16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

TSsweet_pez
post Feb 13 2018, 05:18 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Feb 13 2018, 05:16 PM)
the price is difference. and i also want to find the Gshock porter limited edition hehe
Ah then you better be well versed in Japanese or good with setting the watch. If you purchase Japan limited edition watches, all the settings, instructions and details are in Japanese. You won't be able to find an English or Chinese version as it's not translated in other language (since it's only produced for Japan market).
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 13 2018, 05:32 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(pitapupux @ Feb 13 2018, 05:23 PM)
Hello everyone, I'm planning to visit Tokyo in June probably the last 10 days of June or Mid of June. Japan-guide.com mentioned it is a rainy season, anyone went on June and can provide some feedback whether it is that bad?
It's hard to give such feedback. Assuming it didn't rain last year June, doesn't mean it won't rain this year.

In fact, this is something you can Google, ie. weather forecast, other than Japan-Guide site. If you want even more info, Google for the weather of June 2015, June 2016, June 2017 and predictions for 2018. Then analyze yourself and see if it's likely to rain.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 13 2018, 10:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Feb 13 2018, 06:26 PM)
Travel Japan using package (travel agent) vs own travel, actually can save how much ?

I'm poor at travel itinerary planning, might leave it to travel agent
Experienced both and own itinerary ftw. Follow agency no freedom to stop as you like or move the itinerary.

Also, if you are lazy to plan then just Google for itinerary online.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 17 2018, 11:37 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Feb 17 2018, 08:35 PM)
guys,

as per screenshot below,

should i walk out the train to another or i just stick with the same train?
You will have to walk. Click on whichever option/route you prefer to take and you'll see it.

Whenever you see a human walking sign - it means "walk".
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 18 2018, 11:19 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Feb 18 2018, 10:23 AM)
thanks for the info thumbup.gif
the map is so confusing and luckily i have asked here laugh.gif
but google maps doesn't show that i need to walk.

please refer below
Hmmmm... in the google map it looked as though its the same line - for you to stay on the train. But the map looked as though you need to get to the opposite. Whats your route? From airport to...? Your destination.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 18 2018, 11:24 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Feb 18 2018, 11:22 AM)
from airport to higobashi station
This is what I see:

TSsweet_pez
post Feb 19 2018, 12:54 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Feb 19 2018, 12:48 PM)
This is so detailed! Btw the currency is it sgd or myr as i saw your depart is in Singapore? Also what app or spreadsheet did you use for this?
It's definitely in SGD$ biggrin.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 19 2018, 01:10 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Feb 19 2018, 01:03 PM)
Wow.. Just.. Wow... Out of my league.
I wanted to go for snow but on a budget. If not hokkaido, where else can i experience it?
ShirakawaGo is another good choice. I've been there in winter and it's wonderful. Will definitely return again (but it's also not cheap).

All about snow in Japan here: https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2265.html

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 19 2018, 01:05 PM)
Like sweet_pez said (she knows cos she was the one who came with me*), it's in SGD for 2pax.

A few disclaimers though, it was a very last minute trip, so flights and hotels were a LOT more expensive than they could be. Plus we bought a lot of stuff. So if you're budgeting for yourself, departing from KL, and planning earlier, should probably be around rm13-14k without shopping.

( * Just kidding )
Cracking dangerous jokes aren't we bruce.gif

jeff10012003 I know coz someone asked the same question to deodorant in the Japan Group Chat (on whatsapp) laugh.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 19 2018, 04:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 19 2018, 04:11 PM)
ehem ehem. so did you guys met? laugh.gif
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Feb 19 2018, 04:51 PM)
they even spent 1 ..... together
Hey hey, do not smear this young lady's reputation ranting.gif ranting.gif ranting.gif later his wife come and look for me! Also, gathering is not possible unless you guys join in, and for those in SG to be back rolleyes.gif

Dah dah, manyak OOT. Get back to main point.

Update: I've included some stuffs on Post 1. As promised I'll put up a 7-Days Recommended Itinerary for Tokyo (spring). Day 1 up, I'll put up the rest soon.

Also put up this: "Some simple and common phrases to learn/ know"

TSsweet_pez
post Feb 20 2018, 11:45 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Feb 20 2018, 09:44 AM)
thanks for the info. will read through and plan my itinerary for snow holiday soon  thumbup.gif
good information there.
No problem, share with us too wink.gif

QUOTE(imran85 @ Feb 20 2018, 10:44 AM)
I enjoyed Shirakawago though I feel the light up was overrated. I went morning and afternoon. It snowed so heavily i was inhaling snow.

For the day part I used J-Hoppers (and recommend them as they are very organised) and for light up I used Yokoso. All not bad but really take morning sessions and just enjoy the views
It's fine about the lights. Your picture of the white landscape with the gassho zukuri looks good enough.

One regret - didn't go to the Viewing Point. Due to shortage of time, we can only choose either lunch or viewing point and you bet on it, it was lunch they chose. We had a good meal, I played under the snow awhile and then we went off.

