10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

tohff7
post Sep 10 2018, 04:57 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Sep 9 2018, 12:39 PM)
Mine lagi power... Normally at end of ur trip u sure got a lot of coins left over. At 1 drug store the cashier saw me took out so many coins. She ask do i want to change those coins to note. I was like ok oh... Give her all the coins then she masuk to the register machine auto count auto keluar note.
Japan cash register machine is more canggih 1

Cashier only need to put in the bill and the change will be automatically calculated and dispersed by the machine.

No room for mis-count or theft.
tohff7
post Sep 27 2018, 08:24 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Sep 26 2018, 04:07 PM)
yea...yokohama seems nothing much, but might make day trip to hakone

but now seems i might go to osaka, kyoto and  tokyo more. seems more thing but just worry need travel too much

shinkansen is not cheap too. round trip cost almost 2.5k d for 2 pax
that's why ideally you don't do round trip, if planned properly. fly in Osaka, fly out Tokyo (or vice versa) and only need 1-trip of Shinkansen/domestic airline.

of course the most ideal is to just focus on the different regions (Kansai, Tokyo, Hokkaido) in separate trips rather than crammed them all together
tohff7
post Sep 27 2018, 02:09 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Sep 27 2018, 12:56 PM)
I tried to see jetstar. without luggage then confirm flight cheaper by 9k yen. after add luggage (they don't have 20kg option, only 10kg check in and carry on), only less than 1k yen cheaper.

so now seems that shinkansen better option?
I check JAL. KL macam no direct flight to osaka. If fly in KLIA-Osaka, then Narita-KLIA, extra rm2k compare to KLIA-Tokyo return for premium economy

btw, should i buy my train ticket online? i kinda worry if flight delay, will burnt my ticket. or shud i reach only buy?

PS: I forget to add in the cost of narita express (from narita to tokyo to take shinkansen)

So now it boils down to 2 option

A) Shinkansen
Arrive Narita 6.45am. Take Narita Express at 8am. take shinkansen at 10am. arrive osaka at 12.30pm.
Total Cost 33240 yen (6000 yen for Narita express, 27240 for Shinkansen)

B) Flight
Arrive Narita 6.45am. Take Jetstar at 9.40am. Arrive Kansai at 11.10am. Arrive Osaka at 1pm
Total Cost - 28180 yen (8900yen*2+8000yen for luggage+2380yen for kansai airport to osaka)

which will be a better option eh?
I think both JAL and ANA don't have direct flights between KL-Osaka. Maybe you would have to use other airlines for KL-Osaka, but I'm not sure how much are the fares. You definitely can do return trips with AirAsia though. But considering you willing to spend for premium economy, I think budget is not really a problem for you biggrin.gif

I would have prefer spending a bit more for the convenience
tohff7
post Sep 27 2018, 04:08 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Sep 27 2018, 03:43 PM)
sigh. memang got 1 flight only from narita to osaka.

most of it all is haneda
I would prefer the convenience of taking the bullet train over domestic flights. For e.g., assuming u first landed in Kansai, travel around Osaka/Kyoto then proceed to Tokyo.

Only exception is perhaps if immediately after u landed in Kansai Airport, u straight take a domestic flight to Tokyo and start from there first. Then go back to Osaka/Kyoto before departing back
tohff7
post Oct 3 2018, 02:34 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 2 2018, 09:21 AM)
Hi all, need your expertise in this.

I just had a wonderful with my wife 5 months ago spending 16 days in Kyoto, Osaka, Tokyo and Nara. Because my wife and I were so amazed by the culture there. We decided to go Japan at least once per year. And next year, we plan to have 2 trips to Japan with 1 week each. ( My wife said 2 weeks is very tiring )

We have confirmed one of them will be Hokkaido which we will travel around November or December. We are having dilemma in choosing the other one. We prefer south area further away from Osaka during cherry blossom full bloom ( around beginning of April or end of March ). We are looking at places like Fukuoka, Hiroshima, Miyazaki, and Kumamoto.

Have any of you been these places before? Any recommendations? My wife prefer place with Shrine and scenery based. And I prefer scenery and food. But then if there is place where I can get Gunpla will be good as well tongue.gif, but this is optional.

