Do you really need shielding for HDMI?
Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?
Apr 23 2007, 05:18 PM
4,504 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Planet Naboo |
Do you really need shielding for HDMI?
Apr 23 2007, 06:06 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 23 2007, 05:18 PM) IIRC they only specify it for longer ranges and the connectors. Although i'd like to make the point that it is the problem of the signalling itself rather than the evironmentals that make up the bulk of the transmission issue. |
Apr 24 2007, 05:49 AM
3,963 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Since HDMI is a digital cable, 1m and 100m cable will have no impact in quality?
Apr 24 2007, 06:16 AM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
Apr 24 2007, 11:08 AM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
There's a limit actually, branded HDMI cables from QED and Wireworld will cap its length to 15 metres. If you're running 1080P signals, it's note advisable to use a lenghty HDMI cable and besides, why do you need 100m for? It's not that you'll put your player downstairs and your HDTV panel upstairs.
I guess for normal 1m is more than enough and for projectors, I think 5m to 10m will be more than enough. HDMI cables are just like speakers cables, the shorter, the better. QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 24 2007, 05:49 AM) |
Apr 24 2007, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 24 2007, 11:08 AM) There's a limit actually, branded HDMI cables from QED and Wireworld will cap its length to 15 metres. If you're running 1080P signals, it's note advisable to use a lenghty HDMI cable and besides, why do you need 100m for? It's not that you'll put your player downstairs and your HDTV panel upstairs. May be he is working in the hotel line leh? I guess for normal 1m is more than enough and for projectors, I think 5m to 10m will be more than enough. HDMI cables are just like speakers cables, the shorter, the better. Anyway, a lot of engineering calculation on cable length, resistance hve to be involved before any of us dare to comment when the cable is too long. But for basic home use, don't think we will have problem. But your question has been answered.<-- That is, nope-Quality of HDMI cable does not affect the image quality. |
Apr 24 2007, 01:39 PM
4,350 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 22 2007, 10:30 PM) Already bought last month. Too bad for me you didn't offer earlier.Added on April 24, 2007, 1:43 pm QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 23 2007, 01:38 PM) Those with shielding are just marketing gimmick, to justify charging more. HDMI not affected by interference so won't make a diff cheap or expensive.Added on April 24, 2007, 1:47 pm QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 23 2007, 04:12 PM) I bought a cheap S Video cable... RM55 for 20m. You are off topic lah Hmmm... I am having problem with it as the wiring inside is not so good... picture come out sometime and sometime no. So, getting a good cables might just reassure you that it won't spoil easily. Added on April 24, 2007, 1:50 pm QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 24 2007, 05:49 AM) As long as the 100m one can transmit the signal strong enough over the long distance to be detected by the receiver the PQ will be the same.This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 24 2007, 01:55 PM |
Apr 24 2007, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 24 2007, 01:39 PM) Already bought last month. Too bad for me you didn't offer earlier. Aiyo... u got me wrong la... I am referring to cheap vs expensive cables conection quality. The S Video is just an example that I got what I paid for...Added on April 24, 2007, 1:43 pm Those with shielding are just marketing gimmick, to justify charging more. HDMI not affected by interference so won't make a diff cheap or expensive. Added on April 24, 2007, 1:47 pm You are off topic lah Added on April 24, 2007, 1:50 pm As long as the 100m one can transmit the signal strong enough over the long distance to be detected by the receiver the PQ will be the same. |
Apr 24 2007, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 24 2007, 01:59 PM) Aiyo... u got me wrong la... I am referring to cheap vs expensive cables conection quality. The S Video is just an example that I got what I paid for... Not sure what you meant by connection quality. Anyway using analog to compare with digital cable physical quality is not appropriate. Since analog cable PQ is dependent very much on the physical quality of the cable itself, even a slight degradation can make a diff in PQ. On the other hand digital cable will only lose signal with a very poor quality cable at a minimum threshold point . The signal just won't get detected and there will be no picture. Anything above the minimum quality, whether it's a very good cable or just a so-so cable will give you the exact same picture quality. So if you buy a HDMI cable don't buy one which is so cheap and poor that no signal can be detected. This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 24 2007, 02:16 PM |
