11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi 5/5 Plus Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 450/625.

andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 02:25 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(BigSaver @ Feb 5 2018, 01:30 PM)

Got a question here, if i bought a unit that already come with unofficial rom what should i do ya? need to flash back to china rom? or got other method?

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
u wont be able to bind account for unlock purpose with unofficial rom, it will give you error.

long way method : testpoint flash china rom then do the steps i listed.

short way method : return the device and ask for a replacement with china rom or refund. buy another.

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Feb 5 2018, 02:06 PM)
nice photo bro....
The Cmos same as Mi A1 really power for budget phone.... but manual mode is limited....hmmmm waiting for Google Cam HDR+ port for Redmi 5 plus sure power up kaw kaw  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Ada orang sudah buat. although not full featured, but ada sikit booleh pakai lah

https://forum.xda-developers.com/general/he...5-plus-t3737531
andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 03:02 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Feb 5 2018, 02:37 PM)
Google HDR + ....google pixel 2 punya adik??? redmi 5 plus  laugh.gif  bokeh effect power
if Kirin than GG... same as mediatek....the android version stuck at 1 version can't be upgraded liao...  laugh.gif
i dont fancy bokeh, especially for selfies. i dunno why google HDR cam place so much emphasis on selfie portrait bokeh.
u take selfie to show YOU at a particular place. go and bokeh it out is just like pixelating the genitals in JAV.
andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 03:04 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Feb 5 2018, 02:39 PM)
waiting fastboot  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Fastboot rom sudah ada it seems.
check this link.
http://en.miui.com/a-234.html

HOWEVER, still need to request unlock bootloader, which you have already done. so flash away once you kautim unlocking!

QUOTE(BigSaver @ Feb 5 2018, 03:00 PM)
i believe directd wont do a refund right?
not sure, i have never tried it

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Feb 5 2018, 03:07 PM
andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 04:52 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Feb 5 2018, 04:36 PM)
Just report mine Redmi 5 plus , seem like getting more smoothest than before.
I dunno why, even scrolling Facebook app.
actually last night i have updated my china rom from 9.2.0.2 to 9.2.3.0 - also noticed that fb scrolling was smoother. maybe i psycho lah but i didnt have any expectations of it going faster in the first place.

but i think maybe the fact that i ran the cleaner to clear off the update file has some effect.
andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 05:05 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Feb 5 2018, 05:00 PM)
Quick Baidu found that Redmi 5 Plus indeed got screen issues back in Dec. I wonder does the WOWPhone affected or not.
what issue ah?
andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 10:51 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Feb 5 2018, 10:25 PM)
Is 32gb space sufficient for R5/R5 Plus? Lets say normal apps installation and few games
it will finish very quickly. miui is pretty bloated. now my device 64gb but only 55available, even that one after installing just fb chrome maps AliExpress and playstore sudah left 49gb. and I haven't even install WhatsApp yet. bloody hogger.
andrewhtf
post Feb 5 2018, 10:54 PM

1,583 posts

baru kautim unlock

now Kasi download the rom standby dulu

andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 12:16 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 5 2018, 10:57 PM)
urs what rom it comes with???
official China stable rom.

all I did was hide all those Chinese apps in folders, download playstore and some other usual apps. oh and Google keyboard too. I just can't get used to miui keyboard.
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 12:20 AM

1,583 posts

transfered the rom to phone Liao. now wait and see if got ppl complain bug in forum or not. if nothing I'll flash with recovery method.
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 02:11 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Feb 6 2018, 01:51 AM)
When I choose a phone, I almost never care about it's camera spec.  laugh.gif
I don't take much photos, and totally never take selfie.

What I really wish to have is close focusing range (real macro mode) that allow me to take photo of small product sample.
But I never heard of any phone camera that can focus subject at close distance, for example around 2"-3" from subject for better magnification.  smile.gif
Moto z play with Moto mod hasselblad camera module is pretty impressive.

Samsung S7 edge oso takes reasonably good macros.
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 07:39 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Feb 6 2018, 03:42 AM)
With that price, I can buy a decent compact camera for that job liao...  laugh.gif
Good thing no cheap, cheap thing no good
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 09:19 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Feb 6 2018, 08:47 AM)
That's why, I know camera phone at this price range won't be superior, so as I said, almost don't care about camera spec. Yes, I believing in good thing no cheap theory. laugh.gif
some people want good camera in phone so can immediately kuda upload to socmed mah... kalau use dedicated camera demn mahfan wan transfer to a phone/pc baru boleh kuda. even with cameras with that has wifi/bluetooth connectivity - still has to open some app, connect, transfer baru boleh upload.

u know lah, young generation nowadays want fast and convenient, everything must be in one place.
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 12:50 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Feb 6 2018, 12:48 PM)
Different market...

