16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

TSsweet_pez
post Feb 25 2018, 11:12 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Feb 25 2018, 11:07 PM)
18 days. Travelling on 2 Nov - 19 Nov.
Enough to fit Kyoto in between smile.gif
Will probably spend 3 nights at Kyoto. Taking it slow and easy as we're bringing our kid with us on this trip. Not going to rush on this trip else we won't enjoy it.
18 days then sure have time for both places. Yes with kids you will have to do it even slower/leisure style.
TSsweet_pez
post Feb 26 2018, 02:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Shared by an anon forumer laugh.gif ...there is a promotion for VISA cardholder if you wish to fly to Japan. The deal is really good for ANA, but you're expected to fly in March '18. It's a Buy 1, 50% OFF for 2nd ticket.

http://cit.travel/visa/all-nippon-airways-...2nd-air-ticket/

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 26 2018, 02:42 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 1 2018, 02:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Mar 1 2018, 01:28 PM)
sweater enough? hehe

is it rainy now at Osaka, Kobe & Nara?
Please do basic research. It is something you can Google, so please do so. Forumers are kind enough to give you info, but do not take help for granted.
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 1 2018, 05:22 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Mar 1 2018, 05:12 PM)
just want to confirm actual and forecast. maybe it my mistake to ask in this forum hehe
It's not a mistake to ask in this forum, but the way you ask were wrong sweat.gif when you throw an open question like "is it rainy now at Osaka, Kobe & Nara?" it shows you have not checked the weather.

Also, we don't share itineraries here but there's a sample on Page 1, first post. You can use it as reference. Come up with your own itinerary and you can post it here for others to feedback and give you recommendations.

P/S: not a bro lol

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 2 2018, 12:47 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 1 2018, 06:49 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Updated Page 1 : added Prepaid IC Card info and passes.

Forecast of Sakura for 2018:

Sakura Weather

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 1 2018, 06:52 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 2 2018, 11:38 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Updated Post 1 with information on Emergencies/ Disasters and Malaysia Embassy's contact.

TSsweet_pez
post Mar 2 2018, 12:12 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 2 2018, 12:08 PM)
[attachmentid=9627637]

I'll be in Osaka for a week and plan to allocate 2 days for Kyoto. What do you guys think?
Looks decent. Do note that Kiyomizu Dera is currently undergoing renovation: https://kyoto.travel/en/latest_news/63

If there's time, you can also visit Nishiki market which is not too far off the Nijo Castle. It closes around 5 or 6pm: https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3931.html

TSsweet_pez
post Mar 2 2018, 12:35 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 2 2018, 12:29 PM)
right thanks, is there anything to eat walking distance from Ginkaku-ji or Kinkaku-ji that is not overly priced due to it being near to tourist site?
Your "not overly priced" is at the budget of how much?
Btw you can read page 1's first post - there is a recommended 14-days kansai trip itinerary by RC. Check out Day 9 of his itinerary.
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 3 2018, 12:09 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 2 2018, 10:40 PM)
why is pocket wifi better than getting a local sim card ya?
There are pros and cons. Depends on what you're looking for and how many people are going.

WIFI Pros
- Lower cost, few people connect to 1 device.
- Convenient .
- Usually unlimited Wifi/ connection.

WIFI Cons
- Troublesome to carry a device with you.
- Loss of device or damaging it - you will have to pay a fine/ fee.
- Have to constantly check if it runs out of battery and carry the power bank along to charge device.
- Cannot split your way/ journey with friends, once split, only 1 person has WIFI (the one carrying it, obviously laugh.gif)

SIM Card Pros
- Easy to use, can split with friends. No worry if fight occurs too biggrin.gif everyone can go their own way.
- Don't have to carry an extra device (router) with you.
- Don't have to charge it. Just your phone.
- Don't have to worry about losing it or damaging it.

SIM Card Cons
- More expensive than WIFI.
- Limited data.

I have used both multiple times (3x WIFI, 3x SIM) and I personally prefer SIM. I can split with my friends and not worry I could not contact them should anything comes up. Assuming one of them got stuck in the cashier line and will be 20min late to meet up, she can text the rest of us. At least we won't have to stand at the meeting point and wait for 20min not knowing what happened - whether she's still shopping, got lost or got into trouble. If anything, we can also call each other via Whatsapp.

If it's WIFI, one person carries the router and then goes off with it. The rest has 0 connection and even if you want to text your family to ask whether they want this item or that, or verify whether you're getting them the right item, you could not do so without internet.

