2018, 09:00 PM)
Pc.com Gold award
something i noticed..

WIFI: 802.11 a/b/g/n

no ac? hmm.gif

can anyone verify?

predecessor ue630x has it, can run on 5ghz wifi.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 15 2018, 10:37 AM
AVFAN
post Feb 15 2018, 02:40 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(franlow @ Feb 15 2018, 12:03 PM)
Im unify 30mb
this speed is good enough for 720p, 1080p youtube... assuming it is not shared and not poor wifi.
it can be lacking for 4k youtube.
to do 4k smoothly and consistently, u will need 50mbps or higher.

hyppbox... the bandwidth is standalone, is not part of the 30mbps.
the jerks u see with hypptv or unifitv is common.
does happen sometimes, nothing to do with the tv.
AVFAN
post Feb 18 2018, 11:39 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(zwansh @ Feb 17 2018, 02:31 PM)
Any problems with YouTube for Android tv? Mine cannot play...uninstall update for Youtube can play.
If u provide the nos. for both versions, we can hv a clue.
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2018, 10:06 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(zwansh @ Feb 19 2018, 09:04 AM)
Current ver 2.02.08 cannot connect....uninstall all update for YouTube can watch as usual. Other app on tv can watch (terrarium etc).
2.02.08 is the right current version for androidtv, been around for some months now.

it works fine on my ue630x and on another box.

it should work on yr new tv.

try:

.. resetting the android via settings-info-restart.
.. log in with your gmail account if it isn't yet.

other ua6800x can comment if yr youtube is working with 2.02.08.

AVFAN
post Feb 23 2018, 10:48 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(teNtiOn @ Feb 20 2018, 09:55 PM)
Try the step near the end of this video, by enabling developer settings etc.. Reason for mine is not network speed but Android tv or the tv hardware not fast enough to process 4k media. Tested on Netflix and USB playback
https://youtu.be/w3ZnPq06jjA
QUOTE(franlow @ Feb 23 2018, 09:56 AM)
Yes I think so too that its not the internet speed but the tv processor. Thanks for the link as I have followed the last few steps and hope it will help the tv to run more efficiently.
if the tweaking mentioned in the video works, it's good.
netflix, i remember 4k videos were okay 30mbps, alto resolution drops sometimes.
but yes, i agree - the tv's usb player is not good... not good at all, imo! biggrin.gif

just for youtube, i still think youtube 4k videos need good speed to run smoothly.
if u enable stats for nerds, u can see the speed each video is operating at, no. of frames dropped and the buffer health.
uhd 4k hdr 60fps videos are typically 45000-7000kbps or 45-70mbps.
my experience... if yr internet speed is <50mbps, it will not be smooth.
i had this problem with 50mbps, but no more with 100mbps.

** using ue630x, not ua6800x.

AVFAN
post Feb 23 2018, 10:55 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(franlow @ Feb 23 2018, 10:03 AM)
Apologies for not being able to give a professional type of review like some sifus here. But all I can say is that the richness of the colour esp playback in HDR is awesome. Everyone who watched the tv at my hse went WOW. As for the android processor, I think needs improvement. Most apps and movies I playback through my tv box

QUOTE(bomberman @ Feb 23 2018, 10:06 AM)
seems my decision to get non android version is correct as I play with my EVPAD tvbox for the movies and apps.
a good standalone box will be better all round.
esp for playback as the tv player is not so good.
more so if u r into big 2160p hdr videos.

the tv's androidtv is useful in that it can:
.. do astrogo and unifi playtv (many boxes cannot do that).
.. do a few simple apps for casual viewing w/o switching on another box or avr, etc.
i use it all the time to watch news and lifestyle shows like channel news asia and asia food network - in hd.

AVFAN
post Feb 27 2018, 10:10 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 25 2018, 12:29 PM)
Can someone help me how to use kodi? This is my first android tv... N never use android box before
kodi...

1. install app from playstore.

2. read:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3943906

3. google relevant addons, watch "how-to" youtube videos.

4. spend time trying out the various repos-addons-plugins.
(ya, u need to know the terminology, what each of that means.)

notes:

.. kodi addons come n go, like apps; u need to keep finding n installing updates.
.. kodi addon owners under legal pressure from european authorities, legal cases, many quit, new ones come.
.. the best n most reliable addon for eng vod is quasar.
.. but understand how quasar works becos mistakes will eat up the android memory, it will stop working.

and yes, if u set it up well, it works good, like any app.
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2018, 11:27 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(VentureLKW @ Feb 28 2018, 03:55 PM)
Anyone know the refresh rate/ hertz for this TV?
QUOTE(sonic_darkknight @ Mar 1 2018, 12:03 PM)
I believe it's 60hz. Btw, I just officially became an owner of lc60ua6800x yesterday evening.  Just got my TV yesterday.  Last day for the cctv promotion... Kekeke
from below articles, it is more likely 120hz.
alto the claim may be 240 or even 480.

Sharp: AquoMotion
Sharp gets multiple bonus points here for listing the "AquoMotion" rate, and the panel's native refresh and clearly describes how it works: "AquoMotion, Sharp's backlight scanning technology, multiplies the effective refresh rate to hit you with all the power that fast-moving sports and movies can deliver."
Most of its 4K models are 120Hz natively, whereas some of the smaller and less expensive models are 60Hz.
https://www.cnet.com/news/ultra-hd-4k-tv-refresh-rates/

Sharp AquoMotion
"AquoMotion 960, Sharp's backlight scanning technology, quadruples the effective refresh rate to hit you with all the power that fast-moving sports and movies can deliver." Even I can do that math 960/4=purple. No wait, 240. That's for its 8 series. For the 7 series: "AquoMotion 480, Sharp's backlight scanning technology, doubles the effective refresh rate..."
The company is also, ahem, refreshingly honest in its tech specs section:
Refresh panel rate: 240Hz
Refresh scanning rate: AquoMotion 960
and
Refresh panel rate: 240Hz
Refresh scanning rate: AquoMotion 480
https://www.cnet.com/news/fake-refresh-rate...v-really-120hz/

AVFAN
post Mar 4 2018, 05:05 PM

24,447 posts

Just sharing... should work same for ua6800x.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 19 2017, 12:21 PM)
ue630x owners using Astrogo, a tip for you.
Astrogo latest version 8.1.68 does NOT work.
i tried several versions, and found only one will work at this time - 8.0.4.2.
other requirements:
.. the default leanback keyboard of the androidtv is NOT compatible with Astrogo.
so, u need to go to playstore, install the google INDIC keyboard, activate and set it as default.
.. the app in default is in portrait, need to install from playstore one of those "orientation" apps to rotate 90 deg, make it landscape.
.. remote controls will not work, need mouse to click-hold-drag to navigate.
Re above, latest astrogo version 8.1.93 also dun work on the ue630x.

Keep using 8.0.4.2, still good.

What has changed... astrogo has improved on picture quality, most are now hd... at long last.

Do try it. Will be very handy come world cup 2018 in june... astro has monopoly.

Take note astrogo does NOT work in many boxes... but works on tv's n devices running on androidtv.

AVFAN
post Mar 15 2018, 11:20 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Mar 15 2018, 09:53 AM)
Thank you so much.. i got it done.. Not so familiar with android.. ha ha.  In fact I have not installed anything on the TV
the androidtv in the tv is good.

just a few good apps and u can get all the live tv and vod stuff, in hd.

unless u r using a separate box, dun need it.
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2018, 08:05 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Mar 26 2018, 05:32 PM)
Mind to share the apps please...
u gotta read and find them...

what works on ue630x should work on ua6800x:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3811168/+1500

34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top