12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V10, Zoom-Zoom w/ Kodo

wkc5657
post Jan 25 2019, 10:43 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jan 24 2019, 09:30 PM)
Yeah the sparco is a good choice but offset 50. Stock rims offset 48.
Plus 8j is a bit wide no?
Have to fit 225/40R18s if need to have good fitting.

Still contemplating..
Stock offset is 50, and 2mm difference almost like nothing.

8in width just nice, front will be almost flush look.

You can still fit 225/45/18 without too much speedo variance, but kerbing risk a little higher as quite likely the rim lip will protrude a little bit (depends on tyre construction, some are wider). 225/4018 seems a little more expensive; the possible better fit will be 235/40/18; of course tyres even more expensive la...

Can play with the settings in this website to have some perspective on the changes :
https://www.wheel-size.com/calc/?wheel1=215...scl=50mm&sr=0mm

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jan 25 2019, 10:45 AM
wkc5657
post Feb 1 2019, 11:47 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Jan 31 2019, 03:05 PM)
Hi guys, having a Mazda 3 GVC model.
Would like to know when you guys have go through a speedbump, does the car makes the sound "pssst .... pssst".
Normal sound for absorber, nothing can be done about it. Happens to pretty much most non premium cars after 1 year of driving. Not a defect either.

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jan 31 2019, 03:31 PM)
Yeah, standard defect. Its the bed creaking sound.
The issue is the Lower Arm Bushings.

Send your car in to have them replaced.
Its free of charge if it is under warranty.

Will take 1 day to replace the front bushing and arms.
He/she referring to the absorber hissing, not the lower arm creaking sound.
wkc5657
post Feb 7 2019, 10:46 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Feb 3 2019, 11:50 AM)

Btw, what kind of wipers did you guys changed to?

Haha
Got from Tesco those unknown branded silicone wipers, worked damn well for the money at about RM20/pc. Used for 1.5 years and wiped very well.

Now on Valeo First as the car wash shop broke the wipers i bought in tesco. Costs almost double, but wiping performance similar as the tesco ones.
wkc5657
post Feb 13 2019, 03:13 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(chungf1 @ Feb 13 2019, 01:20 AM)
Hi guys, Ctek recommended recond battery yearly is it safe connect direct to car battery no harm to car electronics? Anyone recond mode before?
Your car and battery would be absolutely fine going through reconditioning function.

The in-built protection circuitry isn't for show.
wkc5657
post Feb 14 2019, 10:58 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(chungf1 @ Feb 14 2019, 12:58 AM)
Thanks for make my mind clearer.
Last charge battery soc at 84.5% still good next will recond.

Just take note that the reconditioning process may not necessarily bring the SOC number significantly higher.

You're still on the original battery?

QUOTE(chungf1 @ Feb 14 2019, 09:26 AM)
To access this screen speedometer need to install Mazda AIO tweaks.
Please walk us through how this was done notworthy.gif
wkc5657
post Feb 19 2019, 01:54 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(san_098 @ Feb 18 2019, 03:30 PM)
Hi Everyone, So let's say I have my 2016 Mazda 3 with a 9-year loan but I would like to upgrade to a CX-5 2019, how would I go about doing this with Mazda?
approach a sales advisor of your liking and he/she will guide you through the process of trading
wkc5657
post Feb 25 2019, 12:03 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(darr3nlwc @ Feb 24 2019, 11:44 PM)
Anyone runs their M3 with Bridgestones Potenza RE003 225/45/18???
Supply is getting limited for re003, and the pricing doesn't seem compelling for the performance it provides.

Would suggest you go for the hankook v12evo2 or the falken fk510 after running down the factory tyres. Both value for money without sacrificing performance with the added improvements towards road noise harshness compared to the factory set.

QUOTE(cazorla81 @ Feb 25 2019, 12:15 AM)
Hi all, am very interested to get m3. geared towards sedan but still not sure of gl or hs. Any issue on the 18 inch rim? Heard it's high maintenance and bumpy ride, I mainly use for daily use and not genting cornering everyday. no family yet.

any spec will probably be a huge upgrade as I am currently on my 10 years old myvi.

