The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V4, Say hello to the future
attw
Jan 10 2018, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Jan 10 2018, 09:37 AM) Refurbished by Apple itself is way better than used set. Dont mistaken with illegally refurbished by 3rd party or ahbeng shop. Ya, what I meant was I'd rather but a used set than a set refurbished by Ah Beng shop
attw
Jan 10 2018, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(xiiaoisaac @ Jan 10 2018, 10:37 AM) From Iphone 6s. want to upgrade to iphone x. Want pay cash. any way to get it at a cheaper price. than paying retail. What things that i need to get. such like wireless charging and tempered glass. Scout the Garage Sale for deals. A good case and screen protector should suffice for protection. A wireless charger is a nice to have but not a need.
attw
Jan 10 2018, 07:21 PM
QUOTE(asrul @ Jan 10 2018, 06:55 PM) anyone experiencing crackling sound with the speaker? sounds like the problem appear to lot of people I think there was an old thread for this but seemed to simmer down a little already. Are you having the issue? This post has been edited by attw: Jan 10 2018, 07:23 PM
attw
Jan 11 2018, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 11 2018, 06:39 AM)  Strangest warranty claim ever.
attw
Jan 11 2018, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(HippyTony @ Jan 11 2018, 09:19 AM) Is Apple still allowing a downgrade to 10.3.3?
attw
Jan 11 2018, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(yclam5729 @ Jan 11 2018, 02:13 PM) Last 2 months I asked Apple on chat(got a copy of email as evidence) and called twice to Apple toll free, was told by 3 diff ppl US is covered under Apple Malaysia warranty means Apple reseller service center will collect in Mys in the event any problem. But remember, get Verizon unlock iPhone as it gets Qualcomm modem, you will regret if you were to get Intel modem in US when there's option there to choose from. If you need insurance, chat with Apple online and get a copy of the chat to your email. The sim-free ones are not Qualcomm modems?
attw
Jan 11 2018, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(ryukick @ Jan 11 2018, 07:52 PM) Wondering if you buy from SG - is the GST refundable for us? its SGD 108 but its inclusive of the phone pricing...this is from official Apple SG store Where else is cheaper in SG for new sets? If you travel there by flight, yes, you can get GST refund upon leaving the country via Changi.
attw
Jan 12 2018, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(KingRyan @ Jan 11 2018, 04:11 PM) Haha I must admit I am still playing it. Cannot get a mew two yet  But to relate back to this, GPS is damn accurate even indoors in shopping malls. One Utama not so good but MV/Gardens perfect. Are you on maxis as well? I also noticed that signal strength in 1U is a little inconsistent. QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 12 2018, 07:15 AM) As what attw said below. If you are purchasing through online and self collect in Apple Store, it is not eligible for claims  The other option is to purchase at Changi when you depart. GST directly deducted already. This post has been edited by attw: Jan 12 2018, 07:49 AM
attw
Jan 12 2018, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 12 2018, 08:47 AM) Is it true you need to be in Spore for at least 3 days before the GST refund is accepted?? Read this somewhere on the web before. Not sure about that, I'm usually there for longer than that  QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 12 2018, 08:03 AM) Yea good idea to purchase at Changi airpor  If you are driving there from Jb, then Orchard road Apple store. Except sometimes the dealer there is out of stock then you don't get what you want and no chance to keep looking coz you are departing already
attw
Jan 12 2018, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(merci @ Jan 12 2018, 10:02 PM) No need. I just bought mine ipX during my transit from Tokyo Just show your boarding pass when made the purchase Did they make you buy additional accessories as part of a bundle? There were some complaints about that initially.
attw
Jan 13 2018, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 13 2018, 07:01 AM) Both are disappointing to me. I used only UC or Dolphin on my ip8+. UC is my current favorite. Simply because both allow me to adjust font sizes. I had read before Safari had such feature too but I simply couldn't locate it - any tips? Does either UC or Dolphin has a reading mode?
attw
Jan 13 2018, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(vez @ Jan 13 2018, 02:43 PM) you mean 11.2.2? i have updated so far no issue Battery life better or worse?
attw
Jan 14 2018, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(merci @ Jan 13 2018, 09:53 PM) No, I only bought the iphone . Ok, good to know , thanks. I'll be in transit there in March, might grab myself one too if the RM continues to strengthen.
attw
Jan 14 2018, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(fremont88 @ Jan 14 2018, 01:40 PM) Finally found it.... [attachmentid=9512185] Nice, didn't know machines carried Nomad cases
attw
Jan 15 2018, 07:36 AM
QUOTE(merci @ Jan 14 2018, 03:29 PM) Good. :thumbsup: Btw, I bought at istudio terminal 1 Oh OK. I usually fly out of T2. Anyways, let's see.
attw
Jan 15 2018, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(maserati @ Jan 15 2018, 09:12 AM) Problem is, I never had to turn off background app refresh on my 7 plus and I've never run into such issues. Why do I need to do it now? Same with my mail app. I've been using it for donkeys and on the iphone x, it's just sucking up my battery for no reason at all. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling waze. I'll have to keep monitoring. So far, ios has downgraded itself to being as buggy as android, which is a shame as ios is the iphone's only saving grace. Putting aside the operating system, the phone is basically another overpriced piece of equipment. Are you on the latest 11.2.2?
attw
Jan 15 2018, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(maserati @ Jan 15 2018, 09:23 AM) Yep. Latest and greatest  Monitoring my wife's 8 Plus on 11.2.2 as well. She didn't fully charge it last night so I can't tell if there was a drain or not this morning. Will check again and see
attw
Jan 15 2018, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(louis198920 @ Jan 15 2018, 09:41 AM) Location of Waze is set to 'while using app' ? Settings> Privacy> Location Services > Waze > ?? Some folks complained that if it's not set to Always On then there could be a problem with the location accuracy instead.
attw
Jan 15 2018, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(maserati @ Jan 15 2018, 11:03 AM) Just have a look at the battery usage stats and see if there are any anomalies. If there aren't any, the battery would not drain unnecessarily. My location services are normally turned off unless I use waze. I get what you mean but my point is that since this isn't happening on my 7 plus with the exact same settings, why should it be happening on the x. I've uninstalled and reinstalled waze this morning. Launched the app and forced close the thing again. So far so good. Could just be the Waze app is wonky, I've experienced it a couple of times before.
attw
Jan 15 2018, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(firecracker @ Jan 15 2018, 03:21 PM) this is weird...my ipX has been very good in term of battery...i sleep at 100% and wake up about there Good to know not everyone affected by the bug