Looking forward to hear you guys.
Another region you can look at is the Hokuriku region (Kanazawa, Toyama, Takayama). Key attractions - Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route, Kurobe Dam, Kenrouken Garden in Kanazawa

Ideally go in May (after Golden Week) so that Alpine Route won't be too crowded. Also, i think Kurobe Dam is not open to access until May also
tohff7
post Oct 3 2018, 04:49 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 3 2018, 03:36 PM)
haha I don't hv this problem on my first tried...

next time when u sneak into women section then we chat again..
haha I accidentally did that and I swear by the moon and the stars in the sky that is totally non intentionally.
my gf is shy of being naked in front of other ladies. so most of the time I booked ryokan that have private reservable hotspring bath. devil.gif

my first time using the common onsen is in a hotel at Kawaguchiko. went to bath around 9pm and there's only 1 angmoh. Don't know he more shy than me or what. A few minutes later he left
tohff7
post Oct 4 2018, 12:33 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 4 2018, 09:48 AM)
I'm actually looking at the cherry blossom period because previously I went to Japan during Golden Week. ( yes, its a nightmare, but still enjoyable). Hence I wil be looking at around beginning of April or second week of April. But then not sure whether Hokuriku region has good location to view cherry blossom or not and whether it is a good timing as well to visit these places there.

Also, I assume that there is no nearby airport there right? I believe the nearest airport is Tokyo.
Yeah, I just went and googled it, the snow wall looks stunning!!
My itinerary this year (5-17 Apr) will have been perfect if not for the haywire weather. Coldest winter but then sakura season started early by 1 week in 3rd week of March rclxub.gif . And then 1st day of the Kurobe Alpine Route was closed because of bad weather.

1. Kenrouken Garden is top 3 garden in Japan. Even without full bloom sakura, it's already quite awesome. Imagine if it's in full blossom

2. You can either take Shinkansen from Tokyo to Toyama/Kanazawa. Or take domestic flight to Toyama airport

3. Ideally, you want to visit and stay in Takayama on 14-15 Apr for their annual festival. Then have a flexible itinerary to go Kurobe Alpine Route when it opens. Stay in Toyama so that you can start early at 5-6 am. Note - Takayama will be 100% fully-booked, so you really need to book early like >6 months in advance if possible

4. Ideal route - Kanazawa --> Shirakawago --> Takayama + surrounding area if you like (Gero Onsen, Okuhida, Shintoka Ropeway) --> Toyama ---> Kurobe Alpine Route

EDIT
I was referring to this route when talking about the mid-May opening - http://www.kurotetu.co.jp/en/

Not to be confused with Kurobe Alpine route which usually open on 15-16 April

This post has been edited by tohff7: Oct 4 2018, 12:40 PM
tohff7
post Oct 4 2018, 12:59 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Oct 4 2018, 09:57 AM)
Guys, for USS osaka, I am thinking to buy both the ticket and express pass at Klook.

Anyone use that before? Is it reliable?

Or are there any way to get the USS express ticket earlier before I go into Japan?
Kloook is reliable and some times they have this Buy 1 Free 1 Promo flash deal on Firday. Do look out for their FB website

You can try to ask JTB Malaysia. They definitely sell USJ entrance ticket, but I'm not sure about express pass.

QUOTE(estcin @ Oct 4 2018, 11:05 AM)
How much? whats the damage?
about 1000yen for 1hr private-bath use for my stay in a onsen resort in Okuhida.

for Hakone 1, they offer free 1-time 45min use(s) per staying night(s), as long as you booked a room together with dinner.

This post has been edited by tohff7: Oct 4 2018, 01:04 PM
tohff7
post Oct 4 2018, 04:04 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 4 2018, 02:37 PM)
Ideal route -  Kanazawa --> Shirakawago --> Takayama + surrounding area if you like (Gero Onsen, Okuhida, Shintoka Ropeway) --> Toyama ---> Kurobe Alpine Route

For this route, is it really can be completed within 7 days?

It seems like its very hard to have cherry blossom and this tour running together as cherry blossom should be around end of March and Alphine Route should be around mid/end of April.
Cherry blossom season in Kanazawa and Takayama is 1-2 weeks later than Tokyo. You can see 2018 timing here https://www.japan-guide.com/sakura/

Like I said, this year sakura season is earlier than usual by 1 week (see Tokyo opening day). If not because of that, I would have enjoy peak bloom at the best time in Kanazawa (was there on 10 Apr) and starting to peak in Takayama (there on 13-14 Apr)

tohff7
post Oct 12 2018, 04:39 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Siow @ Oct 12 2018, 04:34 PM)
Konichiwa! Heading to Tokyo soon (next week to be exact) smile.gif
Any sensei's comments on the itinerary that is being planned out?
Any spots that I missed out or is the itinerary too cramp? Going for my honeymoon and it is going to be as relaxing as possible.
Appreciate all the feedbacks and comments smile.gif
Will say it's nicer to combine Fuji + Hakone together (meaning spending a night over in Hakone or Fuji Lake areas) and enjoy the onsen resorts.