I understand the new m3 is out and coming soon in bout half year. tho the sedan version looks very polished, it's probably gonna be forever cbu. Will such move increase the maintenance and rv of current gen m3? I just checked carlist and the m3 2014 onwards seems pretty strong. But not sure bout the future with this move.

the new m3 is pretty expensive if cbu, referring to the new australia pricing ( will rather get cx5 with that price), thus no plan to wait for that.

Already test drive this vs Civic and probably gonna settle with m3 this weekend. Civic spacious and comfort, but the exterior is not my liking and overall due to the size, the car feel a bit bulky (雷) to drive..(anyway if not m3, I ll happily settle with the new civic2019 later)

Please advise, thanks.
Bumpy or not, you have to decide for yourself after taking it for a test drive between the 2 specs. But the benefit of high specs is the gorgeous headlights. Worse come to worse, if cannot tahan the 18in, you can swap to 17in after wearing down the factory set of tyres.

But if you're coming from the myvi, you might find it kind of claustrophobic as the rear legroom and the smaller windows compared to what myvi offers. The front hood is long, so have to judge carefully for the initial periods of ownership.

If you're concern about future RV, just get the honda instead, definite peace of mind in RV aspect. It is not that bad, but definitely not honda/toyota level.

If you can wait, suggest you hold on till the launch of both the new mazda3 and the facelifted civic.

QUOTE(darr3nlwc @ Feb 25 2019, 12:44 AM)
There have been news stating that the new m3 would remain as a CBU for the CKD production to be reserved for the SUVs which is more profitable, aka CX3, 5 and the upcoming CX8. Though things may change in the future depending on consumer demand. On top of that, it is also rumored that the base line m3 will start from a 1.5L engine @ approx RM140k.

One thing to note on the Civic, I find the car's panels are softer and hollow-er. This was part efforts to lighten the car as well as cutting cost (please correct me if I am wrong in this department).
The near future plan for mazda malaysia assembly will be solely on cx5 (and it's larger derivative, cx8).

Outer panels are all made of soft steel, unless specifically stated otherwise or the structural component. Cannot merely judge by how "hollow" it sounds as factors such as the shape, the fitting hard points, and other components come together to make up the "sound". There is no cost cutting involved in outer sheet material.
wkc5657
post Feb 27 2019, 02:18 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Feb 25 2019, 07:47 PM)
A 1.5L M3 for RM140K? This can't be true. It's like selling a B-segment car for a top end C-segment price or a basic spec D-segment price. If this is the price Bremaz need to charge for bringing in CBU may as well not bring it in at all because nobody will be interested.
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Feb 26 2019, 08:32 AM)
The SA probably bullshitted him kaw kaw to get him to buy now.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(darr3nlwc @ Feb 27 2019, 01:31 AM)
Let's revisit this when the pricing is announced 🤔
Maybe the pricing "insanity" has some standing :
https://www.carlist.my/news/not-gona-be-che...mw-level/54846/

Pricing is almost 1 segment higher compared to competitor, unless mazda really want to go the semi premium route...
wkc5657
post Feb 28 2019, 08:10 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Feb 28 2019, 10:35 AM)
Mazda isn't a premium brand here. If they go for premium pricing their market will just go away. Look at Ford now selling only a few passenger cars a month. At the last market report they only sold two! Maybe only the CKD CX-5 can sell. The rest of the models will sell a few cars a month so Bermaz will have to downsize. Meanwhile I believe the report linked by @wkc5657 is creditable so those who want to buy a Mazda 3 should act fast.
Well, up to mazda to decide. They just need to risk into a lesser known territory because mazda just know that there is no way they are able to score any wins against the mainstream toyota/honda/mazda.

Mazda got to try and start somewhere, so let's see whether their bets can pay off. Who knows, if they manage to time the market right and the sentiment is favourable to mazda, it might just work.

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Feb 28 2019, 05:59 PM)
mine is 2018 gvc, was given toyo r1 sport if im not mistaken.

would you suggest the same upgrade path as well?
T1 Sport to be exact.

