31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

sunauto
post Apr 26 2007, 11:18 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

As far as I know, Wireworld, QED and Audioquest HDMI cables are certified to carry 1080P signals. I'm not sure whether normal HDMI cables will be able to carry such signals without any signals degraded.

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Apr 26 2007, 02:02 AM)
Here is something regarding HDMI cables. It doesn't seem to be as simple as 0 or 1 only because it carries differential signals in cable pairs. Anyone got a chance verify it for 1080P signal ?

HDMI Part 8 - Cables for 1.3
Ngto
post Apr 26 2007, 11:18 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 25 2007, 09:43 PM)
It depends on how you view such cables, to me, whether the signal is analog or digital, a good cable will always give you good results, it's not a marketing gimmick as you claimed even though, you'll say it is madness to spend thousands on a good cable. If you're talking about HDMI cable, try bringing yours to CMY Sungei Wang and try their QED HDMI-P cable for a start, that's around RM450 (can still nego lah), try to compare the quality on their plasma. They're willing to demo it to you. That day I was asking them about their Siltech SPX-20 (around RM900) and QED Conduit (around RM400 plus) power cords, they played Eagle's Hotel California song and tested these two cables and also the stock power cord that came with the Cambridge Audio's cd player. The openess, mids and highs can be immediately felt on the pricier Siltech power cord, QED did improve on the sound but not as much as the latter. I do believe that good cables can give an extra boost to the picture and sound quality but some may argue that with the money, you can either get a better display or player. Well, that's up to you to judge actually.
I am not sure about those cables you mentioned, but aren't those power chords you are talking about? Are they even related to HDMI? Power cords have a direct relation to the receiver electrical power itself and not related to HDMI data digital connection to DVD player smile.gif

Added on April 26, 2007, 11:24 am
QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 26 2007, 11:18 AM)
As far as I know, Wireworld, QED and Audioquest HDMI cables are certified to carry 1080P signals. I'm not sure whether normal HDMI cables will be able to carry such signals without any signals degraded.
Even if cheap 'normal' HDMI cables are unable to carry 1080 signals (based on ver 1-2 HDMI specs) which is unlikely, there will just be a loss of signal, that's all. Probably a blank screen with a 'No Signal' indicator. You won't get a more blurry image or a dull image etc. That's what I have been trying to say about HDMI cables all this while.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 26 2007, 11:31 AM
ken3011
post Oct 28 2007, 01:25 PM

317 posts

although it is digital but if the shield protection not enuf good it also will interrence with other.. so if more expensive 1 the 1 0 1 0 wit sent smoothly
timothyy
post Oct 28 2007, 05:54 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Oct 28 2007, 01:25 PM)
although it is digital but if the shield protection not enuf good it also will interrence with other.. so if more expensive 1 the 1 0 1 0 wit sent smoothly
Elo... where got such thing one?
If got interference... meaning you lose your picture.
Ever see those pirate VCD? Those checkers thing? Those are when your signals not smooth. But you won't get noise distort or what.

Or for layman... you are supposed to see Jessica Alba's face but end up, you see Badawi come out. Coz its totally different signal come out.
lamusiqa
post Oct 29 2007, 04:41 AM

397 posts

You guys should just get HDMI cables from Play-Asia.

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-2q-77-...mi-70-1z5x.html

This deluxe cable is just RM27 and its 3 metres long. Free shipping to Malaysia too. All of my stuff from Play-Asia came after 5-8 days. Quality-wise, a lot of people who bought it loves it. 1080p max and no signal loss.

Leolabs
post Oct 29 2007, 10:15 AM

600 posts

From technical point of view,cheap and expensive cables do have the differences,no matter it's for digital or analog.

Cables are consist of resistance,capacitance and inductance which will 'influence' any signal pass through them.Depends on what type/speed of the signal,difference may be significant or not so.

And don't forget shielding capability of the cables too.
timothyy
post Oct 29 2007, 06:29 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Oct 29 2007, 10:15 AM)
From technical point of view,cheap and expensive cables do have the differences,no matter it's for digital or analog.