China can't use Google ... only inhouse china App available for them & china rom with advertising u will  vmad.gif  all the times...
yet they so kind provide google play apk & framework services to be installed from mi store lol
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 01:21 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 6 2018, 01:16 PM)
Any good reliable seller for 5+?
got my 5+ from mobile2go, with china stable rom. but that was early jan, maybe their stocks now are fake global, but it doesnt hurt to go give it a try.

alternatively for about the same price, mi max 2 lah, spec oso lebih kurang sama, just bigger sized.
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 05:00 PM

1,583 posts

I noticed from miui forum, lots and lots of pipu use fastboot method to flash their global rom. nobody is talking about recovery method. i wonder why?
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 05:41 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(keroll_unwar @ Feb 6 2018, 05:27 PM)
so fastboot already appear on miui to download....so how to do it flash from fake rom?? anyone can gift the link...could not find the rite on...
to my understanding, u need to testpoint flash china rom, unlock bootloader only can flash fastboot.

but i was wondering if you can flash testpoint might as well flash the global rom instead of china rom?
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 10:47 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(keroll_unwar @ Feb 6 2018, 07:05 PM)
such mess n fuss....bummer...i guest hav to wait official myset lo..
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 6 2018, 06:54 PM)
Really got to put in a lot of effort for AP set to startup.  sweat.gif
Only problem with AP with unofficial rom. Those with official china rom like mine and benefon, it's easier, just unlock and fastboot flash.
andrewhtf
post Feb 6 2018, 10:55 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(rainbowcyan @ Feb 6 2018, 08:23 PM)
Received my unit from WOW phone today. Everything was OK until I update to the latest MIUI 9. Then it stuck on the Boot Screen and now I can't do anything with the phone......HELP!
This has been discussed before and i remember having said something about it, if you have read the thread from start i am sure you'd have come across my statement. Plus this has been repeatedly raised in miui forum as well.

I am guessing you have done an OTA update after seeing that update prompt, which i have previously said not to.

Now that it has come to this, and if your refund request is denied, your only salvaging is testpoint flash china rom amd request unlock bootloader afterwards.
andrewhtf
post Feb 7 2018, 10:07 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(wr6969 @ Feb 7 2018, 07:43 AM)
Received RM720 Redmi 5 Plus from wowphone/DD, accidentally OTA'ed the fake global ROM.  Bootloop.  Damaged my fingernails opening the damned phone to do testpoint restore using MiFlash haih...in the end, got it working again with China stable ROM 9.2.3.0, installed Google crapz and now up and running again  flex.gif

Anyone know of a script to debloat China ROMs?  I mean, omaigawd, there's a lot of sampah in there and I need to wait another 14 days for bootloader unlock  doh.gif
14 days very cepat one. Relax, have a coffee. biggrin.gif

That being said, i finally succumbed to my own curiousity and flashed in the global rom last night. I was told that the recovery method would fail, so just to avoid creating problems, i went along with fastboot method that others have successfully done. Downloaded the fastboot rom, i had to extract twice using winzip i dunno why but but eventually kautim the flashing using miflash.

Took a while starting up after flash i was worried sick if i had farked it up. Eventually it booted normally and kautim the initial setup. Havent really fully setup since i didnt plug my sim card in, but i noticed that somehow scrolling through pages is not as smooth as china 9.2.3.0 rom. Probably i just psyho abit lah.

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Feb 7 2018, 12:16 AM)
In worst case if return is not allowed, can rainbowcyan bring the phone to his local repair shop to do testpoint flashing to China ROM? I believe some local shop provide this kind of service with a small fees right? Too sad to hear that happen to a newly bought phone. Anyone with flashing knowledge, please help him. sad.gif
I think even those shop guys will learn from youtube and download the programmes dulu, just like what those ppl in forum did. The only advantage they have is they have suitable tools to open up the back cover lol. Anyhow from what i read in the forum, only opening up the back cover is the hard part. Supsequent shorting the test point and flashing is just as easy as normal flashing.

If it happened to me, since i have got nothing to lose i would really go and do the testpoint to revive the phone. Cant have my money go down the drain just like that.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Feb 7 2018, 10:20 AM
andrewhtf
post Feb 7 2018, 12:12 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(wr6969 @ Feb 7 2018, 10:30 AM)
I hope I still have the phone after 14 days tongue.gif

Fastboot files are .tgz files which extracts into a .tar file which will then need to be unzipped for its full contents for MiFlash to work its magic.

My prefered method of getting custom ROMs onto Xiaomi phones is to install TWRP after the bootloader is unlocked, then downloading a flashable zip file (either an XDA cooked ROM or xiaomi.eu ROM) to be flashed using TWRP.

So far, I'm not very impressed with the battery drain on 9.2.3.0 China ROM  doh.gif
I see... Been out of this IT stuff for many years liao. I only remember back then the only compression format those days was solely .zip.

I was told that twrp recovery would break future OTAs so everytime if a new rom comes have to flash using recovery liao. Deswai i didnt put twrp.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0803sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:49 PM