If you have money to spare, why not? These 2 tyres performance are better than the factory tyres yet with lesser harshness plus lower price against the t1 sport.

But i would suggest you just run down the factory tyres after 45k km or after 2 or 3 years then change.
wkc5657
post Mar 7 2019, 04:09 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(helmut_lim @ Feb 27 2019, 04:20 PM)

tensioner leaking
my car warranty expired last Nov 2018
What kind of symptoms the car was showing?
wkc5657
post Mar 20 2019, 09:59 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(cazorla81 @ Mar 16 2019, 04:04 PM)

Few comments :
1) regarding your bumpy ride, have you checked the tyre air pressure? Usually when out of dealership, the air pressure is very high. Bring it down to around 260kpa.
2) on the road noise, the factory toyo t1s is really bad in this aspect, performance some more so so and has some chipping issue after some time. After you run down this set, suggest you switch to hankook v12evo2 or flaken fk510.
3) take note on the EFB car battery. Likeliness of it dying within 2 years very high. So monitor with multimeter every month make sure above 12V when cold. If you don't drive long distance/often stuck in traffic jams, suggest you get a lead acid battery charger to perform a monthly maintenance charge. If you can afford it, suggest you get an AGM battery (more expensive, but lasts way longer).
4) istop : well, you'll get used to turning it off everytime you get into the car. It is now 2nd nature to me, not something to be bothered about.
5) for the headlights aim height, see the attachment (although it is for cx3, but since it is similar LED, likely same mechanism for adjustment)
Attached File  Lights_Headlight_Aim.pdf ( 391.35k ) Number of downloads: 70

6) the only possible "significant" issue is possible oil leaking on the compressor and the timing tensioner.
7) not sure whether this is fixed, but after some months of driving, you may hear some creaking noise when going over humps on a wet day. If the factory already used revised parts, then this pointer can be ignored.
wkc5657
post Mar 21 2019, 10:50 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(cazorla81 @ Mar 20 2019, 11:51 PM)
Thx bro, these are useful information especially the head lamp adjustment! and year have to live with Toyo for bout 2 years before switching to Hoonkook or Flaken. Hopefully this GVC version wont kena that kruk kruk sound issue..

I wonder if enhancing sound proof will help to reduce the road noise..

Also, do you have any advise on best approach on waxing/coating to achieve a much glossy exterior effect?
Sound proofing is a way down the rabbit hole, almost never ending, but no harm doing some on the door panels. You can approach this fellor, a little unconventional but not sure about the effectiveness. For the record, i didn't try it, just find some of their approach interesting without braking the bank :
https://www.facebook.com/mahihisoundproofing/

I'm not into detailing, there's enough other stuffs in my life that bothers me too much, i can live by with a wash once a month despite some bird poo or tree sap. I just drop by the petrol station and use their sponge/squegee to do spot cleaning sweat.gif

It is up to you, if you really desire the lustre, by all means go for coating. But make sure those fellors do a proper surface prep job, or else the coating job just a waste of money. You'll also take note on the additional effort in maintaining the coating. You weigh the effort of cleaning vs your desire for the lustre. If i were you, i'll focus the attention only on the headlights, as the photodegradation of plastic casing just destroys the signature look of the lamps.

If you're into surface protection, suggest you go surface wrapping. A genuine barrier of material that can handle harder grits on the road, but still can suffer chipping if the debris is large enough.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Mar 21 2019, 10:51 AM
wkc5657
post Mar 27 2019, 11:00 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(ayamback @ Mar 26 2019, 11:02 AM)
You just need 1 tyre?
very likely busted the tyre with bulging, this factory tyre tend to have weaker resistance towards potholes.
wkc5657
post Apr 18 2019, 10:45 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Apr 18 2019, 10:29 AM)
SO how lah? sad.gif
Buy CX5 or mazda6 brows.gif brows.gif
wkc5657
post Apr 19 2019, 10:36 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Apr 18 2019, 10:54 AM)
I am driving the previous generation CX5 now wor.

