Review Xiaomi 70Mai Dashcam, Super budget dashcam with Sony IMX323

TSblurjoey
post Oct 18 2018, 09:53 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 18 2018, 08:01 AM)
Thanks for the information. The reason I am asking is because I read some comments from those who had bought the Chinese version as follows:-

1)
by Lazada CustomerVerified Purchase
my 2nd unit. purchase from this seller
I update to english version less than 5 minutes. Refer to youtube

2)

by Lazada CustomerVerified Purchase
This is my second day of using this cam. The pros of this cam are:
1)Good wide angle view range which can cover a decent 3-lane road of same direction traffic flow.
2)The resolution of 1080p and its exposure setting is good enough to capture the necessary details at night time (can see plate number at near distance)
3)Superb convenient hands-free voice commands in Chinese for taking picture, emergency video (so that it will be not over-written) and etc., even for an English speaker whose Chinese pronunciation is bad, the Chinese voice command is recognizable.
4)Can directly download stored video to your phone via WiFi in case you need to keep it as evidence. No need to take out the SD card.
5)When the power source is off while taking emergency video, it will not stop the shooting immediately until it is sufficiently taken for 30 seconds.

It still has its cons. But to me is bearable when considering its price worth:
1) It comes with Chinese voice speaking. So I flashed the English firmware into the cam (you can find its tutorial in Youtube). The cam still requires Chinese voice commands to execute the operation even it speaks English after I flashed it. No matter how fluent the English voice command is spoken, the cam does not respond to it.
2) This cam's design is dedicated for cars with left wheel driving (Eg: China, USA). Since the cam is placed at the middle of the windscreen, I can't view the status indicator light as it is at the left side of the cam. Even if I flipped the cam to other side so that the indicator facing right side, the camera lens is still facing inward due to its restricted allowable rotating angle.
3) No display, need to use the app when adjusting the angle of the lens.

Last but not least, I like this seller because it's offered 3 months warranty (when I made the purchase) and I got the cam earlier than the estimated date (to East Malaysia).
QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 18 2018, 08:03 AM)
So I just thought if it is true that the Chinese version can be converted to run in English language, then why bother buying the English version which is costlier? But before that, will need some confirmation on this and check on how difficult it is to convert from Chinese to English. If the conversion is a child's play without cracking your head too much, then might as well get the Chinese version.
Actually, in the Youtube video is using a modified firmware by someone. He only managed to translate the menu into English. The voice part he can't do much about it.

Need the official English firmware if can get hold of.

Most dashcams is all for left hand drive cars as most manufacturer is in China, Korea and Taiwan. All left hand drive countries.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Oct 18 2018, 09:56 AM
TSblurjoey
post Oct 18 2018, 10:51 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 18 2018, 10:02 AM)
Thanks for the response. Menu in English to me is most important as I read that the voice recognition is still in Chinese, even with the English version. I haven't watched the Youtube video yet. Is it easy to convert the Chinese version to English version from the Youtube video?

Yes, I am aware that most of the dashcams are designed for left hand drive countries, but I am not sure how does it affect cars which are right hand drive though.
It's not the official English firmware as it is a modified Chinese firmware by someone.

Some dashcam are designed with the camera lens on the left side more than center also.
TSblurjoey
post Oct 18 2018, 11:27 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 18 2018, 10:57 AM)
To cut a story short, for someone who does not understand Chinese, do you recommend to buy the English(international) version instead of the Chinese version converted to English with the modified firmware?

I can't read Chinese and can speak very little mandarin. But I willing to try it out.

So it depends on you if you're comfortable with doing something you're not used or not like getting the chinese version. If not then get the english version.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 23 2018, 10:57 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 23 2018, 10:03 AM)
Is it important to install a rear view cam? I'm wondering about the cases of hit from behind etc. I think that the 70mai being small can be installed on the rear?
A rear cam is good to have if can. It's is like getting medical insurance. Usually you won't use it until something happens then you need the coverage.

The 70mai is small enough for the rear windscreen.
TSblurjoey
post Nov 23 2018, 03:08 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 23 2018, 02:31 PM)
Bro,
if taking into account overall cost and getting good quality video, is there anything more efficient than 2x 70mai (in front and rear)? I believe we dont really need "sync'ed" video or even reverse cam, those are serving other functions right?
If really want dual dashcam then go for Viofo A129 or something higher end...
TSblurjoey
post Jan 10 2019, 10:37 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jan 9 2019, 08:04 PM)
70mai English?
Mine is Chinese version but there is an international version available...
TSblurjoey
post Jan 11 2019, 03:05 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Dreadsic @ Jan 11 2019, 01:09 PM)
Need help. Already got mine. English.getting problem with voice command. Disconnet apps bla bla bla. Still not working. Any solution?
Factory reset the 70mai and setup again?
TSblurjoey
post Feb 13 2019, 01:23 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Feb 13 2019, 12:22 AM)
Non-stop sound of firecrackers disrupting my sleep so i thought of typing this.

Finally, got myself an English version from Shopee. Will only install it this weekend and hopefully I can do it without much difficulty. The box is pretty impressive too as it looks nice and premium despite the low price.

