The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date

OKLY
post Nov 17 2017, 01:02 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Dio Escobar @ Nov 17 2017, 01:00 PM)
i would say, my preference would be:
iphone x - 9/10
note 8 - 8/10
because i'm more used to using iphone, note 8 is my 1st android phone that i was attracted to give a try.
the only downside of iphone x is the size feels small & maybe the price is too high.
A bigger version of the X should be coming next year but would it be worth it considering how much the X costs now? sweat.gif
OKLY
post Nov 17 2017, 01:25 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 17 2017, 01:09 PM)
Hi guys, may I know how much do I need to pay if I cane the contract right after the first month?

I heard that uMobile is free or charge to terminate the contract?

Means that I purchase the iphone X 256GB with discounted price and cancel the contract right after the month.

Last time I used to bought my i7 plus 256gb from umobile but it was prepaid plan. It saved me aboht 400+ and I never use the service since the first day

Please advise thankss a lot
Prepaid plan can cancel, they already factor in the charges as prepaid they force every buyer to purchase a RM150 reload and there’s also a small upfront payment.

For postpaid it works like every other telco, if you cancel you’ll pay the penalty of remaining months in your contract.

For iPhone X preorder via U Mobile, I believe the only option for now is postpaid, they have yet to release it for prepaid.
OKLY
post Nov 17 2017, 01:40 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Nov 17 2017, 01:37 PM)
FAILED ATTEMP TO GET FROM Changi x3, HKIA X2, US x1

Yet again fail to get from Apple Store Shinsaibashi. They said dunno when will restock. Finally ordered from Maxis 128 Plan for my wife.

Care to explain that the device advance RM714 is? I paid for the phone RM3700 after GST and monthly 128. But what is the advance?

I am thinking to get Digi for myself. Any advice?
The advance payment is to cover themselves. It will be credited back to your Maxis account’s bill.

When did you order from Maxis? I’m waiting for it to be back on stock, want to get another unit at a subsidised price since I’m planning to upgrade my current MOP98 to MOP128 as I need more monthly data quota.
OKLY
post Nov 17 2017, 01:49 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Nov 17 2017, 01:47 PM)
I ordered to 9.30am today KL time (for my wife) and still for stock for Silver 64, Maxis. Delivery on 24th 9am onwards.

For myself i thought wanna got for Digi 78 plan but almost kena tipu. I realized the Phone price is FROM 3400 before GST. For Digi 78 plan, phone is RM 3895 before GST. I abandon plan to join Digi.
I see, I’m looking at the 256GB models. Not sure if there’ll be any further restocks.

P/S: Maxis’ price shown is also before GST.
OKLY
post Nov 17 2017, 10:05 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Buyalotforgaming @ Nov 17 2017, 09:29 PM)
Does anyone know if casings and screen protectors for the X will be priced similarly to other iPhone models?
Yes it is if you check out prices from some reputable sellers.
OKLY
post Nov 18 2017, 08:50 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 18 2017, 08:23 AM)
Wow, still no stocks in first wave countries.
QUOTE(stinky @ Nov 18 2017, 08:27 AM)
Yesterday was there at 1.30pm. Was told no stock also and they say dunno when will restock. Was surprised to see got 20plus people queuing in your photo
I’m guessing they are probably allocating more stocks to countries that are launching next week.
OKLY
post Nov 22 2017, 10:24 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(NickyKhoo @ Nov 22 2017, 10:11 PM)
Went to harvey norman this morning to made the payment. 5.8k including gst around 6.2k. Aiks...
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 22 2017, 10:14 PM)
Mac city quoting 5.8k inclusive gst. Might as well get for there?
RM5899 is inclusive of GST. You did instalment? I believe there’s a 6% additional charge if you take 24 months instalment.
OKLY
post Nov 23 2017, 01:39 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Happy iPhone night guys to those who will be collecting at midnight launch events and receiving midnight delivery! biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 12:00 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

This is it, happy iPhone day!
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 12:06 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

My hunt for second unit starts tomorrow, but I guess it’ll most likely be out of stock tomorrow, especially Maxis. hmm.gif
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 12:10 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Nov 24 2017, 12:09 AM)
According to website 12 places still have stock in KL. Klcc I Center and gardens green colour. Means ample of stock. Good luck hunting hehe.
Not today (Friday), tomorrow (Saturday) which I think Maxis will be out of stock by then.
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 09:01 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(takizo @ Nov 24 2017, 08:54 AM)
Talak queue, from the picture can tell not much people wink.gif

Branch manager mentioned they decided to open early worries that many people come in the morning.
Either it was overhyped or people are not willing to take leave to buy and may either be going during lunch break, after work or tomorrow.
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 09:33 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Nov 24 2017, 09:30 AM)
Hi all, friend asked, if order online at apple Malaysia website and kept it in the shopping cart, lama2 hilang tak? She said wait for gaji on Monday..Adoi Kesian ..😅
The item will remain in the cart but it is not reserved. During checkout it will still check stock availability and if it is out of stock then will be unable to proceed with the checkout.
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 06:41 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Nov 24 2017, 06:39 PM)
Damn CIMB app not usable
Need to redownload, it’s fine on mine.
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 08:07 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(xisan @ Nov 24 2017, 08:00 PM)
No wonder some people prefer 8+, it's wider than X. So far complaint yet. Speakers seems louder than 8+.

iPhone 8+ | Note 8 | iPhone X | Mi Mix 2

Yup, the X is a longer and slimmer display. Just like when iPhone 5 finally got a bigger display but wasn’t really impactful because they made the display longer only.
OKLY
post Nov 24 2017, 08:16 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

I guess people who are used to the Plus models should be more comfortable with the rumoured X Plus. On the other hand, those who were using non-Plus models definitely will appreciate the X’s size.
OKLY
post Nov 25 2017, 11:23 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 25 2017, 11:14 AM)
The ip-X has a surprisingly solid weight in it. Not exactly heavy but more like high density. I was using a Note 5 and an iPhone 6 previously and I was positively shocked by the massive feel of the ip-X.

Those coming from Plus iPhones probably feel that the ip-X is light  blush.gif
That’s probably due to the stainless steel and glass combination compared to aluminium and glass on the 8.
OKLY
post Nov 25 2017, 06:44 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

If your iPhone is bought from a country that offers AppleCare+, then you can purchase it. Malaysian set is not eligible for AppleCare+.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Nov 25 2017, 06:53 PM
OKLY
post Nov 25 2017, 06:55 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 25 2017, 06:50 PM)
If u guys read carefully, I specifically mentioned apple store because all countries with Apple store offer applecare+ for iPhone.

No point talking about some exceptions like SG last time. Back then many policies are different.
Yes. If someone bought iPhone in SG with AppleCare+, the extra protections cant be used here.
Actually it’s possible, I have checked with Apple and they said can bring back to any Apple authorised service provider. So if they do not honor the warranty, it’ll just be slightly more hassle to contact Apple first and Apple would most likely provide a letter.

Most likely due to any issues Malaysia will still send back defective units to Singapore.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Nov 25 2017, 06:56 PM
OKLY
post Nov 26 2017, 08:34 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Most likely have to send in the unit I bought from Maxis yesterday. The screen has this weird issue, and it’s not consistent as the shape/size of it changes.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Nov 26 2017, 08:34 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0811sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:29 AM