Apr 24 2007, 04:27 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Apr 25 2007, 06:47 AM
3,963 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 24 2007, 02:14 PM) Not sure what you meant by connection quality. Very well explained. Anyway using analog to compare with digital cable physical quality is not appropriate. Since analog cable PQ is dependent very much on the physical quality of the cable itself, even a slight degradation can make a diff in PQ. On the other hand digital cable will only lose signal with a very poor quality cable at a minimum threshold point . The signal just won't get detected and there will be no picture. Anything above the minimum quality, whether it's a very good cable or just a so-so cable will give you the exact same picture quality. So if you buy a HDMI cable don't buy one which is so cheap and poor that no signal can be detected. |
Apr 25 2007, 07:48 AM
83 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Apr 25 2007, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(bond @ Apr 25 2007, 07:48 AM) Just bought a cheap no brand HDMI cable for RM40 and it is working fine. Found the cheapest branded is panasonic for RM89. Very tempting but i suspect the result is the same. Let's put it this way. If the cable is not good quality and becomes defective (i.e losing signal etc.) after months, years or probably never, you can always buy another better one with the savings you have made with your current purchase. By that time even the branded ones will have come down sharply in price as more and more people become aware of the truth behind HDMI cables and PQ. |
Apr 25 2007, 02:26 PM
347 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: mAlAySia |
Apr 25 2007, 09:21 PM
Apr 25 2007, 09:43 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 24 2007, 01:39 PM) Already bought last month. Too bad for me you didn't offer earlier. It depends on how you view such cables, to me, whether the signal is analog or digital, a good cable will always give you good results, it's not a marketing gimmick as you claimed even though, you'll say it is madness to spend thousands on a good cable. If you're talking about HDMI cable, try bringing yours to CMY Sungei Wang and try their QED HDMI-P cable for a start, that's around RM450 (can still nego lah), try to compare the quality on their plasma. They're willing to demo it to you. That day I was asking them about their Siltech SPX-20 (around RM900) and QED Conduit (around RM400 plus) power cords, they played Eagle's Hotel California song and tested these two cables and also the stock power cord that came with the Cambridge Audio's cd player. The openess, mids and highs can be immediately felt on the pricier Siltech power cord, QED did improve on the sound but not as much as the latter. I do believe that good cables can give an extra boost to the picture and sound quality but some may argue that with the money, you can either get a better display or player. Well, that's up to you to judge actually.Added on April 24, 2007, 1:43 pm Those with shielding are just marketing gimmick, to justify charging more. HDMI not affected by interference so won't make a diff cheap or expensive. Added on April 24, 2007, 1:47 pm You are off topic lah Added on April 24, 2007, 1:50 pm As long as the 100m one can transmit the signal strong enough over the long distance to be detected by the receiver the PQ will be the same. |
Apr 26 2007, 12:53 AM
83 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Apr 26 2007, 02:02 AM
150 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Here is something regarding HDMI cables. It doesn't seem to be as simple as 0 or 1 only because it carries differential signals in cable pairs. Anyone got a chance verify it for 1080P signal ?
HDMI Part 8 - Cables for 1.3 |
Apr 26 2007, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Apr 26 2007, 02:02 AM) Here is something regarding HDMI cables. It doesn't seem to be as simple as 0 or 1 only because it carries differential signals in cable pairs. Anyone got a chance verify it for 1080P signal ? That's a different specification (1.3) you are comparing altogether. Different specs require different cable requirements due to the higher transmission speeds. When 1.3 becomes mainstream in the future for more advanced HDMI features than it will require higher quality cables because of the higher speeds. The LCD-TV must also be HDMI 1.3 ready to support the new specs.HDMI Part 8 - Cables for 1.3 In the meantime Current mainstream specs are only 1.0-1.2 and our discussions are based on that, so can't compare with 1.3 that way. This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 26 2007, 11:07 AM |
Apr 26 2007, 11:17 AM
347 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: mAlAySia |
QUOTE(bond @ Apr 26 2007, 12:53 AM) Thanks... can you get 720p and 1080i with this cable? Is the plug gold plated?I've tried hdmi cable from Roger ($100) and Supra (~$400). Can't really differentiate the differences in quality with my AV setup at home. That's why I opt for a cheap cable. |
| Change to: | 0.0271sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:15 AM |