The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date
OKLY
Nov 10 2017, 04:32 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 10 2017, 03:02 PM) I've been using iPhone X for a week. I only have 3 main grudges: 1. When lying down on bed, with half face taking a peek on my phone the Face ID won't work 2. When driving, with 1 thumb I can unlock and take a quick peek on the phone. Now cannot dy, must put up direct to face - very dangerous 3. Put the phone too close to face, the Face ID won't work. Must put it away a bit 1. Also when just wake up our eyes can’t really open, will have difficulties unlocking with Face ID if require attention is enabled to unlock.
OKLY
Nov 10 2017, 04:47 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Nov 10 2017, 04:45 PM) Isn’t problem 2 is a great feature that reduce drivers from using the phone? Yes but more dangerous if the user remains stubborn.
OKLY
Nov 10 2017, 10:41 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Fjive @ Nov 10 2017, 10:26 PM) I'm actually planning to get this already but worry about the bubble effect. Been using the ultra hybrid for my 6 plus since day 1, had served me very well. Actually drop it dont know how many times but still not a scratch on my phone. Anyone who got it and managed to diy something and remove the bubble effect? Thing is not everyone is experiencing the issue, so I'm suspecting the inconsistency to be with the phone instead.
OKLY
Nov 11 2017, 09:55 AM
The Penguin Vader
I don’t think it’s fair to call the line on the display issue a gate unless it’s affecting majority of the devices that have been produced. No manufacturing is perfect and there has to be within a certain percent of tolerance for Apple to still consider it as acceptable. Otherwise Apple might just issue a recall for owners to get a replacement.
OKLY
Nov 11 2017, 10:08 AM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 11 2017, 10:02 AM) Ya, I read that quite a number of Apple users just can’t get used to not having a Home Button. Can’t blame them, 10 years of habit is hard to unlearn! When it’s time, Apple will remove the home button across their mobile devices and that will “force” people to relearn the way they use their iPhone. At the momen there is still choice to get a device with home button and Touch ID, so those who are not willing to relearn can still go for an alternative model.
OKLY
Nov 11 2017, 03:17 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Yougene_Boy @ Nov 11 2017, 02:26 PM) Experienced this in Apple Orchard Road, really fast and consistent accuracy.
OKLY
Nov 11 2017, 05:32 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Nov 11 2017, 05:19 PM) How much it cost and is it tempered glass or normal film? The film kind if I’m not mistaken was around SGD29 while the tempered glass is SGD59. Don’t recall anyone opting for the film type though.
OKLY
Nov 12 2017, 10:06 AM
The Penguin Vader
I believe Apple has mentioned before that they will enable faster wireless charging through a software update in the future. So the hardware should be able to support at least 10W wireless charging but at the moment software has limited it to 7.5W.
OKLY
Nov 13 2017, 10:00 AM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Fjive @ Nov 12 2017, 05:24 PM) Not so patiently waiting for Maxis to announce their so called zerolution replacement program for iphones  QUOTE(attw @ Nov 12 2017, 05:28 PM) I have a feeling they will just announce a regular contract plan to begin with. Maxis doesn’t have the habit to launch good plans during the first month of a new device launch. If this is the case, any new plans especially one that is replacing Zerolution will probably come in December. We’ll see.
OKLY
Nov 14 2017, 01:02 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(johnm @ Nov 14 2017, 12:55 PM) the one at the bottom? 6S plus? maybe? how's the battery life bro? QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 14 2017, 12:58 PM) I don't use much with X. Maybe it's better. Slightly? X has slightly better battery life than non-Plus models but Plus models should still last longer than the X.