Unless you guys are stuck to the hip then it's fine cool2.gif

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 2 2018, 11:49 PM)
Think cheapest now is Wiyo for RM14/day. Travelrecommends is RM18
Pocket wifi - can share with more ppl and have more data quota, not need to swap SIM/handphone number
Hmm be a bit careful with Wiyo. Check for comments online as I've heard some complaints about them. Also, nowadays SIM no need change number ady biggrin.gif it just gives you the connection.

If you're keen on WIFI, H.I.S. is not bad. Rental is RM15/ day. They do not have a kiosk in airport so you'll either collect device from their office (Bukit Bintang area if im not mistaken) or pay for courier RM10-RM12 to get it sent to you. You have 3 days grace period before your trip and 3 days grace period AFTER your trip to return the device.

Meaning, if your trip is 10th - 17th, you can collect device on 7th and return it by 20th. I rented 4 devices (work trip) and 1 had problem in the midst of the trip. However you can just drop them an email and they will teach you how to reset the setting.
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 3 2018, 11:57 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 3 2018, 01:00 PM)
If RegentCid is still admin, he gonna scold you all keep asking airfares here haha

April is peak period, so usually there’s not much promo by ANA. Also, you wouldn’t want to risk it till last min to buy ticket. RM1.5-1.7k should be a good price for ANA Tokyo flight.

Sometimes there a Buy 1, 50% off 2nd ticket for Visa cardholders but the travel period is usually just a few months ahead
Well... as long as its related to Japan, I have no issue unsure.gif

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Mar 3 2018, 06:01 PM)
Anyone been to Kabukicho in Shinjuku? I heard there is good ramen restaurants there. I'm going with my 60 plus year old mum so I don't know if it's appropriate since it's a red light district.

We are ramen freaks so I think I'll be hunting down ramen-ya throughout my trip. Normally, I go for tonkotsu soup base as I find it's the most tasty.

Let me know! Thanks smile.gif
Most people who had been to Tokyo would not miss Kabukicho. Its relatively safe and fine, not as per your image of Chow Kit (I guess?). Dont worry and just bring your mum there. At the most you will see some yakuza but they are not an issue if you dont cause trouble.

Also, be careful not to fall for "cheap" buffet or eat-all-you-can in the area. Some of them are scams.
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 4 2018, 11:50 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jhchong @ Mar 4 2018, 10:54 PM)
Patiently waiting for sweet_pez's  update on the 7 days Tokyo itinerary blush.gif

Ah... my bad. Trying to figure how best to put it up instead of the image style I did for Day 1. Give me time till this week cool2.gif

TSsweet_pez
post Mar 5 2018, 11:45 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 5 2018, 09:47 AM)
Only 1 month to go and I only did detailed route planning up to 5th day (out of 14 days)  rclxub.gif

Welcome any feedbacks or comments
I suggest Ghibli on a weekday instead of weekend. Over the weekday I went, it's already packed, if you go on a weekend, there'll be even more people.

As for ShirakawaGo... if you go after Winter, it's usually just the greens and gassho zukuri houses. Winter is the most beautiful there, but since you have already made plans... no harm.

For Takayama, I recommend this restaurant for dinner: Tenaga Ashinaga Hommachi
I don't take beef but friends said the beef was good. The noodle and chashu meal is ichiban as well.

Ginza is best over the weekend, to enjoy the pedestrian's heaven. However if it's hard to rearrange the schedule, just leave it. Odaiba is also a nice place if you can make time for it.

*P/S: Lastly, theme parks or high energy activities are best to be placed in the early phase of the trip as you're still fresh and excited. Towards the end of a trip you're usually tired and worn out, so going to a theme park will probably sap even more of your energy.

TSsweet_pez
post Mar 5 2018, 01:02 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 5 2018, 12:11 PM)
Ohh, I still can swap Ghibli Museum around (initially) but I think there shouldn't be much different between weekdays and weekend? Since their tickets practically got sold out on all days anyway. Planning to have a more chillax day before hitting DisneySEA

I split DisneySEA and Disneyland for 2 reasons. One is because Tokyo Disneyland 35th Celebration only starts after 15 Apr. 2nd reason - I can book back the same hotels and ask them to keep my big luggage till my return back to Tokyo.  brows.gif Plus, I can't really move the other timing around (Takayama Festival, Kurobe Alpine Route)...

Energy level should be alright for Disneyland since I just planning to chill in Shirakawago and Takayama...unless Kurobe Alpine Route crowd hit me hard  rclxub.gif

GF is not a fan of paying for visiting towers, hence the skip over Tokyo Tower or Skytree
Hahahahaha coz Ghibli is very loved by the Japanese and comes as no surprise to see parents bringing their children there on weekend. Sometimes there will be school trips there too. Generally weekday will have a smaller crowd as far as I know. Yes on the tickets. You can get them online now. Ticket Sales are open 1-2 months in advance, on the 10th of every month @ 9am Japan time (if I'm not mistaken). You'll notice the earliest slot sells out very fast - within minutes sometimes. Friends commented it could be scalpers.