Next time when I return to ShirakawaGo, I'll be sure to get there.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 20 2018, 04:29 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Feb 20 2018, 03:14 PM)
@sweet_pez The spoiler link to the 7 Days Tokyo trip itinerary is broken. I can't access the spoiler link to common phrases too.
Just checked, no problem with it:

TSsweet_pez
post Feb 23 2018, 03:43 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 23 2018, 03:26 PM)
Thought it was clearly stated in their website....You can reserve the Romancecar online in advance...

https://www.web-odakyu.com/e-romancecar/vac...ut?STICKY=11074
If he use that to book, he is paying a full Romancecar fare.

However if he purchase the Hakone pass, there is a discount when you get the Romancecar ticket. Because the Hakone pass already included train ride from Shinjuku to Hakone, but it's the normal express train. You can top up a little to the pass to upgrade to Romancecar which is faster and more comfortable.

The dilemma he's facing now is that how to go about this because he doesn't have Hakone pass yet but worried there's no more seats in Romancecar. So he wants to find a way to reserve the seat in Romancecar with top up rate from the Hakone pass.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 23 2018, 03:57 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Feb 23 2018, 03:50 PM)
i checked the booking website...in a glance you can reserve a seat without paying now

correct me if i am wrong
Then can just reserve now.

Most of the people I know usually get their Romancecar ticket after they bought the Hakone pass. One of the reason is that, actually the Hakone pass itself is limited so sometimes in very peak period, the pass may finish. So in order to avoid Out-of-Stock issue, they play it safe by getting the pass ahead of time when they're in Tokyo. So in case pass for say, weekend had finished, they can still change their plan and go on Monday instead if the pass is available.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 23 2018, 04:27 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 23 2018, 04:21 PM)
err...no

The website e-Romancecar, you are just paying for the limited express surcharge which is 890yen (not 890yen + 1190yen ticket fare). You still need to buy a standard ticket or Freepass separately. Clearly remember this because I did it 2 years ago.
K I reconfirm with my friend coz he went last year and bought the Romancecar ticket to Hakone hmm.gif

Okay, don't have to bother asking him laugh.gif It's also on the site: https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2358_008.html

"Validity
Round Trip
- The round trip is to be done by Odakyu Railways from Tokyo to Odawara Station by local or express trains (not including the "Romance Car"). Odakyu's main station in Tokyo is Shinjuku Station, but the free pass can also be purchased for use from other Odakyu stations.
- A surcharge of 890 yen (one way from Shinjuku) and seat reservations are required when using a "Romance Car" limited express train.
- Passes purchased inside the free area, e.g. at Odawara Station, do not cover Odakyu trains between Odawara and Shinjuku."

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 23 2018, 04:31 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 23 2018, 04:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Bellariel @ Feb 23 2018, 04:36 PM)
Thanks! I've called JTB to ask if it's possible to reserve romancecar in advance, but the staff told me that the only way that I can actually reserve seats on romancecar is at the Shinjuku station. sad.gif
Thanks alot though!
Yesssss that's what I meant hahahah

Btw guys, i'm a girl hahahah  rclxub.gif
Sorry bout that laugh.gif a lot of guys' tag says female when they're actually not.

Hope the above suggestion by others helped to solve your issue.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 24 2018, 12:56 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Feb 23 2018, 08:24 PM)

Average price of RM1400+ per pax is good! I bought my flight with SIA also around RM1450. Full carrier with all the services you can get, its certainly a good price. Especially when you have a child, do consider something more comfortable if you can afford it wink.gif 7 hours is not a short flight, so comfort should be given some weightage.

For SIA, they give this price during promo. Dont miss the promo period.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 24 2018, 01:37 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:29 AM)
Yes, my thought exactly since this time I'll be travelling with a child.
Your SIA flight u took previously landed at HND airport right?
Its an upcoming trip actually haha. Yes its gonna land in Haneda but flight back to KL departure will be from Narita. Transit in SG for both ways. Not a bad idea to leave from Narita coz I certainly want to stock up Shiroi Koibito and buy some souvenirs. The unfortunate part though is flight @ 10am. Have to check what time the shops open sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 24 2018, 01:39 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 24 2018, 10:41 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:48 AM)
Ah....ok. Upcoming flight. Nice.
Mine will be from PG > SG > HND. Will discuss with my wife on the SIA flight tickets since the price is a good deal according to u guys smile.gif
Shiroi Koibito is tasty! Departing from Narita is good also cos got more shops and better amenities. Only downside is its further away from Tokyo.
Exactly. And with it being a 10am flight, i booked my last night near to Narita airport. The hotel will provide shuttle bus service to airport and its only 15min away. At least dont have to rush in the morning.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 24 2018, 05:19 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Feb 24 2018, 04:07 PM)
Thanks! Will certainly check out ANA/JAL also. Nvr been on any of them before.
Point noted on ANA's air stewardess  innocent.gif
Highly recommend ANA if the price is similar or within your budget. They are one of the best around for flights to Japan. Service is top class and food is good.
ANA flights usually cost around RM1,700+ and above, depending on season.

deodorant Jangan spam doh.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 25 2018, 09:52 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Feb 25 2018, 04:27 PM)

Her first time? I suggest to let her slowly enjoy by concentrating on one part - eg Kansai only or Tokyo only. No problem if you want to do both over the course of 10-11 days, but best to let her spend more time to slowly walk, see and enjoy one part of Japan?

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1836sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:48 AM