Streamyx 8mbps good enough for PS4 online?

TS404xfound
post Dec 17 2017, 09:59 PM, updated 8y ago

121 posts

Been using 1mbps since forever and it's really slow/unstable during PS4 online sessions. I'm about to change it to 8mbps (unifi unavailable so I've got no choice).

Also can someone (those who are using 8mbps) tell me what your PS4 NAT type is? I heard someone said that they have NAT type 3 (which is bad for online gaming) when they are using the Streamyx 8mbps package due to TM private IP thingy.
dark_heart07
post Dec 18 2017, 01:09 AM

77 posts

using 1mb here for my ps4 and pc. as for nat can get type 1 if directly connect to modem via PPoE. as nat type 3 usually it was TM fault bcoz assigned a private IP for user. call them and ask them to switch to public IP and prob solve.
greyshadow
post Dec 18 2017, 10:54 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

8M user here, NAT 2 all this while, never got a NAT 3 before
TS404xfound
post Dec 18 2017, 05:20 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Dec 18 2017, 10:54 AM)
8M user here, NAT 2 all this while, never got a NAT 3 before
That's good to hear! Is it stable?
robzombie79
post Dec 18 2017, 06:17 PM

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Dec 18 2017, 01:09 AM)
using 1mb here for my ps4 and pc. as for nat can get type 1 if directly connect to modem via PPoE. as nat type 3 usually it was TM fault bcoz assigned a private IP for user. call them and ask them to switch to public IP and prob solve.
If I choose PPPoE connection on my PS4 I can get NAT type 1? Can you explain the steps needed to make that PPPoE connection? Recently I'm getting NAT type 3 on my PS4 and I'm not sure what caused the change because previously my PS4 was always on NAT type 2.

I'm also using 1mb speed.

This post has been edited by robzombie79: Dec 18 2017, 06:19 PM
TS404xfound
post Dec 18 2017, 11:41 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(robzombie79 @ Dec 18 2017, 06:17 PM)
If I choose PPPoE connection on my PS4 I can get NAT type 1? Can you explain the steps needed to make that PPPoE connection? Recently I'm getting NAT type 3 on my PS4 and I'm not sure what caused the change because previously my PS4 was always on NAT type 2.

I'm facing the same issue with my 1mbps connection. I bet they have changed our previous IP (public IP = NAT 1/2) to private IP (NAT 3) without our knowledge. I heard it's because the world is running low on public IP so they are trying to reserve those for people who are using higher speed package. We who are still using 1mbps are not their priorities.
dark_heart07
post Dec 18 2017, 11:55 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(robzombie79 @ Dec 18 2017, 06:17 PM)

it's complicated to set for PPoE bcoz u need to change ur modem function to bridge mode. so when setting the internet connection on ps4 select custom and select PPoE. there u need to key in ur streamyx user (user@streamyx) with streamyx password. but ur other device will not able to use internet (if they use same wifi/cable connection) bcoz streamyx 1 mb is only for 1 user.
dark_heart07
post Dec 18 2017, 11:56 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(404xfound @ Dec 18 2017, 11:41 PM)
I'm facing the same issue with my 1mbps connection. I bet they have changed our previous IP (public IP = NAT 1/2) to private IP (NAT 3) without our knowledge. I heard it's because the world is running low on public IP so they are trying to reserve those for people who are using higher speed package. We who are still using 1mbps are not their priorities.
just spam email them ask for public IP bcoz using remote cctv at home. with private IP u cannot view cctv at home using remote view from outside. icon_idea.gif brows.gif
TS404xfound
post Dec 19 2017, 12:06 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Dec 18 2017, 11:56 PM)
just spam email them ask for public IP bcoz using remote cctv at home. with private IP u cannot view cctv at home using remote view from outside. icon_idea.gif brows.gif
Will they listen to us though? You know lar... TM staff's attitude whistling.gif
angelflames
post Dec 19 2017, 09:45 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(404xfound @ Dec 19 2017, 12:06 AM)
Will they listen to us though? You know lar... TM staff's attitude  whistling.gif
has got nothing to do with attitude my man. they aint gonna give you public IP just because you need it. they have a package for public IP and you need to pay extra if you need it. CCTV can easily be reached from outside using dynamic dns+portforwarding.

anyway, for the NAT thingy,

NAT1 = PS4 connected directly with public IP
NAT2 = PS4 being within private IP segment, NATed once by your home router
NAT3 = same case as above, but NATed twice. This can be caused by few things, but most obvious is you have a second router. If you don't then it's probably the configuration inside your home router, where its either setting up a virtual gateway for redundancy or segmenting your network, or could be number of other reasons.

