The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date

vez
post Nov 24 2017, 07:30 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Nov 24 2017, 07:05 PM)
Eh Apple Online's delivery date moved from 5/12 to 29/11, a week earlier than they mentioned. Anyone else got the notification?
now i check shipping within 1-3 business days
vez
post Nov 25 2017, 02:52 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(icechiller555 @ Nov 24 2017, 08:47 PM)
Hey guys this is my set all set in the case. SGP ultra hybrid. Also met sakurazz - lyn seller, today for the standard tempered glass from HODA. Great and patient seller. Hope everyone is enjoying their phones. Love the display.
how much u buy HODA?

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 25 2017, 02:52 AM
vez
post Nov 25 2017, 02:55 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(zarchrykl @ Nov 25 2017, 11:53 AM)
Noticed when received call while looking at phone the ringing not so loude but when not staring or phone on the table, ringing normal. How to change?
it auto volume down, your phone knows you are aware of it lol
but cant off the attention feature
vez
post Nov 25 2017, 04:25 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Nov 25 2017, 04:05 PM)
Been playing my iX since last night. It's really a big impact since i upgraded from i6, getting used to the FaceID, personal think it really a good feature, can't understand why ppl keep insisting prefer TouchID, all you need is just time to adapt to the new features. In addition, it's much smoother for buttonless, all the gesture/instruction given just on the touch screen

One drawback to me is you really need charge your wireless earbud/headphone frequently. I bought mine a good quality earbud 1 year ago but because of malas (need to charge frequently, since I am a heavy earbud user) I used to put on my wired earbud.

Anyway, do anyone encountered mystery photo in stored in WhatsApp?
Although i backed up my phone & restored to iX, those old pic can't display, instead it shown a big "?". Would appreciate someone can provide constructive solution.

Thank you
most people prefer to have both biggrin.gif faceid is fast, at least for me, just that we need to raise the phone and look at it
vez
post Nov 25 2017, 05:01 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 25 2017, 04:40 PM)
Another issue besides cant check our phones quickly and discreetly is, notifications coming in like Whatsapp etc does not show content until you unlock it using face id. Sometimes we need to take a peek to see whose message came in before deciding if we were to check the messages. In a way, it prevents unnecessary peeking at the incoming messages, but in another way its more troublesome. Call me old school, but I still prefer fingerprint unlocking because face is cumbersome and slow to me.
you can turn off this feature, default is on, just go to Notification and find it out and off biggrin.gif lazy to navigate my ipx now haha

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 25 2017, 05:01 PM
vez
post Nov 25 2017, 06:11 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Nov 25 2017, 05:34 PM)
Loving my iPhone X so far. I sweat a lot so Touch ID does not work all the time due to my sweaty finger. Face ID is a godsend so far. Work almost all the time, except when I woke up and eyes half closed lol. Can turn off the attention setting for that though

I don't have issue with the swipe up to unlock, except for you have to swipe at the very bottom to unlock to home screen. Swipe middle will just let you to view older notification. This can be improved more though. The home indicator needs to have auto hide function or to adjust the transparency.
it does auto hide for some app (e.g: youtube), maybe some app not optimize for X yet
vez
post Nov 25 2017, 06:39 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 25 2017, 06:29 PM)
I have mine off, it's way warmer than my 10.5 iPad True Tone.
Are you sure? We don't have Apple Stores in NZ but we have AppleCare+ for sale everywhere.
for sure he is wrong, Singapore Apple Store just open this year, before that, for the past SG have Apple Care+ for iPhone already....
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 11:55 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 26 2017, 11:43 AM)
I read that it is actually some hybrid sapphire, not pure. Much easier to scratch compared to pure sapphire as someone did a test on YouTube.
pure sapphire have Mohs scale values 9.0, is very difficult to scratch biggrin.gif (diamond is 10.0)
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 06:07 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Nov 26 2017, 04:48 PM)
Oh sorry sis. Am doing exactly the same thing as i have done before and after reading more on the vulnerable sides the stainless steel has. But the challenge here is whether or not your phone would fit your case with your wrap on. Some cases have a very tight fit, and due to the skin's slightly added thickness, it may not fit.

the case that i will be using has rubber edges inside that allows some slight expansion, so mine should be sorted. Therefore, if you choose to wrap your phone and put a case on it, be sure to identify its tightness through videos online or through forumers' experience here

Please note that some skins takes up to two weeks for delivery so weigh your options carefully; a) buy skin/wrap for better coverage at a cheaper price but have to wait for 1-2 weeks, or b) use Mobile Outfitter for immediate service but at more than double the price of an online skin
very strange that the exact opposite is happening and more people are buying the 256gb model haha
mobile outfitter i think 3-4 times the price what we can get outside, like BestSkinEver, offer same kind of wrap for iPhone, about RM40-50 front and back

if compare to slickwrap or other branded skin, then it could be around 2 times the price

good thing is mobile outfitter offer lifetime warranty, but i heard my friend said nowadays they charge labor when request to change broken wrap

and wet application clear coat is not easy to apply biggrin.gif except those skin type which is not transparent
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 06:26 PM