I was just wondering if a car charger with dual USB inputs can be used with the 70mai instead of using the stock car power plug that came with the box so that the 2nd USB input can be used to charge a phone. Any experience?

Firecrackers still going on after i finished with this post.
Can as I'm using a 4 USB ports car charger from Aukey
TSblurjoey
post Feb 16 2019, 09:21 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Feb 16 2019, 08:47 PM)
Finally i managed to install the dash cam on the car and signed in with the app.

Just a couple of questions.

1. In the user manual, unplugging the cable from the cigarette charger is recommended so that the car battery is not drained even though the dash cam may consume very low power. Do you guys unplug the cable from the charger when leaving the car every time?

2. I am not sure if the dash cam can be removed from the bracket as i haven't tried. If it is possible, do you guys remove the dash cam and keep it in the glove box(compartment in front of the passenger seat)? A friend always remove the dash cam when leaving the car every time to prevent potential theft of the unit when the car is parked at a secluded place unattended.
I don't think anyone will remove and put back the dashcam every time they get into or out of their car. Waste of time.

Theft is actually depends as some dashcam is discreet design while some aren't.

Can but need to unscrew the hand screw.

Anyway, that is correct to save the battery as it's not good in our hot weather.
TSblurjoey
post Feb 16 2019, 11:19 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Feb 16 2019, 09:30 PM)
Ok thanks for the information.

Last question is do you have any problems using a 4 port USB charger which goes into the cigarette lighter especially if there are other devices connected to it. The original single charger was recommended but I find it to be rather low quality as it is more difficult to push into the cigarette lighter port of the car. The connection is very stiff as it won't go in even if you push hard, and it suddenly goes in quickly after much force is used. Unlike my other Golf charger, you don't need to use so much energy to push it in, and it slides in uniformly rather than suddenly.

My concern with a multiple input charger adapter with the dash cam is the voltage and amp rating of the unit. Some unit output 1A while some at 1.5A or 2.0A and higher at 5V. I'm afraid of it falls lower than the original spec of the unit (input 1.5A at 5V) the power is less and may become unstable which subsequently causes malfunction of the unit.
I'm using an Aukey 4 ports car charger. 1 is QC port to charge my S9+ and the other 3 ports is for charging other phones and 1 for my review dashcams. Not issues here even with 3 dashcams to the 3 usb ports.
TSblurjoey
post Mar 8 2019, 03:37 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Mar 8 2019, 01:59 PM)
my question is what happen after we switch off the car ?? is the camera will still working for about 1 hour ??
Most will off itself when you off the engine.

QUOTE(simonyee @ Mar 8 2019, 02:14 PM)
Those are acrylic tape should be able to remove.
I use clear acrylic tape when I install. Easier to remove than stock tape.
TSblurjoey
post Mar 26 2019, 12:04 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Mar 25 2019, 11:39 PM)
Where can I send my car to install these 70mai dash cam?
Car accessories shop
TSblurjoey
post Mar 31 2019, 01:52 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Mar 30 2019, 11:30 AM)
Guys, a question. When you start your car, the dashcam will start recording into the sd card rite? What's the difference with the start record voice command?
All dashcam works that way. Start engine will start recording video.

That voice command is to start and stop recording manually.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 1 2019, 09:19 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Apr 1 2019, 04:55 PM)
Thanks. Another thing, can I change the size of the space used for the recording? Currently, it's just allocate a small amount of space for the normal recording. Im using 16gb card.
I think you can set it to whatever size you like it to be
TSblurjoey
post Apr 10 2019, 09:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(AndriodOne @ Apr 10 2019, 09:30 AM)
May i know the purpose for the Car Buck Line?
Hardwire kit. It's to plug the dashcam to your car fusebox usually underneath your steering wheel.

To provide power when start engine. Also parking mode if using the 3 wires hardwire kit and if the dashcam have parking mode feature.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 10 2019, 08:40 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(AndriodOne @ Apr 10 2019, 05:01 PM)
Is the Mai70 Pro version + GSP considered with Parking mode?
70Mai Pro have the parking mode with or without the GPS module.

The GPS module is more for the ADAS function when driving.

Also the 70Mai Pro parking mode only records when an impact is detected.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 11 2019, 09:42 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(AndriodOne @ Apr 11 2019, 09:37 AM)
Thanks bro... by the way if i refresh the device from Chinese to English will void warranty and any features that missing/ not function from English version? Thanks again.
Usually this will void warranty d... Just get the English version if can...

If you don't mind no warranty then flash the English firmware...

But I'm not sure what features is not working if do that. Try and see.
TSblurjoey
post Apr 18 2019, 12:49 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ash3218 @ Apr 18 2019, 12:05 AM)
Not using their port charger. I have a belkin car charger with 2 ports. I guess the problem will be power delivery?
I'm using an Aukey 4 ports USB charger and no issues even with 2 more dashcams connected to it
TSblurjoey
post May 17 2019, 11:49 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ May 17 2019, 11:29 AM)
mini0906 vs Viofo?
Viofo A129 Duo better
TSblurjoey
post May 17 2019, 09:18 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ May 17 2019, 07:15 PM)
I heard Viofo A129 Duo Pro with IR Cam just released USD 180
Yeah just released

USD180 sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/2019-NEW-A1...3011328579.html

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0371sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:39 PM