Streamyx 8mbps good enough for PS4 online?

kming
post Aug 29 2018, 10:58 PM

220 posts

Lol, i actually thought about tumpang friend house which is just a block away. But if keep on updating, seems troublesome.

But since i am not into online gaming, i think i will survive with 8mbps using rest mode when i'm away to work.

Thanks every sifu for sharing info.
epsonstylux
post Dec 10 2018, 11:19 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

guys, want to ask. I already set a static ip for my ps4, already open port forwarding, but I'm still getting NAT Type 3 Connection.

I'm getting pissed off now by this type 3
t4lruum
post Dec 10 2018, 11:27 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Dec 10 2018, 11:19 PM)
guys, want to ask. I already set a static ip for my ps4, already open port forwarding, but I'm still getting NAT Type 3 Connection.

I'm getting pissed off now by this type 3
Did your router get public IP from the ISP?
epsonstylux
post Dec 11 2018, 12:38 AM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(t4lruum @ Dec 10 2018, 11:27 PM)
Did your router get public IP from the ISP?
how to know if my router public or private?
dark_heart07
post Dec 11 2018, 01:27 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Dec 11 2018, 12:38 AM)
how to know if my router public or private?
just google 'what is my ip' and you'll get it. if ur streamyx IP start with 10.xxx.xxx.xxx most likely it was private IP so any connection from ur streamyx are nat type 3. been there before. got changed to public after i emailed TM ask them to change back to public from private after I can't connect to any multiplayer games on ps4.
epsonstylux
post Dec 11 2018, 06:49 AM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Dec 11 2018, 01:27 AM)
just google 'what is my ip' and you'll get it. if ur streamyx IP start with 10.xxx.xxx.xxx most likely it was private IP so any connection from ur streamyx are nat type 3. been there before. got changed to public after i emailed TM ask them to change back to public from private after I can't connect to any multiplayer games on ps4.
On whatsmyip my ip is 1.32.68.192

Local ip is 192.168 as usual.

Is that considered as private? I already set static ip for the ps4, already open port forwarding. Nothing works.
Hattori
post Dec 11 2018, 02:03 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Dec 11 2018, 01:27 AM)
just google 'what is my ip' and you'll get it.
This is not the correct way to check if you have private IP or public IP.
The result will always show the public IP.

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Dec 11 2018, 06:49 AM)
On whatsmyip my ip is 1.32.68.192
You will need to login your router & compare the result with the router/modem's WAN IP.
If it matches, you definitely have public IP.

If your router/modem WAN IP is not matching, then you have private IP on your side.
epsonstylux
post Dec 11 2018, 03:57 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Dec 11 2018, 02:03 PM)
You will need to login your router & compare the result with the router/modem's WAN IP.
If it matches, you definitely have public IP.

If your router/modem WAN IP is not matching, then you have private IP on your side.
Ooo i didnt know that. Seeing my ip starts from 1 i figure mine is already public.
epsonstylux
post Dec 11 2018, 06:59 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

my router wan ip is 100.108.xxx.xxx
public ip on whatismyip is the 1.32.xxx.xxx

so confirmed la streamyx assigned me a private ip. Already ask them to change to public, they opened a report.
dark_heart07
post Dec 12 2018, 12:10 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Dec 11 2018, 02:03 PM)
well last time it works on me lol laugh.gif
ali_xpdc
post Jan 1 2019, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Dec 11 2018, 06:59 PM)
my router wan ip is 100.108.xxx.xxx
public ip on whatismyip is the 1.32.xxx.xxx

so confirmed la streamyx assigned me a private ip. Already ask them to change to public, they opened a report.
Did they change? Damn it mine oso nat 3 now.
epsonstylux
post Jan 1 2019, 11:47 AM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(ali_xpdc @ Jan 1 2019, 10:20 AM)
Did they change? Damn it mine oso nat 3 now.
Haha they did. I followed a forummer advice here saying i need public ip for cctv
ali_xpdc
post Jan 1 2019, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Jan 1 2019, 11:47 AM)
Haha they did. I followed a forummer advice here saying i need public ip for cctv
Wah good, I'll try the same then

My router ip start 100.xxxxxxx
What's my ip check starts 60.xxxxxx *correction now its 218.xxxxxxxxxx
Same case la kan?

This post has been edited by ali_xpdc: Jan 1 2019, 03:02 PM
epsonstylux
post Jan 1 2019, 01:33 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(ali_xpdc @ Jan 1 2019, 01:26 PM)
Wah good,  I'll try the same then
My router ip start 100.xxxxxxx
What's my ip check starts 60.xxxxxx
Same case la kan?
I think so. But they took 3 4 days to change the ip
westlife
post Jan 1 2019, 02:02 PM

14,287 posts

QUOTE(angelflames @ Dec 19 2017, 09:45 AM)
has got nothing to do with attitude my man. they aint gonna give you public IP just because you need it. they have a package for public IP and you need to pay extra if you need it. CCTV can easily be reached from outside using dynamic dns+portforwarding.

anyway, for the NAT thingy,

NAT1 = PS4 connected directly with public IP
NAT2 = PS4 being within private IP segment, NATed once by your home router
NAT3 = same case as above, but NATed twice. This can be caused by few things, but most obvious is you have a second router. If you don't then it's probably the configuration inside your home router, where its either setting up a virtual gateway for redundancy or segmenting your network, or could be number of other reasons.

But NAT type alone should be a problem for any of your PS online session, as long as you have good latency/bandwidth. They are more relevant when you using Remote Play from the internet, where you client need to find your PS4 to connect.
on unifi, NAT type 2.

Was on streamyx 4Mbps before, the speed is terrible. Even YouTube streaming experience is not good.

I think for online gaming, latency and upload speed matters more. Both sucks on streamyx.
dark_heart07
post Jan 1 2019, 11:18 PM

77 posts

Untunglah you guys at least got 4MB and above. Me still stuck with 1MB Screamyx. doh.gif

I'm using direct bridge mode from modem to pc/ps4. Need to sign in via PPoE username & password on both pc/ps4. My nat type on ps4 is type 1. So far almost 15 years on 1MB the ping is bearable bcoz on BFV ps4 <50ms and <60ms on BO4 pc.

This post has been edited by dark_heart07: Jan 1 2019, 11:18 PM

0.0208sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:17 PM