4,622 posts

not bad, still have 45% biggrin.gif
more on surfing, little gaming

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 26 2017, 06:29 PM

vez
post Nov 26 2017, 06:44 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(ASGM99 @ Nov 26 2017, 06:42 PM)
https://www.anker.com/products/variant/Powe...-Ports/A2056111

Im using the anker charger with PD for my iphone x. with original USB C to lighting cable from apple.

Charging is so much faster than before.
your anker is not UK pin?
i used aukey usb PD, from 7-100%, 2hours can finish biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 26 2017, 06:45 PM
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 06:53 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(ASGM99 @ Nov 26 2017, 06:50 PM)
Nope. I purchase at SG qoo10. with discount code at about 35 SGD.

Just using the UK link as reference.
ok thanks, i shall get one more biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vez: Nov 26 2017, 06:53 PM
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 07:16 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 26 2017, 07:14 PM)
Mine is no where near your battery usage. Mostly use with Safari surfing, WhatsApp, a few YouTube vids and a bit of AppStore surfing.
31% batt
5.20 hr usage
17 hr standby
one more thing to highlight, most of the time, i think 80% of the time i am on wifi, didnt go out during weekend biggrin.gif
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 07:24 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 26 2017, 07:18 PM)
i saw aukey at lazada. seller got mention not recommend to use their usb pd for iphone 8/X
i am using this model, dont see any review sated cannot use with iPhone X, it is USB-PD compliance

http://www.lazada.com.my/aukey-pa-y10-46w-...time=1511695364

https://www.amazon.com/AUKEY-Charger-Delive...g/dp/B074C2VZ2T
vez
post Nov 26 2017, 10:23 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 26 2017, 09:33 PM)
Very good battery life! smile.gif

Are you guys using dark-themed wallpapers?
using normal wallpaper dont have black at all lol

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 26 2017, 10:08 PM)
What's changed for the more efficient format for media storage?
HEIC since iOS 11, you still can choose old format because not all system compatible with HEIC
vez
post Nov 27 2017, 11:00 AM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Nov 26 2017, 09:21 PM)
How to get LTE? My phone is showing only 4G since day 1
[attachmentid=9379583]
4G is just telecommunication generation

LTE can be refer to 4G, but 4G cannot refer to LTE
WiMax is 4G

so LTE and WiMax is 4th Generation technology, and 4G is just general term as 4th generation technology

i dont see any problem telco showing 4G instead of LTE/LTE-A, when both LTE/LTE-A is 4th Generation technology

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 26 2017, 11:23 PM)
if you die die want LTE icon, please use maxis or digi
maxis show 4G long ago, no longer LTE
vez
post Nov 27 2017, 07:59 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 27 2017, 07:48 PM)
new spigen case and Ravpower wireless charger smile.gif

[attachmentid=9381573]
ravpower how much biggrin.gif any good deal?
vez
post Nov 27 2017, 09:14 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(meltan @ Nov 27 2017, 08:32 PM)
One of the reasons why I went with Space Grey. The SS sides seem like a scratch magnet.
QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 27 2017, 08:57 PM)
But once it get scratches u can hardly get rid of them...silver can be easily removed  biggrin.gif
found from somewhere https://imgur.com/a/8hDrE

Space Grey demo unit in Apple Store, all the scratches sweat.gif

get a case for peace of mind, if cannot tolerate with scratches, i believe everything have wear and tear, it doesnt stay complete like new over time of usage
vez
post Nov 27 2017, 10:19 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Nov 27 2017, 01:30 AM)
Magic disc 4 doesn't support fast charge for iPhone X according to the specs.

Edit: iPhone X currently supports only 5W wireless charging which will be boosted up to 7.5W after release of firmware 11.2.

The magic disc 4 supports 9V/1.7A which is around 15W which also is the limit of wireless charging. Thus it should fast charge the iPhone X at 7.5W although the specs didn't indicate it.

Edit 2: currently apple provided iPhone charger at 5V/1A which only charges iPhone X at 5W. Comparatively wireless at 7.5W (after firmware 11.2) should be faster. Change to iPad charger at 5V/2A and the charging time should be faster.

However fastest should still be USB-C with PD which theoretically could go up to 40W. But apple never indicate the max Wattage iPhone X can support.
Power Delivery can provide up to 100W, not just 40W, some newer laptop already using USB-C with PD to charge, those laptop draw more than 45W to 100W depends on power needed.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0937sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:39 AM