Cables are consist of resistance,capacitance and inductance which will 'influence' any signal pass through them.Depends on what type/speed of the signal,difference may be significant or not so.

Correct if if I am wrong. And in terms of technicality, I am quite noob.
But what do you mean by
"From technical point of view,cheap and expensive cables do have the differences,no matter it's for digital or analog.?

A conductor is a conductor. And in terms of digital... a 1010 is a 1010 or no signal at all.
So, if a digital signal is bad coz by "influence", it should either have signal or no signal.

So, in your explaination... technically, how can cheap or expensive cables "influence" the performance?

Please advise. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Ngto
post Oct 29 2007, 07:01 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Oct 29 2007, 10:15 AM)

Here's my take on this issue.

Although quality of cables might affect the signal, but as far as Digital is concerned it's all or nothing. Even if a signal is poor but as long as it is carried through intact it will be the same as using quality cables.

A strong signal carrying a digital 10001 will be exactly the same as a weak signal carrying 10001. That's because the 10001 itself is the info, not the strength of it.

If the signal is so weak as to produce errors then the Digital info will be corrupted. If the built-in error correction can't recover the error you will get a No Signal error or something similar.

There won't be a halfway, like a blurry pic or a less colourful pic. In digital world it's all or nothing.

For Analog it's different. The quality of the image itself is dependent on the signal. So the better the quality of the signal the better the image.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 29 2007, 07:09 PM
sunauto
post Oct 29 2007, 07:57 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, you should do less worrying about the quality of the HDMI cable, rule of the thumb, the cable should be around 5% to 10% the amount of your hardware so if you're using for example, a Denon 3930 dvd player, your HDMI cable should around RM190 to RM380 price range but if you're using a Cap Ayam dvd player from Tesco costing RM99, don't bother getting a Monster Cable HDMI cable as you won't see any difference at all.
schizophrenic
post Oct 29 2007, 11:24 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Oct 29 2007, 07:57 PM)
Well, you should do less worrying about the quality of the HDMI cable, rule of the thumb, the cable should be around 5% to 10% the amount of your hardware so if you're using for example, a Denon 3930 dvd player, your HDMI cable should around RM190 to RM380 price range but if you're using a Cap Ayam dvd player from Tesco costing RM99, don't bother getting a Monster Cable HDMI cable as you won't see any difference at all.
LOL I should be looking for a hdmi cable worth Rm40-50 then.

Leolabs
post Oct 30 2007, 11:22 AM

600 posts

Digital signals are not just 1001101,but also consist of various clocks/timings/pulse with lengths,don't you guys agree????
TSpiscesguy
post Oct 30 2007, 02:42 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

until now I m still not sure....haha.
Leolabs
post Oct 31 2007, 09:45 AM

600 posts

My point is there will be differences between cheap and expensive cables,no matter they are for digital or analog.

The main point is whether the differences are SIGNIFICANT or so MINOR,which can be considered as NELIGIBLE.

Cuz there is no such thing as 'NO DIFFERENT' when a signal pass through a cable,but just 'BIG DIFFERENT' or 'SO SMALL DIFFERENT'.

Ngto
post Oct 31 2007, 10:25 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Oct 31 2007, 09:45 AM)
My point is there will be differences between cheap and expensive cables,no matter they are for digital or analog.

The main point is whether the differences are SIGNIFICANT or so MINOR,which can be considered as NELIGIBLE.

Cuz there is no such thing as 'NO DIFFERENT' when a signal pass through a cable,but just 'BIG DIFFERENT' or 'SO SMALL DIFFERENT'.
No one is doubing there is a difference in quality of signal using different cables.

But Like I have mentioned so many times, in Digital data the quality of the signal (or lack of it) won't cause a dimmer picture or a blurry pic etc. It will just cause a complete corruption of data resulting in errors.

Do you know that each pixel is represented by a series of 10001....etc. If the poor quality of cable causes just one bit to be interpreted as a 0 instead of 1 it will mean a completely different thing than the original. Example let's say 100001 is wronlgy interpreted as 000001. It will become nonsense data, nothing related to the original data.

