49 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Personal Trav's snipe & snap with D40, Honda F1 Roadshow, model pic uploaded!

CompMac
post May 6 2007, 09:45 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

Hmmm.... Slow shutter speed really not for dancing pictures. Blur kau kau liao... Unless you really intend it to be like that.
TStravis_ckf
post May 6 2007, 09:57 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

6. Another dancer on the another truck

7. Dancer in high mode drool.gif

8. Look at the dancer at the middle. ph34r.gif

9. Post dancing queens, rain heavily sweat.gif but nice epiloguefor the USTC chapter. smile.gif

NEXT STOP: BANGKOK! rclxm9.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 01:03 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

A very tiring but meaningful event shoot doesn't it? I had lotsa fun too. You really had to work on the dancing part, not easy as well, but it takes lotsa eye-to-hands coordination. I've done crap like podium dancing for clubs and it's even worst than this ... these are non-dancers shaking their bom-boms, wait till you see professional dancers!

Thanks for sharing! smile.gif
TStravis_ckf
post May 7 2007, 01:09 AM

6,413 posts

FYI the USTC is one of the most challenging photography events i ever participated, apart of playing night shots with a DSLR, and of coz the dancing queens event which really i pushed my cam to the max.

Apart of my shutter speed not enough my focusing is also suffered as well. Due to these weakness proves an justification that my my D40 has reached its limitations and i may need a mid range DSLR in the future.

Still i enjoy my photography session. smile.gif Thanks for ur views and comments and in few weeks time i shall post again my pics from bangkok! notworthy.gif

ac98
post May 7 2007, 01:45 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 7 2007, 01:09 AM)
FYI the USTC is one of the most challenging photography events i ever participated, apart of playing night shots with a DSLR, and of coz the dancing queens event which really i pushed my cam to the max.

Apart of my shutter speed not enough my focusing is also suffered as well. Due to these weakness proves an justification that my my D40 has reached its limitations and i may need a mid range DSLR in the future.

Still i enjoy my photography session. smile.gif Thanks for ur views and comments and in few weeks time i shall post again my pics from bangkok! notworthy.gif
I second that as well. That is one of the learning curve of photography. You will never know your camera's limitations until you worked it to the max, that was one of the reasons why I chose the Canon EOS 1D with my limited budget instead of getting a mid-range Canon DSLR. On one hand I can buy a used professional model and on the other hand I can get a brand new mid-range Canon DSLR or a entry level Canon DSLR with extra used lenses. I chose the former coz it really helps in various shooting conditions and the camera had stood its test of time (the Canon EOS 1D is 6-years old and still have first hand owners all over the world).

It is when a man had hit a wall that he will consider to either move on or stay put. Are you happy with what you have now? If not ... then upgrade! brows.gif
shinchan^^
post May 7 2007, 07:32 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 6 2007, 09:57 PM)
NEXT STOP: BANGKOK! rclxm9.gif
USTC goes bangkok? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 7 2007, 01:09 AM)

one event already hit the wall? u pretty sure?
ac98
post May 7 2007, 07:50 AM

3,758 posts

USTC in Bangkok? OMG!! laugh.gif
One event why cannot hit the wall ? D40 what you think what! The earlier you hit the wall the faster Nikon can make your money tongue.gif
King83
post May 7 2007, 08:36 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 4 2007, 06:24 PM)
You like the left one? Which left? I prefer the one without belt, cuter, thinner and more dark, LOL!
yeah, i like the one with belt....side is really not her angle.
She looks hotter from the front

BUT STILL, nothing compared to cherry wub.gif
TStravis_ckf
post May 7 2007, 02:08 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 7 2007, 07:32 AM)
USTC goes bangkok?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
one event already hit the wall? u pretty sure?
USTC at bangkok my footlah doh.gif Trav's UTSC coverage has ended last nite. But seriously during the dancing queen my camera has reached its limitation which i explained earlier on.

Still i continue to use and learn from my current cam until someone throw a D2x to me brows.gif

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 7 2007, 07:50 AM)
USTC in Bangkok? OMG!! laugh.gif
One event why cannot hit the wall ? D40 what you think what! The earlier you hit the wall the faster Nikon can make your money tongue.gif
Yaloh, make our bro shinchan more happy, BUY MORE NIKON products! brows.gif (speaking on that, i wonder is shinchan is a Nikon promoter at disguise?) sweat.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 03:14 PM

3,758 posts

If you're waiting for someone to throw a D2X at you, most probably it will only happen in your dreams but dun wake up with your forehead bengkak laugh.gif

