Credit Cards AmBank Credit Card V3, Free for life card, PPL access with T&C

charlesj
post Apr 5 2019, 10:23 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ Apr 5 2019, 07:57 AM)
Hi, is this promo worth it? 50k bonus miles, how much em/kf/am?
50k/7 = 7k+
If guaranteed, of course worth it.
Read the T&C carefully, if my memory is correct, each month only 100 people getting it
charlesj
post Apr 12 2019, 10:58 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Apr 12 2019, 10:41 AM)
2,850 points = RM25.00
5,700 points = RM50.00

I think you need to indicate:
Spend RM10, get 30 points (for x10 category).
You need to spend RM1900 for 5700 points, equals to 2.63%

If not, those not familiar will think RM1 = 1 point; for x10 will be getting 10 points
charlesj
post Apr 12 2019, 01:32 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Apr 12 2019, 01:13 PM)
M cards are junk now. All the while MBf cards were expensive but MBf Card provided some good services especially phone-in service to pay utilities/phone bills etc. You called local MBf office (outstation calls and calls from mobile were expensive) and MBf would help you to settle the utilities bills etc (No Maybank2u, online banking & Cash-Deposit Machines/Kiosks, and only paper statements by mail). Then UOB started Payonline but charged RM1 (when I was still using dial-up Internet) per bill payment.

Ambank is yet to phase out the obsolete products.
Same to Maybank - Millennium/Classic card (annual fee RM60), Citibank - Clear (annual fee RM90). They were the best and cheapest (AF) credit cards when I first applied for a CC.
Wow, really a Sifu knowing all the history notworthy.gif

charlesj
post Apr 22 2019, 07:20 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Apr 22 2019, 06:03 PM)
card payment using CDM will incur charges!? mega_shok.gif
CODE
RM0.00 Effective 1/10/19, a fee of RM0.50 at Cheque/Cash Deposit Machine & RM2 over the counter is applicable for Cards/Loan repayment.Visit www.ambankgroup.com

Yes. You can still use instant transfer (from other bank) to make payment.

Bank / BNM starts to control anonymous CASH bank in.
They want every transaction with proper recording.

This post has been edited by charlesj: Apr 22 2019, 07:22 PM
charlesj
post May 1 2019, 10:39 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 1 2019, 10:27 PM)
Yes that means if I reload 1k I can get 2 entries?
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 1 2019, 10:30 PM)
I supposed so. I think it's better for you to split into two transactions. Others can confirm as I have not tried it personally.
Yes. No problem.
I went in 3 times with single transaction >1500.
Can't forget the good old days with unlimited entry + multiple entry within same day.
charlesj
post May 1 2019, 11:03 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 1 2019, 10:49 PM)
Can I swipe twice at the same time? Cause I plan to bring two people into the lounge and I am wondering if I can spend 1k and just swipe them in.

Thanks for the clarification man. Appreciate your time on this.
Nope, as sis fruitie replied.
1 card can only use for yourself OR swipe in for your friend.
Also, only can use once a day (cannot morning once, evening once).
charlesj
post May 26 2019, 11:12 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(yexuansim831026 @ May 26 2019, 11:47 AM)
I have a trip to Korea on the coming June and I'm going to flight from Penang > HK > Korea. Currently i have both AMbank Visa signature/Islamic credit card which is entitle to access 5x PPL in airport for each card and I just want to seek for advice can i proceed the way below?

AMbank Visa signature > access the PPL in Penang airport.

Ambank islamic Visa signature > access PPL in HK airport.   

P/S: Based on the T&C from the bank only can access the PPL once per day. I feel very puzzle on this term.
It is a gray area.
I believe it should be no problem, esp for those with limit (x5, not unlimited).
You can argue with AMB if they charge you due to this.
charlesj
post Jun 7 2019, 03:45 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Jun 6 2019, 11:16 PM)
in the past, WMC has only 1% on forex spending... VI has 1+1.5%...

now, I don't know if still the same, but i assume it is.

others, no difference...
Will spending with VI in overseas next week.
Then will know whether it is 1 or 1+1.5%

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 7 2019, 08:32 AM)
Besides the lower exchange rate, now that you cannot use multiple cards to enter lounges, there isn't any advantage with the vi or to keep both cards ....I will be cancelling the vi soon.....
For those without "priority banking", 2 cards will give you 5+5 lounge access.
For priority card, I don't see much purpose to keep both.
Unless you need some benefits from "Visa" / "Mastercard"

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 7 2019, 03:20 PM)
is that a recent issue? I recall using my wmc entering 2 lounges on the same day before, but more than 1 year ago la.
Refer post # 1329 / 1332 / 1333

This post has been edited by charlesj: Jun 7 2019, 03:48 PM
charlesj
post Jul 2 2019, 11:33 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Jun 6 2019, 11:16 PM)
in the past, WMC has only 1% on forex spending... VI has 1+1.5%...