but since you are going next week, I guess accomodation is already firmed up. unsure.gif
tohff7
post Oct 23 2018, 05:07 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

ANA having some mysterious sales starting this Friday
tohff7
post Oct 26 2018, 09:12 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

ANA sales started

KL-Tokyo starting from RM1.5K
tohff7
post Oct 26 2018, 03:03 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Oct 26 2018, 01:33 PM)
1.5k is like that normal price for off peak time

don't really feel like its a deal hmm.gif
I tried peak season dates (late March) and can get RM1.5k. Oklar a bit savings from the RM1.7k i paid for this year

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 26 2018, 02:25 PM)
Hi Guys, I have draft the itinerary for my upcoming trip to Toyama, Takayama, Alpine route area and a little bit of Nagoya. ( Where its my departure and arrival place ).

Day 1 Nagoya - SCMaglev & Railway Park, Nabana no Sato,
Day 2 Takayama - Takayama Jinya, Shin Hotaka Ropeway, Takayama Old Town, Hachiman Shrine
Day 3 Shirakawago / Kamikochi
Day 4 Kanazawa - Kenroku-en garden, kanazawa castle, Higashi chaya district, Omicho Seafood Market, Nagamichi Samurai
Day 5 & 6 - Kurobe Alpine Route
Day 7 - Aichi
Day 8 & 9 - Nagoya -  Nagoya Castle. ( + souvenir & hobby purchase )
Day 10 - Back home ( 10am flight )

Any feedback or suggestion is welcome. Its just a draft yet, anything can be changed.
1. Allocate 1-day for Shin Hotaka Ropeway to be ideal. The bus journey alone is 1.5hr 1-way. There are a lot of onsen resorts nearby where you can spend a night.

2. Kurobe Alpine Route - stay the night in Toyama, so that you can get up early to start the route. Especially if you are planning to go around the opening date in mid-April (super peak period)
tohff7
post Oct 26 2018, 03:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Oct 26 2018, 03:08 PM)
go and return 1.7k?
Yes. ANA return ticket KL-Tokyo RM1.7k/pax

Booked in early Jan
tohff7
post Oct 26 2018, 04:28 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 26 2018, 03:52 PM)
I will be going mid of May. So I think the crowd is still fine. And yes, I will be hopping different stay throughout the journey. For luggage I will just send it to the courier for delivery as how local people will do. For the Shin Hotaka Ropeway stay, where should I place this? Before Shirakawago?
Yea. because from Shirakawago, you'll proceed to Toyama right?

Shin-Hotaka Ropeway is like a side-trip at the opposite direction (east of Takayama) while Shirakawago is north-west of Takayama. So you'll need to go back to Takayama again (from Shin-Hotaka ropeway) before proceeding to Shirakawago
tohff7
post Oct 29 2018, 12:12 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 29 2018, 10:24 AM)
My last trip to Osaka, Nara, Kyoto and Tokyo also did not follow my itinerary very well. We end up missing a lot of good food ( cause those famous need to queue at least an hour ), and use these times to visit more places. From there I only knew that, it's impossible to accomplish everything in one visit.

Hence this time, I consider the time travel, and even the distance travel. This trip will be even more challenging as I will need to change hotel very frequently, and ensure that there will be no issue finding the baggage courier in that area.

For attractions, I will need to check with my wife about her interest first then I will only be able to bold those places that I will visit. I also will get the 5 days Toyama Tourist Pass which will travel from Nagoya on the way to Gifu, Takayama, Toyama, Alpine Route, Matsumoto, and all the way back to Nagoya.

Not sure whether I want to go Aichi and Matsumoto or not. Not sure whether there is any place to visit.

The date of travel is May 2019, so I believe it will not be darker earlier.

Of course, if you have any useful links, such as baggage courier services ( seriously need it ), bus schedule link, please do let me know.