Want a sedan car, civic or mazda 3 lor. But this year also got or not
Best, don't change car....

mazda3 price will be increased for new model and when the new skyactiv-x engine arrives, another price hike....

QUOTE(player101 @ Apr 18 2019, 10:59 AM)
U guys use ron 95 or 97 ?
used both before, really not much difference.

If you're more environmentally conscious and can afford it, ron97.

QUOTE(ratloverice @ Apr 18 2019, 05:26 PM)
Is mazda 3 good to drive without a turbo? Am used to driving a turbo car with gf is crazily in love with cx3 and new mazda 3. Sakit kepala
Most likely you haven't test driven this car before.

But honestly, if you're used to driving turbo cars, this car almost tortoise to you, especially after gear 5....but for ladies, the engine performance not their priority...

The saving grace is the handling rather good. Seemingly that more ladies are into mazda now....especially the CX series.

Or pray that they will plonk in the 2.5T engine in their sedan range in the future soon...
wkc5657
post Apr 24 2019, 10:57 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(Calveez @ Apr 23 2019, 11:30 AM)
New here, owner of a m3 (skyactive-CKD) just completed my warranty period on the car. BTW my millage clocked at 47k but need to do 60k service at SC.
1) Should I maintain servicing with the SC or find a general mechanic to do my servicing?
2) Should I follow the maintenance guideline as SC or just skip it till my actual millage clocks in.
Thanks upfront for all your suggestions.
Just use up the free service voucher, they will follow what is required for 60k.

Can continue the headache after this free service.
wkc5657
post Apr 29 2019, 12:06 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(superfifa @ Apr 26 2019, 06:53 PM)
My warranty almost over liao but the kruk-kruk and nyek nyek sound still there despite just changed lower arm bushing and bearing strut. Is there any permanent solution?
Go hantam one last time to make warranty claim before warranty officially over....

Or else, change to after market bushings.

QUOTE(exwuliao @ Apr 29 2019, 09:37 AM)
Hi guys, I'm considering either the Mazda 3 hatchback or the Hyundai Ioniq but can't seem to really decide which. The Mazda 3 has a really good sense of stability and solidness whereas the Ioniq has all the modern techy stuff. What do you guys think?
Thanks!
This is the question that you have to ask yourself though, which one you prefer when you can't have both?

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Apr 29 2019, 10:32 AM)
but ioniq is kimchi car, doesn't last long.

I used to own a Hyundai Tucson, damn bad driving experience.
My family used to have a santa fe, lovely and reliable ownership experience, refinement level better than same class japanese cars.

QUOTE(Calveez @ Apr 29 2019, 11:27 AM)
Hi, wanna get my Mazda 3 (skyactive) windscreen replace (non sensor) under going insurance claim. My 1st time claiming windscreen from insurance.
Any particular issues that I need to be cautious of? Any idea how much would be a original windscreen (non sensor) cost?
If your insurance is from berjaya sompo, than you can go their very own mazda repair centre. Other insurance, than another story. Windscreen glass all quite similar, unless acoustic glass.
wkc5657
post May 7 2019, 04:32 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(de_sengal @ May 4 2019, 01:25 PM)
Anyone know where to do decarbo for mazda around jb area?
you try getting in touch with the fellor :
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3719344&hl=

QUOTE(cmk96 @ May 7 2019, 04:15 PM)
Where can get the original Toyo tyres?

Go tyre shop lar....especially those that have toyo tyres sign or search from toyo malaysia website....

the factory toyo tyres suck though, just get something else like the hankook v12evo2, cheaper yet better performance without sacrificing comfort.
wkc5657
post May 8 2019, 01:48 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(de_sengal @ May 7 2019, 09:38 PM)
Have you tried send your car to them? I saw your previous post that you are also looking for decarbo ? Have you done it?
nope, and not sure whether the seller still active or not....

or else the manual method by popping out the intake manifold and use brush...
wkc5657
post May 13 2019, 05:01 PM

561 posts

Mazda developing inline 6 skyactiv-x and skyactiv-d.

https://www.autoblog.com/2019/05/09/mazda-i...gines-official/

Possible MPS in the making???

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:18 AM