now, I don't know if still the same, but i assume it is.

others, no difference...
Finally the statement is out.
VI foreign transaction is still charging us 2% on top of Visa rate (for usage in June 2019)
Same rate as usage in 2018.
No reduction to 1%?

charlesj
post Jul 2 2019, 11:35 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(bluebay @ Jul 2 2019, 11:09 AM)
May I know what documents you guys submitted to ambank for credit card application? I gave them ea  form.. but they asked for 3 months payslip and additional epf statement for 2019 & 2018
EA form is no use
Unless you provide BE form (full, not receipt).
Just follow their recommendation to submit 3 month payslip and EPF statement.
charlesj
post Jul 3 2019, 01:55 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ Jul 2 2019, 11:47 PM)
I don't think so, as that's their main support with mastercard...... I believe...
I tested on VI
Someone mentioned VI also reduced to 1%

WMC 1% yes
charlesj
post Jul 10 2019, 11:00 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 10 2019, 10:10 AM)
AmBank is such a difficult bank to deal with. I have checked my CCRIS and confirmed no more AmBank cards parked under me, suddenly this morning I received a statement for my cancelled cards! Those cards were already cancelled more than two years ago! doh.gif
Showing you still own them money?
Or just a final statement after you "officially" close the account?
charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 11:21 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jul 11 2019, 09:49 AM)
This could be very attractive if you visit China all the time need a credit card to use. Even some carrefour do not accept VISA/MC, not to mention AMEX.

Based on 5x Bonus points, it is RM2 = 1 KF/AM, which is a pretty good conversion considering the circumstances.

Reload your Alipay/Wechat via shopee at the best case during MU match winning days might be better. But on normal days, it is RM2.5 = 1 KF/AM.
Only useful if you visit China VERY often and needed a lot transactions with union pay.
Need to spend RM20k isn't easy (to waive AF).
Consider that most of the hotels in China can accept Visa/MC, you can easily earn 1 mile/RM spend (with MBB VI) or 1 mile/1.4 RM spend (with AMB WMC/VI).
Most of the luxury / branded expenses are accepting Visa/MC too.
So far for me, I can use Visa in Carrefour and Walmart (in Shanghai and Shenzhen, not sure about smaller cities).
Left only smaller shops and how much you can spend there?

Side note: McD self ordering machine only accept union pay shakehead.gif

charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 12:08 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(bluebay @ Jul 12 2019, 12:00 PM)
for the 5X PPL access on visa signature, may i know if supplementary card holder will share the 5x limit? or 5x for principal, 5x for supplementary. can't find the details in its' tnc.
Separate.

Refer to T&C:
EACH Principal and Supplementary Cardholder is entitled to the following lounge access....
charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 12:27 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jefftan4888 @ Jul 12 2019, 12:15 PM)
Normally, will bank requests for full EPF statements (2018-2019) during new application?
Is good to provide EPF statement.
EPF and income tax are the best doc for CC application.
Pay slip can easily made-up.

For bank loan, they even want to tally the figure on pay slip and bank account.
Hence, best to bank in your monthly pay to the same account.
charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 02:00 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 12 2019, 01:47 PM)
I done this before on my very first cc, about 20 years ago... rclxs0.gif
I occasionally also print out myself, but is a genuine one la. Haha.
Then ask finance to sign for me.
charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 02:26 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(bluebay @ Jul 12 2019, 02:02 PM)
that's a good card.. thanks!
Yup, that's the sole reason I still keep the card.
Supp to my parents for their overseas lounge access.
charlesj
post Jul 12 2019, 02:49 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jul 12 2019, 02:26 PM)
You lost your original copy?  blink.gif
My boss doesn't print for me...
Have to print it myself, yes the original copy tongue.gif

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jul 12 2019, 02:29 PM)
Got exception
I kene once the hotel visa/master terminal broken
So they only able to take unionpay
End up struggle find atm
Be safe to have unionpay in China
Alternatively can take pbb unionpay debit card
Hmm. Too bad.
I usually book via booking.com / Agoda, hopefully they can deduct directly from the card use for reservation.
If not, I really don't know where to vomit cash for them.
ATM cash advance will charge you interest, unless withdraw with BigPay.
charlesj
post Aug 30 2019, 12:31 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 29 2019, 10:42 PM)
with this further revision, it's really not competitive anymore, other than being free for life and free lounge entries....
7000 to 12500 is a huge jump!
80% increase!!!
Last round 5000 to 7000 (40%) already lost many customers.
Now I really don't know how to spend rm500 for lounge access in the future...

charlesj
post Sep 3 2019, 02:30 PM

1,715 posts

Any way to check our existing Ambonus point? Based on my last statement, it was short of a few thousands to redeem another 1000 miles. As the cut off date is 11-Sept, I was wondering whether it is in time to spend and gain the point before next statement. Can't find anywhere to check the point online.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1022sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:50 AM