If , assuming there is no error correction for the sake of argument, then the screen will probably just be filled with random coloured pixels or square blocks that has nothing to do with the original picture in the first place. There won't be a halfway.

So coming back to digital data, if a poor quality cable can still interprete 10001 as 10001 without errors, then the data will be exactly the same as a Super Duper cable which also interpretes 10001 as 10001.

So the rule of digital data is, even if different quality cables result in diff signal strength, the 10001 carried by a weak cable is still the same 10001 carried by a strong cable (provided there is no error).

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 31 2007, 10:43 AM
mavric
post Oct 31 2007, 06:12 PM

104 posts

ah cable discussion! i like....

i posted this question at another thread..maybe here would be more appropriate.

those free hdmi cables that comes together when we purchase dvd player/lcd/plasma.....how good are they?

i know PQ and sound is subjective and obviously can't compare these HDMI freebies with monster cables..qed etc but just wondering how would u guys rate such freebies.

i got a free hdmi cable from sharp..it's called evo. have yet to put it to use and wondering if it's worth the extra investment to get so called 'better' HDMI cables
timothyy
post Oct 31 2007, 07:18 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(mavric @ Oct 31 2007, 06:12 PM)
ah cable discussion! i like....

i posted this question at another thread..maybe here would be more appropriate.

those free hdmi cables that comes together when we purchase dvd player/lcd/plasma.....how good are they?

i know PQ and sound is subjective and obviously can't compare these HDMI freebies with monster cables..qed etc but just wondering how would u guys rate such freebies.

i got a free hdmi cable from sharp..it's called evo. have yet to put it to use and wondering if it's worth the extra investment to get so called 'better' HDMI cables
You can.

Expensive digital cable is just to make money.

Strangely... why can't you guys understand the difference between digital and analogue?
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Ngto
post Oct 31 2007, 09:11 PM

4,350 posts

Ya loh. Just only explained above, and immediately the next post after mine still ask about the difference in HDMI cables ... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 31 2007, 09:15 PM
sunauto
post Nov 1 2007, 04:29 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I guess this is not the proper way to compare HDMI cables because most of you feel that they're the same whether it is a Cap Ayam brand or a branded one. Certain brands like Monster Cable for example has HDMI cables with a length of 12 metres and above and it can still output 1080p signals with no problems but try using a Cap Ayam brand, you'll notice that there's nothing on the screen. There are many cheap Made In China HDMI cables costing only RM50 for a 7 metre length but what most people didn't realise is that such cables can't carry HD resolutions at this length, it works fine with 480p but not with 720p. When you manage to get one, then you'll know where branded HDMI cables will shine.

Next, if you know, uncompressed audio is transmitted via HDMI and we're talking about a very large bandwidth involved here so that the signal strength must be strong and stable, the resistance in the cable must be kept to a minimum. No two HDMI cables carry the same bandwidth as they're made with different materials and if you're using them merely for an upscaling dvd player or video game consoles, you won't notice any difference until you're passing uncompressed audio to those next-gen amps which are already out in the market now.

Most people think that as long as it's digital, it doesn't matter that much but for the trained ears, you can detect the difference. It's true even for coaxial and optical cables too, better ones do make a difference but if you're having a budget setup, then it's not feasible to get expensive cables as a poor source won't do any good even if you have high quality cables. Lets not argue about this, just suit your pocket, if you feel that it's not worth dumping extra $$$ on cables, then lets just move on.
wKkaY
post Nov 1 2007, 07:54 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Good idea. There's no point arguing with audiophile lunatics, especailly those who think that a RM900 1 meter power cord can perceivably influence a player's sound (notwithstanding that electricity is supplied with gimmick-free cabling from the nearest neighborhood TNB station kilometers away!).

Anyway, my take in this is that if a cheap cable works out for you, keep using it. The risk with buying a cheap cable is that you may have to buy a second cable if it turns out that it doesn't work (and thus spend more) or when your requirements increase. It has happened to me before when the 5m cable for hooking my DVI-D monitor to the computer in the closet didn't work past 800x600.
Leolabs
post Nov 1 2007, 09:44 AM

600 posts

You got a good point here,sunauto. biggrin.gif

31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:38 PM