But NAT type alone should be a problem for any of your PS online session, as long as you have good latency/bandwidth. They are more relevant when you using Remote Play from the internet, where you client need to find your PS4 to connect.
TS404xfound
post Dec 19 2017, 01:04 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(angelflames @ Dec 19 2017, 09:45 AM)
has got nothing to do with attitude my man. they aint gonna give you public IP just because you need it. they have a package for public IP and you need to pay extra if you need it. CCTV can easily be reached from outside using dynamic dns+portforwarding.

anyway, for the NAT thingy,

NAT1 = PS4 connected directly with public IP
NAT2 = PS4 being within private IP segment, NATed once by your home router
NAT3 = same case as above, but NATed twice. This can be caused by few things, but most obvious is you have a second router. If you don't then it's probably the configuration inside your home router, where its either setting up a virtual gateway for redundancy or segmenting your network, or could be number of other reasons.

But NAT type alone should be a problem for any of your PS online session, as long as you have good latency/bandwidth. They are more relevant when you using Remote Play from the internet, where you client need to find your PS4 to connect.
So if they give me private IP then it'd be NAT 3? Anyway, they usually give private IP de ar? Cuz nat 3 sucks and I really wish I'm not paying so much money for 8mbps and get NAT 3 lol

angelflames
post Dec 27 2017, 01:46 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(404xfound @ Dec 19 2017, 01:04 PM)
So if they give me private IP then it'd be NAT 3? Anyway, they usually give private IP de ar? Cuz nat 3 sucks and I really wish I'm not paying so much money for 8mbps and get NAT 3 lol
something else is within your network that causing you to get NAT 3. Usual case of where PS4->Router->Internet, you should get NAT2.

Just FYI, everybody get private IP. Public IP is mostly for business use, or if you want to setup server that cannot be down at all for whatever reasons. It is also much more expensive.

This post has been edited by angelflames: Dec 27 2017, 01:50 PM
ali_xpdc
post Dec 27 2017, 02:01 PM

8mb user here. Im too lazy tinkering around the router so I'll just let it auto set up.

So far best connections I can get
1. Mgo - red or 1 bar. Usually red lah laugh.gif
2. Pes 2017 R2 - one to two bar
3. Killing floor - 70 to 90
4. Bf4. - 3 bar
GameSky
post Dec 27 2017, 08:37 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

4mbps, 8mbps no problem... if lag, blame tm due to their topkekness routing.. but so far no problem la, even bf1 plays fine
kming
post Aug 29 2018, 01:37 AM

220 posts

What about downloading games or updates more than 10gb? Gonna take forever with 8mbps?
greyshadow
post Aug 29 2018, 08:10 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(kming @ Aug 29 2018, 01:37 AM)
What about downloading games or updates more than 10gb? Gonna take forever with 8mbps?
just put your PS4 in standby mode and let it download overnight
usually should complete overnight or within 24 hours
westlife
post Aug 29 2018, 11:21 AM

14,286 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 29 2018, 08:10 AM)
just put your PS4 in standby mode and let it download overnight
usually should complete overnight or within 24 hours
poor thing with low speed. consume a lot of electricity also.
greyshadow
post Aug 29 2018, 11:43 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Aug 29 2018, 11:21 AM)
poor thing with low speed. consume a lot of electricity also.
not so much when it's in rest mode, which consumes only 4Watts
you let it run a year in rest mode also the electricity bill is only less than RM10

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Aug 29 2018, 11:49 AM
westlife
post Aug 29 2018, 01:08 PM

14,286 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 29 2018, 11:43 AM)
not so much when it's in rest mode, which consumes only 4Watts
you let it run a year in rest mode also the electricity bill is only less than RM10
yes, but time is the killer. tongue.gif

and with slow speed, the user experience for online gaming will not be good.
pokchik
post Aug 29 2018, 02:19 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(kming @ Aug 29 2018, 01:37 AM)
Tumpang ur friend’s house with 100Mbps unifi for dload.
Treat him/her with a nice frappuccino afterwards and don’t forget to say thank you.

On a more serious note, some gameshops provide a ‘downloading service’ with some fee included.

If so happens that you’re staying in Melaka, the Game Houz in Ayer Keroh provide such service.

They have Unifi connection.

0.0192sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:25 AM