Hmm best to do both Disney together so that you don't have to travel there twice and it's certainly more enjoyable at the beginning of the trip. Also, I heard you can bring outside food/ drinks in except alcohol. So if you don't want to queue in the restaurants for food, just tapau bento or something in. But I guess dining there is also part of the enjoyment wink.gif

Are you staying overnight in ShirakawaGo? If yes then yep you'll get to chill. First time ever in Japan, I actually slept @ 930pm... because there is basically nothing to do at night. We chat and laughed, watched some TV and then it's bed time sweat.gif

Tokyo Skytree Tower has a mall attached to it - Solamachi Mall. It's a nice place to shop or even take a walk. The 2F (forgot ady, it's the F&B area), I think the Food Marche, has lots of souvenirs you can buy home - Tokyo Banana, Castella cakes, It even has a Ghibli store. You can dine upstairs 6th Floor and grab a bite at Toriton (kaiten sushi), it's one of the most popular sushi place in Tokyo: http://www.tokyoeats.jp/kaitensushi-toriton/

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 5 2018, 01:05 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 5 2018, 05:21 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 5 2018, 01:58 PM)
must try Hida beef at Takayama, one of my favourite drool.gif
Ah well its more of a religion thingy. I feel happy seeing my friends enjoy them, so the happiness is shared. I may not eat them, but I could feel the same enjoyment from watching them eat biggrin.gif travelling is also about harmony with your friends.

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Mar 5 2018, 04:08 PM)
2 more weeks to Osaka,

now feel excited yet nervous, scared will get lost and difficult to communicate with japanese.
Hahahaha fret not. Part of the fun is to try communicating. Read Page 1 post #1. There is a guide of Japanese in Romaji. Save a copy and learn a couple of keywords especially on directions wink.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 6 2018, 09:48 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Mar 6 2018, 09:08 AM)
is Nov/Dec a bad time to go tokyo? too cold?
December already entered into Winter. I was in Tokyo early December back in 2016, there were still some autumn leaves around but not much. Most of the leaves had already fallen. Yes it is cold but depends on your definition of "too cold", different people have different tolerance towards cold.

I wore a layer of heat tec + thick hoodie + jacket. Think I'm moderate in cold tolerance hmm.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 6 2018, 10:16 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Mar 6 2018, 10:12 AM)
hm... never been anywhere really COLD before. Lol.. mostly tropical.
If you are unsure, pack thicker clothing. In worst case, you can always buy a jacket there. However please get heat-tech from Uniqlo, it is really helpful in keeping warmth in your body. But when you enter a store, you will probably feel hot. I admit it's annoying to wear too many layers because I'll have to put on the jacket and take it off constantly shakehead.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 6 2018, 02:01 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Mar 6 2018, 12:50 PM)
I like the idea of onsen but I'll be going with my fiance and most of the onsen will separate according to gender and those private onsen is just to expensive
I agree with deodorant. There's no need to be stuck to the hip everyday laugh.gif going for onsen is also a good time for both of you to take a moment away from each other. Didn't they say "absence makes the heart grow fonder"? hahahaha besides at the most you'll each spend about 2 hours in there.

Here's a guide:
http://www.gotokyo.org/en/tourists/info/ba...nsen/onsen.html

TSsweet_pez
post Mar 9 2018, 09:26 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Mar 9 2018, 02:44 AM)
Can someone recommend a hotel in Kyoto. Going for 4-5 night with 1 baby about 2 year old.

Hotel with crib will be plus but without will be fine.

Near to Train Station will be most preferred. 

AirBnb also welcome.

I really lost in searching for hotel
What do you mean lost in searching for Hotel? Have you gone through airBnB or Booking/ Agoda to look up for suitable hotels?

Please read post #1: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87488224

We do not spoon feed information. Please look for a place. You can ask opinion about a certain Hotel and if anyone had stayed before, they will give feedback.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 9 2018, 09:47 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 11 2018, 06:42 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

7-Days recommended itinerary up for Tokyo (sakura season) on page 1, post #1.
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 12 2018, 11:36 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Mar 12 2018, 07:18 AM)
hmm.gif
my usual go to sim card plans seem to be in decline since the last time i used it(Yokoso Sim)
what's you guys usual go to sim card nowadays? or hotspot mobile
You can refer to post #1 on page 1. Info on SIM and WIFI are there, with some recommendations.

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1511sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:07 AM