Shinchan is not a promoter ... but can consider a hardcore user, haha! He dun promote only by mouth but by result and so far so very good! laugh.gif
nairud
post May 7 2007, 03:30 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

used for one event and say reach limitation? i have so many grudges with my 350D and i'm still using it eventhough i'm itching to upgrade.

continue to use it first. i've seen D80 jump to D200 in less than a year iinm
shinchan^^
post May 7 2007, 03:31 PM

K66
21,256 posts

but i m seeing myself jumping backwards instead of upgrading laugh.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 04:41 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ May 7 2007, 03:30 PM)
used for one event and say reach limitation? i have so many grudges with my 350D and i'm still using it eventhough i'm itching to upgrade.
That is becoz you didn't goto USTC haven't hit a wall ... tongue.gif

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 7 2007, 03:31 PM)
but i m seeing myself jumping backwards instead of upgrading laugh.gif
You different ... can shoot well with ANY (camera) model whistling.gif
diwant
post May 7 2007, 08:20 PM

295 posts

Well, to claim that your 'D40 has reached its limitations' after that event is a little bit naive to say the least. And already thinking of upgrading to a mid-range DSLR 'in the future' is a good target, but i think it is a bit too soon for you..

Unless shooting dancing models in the night is your bread and butter, than I believe your D40 just reached it's starting point, not it's peak. You have to shoot more things with it..

edit: typing error

This post has been edited by diwant: May 7 2007, 08:22 PM
kjin
post May 7 2007, 08:50 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 7 2007, 08:20 PM)
Well, to claim that your 'D40 has reached its limitations' after that event is a little bit naive to say the least. And already thinking of upgrading to a mid-range DSLR 'in the future' is a good target, but i think it is a bit too soon for you..

Unless shooting dancing models in the night is your bread and butter, than I believe your D40 just reached it's starting point, not it's peak. You have to shoot more things with it..

agreed! smile.gif that's what shinchan showed me brows.gif very sad with my performance icon_question.gif
TStravis_ckf
post May 7 2007, 10:58 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 7 2007, 08:20 PM)

Thanks for ur advise, but i am not the type of photographer who taking events/dancing/fashion shows as my main photography objects.

I wanted to be the type of photographer who wants to tell a story by taking shots which affected my emotions or dramatic shots. Now i do enjoy going to events to take potraits of cute/pretty promoters blush.gif Still i priority is to take scenery and portraits, and i happy my D40 will do fine for the next few years.

Still its good to know what my D40 can do and what it could not do. smile.gif Ultimately i hope to learn its strengths so i can achieve what i wanted to do.

In the near future i will go for a 50mm portrait lens, then may consider a zoom lens or better lens. Upgrading to a better DSLR will take some years to go by, unless if someone throw me a D2x to me brows.gif

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: May 7 2007, 11:00 PM
diwant
post May 7 2007, 11:08 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 7 2007, 10:58 PM)
Thanks for ur advise, but i am not the type of photographer who taking events/dancing/fashion shows as my main photography objects.

I wanted to be the type of photographer who wants to tell a story by taking shots which affected my emotions or dramatic shots. Now i do enjoy going to events to take potraits of cute/pretty promoters blush.gif Still i priority is to take scenery and portraits, and i happy my D40 will do fine for the next few years.

Still its good to know what my D40 can do and what it could not do. smile.gif Ultimately i hope to learn its strengths so i can achieve what i wanted to do.

In the near future i will go for a 50mm portrait lens, then may consider a zoom lens or better lens. Upgrading to a better DSLR will take some years to go by, unless if someone throw me a D2x to me brows.gif
Well, it seems that u've set your foundation very clear already.. happy shooting and keep posting..

P/s: Pls dun say 'I want to improve', and then disappear after 3 weeks.. tongue.gif joking mate
TStravis_ckf
post May 8 2007, 12:04 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 7 2007, 11:08 PM)
Well, it seems that u've set your foundation very clear already.. happy shooting and keep posting..

P/s: Pls dun say 'I want to improve', and then disappear after 3 weeks.. tongue.gif  joking mate
hehe as i say, next installment: BANGKOK! n maybe next update is July/aug during the next PC Fair. tongue.gif
ac98
post May 8 2007, 02:10 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 7 2007, 11:08 PM)
P/s: Pls dun say 'I want to improve', and then disappear after 3 weeks.. tongue.gif  joking mate
How to disappear ... gi vacation pun datang forum posting .. whistling.gif laugh.gif
I would do the same if I were you also, haha! rclxm9.gif
diwant
post May 8 2007, 09:52 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 8 2007, 02:10 AM)
How to disappear ... gi vacation pun datang forum posting .. whistling.gif laugh.gif
I would do the same if I were you also, haha! rclxm9.gif
hahha... semangat photography. that's what we want..! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

49 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:32 AM