Day 1 Nagoya - SCMaglev & Railway Park, Nabana no Sato,
Day 2 Takayama - Takayama Jinya, Shin Hotaka Ropeway, Takayama Old Town, Hachiman Shrine
Day 3 Shirakawago / Kamikochi
Day 4 Kanazawa - Kenroku-en garden, kanazawa castle, Higashi chaya district, Omicho Seafood Market, Nagamichi Samurai
Day 5 & 6 - Kurobe Alpine Route
Day 7 - Matsumoto
Day 8 - Aichi
Day 9 - Nagoya -  Nagoya Castle. ( + souvenir & hobby purchase )
Day 10 - Back home ( 10am flight )
It's quite impossible to visit all the Takayama attractions in a day based on your schedule. Imagine this

Earliest Hida Wide View express train from Nagoya is 7.45am. Reach Takayama around 10.15am. Next bus available is 10.40am and reach the base of Shin-Hotaka Ropeway at 12.25pm. Next available return bus schedule is 1.46pm (unlikely unless u rush) or 2.55pm. Arrived back in Takayama only by 3.41pm or 4.41pm.

It's best to allocate 1 day for Shin-Hotaka ropeway, and if you like, spend a night at various onsen along the route. Prices are very reasonable because there are not a lot of tourists visiting this area.

Bus schedule website for whole Takayama/Shirakawago/Shin-Hotaka/Kanazawa. Also check out the economical tickets/passes - https://www.nouhibus.co.jp/english/highwaybus/

Baggage courier services - http://www.global-yamato.com/en/hands-free...vel/facilities/

There's a Ta-Q-Bin shop just opposite of JR Takayama station. For Kanazawa, I can't remember if there's any baggage courier service at the station.
tohff7
post Oct 29 2018, 01:55 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 29 2018, 01:23 PM)
That is really very very useful to me!! So many many thanks. The problem now is that I need to check each and every trip time cost and distance. So far I all based on google map.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

I need to use the apps to plan the route very well. This will be a different type of experience compared with my previous Japan trip.

Thanks for the suggestion, I will reserve one day for Shin-Hotaka ropeway, at the same time I will need to check Kiso Valley like sweet_pez recommends. There are too many nice places to go with so little time of allocate.
Just add more days then devil.gif

You are earning SGD after-all, while most of US have to suffer weaker Ringgit lel

EDIT
A few more links for you

Online reservation for bus route Takayama-Shirakawago-Kanazawa - https://www.japanbusonline.com/en/CourseSea...40002?afcd=MDI=

Value pack for Shin-Hotaka ropeway visit - https://www.nouhibus.co.jp/hida/bustrip/shi...a_spa_lunch-en/

If you intend to spend a night at Shirakawago - booking thru https://www.japaneseguesthouses.com/

This post has been edited by tohff7: Oct 29 2018, 02:10 PM
tohff7
post Oct 31 2018, 09:59 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Oct 31 2018, 09:13 AM)
lols how come still can find 1.5k, when i last checked price ady went up

I booked weeks ago 3/27-4/10 fly to tokyo thn out from osaka cost around 1750
ANA has a 4-day promo sales starting Friday last week. For the promo, RM1.5k is the cheapest fare you can get for KL-Tokyo return
tohff7
post Oct 31 2018, 10:37 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(uk9089 @ Oct 31 2018, 10:10 AM)
How much pocket money do i need to bring for 2 person 10 days? No fancy/luxury shopping, just food, ticket entrance, maybe some cheap gundam toys, small souvenir. Other than that credit card i guess.
RM6-8k should be more than enough. Assuming big-ticket items like hotels/Shinkansen/Theme Park fees are already paid in advance or via CC

Just budget around 2000yen/meal/pax (more than enough for a good meal) and then the rest (like train fares, ticket entrance, etc.) can be Googled

This post has been edited by tohff7: Oct 31 2018, 10:39 AM
tohff7
post Nov 4 2018, 12:41 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Nov 3 2018, 07:46 PM)
hi guys, planning for my 1 week trip in tokyo in december. Im looking at the mount fuji packages in klook, there are many packages , some cost only RM213 while some rm515. I cant really see the different.. dont mind the price.. any recommendation if you guys been to mount fuji? im also undecided on kawaguchi or hakone..
There’s itinerary for you to see in Klook...Basically

RM213 - Just around Lake Kawaguchi area via bus
RM515 - half day in Kawaguchiko and then another half day in Hakone area. Take train back to Tokyo

Recommendation? Take RM213 if u just want to see Mt Fuji.

Best itinerary? Spend 1-2 night in Hakone and/or Lake Kawaguchi. Google Fuji-Hakone pass to cover your transportation

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.1602sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:00 PM