OKLY
Nov 14 2017, 01:44 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(deepan84 @ Nov 14 2017, 01:05 PM) thats what i feel also.. the interface is 95% same like previous iphone.. the USP is the faceID, emoji and Oled.. which will not be noticed after few days.. camera pun already good since iphone7.. but the hype mmg making me feel like nk beli. is it worth almost 6k? hmm.. i have to test it. but my gut feeling is a 2.5k samsung s8 will have the same feel. i still am comfy with the interface of iOS though. let's see how it goes. but thanks for the honest opinion bro. we need more real live users to comment. dont really believe all those engadger, verge reviews. inb4 kalo xsuka iphone xpyh komen dlm thread ni la.. I have to agree with fadzly on his feeling on the iPhone X after 2 days. After day 2, it’s quite similar to the same old iPhone we are so used to except for a prettier display to look at and Face ID. Whether it is really worth its price, it’s really subjective but I as an iPhone X user personally feels that the price is not worth it. I buy it just for the love of iOS and feel good factor of using the best iPhone that Apple currently has.
OKLY
Nov 14 2017, 03:14 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 02:52 PM) Bro, one more question on the lack of TouchID, does that mean banking apps like Maybank2u, Citi MY, etc. won't have the quick balance check feature that we can do with our TouchID right? Face ID = Touch ID App developer not required to do any changes.
OKLY
Nov 14 2017, 03:27 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Nov 14 2017, 03:21 PM) But using Apple Pay is slower than TouchID. TouchID = Put your phone on the reader (with finger on sensor) -> Done Face ID = Double click side button -> Face Scan -> Put the phone on the reader -> Done Much slower but still acceptable. Malaysians still can’t experience Apple Pay though.
OKLY
Nov 15 2017, 04:33 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(St. Teh @ Nov 15 2017, 04:30 PM) Screen size is it the priority criteria for choosing i8+ or iX? I am still a fence sitter at this moment between the 2 models, just screen size is totally not in my consideration. I am more focus on other differential features ie TouchID vs FaceID, Camera quality, buttonless vs button Anyway I am lean towards between ix or i8 (instead of i8+) reason being, i8+ size is too big to put in my pocket & all the while i been used to single hand typing Priority should be how comfortable it is when holding the phone. I know that the Plus model is not very comfortable to hold for many while non-Plus model is a little too small. The X comes in the middle which I believe many will appreciate if we talk about ergonomics/comfort.
OKLY
Nov 17 2017, 08:56 AM
The Penguin Vader
Welcome to the club guys!
OKLY
Nov 17 2017, 09:12 AM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(alikato94 @ Nov 17 2017, 09:09 AM) Wow why maxis so cheap? Or got some hidden charge? No hidden charge, just that price is before GST.
OKLY
Nov 17 2017, 09:34 AM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Porie @ Nov 17 2017, 09:20 AM) You guys know if there is any telco that provides trading up your phone after a new phone comes up? Is it better that way? Maxis has a trade-in program. http://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/devices/trade-up.html
OKLY
Nov 17 2017, 12:22 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 17 2017, 12:17 PM) for those who purchase online from digi.. remember to take note on this "If you have purchase a device in Digi Store and open in front of them, found that there is a faulty hence they will replace for your immediately. For online delivery purchase upon receiving founf there is a faulty hence you need to walk in to the Apple Service Center as the warrant term are set by Apple themselves" I believe on-the-spot replacement also subject to stock availability in which most cases they will say no stock to replace and suggest to head to an authorised service center.
OKLY
Nov 17 2017, 12:41 PM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Nov 17 2017, 12:37 PM) Guys, Good idea to install over rm100 tempered glass? Any different than cheap one? Since iphone 5, i never buy over rm30 glass. Always buy those rm10-20. If the tempered glasss break in a few month, i just replace. But iphone x is quite expensive and front glass probably not strong as its advertised? QUOTE(St. Teh @ Nov 17 2017, 12:39 PM) To me, if normal phone i just stick a RM10 tempered glass But as for iX, my advise is since you bought the chicken dont save the ketchup Can’t agree more, if you can afford this phone, why save on something that cost around 1-2% of the device’s price? At least go for some reputable bang for bucks ones like those from Nillkin etc.